A dollar-balance card for four Latin American countries, with costs you can read but terms you cannot
The ARQ card is a Mastercard that spends the digital-dollar balance sitting in your ARQ account, offered to residents of Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil. The card itself is the least interesting part of the offer. The interesting parts are the eligibility boundary — four countries, not the world — the fact that you cannot load the card directly, and the company’s refusal to name the licences behind it. If you are in one of those four countries and you want a dollar balance you can spend anywhere Mastercard is accepted, it does the job cheaply and scores well on everyday use. If you are anywhere else, the answer is simply no, and no amount of reading will change that. If you are here because an ordinary bank card is hard to get, this review is written with you in mind, and I flag the specific points where your situation makes the risk higher.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.4 out of 10, and the score hides two very different cards
ARQ scores 5.4 out of 10 overall. That number is an average of two quite separate stories. On the practical side — can you pay with this thing, does it work in a shop, what does it cost — it scores 9 out of 10. On whether the company will let you hold it, whether you can fund it flexibly, and whether the people who already use it say it behaves — it scores 3 to 4 out of 10. Both halves are true at once, and the split matters more than the total.

Who it suits: residents of Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil who already hold digital dollars and want them on a Mastercard, virtual for free, with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and no annual fee. Who it does not suit: anyone outside those four countries, anyone who wants to load the card straight from a crypto wallet, anyone who needs a named licence or a named regulator, and anyone with a thin complaint record to fall back on if support goes quiet.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | Issuance countries are Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil; a physical card ships only to an address in one of those four |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Virtual card free; physical card $4.99 USD for shipping; no maintenance or annual fee; ATM 1% of the amount; no separate FX fee disclosed and no “hidden fees” |
| Top-up options | 3 / 10 | The card is not loaded directly: money goes to the ARQ account through bank details, and the USDc/EURc balance backs the card; coins and networks not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Formerly DolarApp; services run through DolarApp México S.A. de C.V. and DAPP Colombia S.A.S.; licences not named; Trustpilot ARQ Finance 3.9 out of 5 from 6 reviews, DolarApp 2.0 out of 5 from 128 reviews; accounts blocked and slow support |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATMs worldwide except on cards issued in Argentina |
| Total | 5.4 / 10 | Cheap and practical where it works; narrow on eligibility, thin on funding routes and light on disclosure |
The single sentence I would give a friend: ARQ is a good card for someone who has a dollar balance in the right four countries and no interest in reading the fine print, and a poor choice for anyone who reads fine print, because there is not much of it published.
Will they give you the card?
Only if you are in one of four countries. The country selector on the application lists Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil. That is the whole eligibility list — no waiting list, no “coming soon” language, just four entries in a dropdown. And the physical card has a second gate: it can be sent “anywhere within Argentina, Colombia, Mexico or Brazil” to a valid address in that country. So a Mexican resident with a stable address in Spain cannot have a plastic card delivered; they can hold a virtual card, or nothing.
This is the single biggest filter in the whole review, and it is worth being blunt about: if you are reading this outside those four countries, stop here. The rest of the page will tell you whether the card is good, but it cannot make it available to you.
Eligibility, in full:
- The country selector lists Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil.
- The physical card ships only to a valid address within one of those same four countries.
- Nothing on the public pages explains how a non-resident of those countries is treated, or whether residence alone qualifies where citizenship does not.
One thing the card’s public pages do not say, and I want to mark it as genuinely absent rather than implied: the criteria beyond country are not stated. Which documents are needed, whether proof of address is required, what age applies, and whether a non-national resident qualifies are all things you will only learn by opening the application and being told. That is not unusual, but it means “can I get it” cannot be answered from a review.
How to get it
The route is short and entirely in the app. Download the ARQ app, log in, then go to Home, tap the card banner, and request either the free virtual card or the physical card. Identity verification has to be completed inside the app first — the card cannot be created while verification is pending or incomplete, so the verification step is a hard gate, not a formality you can defer.
What is not on the public pages is just as important here:
- The specific documents required are not stated.
- Whether proof of address is required is not stated.
- Any minimum age is not stated.
- Verification tiers are not stated.
- The reasons a review can fail are not stated.
There is one friction point worth warning you about, because it is the kind of thing that catches people out on a card like this: an account review can temporarily block card creation. That is different from being refused — the card is not turned down, it just cannot be made yet. If you hit it, you are waiting on a decision, and the public pages give you no idea how long that decision takes or what it depends on.
For the physical card, delivery times vary by source: 2 to 15 business days on one page, 7 to 10 business days on another article. Shipping is $4.99 USD. The cost of a replacement card, if you lose it, is not stated.
Fees: what it really costs
The cost picture is the best part of this card. The virtual card is free. The physical card carries a $4.99 USD shipping fee and no maintenance or annual fee at all. The first physical card is free if you have over $100 USD in Main Balance or you are a Premium user. ATM withdrawals cost 1% of the amount withdrawn. There is no separate FX fee or spread disclosed, and the card states it has “no hidden fees”.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | Free |
| Physical card | $4.99 USD shipping fee; no maintenance or annual fee |
| First physical card | Free with over $100 USD in Main Balance or as a Premium user |
| Conversion | A buy rate applies when adding money and a sell rate applies when paying by card, both shown in the app before you confirm; no separate FX fee or spread disclosed |
| FX | No separate FX fee or spread disclosed; the page says “no hidden fees” |
| ATM | ARQ fee 1% of the amount withdrawn; Premium users get up to 500 USDc per month free of the ARQ commission; the ATM owner may charge extra |
| Card spend limit | Equals the USDc balance in the account — a 100 USDc balance gives a limit of 100 |
| Card count | Up to 10 virtual cards per month, a maximum of 3 active, a maximum of 30 in total |
| ATM limits | A separate article on ATM limits for Colombia accounts exists; the figures were not disclosed to me |
| Premium price | Not stated |
The structure underneath that table is a prepaid model with a stablecoin balance. Your spending limit *is* your USDc balance — there is no credit to fall back on and no overdraft, which is a genuine comfort in a card whose whole audience is people for whom banking has been unreliable. It also means the card is only ever as big as the money in it.
Three ordinary payments, priced out
Where the fee question actually lands depends on which rate you hit, and the rates are shown in the app before you confirm. A buy rate applies when you add money; a sell rate applies when you pay by card. The card holds USDc, a digital dollar, and incoming payments are converted to USDc or EURc. Any payment you make in a currency other than that is converted at the sell rate — so the more you spend abroad, the more often the conversion is the thing you are paying for, and no separate percentage is named for it anywhere public.
- A coffee bought in your own country. The sell rate applies to the conversion at the moment of payment. Nothing else is charged on the card itself — no monthly fee, no per-payment fee.
- A subscription bought in a foreign currency. Same mechanism: converted at the sell rate. This is the case where an undisclosed spread matters most, because you pay it repeatedly without seeing a line item.
- A cash withdrawal abroad. The ARQ fee is 1% of the amount, the ATM operator may add its own charge, and cards issued in Argentina are not permitted at international ATMs at all — so the 1% headline does not apply to everyone.
Two further points that sit outside the fee table but shape cost. Premium membership gets the first physical card free and up to 500 USDc per month free of the ATM commission — but the Premium price is not stated, so I cannot tell you whether the saving outweighs the subscription for any usage pattern. And there is no reward program described on the official card pages; the sign-up form says reward details are sent by email. If cashback is what you are shopping for, that email is the only place it is described, and I would not build a decision on it.
How to top it up
You cannot top the card up directly. This is the second big constraint after the country list, and it deserves to be said plainly: the card is not loaded. Money is added to your ARQ account through the banking details shown in the app under “Add”, and the account balance in USDc or EURc is what backs the card. The specific coins and networks are not stated, and neither are the fees or minimums for that deposit. So the practical shape of funding is a bank transfer into an account, with crypto settlement happening somewhere behind that account rather than by you, on your terms, from your wallet.
Other things the same pages make clear, and the ones people usually ask about together:
- Direct card load: not possible.
- Deposit route: bank details inside the app.
- Withdrawal: funds cannot be sent to other cards; they must go to a bank account. Fees and any balance owed on closure are not stated.
- Coins and networks: not stated.
If you are used to self-custody — holding the keys, seeing the network fee before you send, choosing the chain yourself — this is the part where ARQ asks for the most trust. I am not going to dress that up. The trade is real: convenience and a fee-free virtual card in exchange for handing over the routing decisions. Whether that is a good trade depends on how much of your money you would be comfortable leaving in someone else’s stack, and given the complaint themes below, that is not a rhetorical question.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this is a well-built card, and the 9 out of 10 here is not generosity. You get both a virtual and a physical Mastercard, and both work in stores and online wherever Mastercard is accepted — which is everywhere that matters. You can add the virtual card to Apple Pay (Home, then Add to Apple Wallet) or to Google Pay. ATMs work worldwide with the physical card, except on cards issued in Argentina, which are not allowed at international ATMs. You get 2FA in the app, instant freeze, 3D Secure, PIN viewing, and block and unblock controls.
The app itself is rated well by people who have actually installed it: on the App Store, ARQ: Global Finance sits at 4.5 out of 5 from 992 ratings, read on 21 October 2026, on iPhone with iOS 17.0 or later. The Google Play rating I could not obtain. The official pages cite app ratings of 4.7 and 4.5, undated.
A few practical notes:
- Blocked merchant categories are not stated, which means you do not know in advance whether your card will work at a given type of merchant.
- A declined payment can still cost you money in time. A declined authorisation may leave a hold on funds that can stay for several days, typically up to 7. If a hotel or a car rental declines, that money can be unavailable the whole time.
- Disputes are slow. A Mastercard chargeback investigation can take up to 120 days, opening one does not guarantee a refund, and you track status in the Help Center or the app with notification and email.
- Foreign-issued cards get scrutinised. Merchants can look up the card’s issuing country and apply extra scrutiny when it differs from the billing address; prepaid and foreign BINs are declined by some merchants outright. This is a property of crypto cards generally, not a fault of ARQ, but it is the thing most likely to surprise you in a shop in a country you do not live in.
- Tokenised wallets have their own rules. The issuer can restrict a tokenised number to specific channels — magnetic stripe, phone or website — so a card that works in a shop is not automatically a card that works everywhere.
If your day involves travel between those four countries and a dollar balance you would rather not convert twice, this is where the card earns its keep.
What can go wrong
I want to separate three different risks here, because they have different answers.
Disclosure risk. ARQ is the former DolarApp, with copyright DolarApp Inc. The card’s services are provided through named companies: in Colombia, virtual asset services by DolarApp México S.A. de C.V. and credit card services by DAPP Colombia S.A.S. (NIT 901644165-9); the Mexico help page says credit card services are provided by Pier 5 S.A. de C.V. What none of this tells you is the licence. Licences are not stated. ESMA keeps a register you can check a provider in, and that is where I would start if you want to know whether a provider is authorised — but I am not telling you what you will find there, because the card does not give me the licence number to look up. The rebrand from DolarApp to ARQ was reported by Brazilian press across 2025–2026; I found no licence or fine events.
Custody risk. The card describes itself as a “secured credit card backed by the balance in your ARQ account”, with the balance in USDc or EURc. The custody model is not stated, and safeguarding is not stated — meaning nobody at ARQ is publishing whether customer funds are segregated, insured, or held on an open balance. Stablecoins are not risk-free in the abstract either: a peg can break, and Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm. That is Circle’s description of its own reserves, and it is a meaningful one — but it is a statement about a token, not about your money at this particular provider.
Service risk. This is the one with actual numbers behind it, and it comes from users rather than the company. On Trustpilot, ARQ Finance sits at 3.9 out of 5 from 6 reviews, read on 21 October 2026 — a small sample, so treat it as a signal, not a measurement. The older DolarApp Trustpilot page sits at 2.0 out of 5 from 128 reviews, undated. The themes across app-store and Trustpilot reviews from 2025 to 2026, reported by users, recur: accounts frozen or blocked with funds held, unauthorised charges, and slow support. One specific case sits on the ARQ page: a 1-star review dated 14 September 2026 about an unrecognised charge on a virtual card with no support solution. I found no official incidents.
The honest reading: the negative pattern is concentrated on exactly the two things that would hurt you most — access to your money and getting help when something goes wrong. And the scale of the older DolarApp page is large enough that I would not dismiss it as noise.
Support itself is 24/7 in-app chat, with complaints and claims going to [email protected], and a Help Center in Spanish, English and Portuguese. That is a reasonable setup. It does not contradict the reviews; it just means the reviews describe experience, not absence of a channel.
What happens if the whole thing shuts down. This is worth sitting with, because it has happened in this category. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically follow a pattern: notice, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — a single unconfirmed source, so treat it as a shape rather than a fact.
Two further structural risks. Transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee — and since ARQ does not disclose its supported coins and networks, you cannot fully check this before you send. And if you lose a seed phrase to phishing or malware, there is no recovery; the network cannot freeze or return funds. Tether also states it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof.
None of this means ARQ is a bad actor. It means you are making a counterparty decision, and you should make it with your eyes open about what the worst case looks like: money on a platform that freezes accounts, and a virtual card that only works if the platform is answering.
What to take instead
The three alternatives below are here to be compared honestly, not to be ranked against ARQ’s 5.4 — they were assessed on different criteria and in different markets, and their scores are not a like-for-like comparison.
Whop Cards — 5.2 out of 10. US-focused: consumer cards in 31 states (including California, Texas, Florida, New York, Washington-adjacent Washington is not listed — the list runs to Wyoming), business cards in 41. Unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Whether eligibility runs on citizenship or residence is not stated. The card is Visa, working anywhere Visa is accepted; virtual or physical and the card currency are not stated. The page says “No extra fees” but lists no issuance or monthly amounts, and no conversion or FX amounts. Spending draws on a Whop balance — pending balance is usable as soon as a payment arrives, standard withdrawals use settled funds — starting data describes it as backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, with coins and networks not stated. 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned; payout currency and conditions not stated.
Stella — 6.5 out of 10. The highest-scoring of the four, and the one with the vaguest public terms. Countries are not stated on the official site. The terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates. Virtual and physical VISA, working at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally”. Fees are “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App” — no amounts, official or otherwise. Funding is the cleanest model of the four: deposit crypto into the account and it automatically tops up the card, through a custodial in-app wallet. No cashback is stated on the official card page; the Earn product is a separate yield.
UniFi Card — 4.7 out of 10. The weakest of the group, and the one where I would be most careful. Eligibility is not confirmed from official pages: the App Store lists send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone and, in recent release notes, Colombia, Brazil and the UK. The card is a “Prepaid Debit Visa Card” issued by Lead Bank, with Apple Pay support, card currency USD, spending from the USD balance. Fees: “Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details” — no amounts anywhere I could find. Funding via ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE), plus getting paid to a USDC wallet, with coins and networks beyond USDC not stated on the listing. The listing claims 3% rewards on balances; card cashback is not stated.
| ARQ | Whop Cards | Stella | UniFi Card | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.4 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 | 6.5 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Who | Mexico, Argentina, Colombia, Brazil | 31 US states for consumers; 41 for businesses | Not stated; US and EU users routed through affiliates | Not confirmed officially; app routes to PH, MX, eurozone, and recently CO, BR, UK |
| Network | Mastercard | Visa | VISA | Visa, issued by Lead Bank |
| Cost | Virtual free; physical $4.99 USD; no annual fee | “No extra fees” stated, no amounts | Not stated | “Fees may apply”, no amounts |
| Funding | Bank details to the ARQ account; coins and networks not stated | Whop balance, stablecoin-collateral backed per starting data | Deposit crypto into a custodial in-app wallet, auto-tops the card | ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI; USDC wallet |
| Rewards | No reward program described on card pages | 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber | Not stated on the card page | 3% on balances claimed; card cashback not stated |
Where ARQ genuinely wins: a physical card for $4.99 with no annual fee, real Mastercard coverage, and Apple Pay plus Google Pay, in four countries none of the others serve together. Where it genuinely loses: disclosure. Stella funds more cleanly; Whop states its fee position, even if thinly; UniFi at least names its issuing bank.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend ARQ to a person in Mexico, Argentina, Colombia or Brazil who already holds a dollar balance, wants it on a virtual Mastercard today, does not want to pay an annual fee, and is comfortable with a provider that does not publish its licence. I would recommend the physical card — $4.99, no annual fee — to that same person if they will actually use it.
I would not recommend it to anyone outside those four countries, to anyone whose plan depends on loading the card from a specific chain, to anyone who has been frozen by a platform before and needs a published escalation path, and to anyone whose financial decisions depend on knowing exactly what a currency conversion costs them.
The specific thing I would want the company to publish, and it costs them nothing, is the licence and the safeguarding statement. Everything else about this card is either excellent or quietly absent. If that gap is not one you can hold with, this is not the card for you — and that is a reasonable position to take, not a failure of nerve.
Frequently asked questions
What is ARQ?
ARQ is a financial app and a Mastercard payment card that spends the digital-dollar balance held in your ARQ account. It was formerly called DolarApp. The card balance is held in USDc, a digital dollar, with incoming payments converted to USDc or EURc. Availability is limited to Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil.
How does the ARQ card work?
The account balance backs the card, so the card behaves like a prepaid card rather than credit. Your spending limit equals your USDc balance — a 100 USDc balance gives a limit of 100. You cannot overdraw it, and there is no credit line. Payments in any currency are converted at the sell rate shown in the app before you confirm.
Is ARQ a bank?
Not one it describes itself as. The card’s services run through named companies — DolarApp México S.A. de C.V. and DAPP Colombia S.A.S. for Colombian services, Pier 5 S.A. de C.V. for Mexico credit card services — but the licences behind them are not stated. There is also no deposit guarantee information, so treat the balance as held with a provider rather than with a bank.
Who owns ARQ?
ARQ is the former DolarApp, and the copyright is held by DolarApp Inc. The rebrand was reported by Brazilian press across 2025 and 2026. I found no licence or fine events associated with the company in that reporting.
Which countries is the ARQ card available in?
Four: Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil. The country selector on the application lists exactly those. A physical card can be shipped anywhere within Argentina, Colombia, Mexico or Brazil to a valid address in that country, so your shipping address must be in the same set.
Can I use the ARQ card in other countries?
Yes, in general — it is a Mastercard and works wherever Mastercard is accepted, and the physical card works at ATMs worldwide, except that cards issued in Argentina are not permitted at international ATMs. Expect the usual friction of a foreign-issued card: some merchants apply extra scrutiny or decline prepaid and foreign cards outright, and any conversion happens at the sell rate.
Does the ARQ card require KYC?
Yes. Identity verification must be completed inside the app, and the card cannot be created while verification is pending or incomplete. The specific documents, proof of address and age requirements are not stated publicly, nor are the verification tiers or the reasons a review might be blocked or fail.
How do I top up the ARQ card?
You cannot load the card directly. Money goes to the ARQ account using the banking details in the app’s “Add” section, and the resulting USDc or EURc balance is what backs the card. Coins, networks, fees and minimums for that deposit are not stated, which is the main practical reason to check inside the app before sending anything.
Is the ARQ card free?
The virtual card is free, and there is no maintenance or annual fee. The physical card costs $4.99 USD for shipping, and the first one is free if you hold over $100 USD in Main Balance or are a Premium user. ATM withdrawals cost 1% of the amount, with up to 500 USDc per month free of that commission for Premium users.
Is the ARQ card safe?
Safety depends on questions the card’s public pages leave open. It offers the usual safeguards — 2FA, instant freeze, 3D Secure, PIN viewing and block controls — but the custody model and whether customer funds are safeguarded are not stated, and no licence is named. User reports through 2025 and 2026 describe accounts blocked with funds held, unauthorised charges and slow support, so weigh that against the low cost.
Money-app cards – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
