A USDT-only virtual card from an exchange that won't say who issues it
MEXC sells two products under one banner: the MEXC Global Card (launched 31 August 2026, Visa Platinum virtual) and the older MEXC Card (APAC) for selected Asia-Pacific markets. Both are virtual-only, both bill in USD, and both are funded with USDT held inside the MEXC exchange. That much the company says openly. What it does not say — and what a reviewer has to look for elsewhere — is who actually issues the card, where the spending balance sits, and how reliable the platform is when something goes wrong. This review walks through the facts a person needs before they sign up, and it is frank about the parts the public pages leave blank.
The conditions below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
MEXC scores 5.6 out of 10. The strongest scores are for who can get one (broad country list, virtual card) and for headline costs (zero issuance, zero annual, zero top-up, zero crypto conversion on the Global Card). The weakest are for top-up flexibility (USDT only, no fiat, networks not disclosed), everyday use (no physical card, no ATM, Google Pay only on the APAC variant) and reliability (the exchange is on a regulator’s watch list, complaints on Trustpilot are almost entirely one-star, and the card page does not name the issuer or any safeguarding arrangement).

I would steer this card to a fairly narrow reader: someone who already keeps USDT on MEXC, lives in Southeast Asia or another covered market, wants cashback on virtual-card spending, and accepts that the card is a closed loop on a custodial exchange. If any of those four points is not true, there are better options in the comparison below.
| Criterion | Score | Why it scored that way |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Virtual, broadly available, but 69 countries and territories are blacklisted and the proof of address must come from a permitted country |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | No issuance (waived), no annual, no top-up, 0% crypto conversion, but a 1% spending fee kicks in on 1 October 2026 |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | USDT only, routed through a “Fiat account”, networks not named on the public page |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Issuer not named, balance sits with the exchange, the platform has no Trustpilot score and 88% of reviews are one-star, and the exchange appears on Hong Kong’s SFC suspicious-platforms alert list |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual Visa Platinum only; Apple Pay and Google Pay on Global Card, Google Pay only on APAC; no physical card, no ATM |
Who the MEXC card suits: USDT holders in Asia who want a quick virtual Visa to spend at merchants that take mobile wallets, with cashback and no top-up friction inside the MEXC app.
Who it does not suit: anyone who needs an ATM, a physical card, multi-currency balances, fiat top-up, or a clearly-named issuer with a real banking licence behind the card.
Who will give you the card
The country rules for MEXC’s card are stated the way most crypto cards state them: as a blacklist, not a whitelist. The card page itself shows “The Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand…” with a Details link to the full list, and that link is where you actually find out whether your country is in or out. As of August 2026, the application blacklist includes the United States, China, India, Indonesia, Turkey and Russia, among others; the Philippines, Taiwan, Vietnam and Thailand are not on the blacklist. A separate unofficial count from DefiLlama puts the covered footprint at 110 countries, with SpendNode (2026) describing the Global Card as spanning Southeast Asia, Latin America, Africa, the Caribbean, the Gulf, Central Asia, plus Japan, South Korea, New Zealand and Israel — but those third-party counts are not what the card page uses, and the official list can change.

The rule that matters in practice is this: eligibility follows the country of your proof of address, not your citizenship or where you actually live. If your documents are from a permitted country, you can apply from almost anywhere; if they are not, the application will not move past KYC. Nationality is screened separately (sanctions and issuer policy treat citizenship and country of birth on their own), so a passport from a sanctioned country can still be a problem even if your address is in Manila or Bangkok. The card page does not publish a separate citizenship rule, and it does not list every reason an application would be turned down.
Before you start, check three things in this order: (1) the Details link next to the country list on the card page, for the current blacklist; (2) whether your address document is from a permitted country, because that is the single field the application will check; (3) whether you have a passport from a country that the issuer is likely to treat as high-risk, even if the address is fine.
How to get it
Application is a three-step path inside the MEXC app or website, and the order is not optional: you cannot apply for the card until your account has cleared Advanced KYC. The page does not state a minimum age (third-party crypto cards in this category usually require 18+), and it does not list every document the issuer might ask for, so plan for the standard set: a government-issued photo ID and a live face check. The proof of address must be from one of the countries the card programme permits — this is why the country list in the previous section matters even before you look at fees.
Once Advanced KYC is approved, the visible steps are: open the My MEXC Card page, apply, then transfer USDT to a Fiat account and fund the card from there. There is no separate activation step in the public flow; once the card is issued it appears in the MEXC app, ready to add to a mobile wallet. The page does not state a processing time, and it does not list the reasons an application might be rejected after KYC has cleared.
What is worth knowing before you click “apply”:
- The card is virtual only. A physical card is “not yet available” on the card page at the time of checking, which is why there is no delivery step, no shipping fee and no waiting period.
- The card is Visa Platinum on the Global Card variant, billed in USD, funded in USDT. The APAC Card is also Visa, USD-billed, USDT-funded.
- 3-D Secure (Visa Secure) is on by default: a one-time code is sent to your email (valid for 4 minutes) or generated inside the MEXC app. Some online merchants will ask for it; some will skip it on low-risk transactions.
- Repeated failed payments can trigger a risk review and, in the published policy, lead to card termination. If a card you have just used is suddenly declined, do not try it five more times in a row — contact support first.
What it really costs
The headline numbers on MEXC’s card page look generous: the USD 20 issuance fee is waived for a limited time as of August 2026, the annual fee is zero, the top-up fee is zero, the inactivity and termination fees are zero, and crypto conversion is 0% on the Global Card. That is genuinely competitive. What sits underneath is a 1% transaction fee on every purchase, waived from launch (31 August 2026) through 30 September 2026, and charged from 1 October 2026 onwards. On a 100 USD purchase, you will see 101 USDT leave your Fiat account.
On non-USD purchases, the Global Card uses the standard Visa exchange rate with no MEXC markup. The APAC Card adds 1% on top of the Visa rate for non-USD spending, and also charges 1% on crypto conversion. Visa’s own spread on a normal day is usually 0.1% to 0.3%, so the APAC markup is the more expensive of the two products for anyone buying in euros, pounds or yen.
There is no ATM: the published fees say “Not applicable to virtual cards”, and that is the short answer. There is no over-limit fee because the card is prepaid and cannot overdraw, and there is no balance fee (the spending balance is not a deposit account, so no monthly maintenance charge is taken from it).
Cost summary
| Fee or limit | Global Card | APAC Card |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | USD 20 standard, waived for a limited time | 0 |
| Annual fee | 0 | 0 |
| Monthly fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Top-up fee | 0 | 0 |
| Crypto conversion | 0% | 1% |
| FX (non-USD) | Visa rate, no MEXC markup | Visa rate + 1% |
| Transaction (spending) | 1% from 1 October 2026 | 0% |
| ATM | Not applicable (virtual only) | Not applicable (virtual only) |
| Per-transaction limit | 80,000 USD | 50,000 USD |
| Daily limit | 1,000,000 USD | 50,000 USD |
| Monthly limit | 2,500 transactions | 1,040 transactions (per year) |
| Annual limit | 25,000 transactions | 1,000,000 USD |
A few everyday numbers, to put the costs in context:
- A 50 USD subscription in USD (e.g. a streaming plan): with the 1% spending fee on the Global Card, 50.50 USDT leaves your Fiat account. No FX, no conversion. On the APAC Card, 50 USDT leaves the account (no transaction fee, but the crypto conversion is 1%, so 50.50 USDT is converted for a 50 USD spend).
- A 50 EUR purchase in Europe (roughly 53 USD on a normal day): Global Card uses the Visa rate and adds 1% spending fee, so about 53.53 USDT. APAC Card adds 1% on top of the Visa rate, plus 1% spending, so about 54.06 USDT. The difference is small in absolute terms, but it shows up every time you tap abroad.
- A 1,000 USD one-off purchase: Global Card deducts 1,010 USDT; APAC Card deducts 1,000 USDT plus a 1% crypto conversion on the way in, so 1,010 USDT converted.
The biggest hidden cost is the exchange rate, and that is not MEXC’s. Visa’s published spread of around 0.1% to 0.3% on a normal day is small, but it is on top of whatever the mid-market rate was when the merchant settled. On the Global Card, that compensation is real. On the APAC Card, the 1% crypto conversion already takes a bite before cashback starts.
How to top it up
Funding is a two-hop transfer: you send USDT from your MEXC spot or funding wallet to a separate Fiat account inside the same exchange, then push the balance from that Fiat account onto the card. The page does not name the supported networks for the USDT transfer, which is the part that catches people out — sending USDT on the wrong network is the most common way to lose funds on a card like this, and once a transfer is sent on a network MEXC does not support, recovery depends on the support team and is not guaranteed. The MEXC post linked from the card page describes the flow in more detail, but the headline on the card page itself is silent on Tron, Ethereum, Solana, Arbitrum or any other specific chain.
What is in the public materials:
- No top-up fee. Moving USDT into the Fiat account is free, and pushing the balance onto the card is free.
- Minimum top-up of 1 USDT, maximum of 1,000,000 USDT per top-up on the Global Card (an older MEXC post cites a 100 USDT minimum, which conflicts with the current page).
- No fiat top-up. You cannot buy USDT on a card, bank transfer or wallet and load it directly; the only path is through USDT already on the MEXC exchange. If you do not already hold USDT on MEXC, you first have to acquire it (P2P, on-chain deposit, or another funding route) and then move it to the Fiat account.
- No card-to-cash withdrawal flow is published. The card can be terminated with a zero fee, but the page does not describe how the remaining balance comes back to the exchange account, and it does not say what happens on closure if the merchant settlement has not cleared.
A short checklist before your first top-up:
- Confirm the supported network for USDT deposits on the MEXC card page (or in the support article linked from it) before sending. USDT is a token that exists on many blockchains; only some will be accepted, and the card page does not name them.
- Send a small test amount first. A 5 or 10 USDT test transfer will tell you in minutes whether the network and address are right, and is cheap insurance against an unrecoverable loss.
- Keep a small ETH or TRX buffer if you are sending on Ethereum or Tron. ERC-20 USDT transfers pay gas in ETH, and Tron transfers often burn TRX; a wallet with USDT but no native gas token cannot send.
- Do not load more than you plan to spend in the next week or two. The spending balance is held by the issuer / exchange and is not protected by a deposit guarantee scheme.
Paying with it every day
In your pocket or on your phone, the MEXC card behaves like a prepaid Visa. The Global Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay; the older APAC Card works with Google Pay only. Adding it to a wallet takes a minute: open the MEXC app, find the card, tap “Add to Apple Wallet” or “Add to Google Pay”, and follow the issuer’s verification. From then on, you tap to pay anywhere contactless is taken, and the merchant sees a Visa transaction settled in USD.
Online, the card behaves like any other Visa checkout. Most merchants will accept it; some will not. The common reasons a foreign or prepaid BIN gets declined are merchant policy (some shops do not accept prepaid cards, even on Visa), address-verification mismatches (AVS is mostly a US/Canada/UK tool, and can be unreliable on cards issued outside the customer’s home country), and risk scoring on a first-time use at a new merchant. The card has 3-D Secure turned on by default, so a first transaction at a new merchant may pop a one-time code by email or in the MEXC app.
The cashback is the part of everyday use worth knowing. Rewards are paid in USDT by the 15th of the next month and are tiered by M-Score, MEXC’s internal ranking of an account’s trading activity:
| Tier | M-Score | Cashback | Monthly cap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | < 600 | 4% | 100 USDT |
| Premier | 600–799 | 6% | 300 USDT |
| Elite | 800+ | 10% | 800 USDT |
The M-Score is not a fee tier — it is the exchange’s own ranking based on trading volume and engagement on the platform, and it is described in more detail in the MEXC help center. A casual user who does not trade will sit in Standard; the higher tiers reward active traders. There is also a referral bonus of 20 USDT for the referrer and 10 USDT for the new user, paid in USDT.
Disputes and refunds: the published process is to contact the merchant first, then MEXC Customer Service with a reason and supporting evidence. The windows are 90 days for duplicate charges and 120 days for suspected fraud, goods not received, or goods not as described. Filing a dispute is free; if the dispute is rejected for incomplete evidence, a review fee may apply. Refunds usually clear in 1–7 days (up to 30 days for travel), with a USD 0.50 fee per refund only if the refund rate is unusually high. Cashback paid on a refunded purchase is deducted from the next payout.
The card page does not publish a list of blocked merchant categories, and it does not say which MCCs are excluded from cashback — a gap that matters if you want to use the card at gambling sites, crypto exchanges, or other categories that some cards exclude from rewards.
What can go wrong
This is where the MEXC card review has to step outside the card page. The product itself is a fairly standard prepaid Visa, but the platform it sits on has a public trust record that any potential user should look at before they load a balance.
- The issuer is not named on the card page. The card page, the support article and the application’s terms do not publicly state which bank or e-money institution issues the card. The “reviewed documents identify no issuer or safeguarding arrangement” line is from a third-party (SpendNode, 2026, unofficial). Without a named issuer, the question of who holds the spending balance and under what licence is not answered.
- The balance is custodial. USDT is converted to a USD balance that sits with the exchange until you spend. If the exchange has a security incident, or freezes withdrawals, the card balance is exposed in the same way a spot balance would be. There is no public insurance or safeguarding statement for the card balance.
- Trustpilot reviews of the exchange are almost entirely one-star. As of the date of checking, the MEXC Trustpilot page shows a “breach of our guidelines” notice, no public score, 1,368 reviews, and 88% are one star. The themes that come up repeatedly: accounts flagged “risk” without reasons, withdrawals frozen or delayed for months, generic support replies, hard account deletion, and a small charge (USD 0.50) on a declined Apple Pay transaction. (Unofficial, not confirmed by MEXC.)
- The exchange is on a regulator’s alert list. FinTelegram reports that MEXC appears on the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission’s list of suspicious virtual-asset trading platforms. The SFC alert list is a public warning to investors in Hong Kong; it is not a ban, and the card product itself is not directly named. (Unofficial, not confirmed by MEXC.)
- Programme and platform risk in general. Card programmes can be wound down with notice: a programme closure typically stops new loads first, then spending, and finally asks users to withdraw balances. Visa and Mastercard can suspend an issuer (WaveCrest in 2018 is the classic example), and the card network itself can also end a programme. A card tied to a single exchange is also exposed to whatever happens to that exchange — including delistings, banking problems in the underlying jurisdiction, or sanctions changes.
- Stablecoin-specific risks. USDT is the only funding token. Tether can freeze funds tied to illicit activity and has done so; the card balance, like any USDT, is therefore not censorship-proof. Sending USDT on a network MEXC does not support is recoverable only with MEXC’s help, and that help is not guaranteed.
- Refund and chargeback limits. Prepaid cards in the US are covered unevenly by Regulation E (debit) and Regulation Z (credit) — do not assume consumer protections that apply to a bank debit card will apply to a prepaid Visa from an exchange.
If any of these are deal-breakers for you — and for many readers they will be — the alternatives in the next section are worth reading.
What to take instead
Three cards come up most often as alternatives to MEXC, in roughly the same product category. They are not necessarily better for every reader; they are better on specific points.
| Card | Score | What it does well | Where it is weaker than MEXC |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSX | 6.4 / 10 | Higher overall score, broader product surface | The official page does not state the country list, fees, or funding options, so it is hard to compare head-to-head |
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | Virtual and physical, multiple regions, fiat-first funding, tiered cashback up to 10% with a 600 USDT monthly cap, welcome offer 10% up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days | Only crypto-funded transactions earn rewards since 5 October 2026; fiat-funded spend does not. Region-locked, with explicit exclusion of EEA customers; a 0.5%–0.9% crypto conversion fee; a 2% FX fee on most non-USD spending |
| Pionex | 4.8 / 10 | Free annual fee, USDT-only balance, real-time 1% cashback, 5% APY on the card balance | Only USDT held, only virtual cards issued now, only one cashback rate. Mastercard variant charges up to 3.5% per transaction |
A quick reading of the trade-offs:
- MSX is the higher-scoring option, but the score is built on incomplete public information. If you are choosing between MEXC and MSX, read MSX’s country list and fees directly before deciding.
- Bybit Card is the most feature-complete of the three: it has a physical card in most regions, a fiat-first funding model that draws on the exchange’s Funding Account, multi-region issuance, and a six-tier cashback structure (Base 2% / Beta 2% / Alpha 4% / Apex 6% / Omega 8% / Infinite 10%) that rewards high spend. The 0.9% crypto conversion fee on most regions is a real cost, and the rule that only crypto-funded transactions earn cashback since 5 October 2026 is a meaningful change. The card explicitly excludes EEA customers, and its fiat-service restricted list includes Russia, Belarus, Serbia, China and the United States.
- Pionex is the closest to MEXC in shape — virtual-only, USDT-funded, USD-billed — but it charges a 1% transaction fee on Visa and up to 3.5% on Mastercard, which is steeper than the MEXC Global Card’s 1% spending fee. Its strengths are the 1% real-time cashback and the 5% APY on the card balance, which is unusual for this category.
Who I would recommend it to
Putting the sections above together, the MEXC card fits a fairly narrow profile, and I would recommend it only to readers who already meet several of these conditions:
- You already hold USDT on the MEXC exchange and do not want to move it elsewhere.
- You live in (or have a proof of address from) a country the card programme permits, and your citizenship is not on a sanctions-sensitive list.
- You mostly spend in USD, online or via mobile wallet, and you do not need an ATM or a physical card.
- You can live with a 1% spending fee from 1 October 2026, and you are happy to fund the card in USDT only, with no fiat top-up.
- You understand that the card balance is held by the exchange, the issuer is not named on the public page, and there is no public safeguarding statement. You are sizing the balance accordingly.
- You are an active enough MEXC user to climb to Premier (M-Score 600–799) or Elite (800+), because the cashback is the main way the 1% spending fee pays for itself.
If even one of those is not true — especially the issuer, the country, or the USDT-only funding — the comparison table above is where to start looking, and Bybit is the most likely swap.
Frequently asked questions
What is the MEXC card?
The MEXC card is a prepaid virtual Visa card issued in partnership with MEXC, a cryptocurrency exchange. There are two products: the Global Card (Visa Platinum virtual, launched 31 August 2026) and the older APAC Card. Both bill in USD, both are funded in USDT held on the MEXC exchange, and both are virtual — no physical card is available yet.
How does the MEXC card work?
You complete MEXC’s Advanced KYC, apply on the My MEXC Card page, transfer USDT from your exchange wallet to a separate Fiat account, and then load the card from that balance. When you pay, the card deducts USD from the loaded balance; MEXC converts USDT into the USD balance as part of the funding step. The card does not hold USDT itself, and it cannot overdraw because it is prepaid.
Is MEXC a bank?
No. MEXC is a cryptocurrency exchange, not a bank. The card product sits on top of the exchange, and the card page does not name the issuing bank or e-money institution. Without a named issuer, the card balance is a custodial balance held by the exchange, not a deposit at a bank.
Who owns MEXC?
The card page does not say, and the public research available did not name an issuer, parent company or banking partner for the card product. Treat any specific claim about who issues the MEXC card as unverified unless you see it in the application’s terms or on the card itself.
How do I apply for the MEXC card?
Open a MEXC account, complete Advanced KYC (government photo ID and face verification), and a proof of address from a permitted country. Then go to the My MEXC Card page, apply, and fund the card with USDT from your Fiat account. The page does not state a typical processing time.
Does the MEXC card require KYC?
Yes. Advanced KYC is required before you can apply. The standard set of documents for this category is a government-issued photo ID, a live face check, and a proof of address from one of the countries the card programme permits. Income proof is not requested.
How do I add the MEXC card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
On the Global Card, both Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. On the APAC Card, only Google Pay is supported. Inside the MEXC app, find the card, tap the “Add to Wallet” button, and follow the issuer’s verification. The tokenised card number is stored on the device, not on Apple or Google’s servers.
What does the MEXC card cost?
The Global Card is free to issue while the USD 20 issuance fee is waived, free to top up, has no annual fee and no inactivity fee, and charges 0% on crypto conversion. A 1% spending fee applies from 1 October 2026. The APAC Card charges 0% on transactions but 1% on crypto conversion, plus 1% on top of the Visa rate for non-USD purchases. There is no ATM, because both products are virtual only.
How do I top up the MEXC card?
Send USDT from your MEXC exchange wallet to the Fiat account, then load the card from the Fiat account. The page does not name the supported networks for the USDT transfer; send a small test amount first. There is no fiat top-up — you have to acquire USDT on MEXC first (P2P, on-chain deposit, or another funding route), then move it through the Fiat account to the card.
Is the MEXC card safe?
The card itself is a standard prepaid Visa with 3-D Secure, freeze-from-app and tokenised mobile wallets. The platform it sits on, however, has a public trust record that any user should look at: 88% of MEXC’s Trustpilot reviews are one-star (as of 2026-10-20), the issuer is not named on the public page, and the exchange appears on Hong Kong’s SFC list of suspicious virtual-asset trading platforms. Treat the card balance as a custodial exchange balance, size it accordingly, and do not load more than you are willing to leave on the platform.
Trading-platform cards – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
