ExCards, a virtual crypto card for online spenders
ExCards is a virtual-only payment card service that holds your balance in USDT and lets you spend it through three card products: Visa Universe, Visa E-commerce and Mastercard Business. The pitch is simple: send stablecoins to the address they give you, get a card number, pay online or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. There is no physical card you can use at an ATM, no monthly fee, and a surprisingly light onboarding flow that asks only for a passport scan. That brevity is part of what makes the product interesting, and part of what makes it hard to recommend without a long look at who is actually behind it.
I went through ExCards’ own geo page, terms, fees and the help-centre articles, and read the score I had arrived at earlier (5.9 out of 10) with that material in mind. Below I walk through who the card is for, what it costs in real situations, how funding works in practice, the everyday experience of paying with it, the risks I’d want any reader to weigh first, the alternatives worth comparing, and a short FAQ at the end.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The overall score I land on is 5.9 out of 10. That is a card with a useful shape and a real audience, but several gaps that should make you pause before you load it with anything you cannot afford to lose.
| Criterion | Mark | Why I scored it this way |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Residence-based, not citizenship-based; only a short list of excluded places; most adults can sign up. |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | A non-refundable one-time card price on top of a 2% or 3.5% top-up fee, plus an FX markup of up to 2% and a small per-authorisation fee. |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | USDT on a wide list of networks, with BTC, ETH and SOL auto-converted into USDT first. |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | No legal entity, no named issuer, no licences, and no reviews anywhere I could find — the Terms even describe themselves as a placeholder. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Three virtual cards issued within 10 minutes, Apple Pay and Google Pay everywhere, but no ATM and the physical card is a pre-order with no ship date. |
| Total | 5.9 / 10 | A useful tool for online spenders paying subscriptions and ads from USDT, with serious gaps in transparency that put the burden on the user. |
If you only remember one sentence: ExCards is fast and cheap to start, but the trade-off is that the company behind it does not tell you much about itself, and your balance sits in a custodial wallet at a third party you cannot name.
Who ExCards will give the card to
ExCards does not publish a list of supported countries. Instead, the geo page tells you where it will not serve you, and that list is short. The excluded places are North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, the regions of Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson “where applicable”, Russia “depending on transaction context and issuer policy”, Belarus “for sanctioned persons”, Myanmar and Sudan. Outside that list, the rule is by where you actually live, not by the passport you hold: “You must accurately disclose your country of residence at issuance”, and if you move, you have to report the new residence within 30 days. A false disclosure can lead to the card being closed retroactively, so it is worth taking that step seriously.
In practice that means a US or EU resident in good standing has no obvious barrier, and the same is true of residents in most of Latin America, Africa, the Middle East and Asia. The check is done at the moment you sign up and then refreshed at card expiry, when you change residence, if anything suspicious happens, or by default every 24 months.
For a reader in a heavily sanctioned or restricted jurisdiction, ExCards is not the product to be looking at; the category in general is not. The geo rules in this section are the only place I will spell out the excluded list, and I will simply refer back to it elsewhere in the page.
How to sign up
The sign-up is one of the lighter flows I have seen in this category. You start at the web app at app.excards.io, or through a Telegram mini-app at @ex_cards_bot, and the only identity document requested is a clear scan of the photo page of a government-issued passport. There is no selfie, no liveness check, and no proof of address. The minimum age is 18 in most countries, or the legal age in your jurisdiction if it is higher. The issuer partner then runs a sanctions and PEP screen, checks the document’s authenticity, and issues the card “within 10 minutes after a successful check” — which is what makes the “fast to start” part of the verdict score.
There is only one KYC level. You do not graduate to higher tiers by uploading more documents; the three products differ by price, top-up fee and limits, not by identity tier. The stated reasons for rejection are a false or altered document (which is a permanent block), a sanctions or PEP hit, a failed check, or a situation where issuing the card would break the law or the issuer’s policy. ExCards reserves the right to refuse without giving a reason, so an “approved” outcome is not something you can predict in advance from the documents alone.
The products themselves are three virtual cards: Visa Universe, Visa E-commerce and Mastercard Business. A physical Visa E-commerce card exists as a pre-order, with a mandatory first top-up of 10 USDT, but no shipping date or shipping cost is given. There is no physical Universe or Business card. If a virtual card is lost, leaked or expired, the replacement is the card price again — 29, 35 or 50 USDT respectively — because the card price, like the top-up fee and the authorisation fee, is non-refundable.
Fees: what ExCards really costs
There is no monthly fee, no maintenance fee and no inactivity fee. The cost lives in the card price, the top-up fee, the small per-authorisation fee, the FX markup and the network fee you pay to the blockchain when you load the card. Here is the table ExCards publishes, with the values I am reading off the official page.

| Fee or limit | Visa Universe | Visa E-commerce | Mastercard Business |
|---|---|---|---|
| Card price (one-time, USDT, non-refundable) | $29 | $35 | $50 |
| First top-up (mandatory) | 10 USDT | 10 USDT | 10 USDT |
| Monthly fee | None | None | None |
| Top-up fee | 2% | 3.5% | 3.5% |
| Authorisation fee | $0.50 flat | $0.10 under $1.00, free at $1.00+, plus $0.03 per 3-D Secure, plus $0.80 if declines exceed 10% | $0.50 flat |
| FX markup (non-USD merchants) | Up to 2% over the interbank rate | Up to 2% over the interbank rate | Up to 2% over the interbank rate |
| ATM withdrawal | Not available | Not available | Not available |
| Per-transaction limit | $1,000,000 | $20,000 | $250,000 |
| Daily limit | $3,000,000 | None stated | $500,000 |
| Monthly limit | $3,000,000 | None stated | $1,000,000 |
Three everyday situations make the fee shape easier to feel.
A $100 USDT top-up to an E-commerce card: 100 minus 3.5% leaves 96.50 USDT on the card, and you have already paid the network fee to send it. The mandatory 10 USDT first top-up does the same thing, only smaller: 10 minus 3.5% is 9.65 USDT credited on a Universe or Business card at 2%, and 9.65 USDT on an E-commerce card at 3.5%.
A $50 online subscription paid in USD: there is no FX markup to apply because the merchant settles in dollars, and there is no 3-D Secure fee if the authentication is frictionless; the only thing the user sees is that the underlying USDT left the balance at the rate that applied when the authorisation cleared.
A €40 one-off purchase with a card funded in USDT: the issuer’s reference rate converts euros to dollars, then adds the up-to-2% markup, and the authorisation fee on a Universe or Business card is the flat $0.50; on an E-commerce card it is $0.10 because the transaction is under $1.00. The biggest line item is still the top-up fee you paid on the way in, not the per-payment fee on the way out.
The numbers I am quoting here are the published ones. I have not added, estimated or summed anything that the card does not state itself.
Top up: how funding actually works
The card balance is held in USDT (or USD, treated as the same number by the card). If you hold BTC, ETH or SOL, ExCards converts them to USDT at the “network rate” before they reach the card, and there is no fee on that conversion stated separately. Everything you top up ends up denominated in USDT on the card.

The networks ExCards lists as accepted are Ethereum (ERC-20), Tron (TRC-20), BNB Smart Chain (BEP-20), Bitcoin, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism and Avalanche. The page also says “these networks are just examples, we accept others too”, which leaves the door open for further chains without committing to a list. Transfers between your own ExCards cards are free.
The price of getting money onto the card is the top-up fee (2% for Universe, 3.5% for E-commerce and Business) plus the network fee you pay the blockchain. The first top-up has a 10 USDT minimum. There is no fiat on-ramp in the materials I have read: ExCards does not describe a way to load the card from a bank account or a card payment, and “withdrawal” of the balance back out is not described either. The 10 USDT first top-up stays on the card as spendable balance, but a route to cash it back out is not stated.
This is the part of the page where the practical reader starts asking the right questions. If you are sending USDT from an exchange, double-check the network before you send; blockchain transfers are not reversible, and a deposit to the wrong network is the kind of mistake support may or may not be able to recover. If you are sending from a self-custody wallet, make sure you hold a small amount of the network’s native token (ETH for ERC-20, TRX for Tron, BNB for BEP-20, BTC for the Bitcoin network, MATIC for Polygon, and so on) to pay the gas, because a wallet that holds only USDT cannot move anything on Ethereum.
Paying with the card every day
Once the card is funded, the experience is meant to be the same as any other Visa or Mastercard checkout. The card is virtual, so the card number is what you type into a website; tokenising it into Apple Pay or Google Pay works on all three products, which means a phone tap at any contactless terminal that accepts the network is also possible. There is no physical card to carry, no PIN to remember for in-person use, and no ATM access at all — ExCards says so plainly: “all cards are virtual, and ATM cash withdrawal is not available”.
A declined transaction returns the held funds to the card balance automatically. There is no dispute or chargeback process published, no merchant-category list of blocked spend categories in the public materials, and no cashback or reward scheme beyond a referral programme. The referral scheme has four tiers, from Bronze (20% of the card price for every card issued through your link, plus 0.05% of top-ups) to Platinum (40% of the card price, plus 0.20% of top-ups), and a 10% discount code for a first card. None of that is cashback in the usual sense; it is a one-off discount and a commission on people you bring in.
The Terms of Service bar use for “illegal goods or services, terrorism financing, money laundering, sanctioned-country transactions”, but no positive merchant list is published either. The legal age for the card is 18 in most countries.
A small but useful detail: the dashboard is a web app at app.excards.io plus a Telegram mini-app. There is no App Store or Google Play listing for ExCards itself, so the entry point stays browser-based, which is something to keep in mind if you tend to rely on biometric app locks rather than password-manager flows.
What can go wrong
This is the section I would want any reader to read twice, because the product is small in a way that hides risk, and the risk is mostly about who is on the other side of the transaction.
The company behind ExCards is not named. The brand is “ExCards” with a “© 2026” notice; there is no legal entity on the public pages, no registration country, and no licences listed. The cards are described as “issued by a third-party card issuer partner” and the BIN sponsor is “licensed”, but the issuer itself is not named and the licence is not named. The Terms of Service are dated 17 May 2026 and self-described as a placeholder, with a “final” version said to be due in May–June 2026; a placeholder terms page is unusual, and it is the kind of detail that makes a careful reader slow down.
The balance is custodial. ExCards says explicitly that the balance is “custodial — held with our card issuer partner”, which means you do not hold the private keys to the USDT, and you cannot move the balance to a wallet you control without a withdrawal path the public pages do not describe. In a custodial model, your recourse if the partner fails is whatever the partner’s terms say, plus whatever the card network’s chargeback process offers, and the latter is not published here.
The complaint record is silent. A search for “ExCards reviews”, “ExCards Trustpilot” and “ExCards Reddit” returned nothing; the Trustpilot page does not exist, and there is no dated incident in the public information. That is not evidence of a problem, but it is evidence that there is no community to read before you load money.
The security claims are limited but standard. TLS 1.3 for transport, 3-D Secure 2.0 on all authorisations, suspicious transactions auto-declined. There is no app-based 2FA described in the help centre, no card-freeze feature, no safeguarding statement, and the terms say ExCards is “not liable for declined transactions, FX losses, network downtime, or merchant rejections”. For a custodial product, that is a thin safety net.
The fee-change mechanism is the one operational protection I would want to call out. ExCards says fee changes are announced in-app at least 30 days ahead, which gives you a window to move the balance to a card that is cheaper, or out of the system entirely, before a new fee takes hold — but only if a withdrawal path exists by then.
Finally, on the regulatory side: in the EU, the issuer would in principle be a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and EMIs have to safeguard customer funds in segregated accounts (or insure them), but those funds are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes. The crypto side, if any, sits under MiCA, and providers operating only under national law can continue only until 1 July 2026 at the latest. None of this is unique to ExCards — it is the shape of the category — but it is the shape a reader needs to keep in mind.
What to take instead
The alternatives below offer different balances of fees, card types and geographic reach, which are worth comparing against the features ExCards offers. The numbers for each card reflect the published details, and where specific data was not found, this is noted plainly.
| Alternative | Score | Card | Cost (issuance) | Top-up / spend fee | Where it works |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Debit crypto card on Verve, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical | Not stated | Real-time conversion at spend, “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” — fee % not stated | “200+ countries”, no published exclusion list |
| TakeCard | 5.5 / 10 | Virtual everywhere; physical in Bolivia only (network Visa, USD) | Virtual $5; physical $20 + $20 shipping (one source says $10) | 1% commission per purchase; USD 1:1 | Physical card Bolivia only; wallet may receive from other countries |
| OkiCard | 6.0 / 10 | Virtual (and physical mentioned), Visa/Mastercard, USD/EUR | $0 issuance on the pricing page (FAQ says one-time fee) | Load 3%, transaction 0% in USD | “150+ countries” (some pages “200+”) |
A few notes on how I would read this table, because the numbers do not line up neatly.
Cardex is the broadest geographically — “200+ countries” with no published exclusion list — but the App Store listing I read is Naira-focused, and the conversion fee at the moment of spend is described as “AI-Powered” without a number attached. That is a product I would want to read twice before trusting it with a large balance.
TakeCard is the cheapest to start, and the only one of the three with a clear 1% commission per purchase in writing. The catch is that the physical card is Bolivian for now; the virtual card is the practical option elsewhere, and even then the help-centre articles I read did not list the countries it serves.
OkiCard is the only alternative with a published top-up fee (3%) and a 0% in-USD transaction fee, and a starting issuance price of $15 with a $0 monthly fee on the pricing page — though the FAQ mentions a one-time fee, so the two pages disagree, and the help-centre articles I read did not resolve that. The 100 USDT initial deposit is high.
The honest comparison is that none of these is a clear “better” on every dimension. The ExCards Universe card at 2% top-up is cheaper to load than OkiCard’s 3%, and cheaper than TakeCard’s 1% plus the underlying conversion spread; it is more expensive than TakeCard for a virtual card at issuance ($29 vs $5), and the help-centre articles I read did not give Cardex a comparable number. What ExCards is not, in this comparison, is the most transparent. The alternatives have the same gap on legal entity, but the gaps are different shapes.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend ExCards to a fairly narrow reader, and I would not recommend it to anyone outside that reader.
The reader I have in mind is paying online subscriptions, online ads or other internet-native expenses from a USDT balance they already hold. They want a virtual card, do not need an ATM, do not need a physical card today, are happy with Apple Pay or Google Pay for any in-person spend, and are willing to load a small amount at a time — not a balance they would be upset to lose. They are also willing to do their own due diligence on the issuer, because the materials do not name one. If that is you, the 2% Universe top-up fee, the ten-minute issue and the wide network list are genuinely useful.
The reader I would steer away is anyone for whom ExCards would be a primary banking relationship, anyone who needs a physical card today, anyone whose jurisdiction is on the excluded list or whose citizenship triggers issuer-side caution, anyone who needs ATM access, anyone who needs a published dispute or chargeback process, anyone whose accountant needs a clean per-transaction cost basis, and anyone who would feel locked in by the absence of a public withdrawal path. I would also steer anyone who needs confidence in the legal entity away, because the absence of a named issuer, named licence and named jurisdiction is a real absence, not a stylistic gap.
If the product description on the official page changes, the score should change with it. A named issuer, a published licence, a working withdrawal path, or a Trustpilot page that exists and is being answered would each move the reliability and complaints sub-score up. Until then, the right way to use ExCards is to use it lightly, and to know what you are doing when you load it.
Frequently asked questions
What is ExCards?
ExCards is a virtual payment card service that holds a balance in USDT and lets you spend that balance online, or in person through Apple Pay or Google Pay. It offers three card products — Visa Universe, Visa E-commerce and Mastercard Business — and a physical Visa E-commerce card as a pre-order.
How does ExCards work?
You sign up at app.excards.io or the @ex_cards_bot Telegram mini-app, complete a passport-only KYC check, top up the card with USDT on one of several supported networks, and then spend the balance at any merchant that accepts Visa or Mastercard. Your balance is custodial, meaning the card issuer partner holds the funds on your behalf.
Is ExCards a bank?
No. ExCards is a card programme built on top of a third-party card issuer partner; the issuer is not named on the public pages. The balance is held by that issuer, not by ExCards itself, and it is not a bank deposit.
Who owns ExCards?
The brand is “ExCards”, but the legal entity, registration country and beneficial owner are not published on the official pages. The cards are described as “issued by a third-party card issuer partner” whose identity is not disclosed.
Is ExCards available in my country?
ExCards does not publish a list of supported countries. The geo page lists only the places it will not serve: North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia, Kherson, Russia, Belarus (for sanctioned persons), Myanmar and Sudan. Outside that list, eligibility is by country of residence, not by citizenship.
How do I get an ExCards card?
Sign up at the official web app or the Telegram mini-app, upload a clear scan of your passport’s photo page, and wait for the issuer partner’s KYC and sanctions check. The card is issued within 10 minutes of an approved check, after which you top up at least 10 USDT and can begin spending.
Does ExCards require KYC?
Yes. The required document is a clear scan of the photo page of a government-issued passport; no selfie, video or proof of address is requested. The KYC data is refreshed at card expiry, on a residence change, on suspicious activity, or every 24 months by default.
How do I top up an ExCards card?
Send USDT to the wallet address ExCards provides, on one of the listed networks (ERC-20, TRC-20, BEP-20, Bitcoin, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Avalanche, or other networks they say they accept). The top-up fee is 2% on a Universe card and 3.5% on an E-commerce or Business card, and the blockchain network fee is paid by you to the network, not to ExCards.
How do I withdraw money from ExCards?
The public pages do not describe a withdrawal method. The balance is held by the card issuer partner, and the only documented way to use it is to spend it on the card. The 10 USDT first top-up remains spendable, but a route to cash the balance out to a bank account is not described in the public materials.
Is ExCards safe?
ExCards uses TLS 1.3 and 3-D Secure 2.0, and the balance is held by a licensed third-party issuer partner. The gaps are that the partner and the licence are not named, the Terms of Service describe themselves as a placeholder, the balance is custodial so a partner failure would affect you, and there is no published dispute or chargeback process or Trustpilot page to read before signing up.
Virtual cards for online use – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
