Zero FX fee, plenty left unsaid: OKX Money card reviewed

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have been looking for a card that spends a crypto balance like ordinary money in a shop, the OKX Money card is on the short list — and the reason is unusually concrete. The card states that it charges zero foreign exchange fees and adds no conversion markup when you spend in another currency. That is a real advantage, and in a category where the FX fee is often the thing that quietly eats your balance, it matters.

OKX Money works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The problem is everything around that sentence. The list of countries is not published. The issuing bank is not named. The card network is not named on the official page. The monthly fee, ATM fee, spending limits, delivery time, withdrawal rules and support channels are simply not stated on the public pages I could read. So the honest summary is this: the cost picture is better than most cards in this category and almost everything else is a blank page you have to fill in yourself.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score: 6.7 out of 10, and what that number is made of

Six point seven is not a rejection and it is not an endorsement. It is a card whose visible economics are attractive and whose visible disclosure is thin. Let me show you the six criteria and where the marks come from, because a single number tells you nothing useful on its own.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a OKX Money payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Selected emerging markets in Latin America, Africa, South Asia and the Middle East; the list is not published
Cost 8 / 10 Zero currency fees and no conversion markup; issuance and servicing not disclosed
Top-up options 6 / 10 The account is funded in 50+ currencies and converted into USDG, USDC or USDT; networks not named
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 OKX operates under licensing frameworks in 30+ jurisdictions; the issuer is not named; no official incidents for the card; Trustpilot for the exchange is 1.9/5 from 1,624 reviews
Everyday use 7 / 10 A virtual or physical card from one app; up to 10% cashback; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM not disclosed
Total 6.7 / 10 The strengths are real, and so are the gaps

Who this suits: someone in one of the markets where the card has actually launched, who wants to hold and spend dollar-backed stablecoins rather than gamble on crypto price swings, who is comfortable uploading identity documents to a large exchange, and who values a clear FX line more than a long published fee schedule. If your day-to-day is paying a market stall, a taxi or a local shop without a conversion haircut eating a slice of every transaction, that is exactly the case this card is built for — users in emerging markets who save in digital dollars and spend.

Who it does not suit: anyone who needs the numbers before committing. If you are in Europe, the UK or North America and you are reading this hoping the card might be a workaround for a banking relationship that has gone wrong, the card does not present itself as that. There is no published eligibility list to check against your country before you spend an afternoon on identity documents, and the issuer that actually stands behind the plastic is not named. If you need Apple Pay, a bank transfer out, a phone number for support or a cooling-off period on a complaint, none of that is stated.

One more framing before you decide anything: this is a 6.7, which is a mark of “workable, with real questions to ask”, not “obvious”. My score for cost is 8 out of 10 and my score for reliability is 6 out of 10 from the same product, and that spread tells you the whole story. The cost is good where it is documented; everything else is where the disclosure is thin.

Will they give you the card?

Here is the eligibility answer first: selected emerging markets in Latin America, Africa, South Asia and the Middle East, and no more detail than that. The exact list is not published. OKX describes the rollout as expanding market by market, and card access depends on the customer’s country — which is the phrase that does the real work. “Depends on the customer” means it can depend on where you live, and possibly on other things nobody has written down.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up OKX Money starts with a transfer to the right network

That is an uncomfortable thing to read if you are outside those four regions. The card is not advertised as globally available, and I would not plan around it being available in your country just because you can read about it.

There are examples of launch markets — South Africa, Kenya, Nigeria, Pakistan, Bangladesh — but those come from a third-party site, ProPakistani, dated 6 Oct 2026, and OKX has not confirmed them. Treat them as unofficial: useful for a rough sense of where to expect the card to appear, not a guarantee for your own country. If a launch market list matters to your decision, the only version that counts is what the app itself shows you when you register.

The practical test is cheap: create the account, get through identity checks, and see whether the card section is live for you. That is the same path any applicant takes anyway, and it costs you nothing but time.

How to get it

The short answer: you sign up, pass identity checks, then the card comes from the same app as your balance. That is the whole stated process.

New users sign up and pass identity checks before funding. Which documents you will need is not stated on the card’s public pages — not the passport-versus-ID question, not the proof-of-address question, not the selfie. If you have been turned away by a financial institution before, you know this is the step where things stall, and you cannot read ahead on what will be asked of you.

On the card itself: you get a virtual or a physical card, or choose between them, from the same app. The card currency is not stated. The network is not named on the official page — the reporting says Mastercard, per crypto.news in Oct 2026, and that is unofficial; the card itself does not confirm it on the page I could read. Delivery timing is not stated, so if you are planning around a physical card arriving before a trip, do not assume it will.

One thing to keep separate as you read around: OKX has a separate European OKX Card, and it is a different product from OKX Money. Do not read features from one and expect them on the other — that mix-up is the single most common error I see in how people describe this card.

What it really costs

The strongest thing I can say about OKX Money’s pricing is that its most expensive-sounding fee is zero. The card states that it charges zero foreign exchange fees and adds no conversion markup on purchases in another currency, and that converting between the supported stablecoins carries no conversion fees. In plain terms: paying for a coffee priced in a currency you do not hold should not cost you an extra slice, and moving between USDG, USDC and USDT inside the app is not taxed by the card.

Everything else on the price list is blank. Here is the honest version of the table, with the blanks left blank.

Fee or limit What the card says
Issuance not stated
Monthly fee not stated
Conversion fee no conversion fees between supported stablecoins; no conversion markup added
Foreign exchange fee zero
ATM not stated
Daily limits no amounts stated
Monthly limits no amounts stated
Balance type dollar-backed stablecoin balance; local-currency funding in 50+ currencies
Spending limits users can set spending limits in the app (crypto.news)
Tiers not stated

Let me run three ordinary payments through that table, because that is how the fee line actually behaves.

Two honest cautions. First, zero FX fee is not the same as zero cost: the blockchain network fee for your own deposit is charged by the network, not by the card, and that one is separate. Second, the missing monthly fee is not the same as a zero monthly fee — it is an unanswered question. A card that publishes one good number and leaves the rest unpublished is a card where you should assume the unstated costs are the ordinary ones until you have seen them in writing.

How to top it up

Here is the funding answer: more than 50 supported currencies go in, and they come out the other side as dollar-backed stablecoins — USDG, USDC or USDT — sitting in your app balance.

That is a genuinely broad top-up surface. Instead of hunting for a bridge or a specific chain, you fund from local currency in the market you actually live in, and the app converts. For someone whose income is in a local currency and whose savings want to be in dollars, that is the feature that makes the card usable at all.

The catch is the same one as everywhere else with this card: networks are not stated. If you are transferring a stablecoin in from somewhere else, you cannot read which network to send it on, and sending on the wrong network is how funds go missing. Fees and minimums for the top-up are not stated either. Withdrawal rules are not stated.

So the honest workflow is: use the in-app conversion from supported fiat, where the provider chooses the route, rather than sending a transfer to an address you found yourself. And if you do send a transfer in, treat the network question as unanswered rather than as anything you worked out.

Paying with it every day

The everyday-use picture is decent and thin at the same time. A virtual or physical card from one app, spending a stablecoin balance — that covers a lot of what a normal card does. What is missing is most of what makes a card feel finished.

Apple Pay and Google Pay support: not stated for OKX Money. I want to be careful here, because this is where people get the wrong answer — the separate European OKX Card does support Apple Pay and Google Pay, and it is a different product. Whether phone wallets work on the Money card is something the card’s own pages do not say. If tokenised phone payment is central to how you pay, you need to check this yourself in the app before you commit.

Where you can use it: anywhere the network is accepted, which is the ordinary answer, with the caveat that prepaid and foreign BINs get refused more often than people expect (more on that under risks).

On rewards: up to 10% cashback on qualifying purchases for eligible customers, with rates varying by region and eligibility, and the payout currency not stated. There is also up to 10% APY on eligible USDG balances, and referral commissions. Treat “up to 10%” as a ceiling that most people will not reach — the actual rate depends on your region and whether you qualify, and nobody is publishing who does.

The app is standalone — OKX Money launched as its own app on 6 Oct 2026 — which is a cleaner experience than digging through a full exchange interface. Store ratings for it were not read, so I have no independent view on how the app actually behaves day to day.

How disputes work: not stated. That is worth pausing on, because if you cannot find out how a chargeback works on this card, you are the one absorbing the loss when a shop takes your money and delivers nothing.

What can go wrong

The card has no official incidents recorded. That is not nothing — but here is the full picture of what I actually know and where it comes from.

The bigger structural point: this card depends on at least two licences. A card is a payment service regulated under e-money and payment-services law, while the crypto side is a separate regime, and the issuer behind the plastic may be a different company from the brand you downloaded. Where a crypto card is a single-brand card with an unstated issuer, the person you complain to is not obvious. And the category has precedent for programmes simply ending — WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes; Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. Programme closures typically give notice, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw. Check that you can get your money out, and ask how.

What to take instead

The honest comparison is with cards that publish their numbers. Here is how the three alternatives I looked at stack up.

OKX Money MSX Bybit Card MEXC
Score 6.7 / 10 6.4 / 10 6.0 / 10 5.6 / 10
Eligibility Selected emerging markets, list not published not stated on an official page Long published regional list Page names the Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand
Card Virtual or physical not stated officially Virtual and physical, by region Virtual only, physical not yet available
Network not named officially (reported Mastercard) not stated Mastercard and Visa, by region not stated
Issuance not stated not stated Virtual free; physical by region, e.g. Australia 29.99 USD 20 USD (page shows a possible 0 USD discount)
FX fee zero not stated 2% on top of network rate in several regions; 0.5% Argentina; 1% Brazil; 7% Argentina purchases not stated
Cashback up to 10%, varies by region not stated 2% to 10% by tier 4% to 10% by M-Score tier
Key caveat everything unstated almost nothing published explicitly not for EEA customers physical card not available

Bybit Card is the one to look at if published, region-by-region fees matter more to you than a headline zero. It states a virtual card is free until further notice, and it lists physical issuance prices by market — Australia 29.99 USD, Argentina 5 USD/USDT, Georgia 29,99 USDT, Kazakhstan (AIFC) 29,99 USDT, Asia Pacific 5 USDT, none in Brazil and Mexico, with VIP holders of certain physical cards exempt. It publishes conversion and FX fees per region, card currencies per country, card validity periods, and a named list of regions in its help centre. It also states something you will not find on OKX Money’s pages: that the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that EEA participation is strictly prohibited. In the other direction, its fees are simply higher in several markets — 2% FX on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico, 7% in Argentina, plus Argentine taxes. And from 2026-10-05 only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback; fiat-funded spending does not.

MEXC is a thinner product: virtual card only, with physical cards not yet available, an issuance fee of 20 USD, funding via USDT to the Fiat account, and cashback by M-Score tier from 4% to 10%.

MSX I could not evaluate. Almost every field I needed — eligibility, card, cost, fees, funding, rewards — is not stated on an official page I could read. I would rather tell you that than dress it up.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend OKX Money to someone who is in one of its launch markets, who already has a working relationship with OKX as an exchange, and who wants to hold dollars and spend them without a conversion haircut on every purchase. For that person the card does one thing well and says so: zero foreign exchange fees, no conversion markup, no fee for moving between dollar-backed stablecoins. That is a better cost structure than most of the category publishes.

I would not recommend it as a first crypto product to someone who needs certainty, and I would not recommend it to anyone whose country is not on the (unpublished) list. If you cannot get a normal bank card and you are reading this hoping the OKX Money card is a route around that, the card does not present itself as one, and it does not tell you enough to find out safely in advance. Upload your documents only if you have already decided that OKX is a counterparty you are comfortable with, because custody and support are the two things the disclosure is thinnest on.

If your priority is knowing what you will pay, look at Bybit Card instead — every number is published, including the ones you would rather not read. If you want a second opinion before committing, the comparison table above is the fastest way to see whether an unpublished fee is actually a zero fee or just a fee that has not been written down yet.

Frequently asked questions

What is OKX Money card?

It is a payment card issued through the OKX Money app, where your balance is held as dollar-backed stablecoins — USDG, USDC or USDT — and can be converted from more than 50 supported fiat currencies. You get a virtual or physical card from the same app and spend that balance like ordinary money. The card states zero foreign exchange fees and no conversion markup on purchases in another currency.

How does OKX Money card work?

You fund the app balance in a supported fiat currency or with stablecoins, and the card spends that balance. It behaves like a prepaid card rather than a debit card linked to a bank account: the money is already loaded, converted to dollars, so it cannot overdraw. The card network is not named on the official page, though reporting indicates Mastercard. Card currency is not stated.

Is OKX Money a bank?

No — it is a card product from OKX, an exchange operator, not a bank. OKX operates under licensing frameworks in more than 30 jurisdictions, but the card’s issuer is not named on the card’s own pages, and that issuer is likely an e-money institution rather than a bank. That distinction matters for deposit protection: e-money customer funds must be safeguarded, but they are not the same as bank deposits.

Who owns OKX Money?

OKX owns it — the entity is listed as OKX INC. The card is delivered through a standalone OKX Money app, launched on 6 Oct 2026, separate from the main exchange app. The bank or e-money institution that actually issues the card is not named, which is the ownership detail you cannot get from the public pages.

Is OKX Money card available in my country?

The card is offered in selected emerging markets in Latin America, Africa, South Asia and the Middle East, expanding market by market, and access depends on the customer’s country. The exact list is not published. Examples circulating — South Africa, Kenya, Nigeria, Pakistan, Bangladesh — come from a third-party report and are unofficial. Register and pass identity checks to see whether it is live for you.

Can I use OKX Money card in my country?

If your country is served, you can spend wherever the card network is accepted. Two practical warnings: prepaid and foreign cards are declined more often than people expect, because merchants check the issuing country, and address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause online declines. Spending limits you set yourself in the app are your main guardrail, since the daily and monthly amounts are not stated.

Does OKX Money card require KYC?

Yes. New users sign up and pass identity checks before funding the account. The specific documents required are not stated on the public pages — not whether a passport, national ID or proof of address is needed. This is normal for regulated providers and follows anti-money-laundering rules, but it means the real requirements only become clear once you are inside the application.

How do I top up the OKX Money card?

You fund the account in more than 50 supported currencies, and the app converts it into USDG, USDC or USDT in your balance. Converting between those supported stablecoins carries no conversion fees, and the card adds no conversion markup. Top-up fees and minimums are not stated, and if you transfer a stablecoin in from elsewhere, the supported networks are not stated — so prefer the in-app conversion, where the provider picks the route.

Is OKX Money card safe?

There are no official incidents recorded for the card, and OKX operates under licensing frameworks in 30+ jurisdictions. But the card does not name its issuer, does not state its security measures, does not state its dispute process, and does not state how to reach support. For the exchange behind it, Trustpilot shows 1.9/5 from 1,624 reviews on the main page, with recurring themes of support loops. Weigh that against the fact that your balance is custodial and transfers are irreversible.

How do I add OKX Money card to Apple Wallet?

I cannot confirm that this works, because Apple Pay support is not stated for OKX Money. It is stated for the separate European OKX Card, which is a different product and a common source of confusion. If tokenised phone payment matters to how you pay, check the app’s card settings directly before relying on it, rather than taking it from a review or an ad.

Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team