Free to hold, cheap to convert, and quiet on the details that matter: a close reading of the PayPilot card

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The PayPilot card promises the part of a crypto card most people actually care about: no charge to hold it. Issuance is 0 EUR, the service fee is 0 EUR, and paying straight from a euro balance carries no commission. That is a genuinely unusual set of numbers in a category where fees are usually the first thing you trip over. The catch is not the price but the silence around it — where the card is available, what the exchange-rate markup is, what the limits are, and how a dispute would be handled are all things the public pages do not state. So this is a card with an attractive price sheet and an unusually thin disclosure sheet, and both facts belong in the same sentence.

PayPilot works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I scored it 7.4 out of 10, which sits above the middle of the category without being an endorsement. It is built for euro spenders who already hold crypto and want to convert it into everyday spending money without paying for the privilege of holding a card. It is not built for people who travel and need predictable multi-currency pricing, because the foreign-exchange fee is one of the numbers the card does not publish. If you are choosing between cards with the express purpose of spending crypto in Europe, PayPilot belongs on your shortlist; if you are choosing a travel card, it does not.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score in full

Here is the whole breakdown, criterion by criterion, so you can see where the marks came from rather than taking a single number on trust.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a PayPilot payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Depends on country of residence and local regulations; supported regions are not disclosed
Cost 9 / 10 Issuance 0 EUR, service 0 EUR, payments from a euro balance without commission, crypto-to-euro conversion 0.4%; FX fee not disclosed
Top-up options 6 / 10 BTC, ETH, USDT and EUR; top up with crypto or EUR; networks not named
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Issuer Walletto UAB, electronic money licence No 33 of the Bank of Lithuania dated 29 March 2018; no complaints found
Everyday use 9 / 10 Visa, virtual immediately and physical by post, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals
Total 7.4 / 10 A cheap, simple euro card with more unknowns than its price sheet admits

Two things stand out. The cost mark is the highest in the set and the availability mark is the lowest, which is the wrong way round for a card whose main job is convenience. And the reliability mark rests less on customer sentiment than on paperwork: I found no PayPilot-specific complaints on Trustpilot, Reddit or in the news, and no official incidents, but the absence of complaints from a young product with a small public footprint tells you less than a long clean record would.

Will they give you the card

Availability “depends on your country of residence and local regulations”, and that is the whole of the official statement. The list of supported regions is not published. The rule is framed around residence; citizenship is not mentioned at all in what the card says.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up PayPilot starts with a transfer to the right network

That framing matters more than it first appears. In the EU, an electronic money institution licensed in one member state can offer services across the EU and EEA, so a Lithuanian-licensed issuer has more room than a local one would — but “more room” is not the same as “everywhere”, and a card marketed this way can still be switched off in individual countries by local rules or by the issuer’s own risk policy. The category has a pattern here: nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as to country of address.

So the honest answer to “can I get a PayPilot card?” is: probably, but you cannot tell from the public pages. The practical move before you spend any time on the form is to look for a supported-countries list in the app or on the site’s own pages, and to be quietly sceptical if you find yourself in a region the platform does not name. If you live somewhere with a history of crypto restrictions, treat the absence of a list as a bad sign rather than a neutral one.

I would not read this as a card built for people who cannot get ordinary banking. It is a euro-denominated crypto card with a residency condition attached, and that condition is simply not spelled out.

How to get it

The stated sequence is: register, verify identity, create the card. Before creating the card you complete a one-time “quick identity verification”. The documents you need, whether proof of address is required separately, and any age threshold are not stated on the card pages.

What is stated about verification is worth reading carefully, because it is more than most pages say. The account is verified once, and the verification partners named are KycAid and Ondato. Levels, expected times and the reasons a check might fail are not stated. Crucially, the issuer may re-verify your identity and request further documents at any time — so “verified once” describes the start of the relationship, not the end of the paperwork.

There is a small regulatory footnote that shapes the whole experience of opening an account like this. Under anti-money-laundering rules in the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. If due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is expected to hold back from the transaction and, where necessary, end the relationship. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic systems also validate proof-of-address documents against records. That is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents, and it is not a sign that anyone did anything wrong.

On the card itself: it is a Visa, for online and in-store use, spending from a euro balance. Whether a virtual or a physical card is issued is not stated on the card page. The card terms do allow virtual cards, usable immediately, and physical cards, which need activation, are sent by post, and whose issuance fee includes postal costs at the issuer’s own country pricing. The delivery time and cost are not stated.

If you need a card number to put into a subscription today, ask the support team which of the two you get at sign-up and how long the physical card takes. That single question resolves most of the ambiguity in this section.

What it really costs

This is the card’s strongest suit, and it is worth setting out precisely what is known and what is not.

Item Value
Issuance fee 0 EUR
Monthly service fee 0 EUR
Payment from euro balance No commission
Crypto-to-euro conversion 0.4%
Foreign-exchange fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated; cash withdrawals supported
ATM allowance Not stated
Single, daily and monthly limits Exist; values not stated
Tiers Not stated; a single card, no tiers described

The conversion fee is the only number on this page that will actually touch you in normal use, and 0.4% is competitive. The payment side is where this card is genuinely good: paying from an already-loaded euro balance costs nothing, so if you convert once a month rather than once per purchase, you pay 0.4% once instead of repeatedly.

Now let me follow three ordinary purchases through the fee sheet, because that is where the missing numbers become visible rather than merely inconvenient.

A coffee in a eurozone city. You hold euros in the card, the merchant is priced in euros, the payment goes through with no commission, and the 0.4% never enters the picture because there is no conversion. This is the case the card is built for, and it is clean.

The same coffee in a city that prices in dollars. Your euro balance has to become merchant currency, and the exchange fee is not stated. The card terms say exchange fees are specified in the payment account and are based on Visa or Mastercard published rates at the time of exchange — which tells you where the rate comes from but not what margin sits on top of it. You are buying an undisclosed spread, and the only way to size it is to make a small payment and compare the amount against the card app’s own rate.

A subscription priced in another currency, paid monthly. Same missing FX number, but now applied on a recurring basis, so an unnoticed spread becomes a standing cost rather than a one-off. If you pay anything recurring in a non-euro currency, this is the single most important question to ask the provider before you start.

Two structural limits sit underneath all of this. First, the card spends a stored balance, so it cannot overdraw but it also has no overdraft buffer when a payment is declined and you need to eat that day. Second, a declined authorisation may leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to seven — so a failed hotel deposit can tie up money for a week. There are single, daily and monthly limits, and the terms say the issuer sets daily, weekly and monthly maximum payment amounts, but no values are published. For anyone who wants to know whether a specific purchase is within range, there is no public answer.

How to top it up

The FAQ lists BTC, ETH, USDT and EUR as the ways in. You can top up with crypto or with EUR; the 0.4% fee applies only when crypto is converted to euros. The public card pages do not specify which networks are supported. Minimum top-up and any fee on an EUR top-up are not stated.

That single missing detail — the network — is the one to spend time on. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of the outcome. This is not a theoretical worry. USDT exists on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche; ERC-20 fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send at all; Tron prices fees through bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX. The same token on the wrong rail is a different and much worse outcome than the right token.

The answer to “which network” has to come from the app or from support before your first transfer, every time you change token. Do not infer it from a network name you recognise.

On the way back out, the card’s terms describe an off-ramp: sell crypto for EUR and withdraw to an IBAN, “subject to limits and compliance checks”. Note what that means in practice — a withdrawal is a compliance event, not a guaranteed transfer. Two further conditions are stated: if the payment account is closed, the card becomes invalid, and what happens to a remaining balance on closure is not stated. If you hold a balance you care about, ask about closure before you ever need to ask about it.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is the other strong suit. It is a Visa, so it works anywhere Visa is accepted, online and in stores. The FAQ confirms it can be linked to Apple Pay or Google Pay. Cash can be withdrawn from ATMs. Apps are listed on the Apple App Store (id6751874532) and Google Play (org.paypilot.app), though store ratings could not be read, so I cannot give you a sense of user sentiment from those listings.

It is worth understanding what you are actually using when you add it to a phone wallet. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number held in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic security code. The issuer can still restrict the tokenised number — blocking it on magnetic stripe, phone or website use — so a card that works in your hand can be refused online, and that is a policy decision rather than a fault.

Two everyday categories you may care about are not addressed. Blocked merchant categories are not stated. In the wider category, gambling typically sits under MCC 7995 and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with the list differing per issuer; if gambling matters to you, this card gives you no answer. And rewards are not stated — no cashback, no points, nothing. There is a separate section later about alternatives that do offer cashback, because for some people the absence is the deciding factor.

One more payment detail that bites people unexpectedly. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address a buyer typed with issuer records. It is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines on online checkouts. A card issued in Lithuania can simply look foreign to an American checkout page. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. None of that is PayPilot’s fault, but it is the category’s reality and it belongs in your expectations.

What can go wrong

Start with the boring one: there is no complaints record to read. No PayPilot-specific complaints surfaced on Trustpilot, Reddit or in news coverage, and no official incidents were found. There is also no complaint detail published — no response times, no escalation path, no published statistics. Absence of complaints in a young product with a small footprint is weak evidence, not strong.

The company structure is where you find the actual substance. The footer states that the platform is developed by Pilot Innovation Sp. z o.o., and that financial services are provided by Nexora Fintech Limited “where applicable”, with separate terms linked for Walletto UAB as the card e-money provider in Lithuania. The issuer is not explicitly named on the marketing pages, and no licences are stated there beyond a reference to “regulated partners”. The licence information comes from the card terms instead: Walletto UAB, company code 304686884, Vilnius, Lithuania, is the Card Issuer and holds electronic money institution licence No 33, issued by the Bank of Lithuania on 29 March 2018. Those terms are dated May 2024.

If you read that structure as a reader should — from the terms, not the footer — you are dealing with a Lithuanian e-money institution as the party actually issuing your card, with a separate company building the platform and another named for financial services. That is a normal arrangement in this category and not in itself a warning, but it means contract questions are answered by the issuer’s terms, not by the app’s marketing.

What an electronic money licence does and does not do is worth being precise about. An EMI in the EU can issue e-money, payment cards and e-wallets but cannot lend, and it may offer services across the EU from a licence granted in one member state. EMIs must safeguard customer funds, by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them. But such funds are not bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. That is the line to hold in your head: safeguarded, not bank-guaranteed.

On security, the site claims AES-256 encryption, PCI-DSS, ISO 27001, cold wallet storage, two-factor authentication and an audit reserve. The custody model is not stated — which is a real gap, because whether your crypto sits in a wallet the provider controls or in your own changes what happens if the provider fails. The card terms do give you some control: you can request a block at any time, a physical card is blocked after three wrong PIN entries, and the issuer may block the card on suspicion of fraud.

The category’s track record is the reason to be careful, not this card specifically. Custodial platforms have failed before: Mt. Gox with roughly US$350 million reported stolen across 2011–2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, and Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022. Programmes have been switched off underneath users too: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads end on 8 July 2026 and spending stop on 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, but the shape of it is the thing to recognise.

There is one asymmetry in the terms that you should notice before you need it. A payment made with your card credentials is deemed authorised, with no refund unless the payee agrees to refund. A chargeback is the normal route to dispute a payment — a refund ordered by the issuer, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received — but the chargeback procedure and time frames are not stated. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, while prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Since this card behaves like a stored balance, assume the weaker protection until told otherwise.

The supporting-cast detail: support is an email at [email protected] plus a “Write to us” form, with accounts on X, Telegram, Instagram, Facebook and LinkedIn. Hours are not stated. That matters for the network question above, because it tells you how long you might wait for an answer.

What to take instead

If PayPilot’s price sheet appeals but the disclosure does not settle you, the honest position is that you are choosing between thin information and different thin information. Here is how the alternatives compare, on their own published terms.

Card Score Availability as stated Card and fees Funding and rewards
PayPilot 7.4 / 10 Depends on country of residence; regions not listed Visa; 0 EUR issuance, 0 EUR service, 0.4% conversion; FX fee not stated BTC, ETH, USDT, EUR; networks not named; rewards not stated
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Consumers in 31 US states, businesses in 41; unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam Visa; “no extra fees” with no amounts listed; conversion and FX not stated Whop balance; stablecoin-backed from a linked wallet; coins and networks not stated; 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber
Stella 6.5 / 10 Countries not stated; bars users under economic sanctions programmes and routes US and European users through affiliates Virtual and physical Visa, “over 40 million VISA merchants globally”; fees described in the User Agreement or app Deposit crypto into the account, which automatically tops up the card; in-app custodial wallet; no cashback stated
UniFi Card 4.7 / 10 Not confirmed from official pages; app listings mention routes to the Philippines, Mexico, eurozone, Colombia, Brazil and the UK Prepaid Debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, USD balance; “fees may apply”, amounts not stated ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN), SPEI (CLABE); paid to a USDC wallet; 3% rewards on balances claimed, card cashback not stated

Read that table as a set of trade-offs rather than a ranking, because the scores measure different briefs. Whop’s 5% cashback at select merchants is a real feature PayPilot does not have at all, and its availability is far more precisely stated — a named list of 31 states is more useful than “depends on local regulations”, even if the list is US-only. Stella’s routing of US and European users through affiliates, and its sanctions exclusion, are clearer than PayPilot’s silence on the same point. UniFi’s fee line is the weakest of the four: “fees may apply” with no amounts, and its availability is not confirmed from official pages at all.

What PayPilot has that none of the others publish is a number: 0.4%. Everything else in the comparison is adjectives. If your priority is the cheapest known cost of converting crypto into everyday euro spending, PayPilot is the only one of the four where you can do that arithmetic at all.

Whop’s geography is also the widest in absolute terms, at 31 consumer states, though whether the test is citizenship or residence is not stated — the category’s usual ambiguity. Stella is the most flexible in structure, with crypto deposited into an account that automatically tops up the card rather than a manual conversion step, at the cost of fees living in a document you have to go and read.

Who I would recommend it to

To someone in the euro area who already holds BTC, ETH or USDT, spends most of their money in eurozone shops, and wants a Visa without a monthly fee. If that is you, the 0.4% conversion is the lowest published cost among the cards I looked at, holding it is free, and the euro-balance model means you pay nothing at the till.

I would hold off if any of these are true of you. If you travel regularly and pay in several currencies, the missing FX fee is disqualifying — you would be taking an undisclosed spread on a recurring basis. If you are in a country the platform does not name, you cannot verify eligibility before spending an afternoon on an application that may be declined on a residency rule nobody publishes. If you want cashback, this card has none. If you hold a large crypto balance, ask about custody and about what happens to the balance if the account is closed, because neither is stated and both matter more than the fee schedule.

The narrowest honest version: PayPilot is a good conversion price attached to a thin information sheet. Judge it as such. Take it if the price is what you came for, and get the three missing answers — supported countries, exchange-rate spread, and daily limits — in writing from support before you load funds.

Frequently asked questions

What is the PayPilot card?

The PayPilot card is a Visa payment card funded from crypto or euros. You convert or load funds, they sit as an euro balance, and the card spends that balance online and in stores, at ATMs, and through Apple Pay or Google Pay. It is issued by a European e-money institution rather than a bank, which is why it can hold crypto and euros side by side. It behaves like a prepaid card, so it cannot overdraw.

How does the PayPilot card work in practice?

You register, pass a one-time identity verification, create the card, and top up with BTC, ETH, USDT or EUR. Crypto you send is converted to euros at a fee of 0.4%. Payments then come out of that euro balance with no commission, and conversion to a merchant’s currency happens when the merchant prices in something else. The exchange fee for that currency conversion is not stated publicly, which is the main gap.

Is PayPilot a bank?

No. The card issuer named in the terms is Walletto UAB, an electronic money institution in Vilnius, Lithuania, holding electronic money licence No 33 from the Bank of Lithuania dated 29 March 2018. An electronic money institution can issue e-money and payment cards but cannot lend. Customer funds must be safeguarded, though safeguarded funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.

Does the PayPilot card require KYC?

Yes, a one-time “quick identity verification” before the card is created, with KycAid and Ondato named as verification partners. The documents required, the age threshold, the number of checks and the reasons a check might fail are not stated. The issuer may also re-verify your identity and ask for additional documents at any later point, so one approval does not mean no further paperwork.

Who owns PayPilot?

The public pages split it three ways: the footer says the platform is developed by Pilot Innovation Sp. z o.o., financial services are provided by Nexora Fintech Limited “where applicable”, and separate terms are linked for Walletto UAB as the card e-money provider. The marketing pages do not explicitly name the card issuer and cite no licences beyond “regulated partners”. The issuer identity comes from the card terms, dated May 2024.

Is the PayPilot card available in my country?

The card says availability depends on your country of residence and local regulations, and the list of supported regions is not published. Citizenship is not mentioned. So there is no way to check eligibility from public information alone — you need to ask support, or find a country list inside the app, before spending time on an application.

What does it cost to use the PayPilot card?

Issuance is 0 EUR and the monthly service fee is 0 EUR. Paying from a euro balance carries no commission, and converting crypto to euros costs 0.4%. The foreign-exchange fee is not stated, nor are ATM withdrawal fees, allowances, or the values of the single, daily and monthly limits. Those limits do exist, set by the issuer; they are simply not published.

How do I top up the PayPilot card?

With BTC, ETH, USDT or euros, and the 0.4% fee applies only when crypto is converted. Networks are not specified, which is the detail to confirm before every transfer: sending on an unsupported network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Minimum top-ups and any fee on a euro top-up are also not stated.

How do I add PayPilot to Apple Pay?

The FAQ states the card can be linked to Apple Pay or Google Pay. Adding it replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored on the phone’s Secure Element, and each payment uses a one-time code. Be aware the issuer can still restrict the tokenised number to certain channels, so a card that works in person can be declined on a website.

Is the PayPilot card safe?

The site claims AES-256 encryption, PCI-DSS, ISO 27001, cold wallet storage, two-factor authentication and an audit reserve, but the custody model is not stated, so it is unclear who holds your crypto. The card terms let you request a block at any time, block a physical card after three wrong PIN attempts, and allow the issuer to block on fraud suspicion. There is no published dispute procedure or timeframe, and a payment made with your credentials is deemed authorised unless the payee refunds.

Is the PayPilot card worth it?

Worth it if you spend mainly in euros and want the cheapest stated crypto-to-fiat conversion with no monthly fee. Not worth it if you travel, pay recurring bills in other currencies, want cashback, or cannot confirm your country is supported. I would get three answers in writing from support first: supported regions, the currency-conversion spread, and your daily limit.

Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team