A crypto-funded Visa that promises "zero limits" but tells you very little about fees, company or licence

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

MPay is one of the newer names in the crypto-card corner: a virtual Visa that you top up in USDT, run through a Telegram bot or a small web app, and use at any online merchant that takes Visa. The promise on the homepage is bold — “ZERO LIMITS”, “instant global payments”, “real-world spending” — but the practical details a careful cardholder looks for (fees, the legal entity behind the card, who issues it, what the KYC actually involves) are mostly not stated on the public pages. That gap is the reason this review exists, and it is the main thing you have to weigh before putting real money through it.

MPay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

This page walks through the card as the company describes it, points out where the descriptions are thin, and compares it with three alternatives that have a similar shape. I am not telling you to sign up or to stay away. I am showing you what I could verify, what I could not, and where each gap might matter to you.

The conditions below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.5 out of 10

MPay earns a middling score, and the reason is not that it is a bad product. It is that, for a card that handles your money, an unusual amount of basic information is not stated on the official pages. The score reflects that.

Criterion Mark Why it lands there
Who can get it 7 / 10 “Available in most regions worldwide” with no country list — wide reach in theory, but you cannot check your own country before you start.
Cost 5 / 10 Card issuance and monthly fees are not stated. Subscription plans ($0, $3.99, $7.99, $14.99) are listed but their connection to the card itself is not explained.
Top-up options 6 / 10 Only USDT is live for now (Ethereum, BNB Chain, Solana, TON), with USDC and other tokens “planned”.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 “Backed by Visa and invested by Mason Labs” is the only public backing claim; the issuer, legal entity and licences are not named, and no independent complaints could be found.
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual Visa only; physical card “coming soon”; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM use are not stated.
Total 5.5 / 10

If the use case that fits you is “I want a virtual card I can top up with USDT and use for online payments”, MPay does that job on paper. The audience it suits is narrow: someone who already holds USDT, is comfortable with a Telegram bot, and is willing to accept that the fee schedule, the issuing bank and the regulatory home are not publicly written down. If you are a first-time crypto card user, or if you need a physical card, Apple Pay, ATM withdrawals, or any kind of detailed statement before you spend, MPay as it stands today does not yet check those boxes.

Who will they give you the card

The card side of the question is short. The MPay Virtual Card is “available in most regions worldwide”, with no list of supported or excluded countries on the public site. The way the site is phrased, “most regions” is doing a lot of work: it tells you the company believes it can serve a wide audience, but it does not let you confirm your own country before you sign up. There is no country dropdown on the homepage and no help-centre article I could read that names the jurisdictions the card ships to.

Several practical questions about eligibility are not stated on the site. Whether you need to pass KYC before the card is issued, and what that KYC involves (ID, address, selfie, source of funds) is not stated. Whether the card tier changes the eligibility rules, and whether minors can apply, are not stated either. The “backed by Visa” claim suggests a Visa-licensed issuer is somewhere in the stack, but who that issuer is, and under which country’s licence it operates, is not stated on the page.

What this means for you: MPay’s geographic reach is, in the absence of a list, effectively a “we will tell you when you try”. If you live in a country where crypto cards have been restricted or where card-issuing licences are tightly controlled (mainland China, for instance, or sanctioned jurisdictions), you should expect the application to fail at KYC, not at the homepage. If your country is not on any of the well-known “we do not serve here” lists, you will most likely be able to reach at least the KYC step, and from there the result depends on the issuer’s policy that MPay itself does not publish.

How to get it

The signup path, as it appears from the public site, has three pieces.

First, you reach MPay through a Telegram bot (@MpayCardBot) or the web app at app.mpay.cards. There is no native app store listing for an “MPay” card product that I could find; the product is bot- and web-based, which is unusual for a card and worth noting in its own right.

Second, you connect a non-custodial wallet — MetaMask, Trust Wallet, TON Wallet or Phantom are named — and use it as the funding source. MPay’s framing is that the company itself “never holds your crypto”; the wallet stays in your control, and the card top-up is a transfer you authorise. That is a meaningful design choice and it is one of the more reassuring things in the public material.

Third, the card itself: a virtual Visa is available now, and a physical Visa is “coming soon” with “global shipping in selected countries at launch”. Card currency is not stated. Issuance fee, shipping fee, and the time it takes for the virtual card to be issued once you start the process are not stated either. KYC levels, the documents requested, and how long verification takes are not stated. Activation, the steps between “I connected my wallet” and “I can pay online with a Visa number”, is a process MPay does not walk through in any help article I could read.

What this means for you: be ready for a flow that feels closer to a crypto-app onboarding than to a bank-card onboarding. You will be asked to connect a wallet before you know exactly what the card costs, and you will discover the KYC requirements at the point they are applied, not in advance. If you are the kind of person who reads the full terms before sending any money, you will be doing that from inside a chat window, and you may end up with questions the bot cannot answer.

Fees: what it really costs

The cost section is where the review has to slow down, because the card-specific cost information is thin. What is and is not on the public site:

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a MPay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The pricing surface that does exist on the site is a four-tier subscription plan, which appears to be for the broader app rather than for the card:

The plan descriptions are written like the financial-app boilerplate you see on many subscription pages, and they do not name a single concrete benefit that maps to a card action. Whether paying for Plus gets you free ATM withdrawals, a higher monthly cap, or lower conversion fees is not stated; whether Metal is a metal physical card (the name suggests so) or just the top subscription tier is not stated. The relationship between the plan you buy and the card you hold is not stated.

What this means for you, in everyday use, is that the only numbers you can attach to MPay right now are: (a) the cost of an optional subscription you may or may not need, and (b) whatever on-chain gas you pay to send the USDT in. The gas fee is charged by the blockchain, not by MPay; if you send USDT on Ethereum you will pay an Ethereum gas fee, on Solana a Solana fee, on TON a TON fee. The fee MPay itself may charge for the top-up, the conversion, the FX adjustment, or the spending transaction is not stated on the page. If you start using the card, watch the first few transactions closely and treat any unexplained deductions as a question to put to support, not as a feature.

A worked example, given the gaps: if you send 100 USDT from your own wallet on Ethereum to the MPay top-up address, you will pay an Ethereum gas fee that you can see in your wallet before you sign. MPay does not state what, if anything, it deducts on top. When you then pay $50 at an online store, MPay does not state whether the conversion from USDT-backed balance to USD at the moment of payment is at 1:1, carries a percentage fee, or includes an FX margin. Until those numbers are published, the practical cost of “spending $50” with this card cannot be quoted with confidence, and any reviewer who gives you a clean percentage here is making it up.

Top up: how to fund the card

The funding path is the part of MPay that is most clearly described, because it is the part the product is built around.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up MPay starts with a transfer to the right network

MPay currently supports USDT for card top-up. Support for other stablecoins, including USDC, and for native tokens is described as “planned”. At the moment, the only coin you can actually send is USDT, and you can only send it over one of four chains:

The connected wallets MPay names for these chains are MetaMask and Trust Wallet (Ethereum and BNB Chain), Phantom (Solana), and TON Wallet (TON). The flow is that you connect a non-custodial wallet, sign the transfer, and the USDT arrives at the card. The fee you pay is the on-chain network fee (gas) charged by the blockchain, not by MPay; the minimum top-up is not stated; the time to credit is not stated.

A few practical warnings that come from the way stablecoin transfers work, and that apply to MPay in the same way they apply to any USDT-funded card:

What this means for you: the top-up is the cleanest part of the product to evaluate, because the on-chain side is something you can verify in your own wallet before you sign. Send a small test amount first, confirm it credits, then send the rest. That habit is more valuable with MPay than with a card from an issuer that publishes a clear fee schedule, because the safety net of “I can read the chargeback policy” is not yet in place.

Paying with it every day

In its current form, the MPay card is a virtual Visa for online payments. The site frames the use case as e-commerce, gaming, travel and SaaS — in other words, anywhere a Visa is taken online. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, so you do not know in advance whether, say, a gambling site or a crypto exchange will accept it.

Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM use are not stated. That is a meaningful gap if you planned to tap to pay in a shop, because a virtual-only card has no physical presence to tokenise into a phone wallet. MPay does not say whether the virtual card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay through the standard enrolment flow; given the “physical card coming soon” note, the working assumption should be that mobile wallet support will arrive with the physical card, not before.

A rewards or cashback programme is not stated. There is no public schedule of percentages, no staking tier, no sign-up bonus. If you are choosing between two cards and one offers a competitive percentage back in crypto on spending, that is a real differentiator; MPay does not currently put itself in that comparison on the evidence of the public pages.

Disputes, chargebacks, refund handling and the procedure if a merchant overcharges you are not stated. The site mentions “licensed payment partners” and “real-time monitoring” on the security side, but the consumer-protection side — what you actually do if a transaction goes wrong — is silent. US debit and credit card rights come from Regulations E and Z, and those rights generally attach to the issuing bank; whether MPay’s issuer extends the same protections to a USDT-funded prepaid card is not stated.

What this means for you: treat the card today as an online-only Visa funded by USDT, with no mobile wallet, no rewards, no published dispute path, and no physical card. That is a real use case for a specific kind of buyer — someone paying for a domain, a VPN, a SaaS tool, an in-game purchase — and a poor fit for someone who wanted a daily driver.

What can go wrong

A short list of the categories of risk that matter most for a card like this, and where MPay stands on each.

Company and regulatory risk. MPay describes itself as “backed by Visa and invested by Mason Labs”. The legal entity operating the card, the licensed issuer, and the regulator it answers to are not stated on the public site. A third-party business listing mentions backing by IsPay and a $3 million strategic investment in December 2025, but that is not a statement from MPay and you should treat it as unofficial and unconfirmed. When a crypto card fails, the failure is almost always downstream of a regulator’s action on the issuer, not on the brand you signed up with; without knowing the issuer, you cannot check its licence, and you cannot know which regulator’s rules apply if something goes wrong.

Custody and key risk. The non-custodial design is the strongest single point in MPay’s favour: the site says “MPay never holds your crypto”, and the funding flow is a transfer you authorise from your own wallet. That means MPay cannot lose your USDT in the way an exchange can. The other side of the same coin is that if you lose your seed phrase, fall for a phishing site, or have clipboard-hijacking malware swap the address you copy, there is no one at MPay to call and no central party to undo the transaction. Self-custody is a trade, not a free improvement.

Sanctions and screening risk. MPay’s terms require users to confirm they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction, and a sanctions check is a normal part of KYC for any regulated card issuer. The consequences of a missed or late match — frozen funds, closed account — are heavier for a USDT-funded card than for a regular bank card, because the balance you hold is held in crypto, not in a bank account with a deposit guarantee.

Stablecoin depeg risk. USDT is designed to track the US dollar, and Tether publishes reserve attestations, but the peg has slipped before, and in an extreme depeg the value of your card balance moves with the token, not with the dollar. This is true of every USDT-funded card, not just MPay.

Programme risk. Visa can suspend an issuer, and the card programmes that ran on that issuer stop working. WaveCrest’s 2018 suspension in Europe shut down a generation of crypto cards overnight; FTX’s debit card was wound down after Visa terminated its global agreements in November 2022. MPay is “backed by Visa” but it does not name the issuer, so you cannot check the issuer’s standing. If the issuer loses its Visa relationship, the card stops working; if you have a balance at that point, the terms under which you get it back depend on the issuer’s wind-down plan, not on MPay’s marketing.

Operational risk. Support runs through a Telegram bot and an X account (@MpayCardBot, @MpayCard). Hours, response times and languages are not stated. The site’s UI is available in several languages (English, German, Spanish, French, Polish, Filipino among them), which is a positive sign, but the absence of a published support policy is a small negative.

No track record. As of the search done for this review, no Trustpilot page and no Reddit thread for the MPay card could be found. That is not proof of anything — a brand-new product simply has not had time to accumulate complaints — but it does mean there is no independent pattern to read. You are, for now, an early user.

What to take instead

Three alternatives that share the “crypto-funded card” shape but make different trade-offs. None of these is a like-for-like swap, and the right one depends on which of MPay’s gaps bothers you most.

Cardex

Cardex is pitched as a single crypto card usable in 200+ countries, with a debit card on the VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay networks. The App Store listing is Naira-focused, which suggests a strong Nigeria footprint, and the card currency is listed as Naira. The interesting feature is an “AI-powered conversion rate” that picks the best exchange rate at the moment you pay; the fee percentage is not stated. Funding is in USDT, USDC and BTC, with the networks not named. Rewards are not stated. Cardex’s overall score in our index is 5.6 / 10, very close to MPay’s, and the choice between them comes down to which networks you need and which jurisdictions you live and pay in.

TakeCard

TakeCard is a Visa prepaid card issued in the United States, denominated in US dollars, with a virtual card available immediately and a physical card that is, for now, Bolivia-only. Costs are published: USD 5 for a virtual card and USD 20 + USD 20 shipping for a physical card in Bolivia, with a separate article in the same help centre quoting USD 10 for the physical card — that conflict is worth flagging. Spending carries a 1% commission; USD payments go through 1:1 with no FX adjustment, and other currencies are converted at the official Visa rate of the transaction day. Funding is from a Takenos balance, and the coins and networks for the top-up are not stated in the article I could read. TakeCard’s overall score is 5.5 / 10. It suits someone who wants the cost numbers in writing and is happy to work inside the Takenos wallet.

OkiCard

OkiCard is the most concrete of the three on the cost side. The pricing page lists $0 issuance, $0 monthly, and a $15 starting price for the virtual card, with a one-time issuance fee mentioned in the FAQ (the two pages disagree, which is a small warning). The minimum first deposit is 100 USDT. Load fee is 3%, transaction fee in USD is 0%, and the site claims “no hidden exchange spreads”; the FX fee is not stated. Funding is in USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana, with USDC “soon” and BTC and other coins “coming soon”. The card is virtual, with a physical card mentioned but not detailed; the network is listed as “Visa/Mastercard” without further specification; the card is pegged to USD or EUR. OkiCard serves 150+ countries (some pages say 200+), with a no-geo-blocking-on-passport stance and a requirement to confirm you are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. OkiCard’s overall score is 6.0 / 10, the highest of the three alternatives here, and its main advantage is the published cost structure and the 3% load fee, which at least lets you plan.

A quick comparison:

Card Cost transparency Networks Funding coins Where it suits you best
MPay Low — most fees not stated Visa (virtual now, physical soon) USDT on Ethereum, BNB Chain, Solana, TON Someone with USDT who values the non-custodial wallet flow
Cardex Low — fees not stated VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay USDT, USDC, BTC Someone who needs multi-network reach, especially in Nigeria
TakeCard Medium — 1% commission and USD 5 / USD 20 card costs in writing Visa (US-issued) From a Takenos balance Someone who wants a US-dollar card with published numbers
OkiCard High — load fee 3%, $0 issuance, $0 monthly Visa / Mastercard USDT on BSC, ETH, Tron, Solana Someone who wants the cost known up front and can meet the 100 USDT minimum

Who I would recommend it to

If the following describes you, MPay is a reasonable card to try with a small test balance: you already hold USDT in a self-custody wallet, you are comfortable with a Telegram-bot flow, you want a virtual Visa for online payments rather than a physical card or a phone wallet, and you are prepared to send a small test top-up first and read the actual transaction rather than trust the marketing. The non-custodial design is real, the four-chain USDT funding is straightforward for anyone who has used MetaMask or Phantom, and the “no monthly fee for the Standard plan” line is at least readable on the page.

If the following describes you, look at OkiCard, TakeCard or a more established card first: you need a published fee schedule before you load, you want a physical card or Apple Pay today, you want cashback, you want a known issuer you can look up on a regulator’s register, or you need to be able to answer “which bank issued this card” without waiting for support. MPay’s gaps are not disqualifying for the right user, but they are real, and a cardholder who plans to put a meaningful monthly volume through it deserves more disclosure than the public pages currently provide.

Frequently asked questions

What is the MPay card?

MPay is a virtual Visa card you top up with USDT and use for online payments. A physical card is described as “coming soon” with shipping in selected countries at launch. The product runs through a Telegram bot and a web app rather than a native mobile app.

How does the MPay card work?

You connect a self-custody wallet (MetaMask, Trust Wallet, TON Wallet or Phantom), send USDT to the card over one of four supported chains (Ethereum, BNB Chain, Solana, TON), and the card’s balance is funded. When you pay online, the card behaves like a prepaid Visa drawn on that balance.

Is MPay a bank?

No, and MPay does not describe itself as one. The site says the card is “backed by Visa” and processed through “licensed payment partners”, but the issuer, the legal entity operating the card, and the regulator it answers to are not stated on the public pages.

Who owns MPay?

The site says the project is “invested by Mason Labs” and “backed by Visa”. A third-party business listing mentions backing by IsPay and a $3 million strategic investment in December 2025, but that is unofficial and not confirmed by MPay.

Is the MPay card available in my country?

The site says the virtual card is “available in most regions worldwide” and does not publish a country list. There is no way to confirm your own country before you start the application; the answer arrives at KYC.

Does the MPay card require KYC?

The level and content of KYC are not stated on the public site. The terms require users to confirm they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction, and any licensed card issuer in the chain will apply its own customer-due-diligence process, but the exact documents and timing are not published.

How do I top up the MPay card?

You top up with USDT from a connected self-custody wallet on Ethereum, BNB Chain, Solana or TON. USDC and other coins are described as “planned”. The minimum top-up and the time to credit are not stated.

Is the MPay card free?

The card’s own issuance and monthly fees are not stated. The site lists four subscription tiers for the broader app — Standard $0, Plus $3.99, Premium $7.99, Metal $14.99 per month — but the connection between a plan and the card’s features is not described. On-chain gas for the top-up is paid to the blockchain, not to MPay.

Can I add the MPay card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Not stated. The card is currently virtual, and mobile-wallet support is most likely to arrive with the physical card, which is described as “coming soon”.

Is the MPay card safe?

The non-custodial wallet design is a real safeguard: MPay says it does not hold your crypto, and the funds stay in your wallet until you authorise the transfer. The gaps are the unnamed issuer, the unnamed regulator, and the absence of an independent review footprint, so the safety of the card itself depends on parties the public pages do not name.

Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team