A prepaid virtual dollar card built for Nigeria, thin on safeguards elsewhere

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Cardify Africa is a virtual dollar card aimed at people in Nigeria and, more broadly, at African users who need to pay online in US dollars. It comes in a Basic Mastercard version, a Standard Visa version and a Prepaid Mastercard version, and it is reached through a mobile app rather than a plastic card in the post. The pitch is straightforward: convert or transfer money into the card, then spend that balance anywhere a Mastercard or Visa is accepted, including Apple Pay and Google Pay.

Cardify Africa works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I went through the company’s own pages, its terms, the app listings and a spread of user reports, and the picture that came out is one of a card that does a narrow job competently and leaves a lot of important questions unanswered on its public pages. My score for it is 3.7 out of 10. That is not a verdict on whether the card works at all. It is a verdict on how much a stranger can rely on what the provider publishes, how much it costs, and how much protection a cardholder has when something goes wrong.

Who does it suit? If you live in Nigeria, hold naira in a bank account, and pay a recurring set of online services that insist on dollars, the Prepaid Dollar Card does one thing you may not otherwise be able to do: it turns a dollar balance into a spendable virtual card number, and it works in Apple Pay and Google Pay. Who does it not suit? Almost everyone who wants to hold a balance over time, travel with the card, withdraw cash, get a physical card, or rely on a clear dispute process when a payment goes wrong. The virtual-only design is not a temporary limitation to be lifted later; it is the product as described.

Conditions here are current as of October 28, 2026.

What I checked and how I scored it

I scored the card against six criteria, each of which matters in a different way. The total is the average of the six marks below.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 3 / 10 Dollar cards are for users in Nigeria; the site says “Designed specifically for Nigerians & Africans”
Cost 3 / 10 Prepaid: 5% issuance plus $2.50 a month; an unofficial comparison lists a 2.5% cross-border fee
Top-up options 4 / 10 USDT only on the Tron network, or naira from a Nigerian bank; the prepaid card is USDT-TRC20 only
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 CARDIFY TECHNOLOGY LIMITED, UK; issuer unnamed; Trustpilot 2.7 out of 5 across 68 reviews, citing charges on failed payments
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual-only Mastercard and Visa; Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported; no ATM
Total 3.7 / 10

Look at how the marks sit. Nothing here is a one, which would mean the card is unusable; nothing reaches a seven, which would mean it does its job well and tells you clearly how. The reliability mark is the highest of the six at 5, and even that is carried by the fact that the company is a real registered entity rather than by any evidence of a fast dispute process. For a card that holds your money and issues a Mastercard number in your name, “reliability” should be the strongest criterion, not the middle one.

Will they give you the card

The card’s own FAQ says its dollar cards are for users in Nigeria. The website adds a slightly wider framing, saying it is “Designed specifically for Nigerians & Africans”. Those two statements are not the same, and the gap between them matters to anyone reading this outside Africa. There is no country list on the site. There is no list of exclusions either, so I cannot tell you from the published pages which African countries are covered, or whether, say, Ghana, Kenya or South Africa are included. The site does, separately, mention wallets denominated in naira, US dollars and the Ghanaian cedi, which hints at a footprint that reaches beyond Nigeria but does not confirm what an individual applicant in a given country will actually be allowed to do.

For a reader outside the stated market, the honest summary is this: the provider positions the product for Nigeria and Africa, publishes no country-by-country eligibility, and you would only find out whether your country is accepted by trying. The identity checks described below are built around Nigerian documents, which is the clearest signal of who the onboarding flow was written for.

How to get it

Applying runs through the mobile app, available on iOS and Android. The identity checks are staged, and the stages are named.

What each level unlocks is not stated. How long approval takes is not stated. Why an application might be refused is not stated. Proof of address and proof of age are not stated either, even though cards of this kind are generally limited to adults. That last omission is probably a documentation gap rather than a sign that age is never checked, but it is exactly the sort of thing you want written down before you upload documents.

On delivery: the card is virtual only, so there is nothing to post and no delivery time to wait for. That is a genuine convenience if a digital number in your wallet is what you wanted, and a non-starter if you were expecting something in your hand.

Fees: what a Cardify Africa dollar card really costs

The prepaid card is the version with published numbers, and those numbers are not small. Issuance costs 5% of the amount you fund. After the first two months, a $2.50 monthly maintenance fee applies as long as a balance remains. For the Basic and Standard dollar cards, the site says only “Low Charges” and gives no amounts at all, so I cannot price them from official material.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Cardify Africa payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is what is and is not known:

Fee or limit Value Source
Prepaid issuance 5% of the amount funded Card’s own pages
Prepaid monthly maintenance $2.50 after the first two months, while a balance remains Card’s own pages
Basic / Standard dollar card cost “Low Charges” only, no amounts published Card’s own pages
Cross-border fee outside the US 2.5% Unofficial comparison, 2026
Declined transaction fee $0.06 in the US, $0.40 outside the US Unofficial comparison, 2026
Conversion fee Not stated —
ATM fee Not stated, and the card is virtual —
Prepaid funding limits Minimum $25, maximum $10,000 Card’s own pages
Daily and monthly spend limits Not stated for the dollar cards —

The last two rows in the unofficial block are the ones I would ask about before you rely on this card. They come from a third-party comparison site, not from Cardify, and I could not confirm them against the provider. That a failed payment is reported to cost $0.40 outside the US matches what cardholders describe in reviews, which is one reason I mention it: this is not a hypothetical line item, it is the fee people say they were actually charged.

Let me put the prepaid card’s published costs through an ordinary week, using only the numbers above. Fund $100: issuance takes $5, so $95 lands on the card. That leaves it sitting for two months. If you use it, the maintenance fee does not apply. If you do not, month three costs another $2.50. Fund $500 once: $25 goes on issuance. Fund $10,000, the stated maximum: $500 goes on issuance. The 5% is charged on the amount funded, not on what you go on to spend, so a large balance you do not use is the most expensive way to hold money here. On top of any of that, if a payment is declined outside the US, the reported $0.40 fee would be charged per decline, not once per month.

The three dollar card variants differ by network and by nothing else the provider publishes. Basic is a Mastercard, Standard is a Visa, Prepaid is a Mastercard in dollars. Price differences between them are not stated, which means the comparison a buyer would naturally want to make cannot be made from official material.

Top up: how the balance gets onto the card

Topping up is where the card’s design becomes clear. The dollar cards are funded either from your naira wallet, by bank transfer from any Nigerian bank, or with USDT sent to a Tron-network address. The prepaid card is stricter still: USDT-TRC20 only.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Cardify Africa starts with a transfer to the right network

Two consequences follow. First, if you are not in Nigeria, bank transfer from a Nigerian account is not an option, and USDT on Tron is the only road in. Second, “USDT” is not one thing but a family: the same token exists on several blockchains, and a transfer sent on the wrong network can be lost, or land where the provider cannot see it. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a mistake here does not come with a customer service undo. There is also a network fee on the deposit itself, charged by the blockchain rather than by Cardify, on top of whatever the provider charges.

The prepaid card adds two constraints that are easy to miss. It can be funded only once. And the activation link is valid for 60 days, so if you fund it and then do nothing for two months, the money sits on a card you may no longer be able to switch on. The card’s own rule for the leftover balance is that you should use it within two months of purchase, and if the balance falls below $2.50 the card is terminated automatically. Card validity is three years.

A minimum funding figure and any deposit fee for the dollar cards are not stated on the provider’s pages. A third-party comparison lists a $5 minimum; that is unofficial and I could not confirm it.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where the virtual-only design shows. The card lives in your phone. You can add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay from the prepaid page, and once it is in a mobile wallet it behaves like an ordinary contactless card at the till, because Apple Pay and Google Pay replace the card number with a device-specific token and generate a fresh security code for each payment. A virtual card can therefore be used in more places than a card number typed into a web form, which is the practical argument for putting it in a wallet.

Against that: there is no physical card, so no ATM, no cash withdrawal, and no card for a shop that insists on seeing one. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, which means you do not know in advance whether gambling, for instance, will be declined. Several providers block the merchant category that covers casinos and betting as a matter of policy rather than law, and the list varies by issuer, so the absence of a published list here is a real gap.

Rewards are not stated. There is no cashback, no points scheme and no fee rebate described anywhere on the public pages, so treat any earning claim you see elsewhere as unverified. App ratings were not readable when I checked. An unofficial comparison lists Google Play at 4.3 out of 5 across 553 reviews; treat that as third-party and unconfirmed. Dispute handling is not stated, and the card’s terms are governed by Nigerian law with jurisdiction in the Nigerian courts, which matters if you are not in Nigeria and something goes wrong.

What can go wrong

This is where I found the most to say, and none of it is reassuring.

The clearest pattern in user reports is a charge on a payment that did not go through. Cardholders describe being billed between $0.40 and $1 on failed transactions, in reviews spanning July 2025 to May 2026. Whatever the fee is meant to cover, a customer who tries to pay, fails to pay, and is then billed for the failure will not recommend the card to a friend, and that is what the reviews show. Other recurring themes: slow card creation and slow funding, from two days to over a week in 2025; allegations of lost funds in March 2025 and August 2026; and, further back in 2023 to 2025, complaints about weak support and a poor app.

The overall rating on Trustpilot is 2.7 out of 5 across 68 reviews, with 34% one-star, as I read it. That is a public scoreboard, not a court record, but 68 reviews is enough to be a signal rather than noise.

The company’s structure deserves attention. Cardify Africa is a trading name of CARDIFY TECHNOLOGY LIMITED, a UK company registered under number 14295286. In Nigeria it is CARDIFY COMPANY LTD, and in the US Cardify Africa Technology Inc, in Dover, Delaware. The site states plainly that it is “Not a bank” and works with licensed partners. But the issuing bank is not named, and no licences are named either. For a prepaid card, the issuer is the institution that stands behind the balance when something goes wrong, and not knowing which one it is means you cannot work out who to complain to, or where your money legally sits.

This is not a hypothetical worry for the wider category. African virtual dollar card providers tightened or paused after chargeback fraud at one issuer in July 2022, and the category has seen programmes close before. The terms on the site were last updated on 8 January 2024, and the prepaid card and foreign bank account features are still labelled “New”, so the product pages are newer than the legal text that governs them. I found no dated news about licences. If I were opening an account, I would treat the unnamed issuer as a reason to keep only what I could afford to have tied up for a while.

Safety features are described in the usual terms: encryption, multi-factor authentication, real-time fraud monitoring, and a 4-digit PIN for outbound payments. The PIN is short by the standards of a banking app. Funds are custodial, held through partners, which means your money is not under your own control and inherits the counterparty risk that comes with it.

Support is reachable by email, live chat, WhatsApp at +234 815 163 3333, and phone from 9am to 5pm on weekdays. That is a Nigerian business-hours window and a Nigerian number.

What to take instead

None of the three cards below is a recommendation, and none has the same profile as Cardify. I include them because the comparison shows what you get for a similar score.

Cardex, scored 5.6 out of 10. It positions itself as “One crypto card, 200+ countries” with no country list and no exclusions, though its app store listing is Naira-focused. It issues on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, and offers both virtual and physical cards, which Cardify does not. Its distinctive feature is conversion at the moment of payment, using what it calls an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans exchange rates and picks one; no fee percentage is published. It is funded from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, with networks not stated. Its own problem is the mirror image of Cardify’s: broad reach, little detail on fees.

TakeCard, scored 5.5 out of 10. Here the geography is inverted. The physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now”, while the wallet says it can receive payments from any country. A virtual card is available immediately; an article names Visa as the network, issued in the United States, prepaid, with the card in US dollars and payments at 1:1. Pricing is the clearest of the three: $5 for the virtual card, and for Bolivia $20 issuance plus $20 shipping, though another article in the same help centre says $10 for the physical card, so the provider contradicts itself. The fee is 1% per purchase, with other currencies converted at the official Visa rate of the day. Coins and networks for top-up are not named in the article I could read. For a reader in Nigeria, the practical answer is that the useful half of TakeCard is not available to you.

OkiCard, scored 6.0 out of 10, is the strongest of the three. It claims “150+ countries” (some pages say “200+”) and states there is no geo-blocking based on your passport, while still requiring users to confirm they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. Its pricing is the most complete: $0 issuance, $0 monthly, $15 to start a virtual card, an initial deposit of 100 USDT, a 3% load fee and 0% transaction fee in USD, with no hidden exchange spread, though the FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee and the pages disagree, and the FX fee is not stated. Funding accepts USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana, with USDC “soon”. It is virtual, with a physical card mentioned but undescribed. Like the others, no rewards are stated.

Two things are worth pulling out of that comparison. OkiCard’s 0% transaction fee and Cardify’s 5% issuance fee are not the same kind of number and should not be read as a direct comparison, since they sit at different points in the transaction. And the fact that all three of these providers leave some fee or some network unstated suggests this is a category-wide documentation problem, not something peculiar to Cardify.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Cardify Prepaid Dollar Card to one specific person: someone living in Nigeria who has a bank account in naira and a fixed monthly bill in dollars, and who wants that bill paid from a balance they control and do not want sitting on a bank account at home. For them the card does a narrow thing cleanly. Fund it once with USDT on Tron, put the number in Apple Pay or Google Pay, pay the bill, and watch the balance for the two-month window.

I would not recommend it to anyone who wants their money back at the end of the month. The $2.50 monthly fee after two months, the automatic termination below a $2.50 balance, the one-time funding only, the two-month use-it-or-lose-it instruction, the 5% issuance fee on the funded amount and the 60-day activation window all point the same way: this is a card for passing money through, not for holding it. It is not a card for cash, for travel, for a shop that needs to see plastic, or for a month in which you might need to dispute something.

And I would treat the unnamed issuer and unnamed licences as a condition of using it at all, not a footnote. “Not a bank” is fine as a description of what a card brand is. It is a problem when you cannot tell which institution holds your balance, what protections attach to it, and who to write to when a payment is charged and then fails. That is why my score sits where it does. The card is real, the company is registered, the app is on both stores. What is missing is the part that would let an outsider rely on it with their whole balance.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Cardify Africa card?

Cardify Africa is a virtual dollar card: you get a card number in your app that spends a balance you have loaded, rather than a card linked to a bank account. It comes as a Basic Mastercard, a Standard Visa, and a Prepaid Mastercard. The company positions it for Nigerian and African users paying online in US dollars. There is no physical card, and no cash withdrawal.

How does the Cardify Africa card work?

You load money first, then spend it, much like a prepaid card. The balance can come from your naira wallet by bank transfer from any Nigerian bank, or from USDT sent to a Tron-network address; the prepaid card takes USDT-TRC20 only. Once funded, the card works in Apple Pay and Google Pay and anywhere a Mastercard or Visa number is accepted online. It cannot overdraw, because there is nothing to overdraw from.

Is Cardify Africa a bank?

No. The site states plainly that it is “Not a bank” and works with licensed partners. It is a trading name of CARDIFY TECHNOLOGY LIMITED, a UK company registered as 14295286, with CARDIFY COMPANY LTD in Nigeria and Cardify Africa Technology Inc in Dover, Delaware. The issuing institution behind the card balance is not named on the public pages, which is the detail worth pressing on.

Who can apply for a Cardify Africa card?

The card’s FAQ says its dollar cards are for users in Nigeria, and the site says it is “Designed specifically for Nigerians & Africans”. There is no published country list and no list of excluded countries. Identity checks are built around Nigerian documents, with a BVN required for Level 2, so applicants elsewhere should expect the flow to differ. If you are outside the stated market, eligibility is genuinely unclear from what the provider publishes.

How do I apply, and what are the KYC levels?

You apply through the app, on iOS or Android. Level 1 is mandatory and covers a verified email, a verified phone and a 4-digit PIN. Level 2 adds a regulatory ID number, a BVN for Nigerians, confirmed by code to the phone on that ID, plus two-factor authentication by authenticator app or email code. What each level unlocks, how long it takes, and why an application may be refused are not stated. Proof of address and age are also not stated.

What does a Cardify Africa card cost to open and maintain?

The prepaid card charges 5% of the amount you fund on issuance, and $2.50 a month after the first two months for as long as a balance remains. That 5% applies to what you load, not to what you spend, so a large unused balance is expensive. For the Basic and Standard dollar cards the site says only “Low Charges” with no figures. Conversion fees and spend limits are not stated either.

What are the fees I might be charged when I pay?

The provider does not publish a fee list. An unofficial 2026 comparison lists a 2.5% cross-border fee outside the US and a declined transaction fee of $0.06 in the US and $0.40 outside it. That decline fee is not hypothetical: cardholders report being charged between $0.40 and $1 on failed payments in reviews from July 2025 to May 2026. Treat the figures as third-party until you see them in your own account.

How do I top up, and can I top up more than once?

The dollar cards take a naira bank transfer from any Nigerian bank or USDT to a Tron address. The prepaid card is stricter: USDT-TRC20 only, and it can be funded once. Its activation link is valid for 60 days. A minimum top-up and any deposit fee for the dollar cards are not stated officially; a third-party comparison suggests $5. Sending USDT on the wrong network is a real risk here, since blockchain transfers cannot be reversed.

Is the card safe, and what happens if a payment fails?

The provider describes encryption, multi-factor authentication, real-time fraud monitoring and a 4-digit PIN for outbound payments. Funds are custodial, held through partners rather than by you. The recurring complaint from users is a charge on a failed transaction, plus slow card creation and slow funding, from two days to over a week. Trustpilot shows 2.7 out of 5 across 68 reviews, with 34% one-star, as I read it.

Is the card free, and what is it worth?

There is no version that is free. The prepaid card’s 5% issuance fee and $2.50 monthly fee mean you pay for the privilege of holding a balance at all, and the $2.50 termination threshold makes it impractical to keep money there. Rewards, cashback and rebates are not mentioned anywhere on the public pages. Its value is narrow: paying a fixed set of dollar bills from a Nigerian base, without holding a dollar account.

Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team