A prepaid Visa you load with USDT, not a bank account
The Fizen card is a Visa prepaid card that lives inside Fizen’s crypto super-app. You do not open a bank account to use it; you transfer USDT to a Fizen-controlled wallet, and the card then spends from a USD balance. The current score is 6.4 out of 10, and that number already hints at the central trade-off: the onboarding and day-to-day feel are unusually simple, but several of the cost, support and regulatory details are not spelled out on the public pages. This review walks through what is on offer, what the fees look like in practice, and where you would feel the friction.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
I walked through the Fizen card page, the published terms and the most recent fee schedule before scoring it. The table below explains how the 6.4 came together. Every mark is a starting point; the reasons in the right-hand column are what made the score land where it did.

| Criterion | Mark | Why it sits there |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Card page advertises use in 160+ countries, but the service is not available in 43 countries including Russia, Belarus, Serbia, India, China, Iran and Ukraine. |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Adventure issuance is $9.99, monthly fee $0 above $500 of spend and $1.50 below, FX 1%, crypto-to-fiat 0.5%, card closure $2, ATM $2 + 1.5%. |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | USDT into a Fizen-controlled wallet; QR Pay only via USDT on Solana or BNB Chain; fiat on-ramp runs through Transak. |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Fizen Limited in Hong Kong is not a bank or payment institution; the card’s Visa issuer is not named on the public pages; Tether invested in July 2026; Trustpilot sits at 4.1 from 5 reviews. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa is instant; Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported; physical metal cards are “coming soon”; first ATM withdrawal of the month up to $200 is free on the physical card. |
| Total | 6.4 / 10 |
The headline that pulls these marks together is: a USD virtual card you can spin up in minutes and load with USDT, paired with an unusually long list of unsupported countries and a few cost lines that only become clear once you sit down with the fee schedule.
If you are the kind of reader who already holds USDT, lives somewhere the card is supported and wants a prepaid Visa that talks to a crypto wallet without a bank in the middle, Fizen is a reasonable fit. If you are looking for a regulated card from a named bank, a wide ATM allowance or a free monthly account, you will probably end up on one of the alternatives I cover later.
Who will they give you the card
The first question I want to answer is eligibility, because it cuts everything else off. The card’s marketing page says the service works in 160+ countries, which is a wide net, but the same company also publishes a list of 43 countries where the Fizen card is not available. The two statements are not in conflict once you read them carefully: the “160+ countries” figure is about where the card is intended to be usable once issued, while the 43-country list is about where the company will actually open an account for you.

On that restricted list you will find the Russian Federation, Belarus, Serbia, India, China (Mainland), Croatia, Slovenia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iran, Ukraine and Venezuela, among others. The terms go a step further: you cannot be a citizen, resident or person located in a jurisdiction where the service is prohibited or under comprehensive sanctions, and Fizen says eligibility is rechecked on an ongoing basis (KYC, IP, device, location). The official wording also notes that if you are a citizen of a restricted country but currently live in a supported country, you may still be eligible, with the page linking to an exceptions section I have not read in full. The terms themselves are short on specifics: the card page does not publish a definitive supported country list, and it does not give an age requirement, so you only learn the hard details by starting the application.
The geographic picture is mixed enough to deserve a short table. It pulls together the two pieces of information Fizen publishes and puts them side by side, because readers ask both questions in different orders.
| Question | What Fizen says | Practical effect |
|---|---|---|
| Where can the card be used once I have it? | 160+ countries. | Broad acceptance footprint; mainly a Visa and a card-balance question. |
| Where can I actually sign up? | The card is not available in 43 countries (full list on the restricted-countries page). | The list and the 160+ figure are not the same thing; you have to be both a resident and a citizen of a place that is not on the restricted list. |
| What about a citizen of a restricted country living abroad? | “You may still be eligible” (exceptions page not read). | Worth checking the exceptions page before assuming a yes or a no. |
If you are a casual reader in the United States, the European Union, the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, Japan, Singapore, Brazil, Argentina or the Philippines, this section is unlikely to be your bottleneck. If you are in any of the explicitly listed countries, the answer is currently no, and the terms give Fizen the right to close the account if that picture changes.
How to get it
Sign-up is built around the Fizen Super App for iOS and Android, which you download from fizen.io/download. The published pitch says the application takes 5 minutes, and the virtual card is issued instantly, so the user experience is closer to opening a neobank account than to applying for a credit card. The terms describe a flow that is recognisable from any regulated payment app: identity is checked at onboarding, eligibility is reassessed on an ongoing basis, and the level of checks depends on the service (KYC, IP, device, location). What the terms do not spell out is the document list, the age floor or the rejection reasons, so anything more granular than “have your ID ready” cannot be promised from the public material.
The Adventure tier, which is the one you can actually sign up for today, is a virtual card. The Pioneer and Frontier tiers are physical metal cards, and the card page is honest about the fact that they are “coming soon”; there are no published delivery times, shipping countries or replacement costs while they are not yet shipping. The published terms call the card a “USD Visa Prepaid Card” and describe the issuer as a regulated institution that operates the card programme “under licence from Visa”, without naming the issuer on the card page itself. The actual issuer name is in the Issuer Cardholder Agreement, which I have not read in full.
The sign-up steps, as Fizen describes them, are:
- Download the Fizen Super App on iOS or Android.
- Create a wallet inside the app.
- Tap the sign-up link on the card page and start the application.
- Pass the identity and eligibility checks (the level is decided by Fizen).
- Receive the virtual card instantly, then top it up before spending.
That is the entire path for Adventure. Pioneer and Frontier sit behind the same flow, with the metal card arriving later when the programme moves out of “coming soon”.
What it really costs
The fees are split across the card page, the fee schedule in the support documents and the marketing copy, and the three sources do not always line up word for word. Reading them together is the only way to avoid surprises.
| Fee or limit | Adventure (virtual, open) | Pioneer (metal, coming soon) | Frontier (metal, coming soon) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | $9.99 (free for pre-registered users) | $999.99 | $9,999 |
| Monthly maintenance | $0 if you spend at least $500; $1.50 if you spend less (first month free) | not stated | not stated |
| Close card fee | $2.00 | not stated | not stated |
| FX on non-USD payments | 1% (0% on USD payments) | not stated | not stated |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion | 0% on the card page for Adventure; 0.5% in the standard fee schedule | not stated | not stated |
| Small transaction fee (under $50) | $0.50 | not stated | not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | $2 + 1.5% on the physical card; first withdrawal up to $200/month free; ATM limits $100,000/day, $200,000/month, 3/day, 30/month | not stated | not stated |
| Per-transaction spending limit | $150,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Daily spending limit | $1,000,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Monthly spending limit | $1,000,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Free ATM quota | “Free ATM withdrawal quota” listed; size beyond it not stated | higher tier benefit | higher tier benefit |
A few of the lines are worth dwelling on. The card page says Adventure has “0 crypto-to-fiat conversion fees”, but the published fee schedule lists a 0.5% standard conversion fee. The simplest read is that the card page is describing the benefit Adventure gets inside its plan, while the fee schedule is the underlying rate, and the two are not always the same number. The other thing to flag is the small-transaction fee of $0.50 on purchases under $50, which is the kind of charge you only notice if you are paying for coffee, transit and similar low-ticket items. There is also a separate free-ATM-quota line on the card page for Adventure whose size is not actually spelled out, so the cleanest picture of ATM costs comes from the physical-card terms: $2 + 1.5% per withdrawal, with the first withdrawal of the month free up to $200.
To make this concrete, here are three everyday payments and how the fees stack up. The conversions use the published rates on the fee schedule, not the marketing copy, so they err on the side of what the schedule actually says.
- A $5 coffee paid in USD to a US merchant, funded from a USDT top-up that was already loaded onto the card. You pay the $0.50 small-transaction fee because the purchase is under $50. The FX fee is 0% because the payment is in USD. The crypto-to-fiat conversion has already happened when you topped up, and the conversion is the moment that 0.5% comes off the top, on the standard schedule.
- A €40 dinner in Paris paid with the same card, again loaded from USDT. The FX fee of 1% applies because the payment is not in USD. There is no small-transaction fee because the purchase is over $50, but the 1% is roughly 0.40 on a €40 bill at parity, and the underlying conversion is whatever Visa and Fizen apply on the day.
- A $300 cash withdrawal from an ATM in Bangkok on the physical card, with this being your first withdrawal of the month. Up to $200 of that is covered by the free first-withdrawal quota, so the bill is the $2 + 1.5% on the remaining $100, which works out to $3.50. If you have already used your free withdrawal for the month, the same $300 costs $2 + 1.5% × $300 = $6.50.
The bigger cardholder context is also worth saying out loud: you do not get the issuance fee back if you close the card quickly, you pay a separate $2 to close it, and there is no annual fee line in the schedule, so the running cost is really the monthly $1.50 (when you spend less than $500) plus the per-transaction charges. For a reader who charges a few thousand dollars a month and pays in USD, the actual cost is modest; for someone making many small foreign purchases, the small-transaction and FX fees add up faster than the headline would suggest.
How to top it up
Top-up is where Fizen is the most explicit about how a “crypto card” actually behaves. The card is funded by sending USDT to a wallet controlled by Fizen, and that USDT then sits on the card’s USD balance ready to spend. There is no bank transfer step, and there is no separate debit card you have to load from; the wallet in the app and the card balance are effectively the same thing, and the terms describe a “custodial balance” where the assets are pooled on Fizen’s internal ledger.
The QR Pay product, which is a separate scan-to-pay feature, only accepts USDT on Solana or BNB Chain. Other networks, or any non-USDT token, may be permanently lost if you send them to that address, so it is worth saying twice. Fiat on-ramps, when you want to fund the card with dollars or euros rather than USDT, run through a third party such as Transak, and the terms treat that as a third-party service rather than a Fizen product. The card page says there are “0 top-up fees within plan limits”, but the fee schedule has no top-up line at all, which suggests the only cost in normal use is the network fee charged by the blockchain for the transfer itself, and those fees go to the network’s validators, not to Fizen. A minimum top-up amount is not published.
Here is how the three entry points compare:
- USDT on the Fizen card balance: send USDT to the Fizen-controlled wallet shown in the app; the funds become a USD card balance. Network fees depend on the chain you send on.
- QR Pay: send USDT on Solana or BNB Chain only. Sending any other token, or USDT on any other network, is a likely loss.
- Fiat via Transak: a third-party on-ramp that converts a bank payment into USDT before it lands in the wallet. The cost of the on-ramp is set by Transak, not by Fizen.
A practical note that is easy to miss: the wallet you hold in the Fizen app is a self-custody wallet with a private key generated on your device, but the card balance itself is custodial. The terms are clear that “Fizen Wallet / Swap” is non-custodial and Fizen cannot recover the key, while the Fizen Card balance is pooled on Fizen’s internal ledger. So you can hold your own crypto in the same app and choose to load the card, and you can stop using the platform and your on-chain assets remain on-chain, but the moment USDT lands on the card, the legal ownership model is different.
If you need to get value back off the card, the published terms say that the close-card fee is $2.00, that the QR Pay balance can be “discharged through withdrawal where available” and that Fizen will “provide a reasonable method” for that, possibly requiring identity verification, a source-of-funds check or a verified destination address. The withdrawal terms for the card balance itself sit in the Card Terms and Issuer Cardholder Agreement, which I have not read in full.
Paying with it every day
The day-to-day experience is built around a virtual Visa that lives in your phone. Apple Pay and Google Pay are advertised on the wallet page, and the QR Scan-to-Pay feature is live in countries including Brazil, Argentina, Peru, Vietnam and the Philippines. The card works anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores, and because the card is prepaid, it cannot overdraw: once the USD balance is gone, the card declines. The 3-D Secure flow is the standard Visa Secure challenge, which means an unfamiliar online merchant may ask you to confirm a one-time code in the Fizen app, and a US merchant’s Address Verification System may not work because the card is issued outside the US; both are part of the same class of friction that affects most non-US Visa cards.
The rewards and extras are different at each tier. Adventure gives you discounts and cashback on eSIMs, hotels and flights, a “FiPoint cashback” component whose rate is not stated, a 5% APR bonus on USDT Vault, 0% trading fees on US stocks and ETFs up to the first $5,000, a free ATM withdrawal quota and “priority support”. Pioneer adds the physical metal card, a 10% APR bonus on USDT Vault, higher FiPoint cashback and VIP support. Frontier adds a second metal card, a 20% APR bonus on USDT Vault, even higher FiPoint cashback, VIP support and 100+ card skins “coming soon”. A separate blog promo mentions “up to 10% cashback + FiPoints on every spend” subject to terms, and a $10 eSIM credit offer ran on 19 August 2026.
Two things are not stated on the public pages: the merchant-category codes that are blocked, and the actual rate of the FiPoint cashback. The terms prohibit use for illegal gambling and other illegal activity, which is the standard prohibition, but the more practical question, of whether you can use the card at supermarkets, fuel stations, subscription services, crypto exchanges and the like, is not spelled out as a list.
If something goes wrong with a payment, the terms give a clear path: send a written Notice of Dispute to [email protected], allow 60 days for a good-faith resolution, after which disputes go to SIAC arbitration in Singapore, with class actions waived and a one-year claim window. Blockchain transactions are noted as generally irreversible, with Fizen saying it may reverse a transaction “where technically possible”. QR Pay refunds sit under a separate set of QR Pay Terms, and the master terms do not address chargebacks, which is a familiar gap in a lot of crypto card programmes and a reason to be careful with unfamiliar merchants.
What can go wrong
The honest answer here is that the public information is thinner than I would like. Fizen Limited is incorporated in Hong Kong (company number 77059696, Unit 1411, 14/F, Cosco Tower, Queen’s Road Central), and the terms say the company is not a bank, e-money institution or licensed payment institution. The Visa card issuer is not named on the public pages; the name is in the Issuer Cardholder Agreement, which sits one level deeper than the marketing material. The 30 July 2026 Tether strategic investment is a positive signal, but the amount is not disclosed, and a stablecoin issuer’s stake in a card programme is not the same as a banking licence.
Custody is the other area to read carefully. Fizen Wallet and Swap are non-custodial, and Fizen says it cannot recover a lost key. Fizen Card is custodial: the card balance sits on Fizen’s internal ledger, and the assets backing it are pooled. QR Pay is also custodial and, unusually, ownership of the accepted assets is said to pass to Fizen rather than being segregated. So your on-chain holdings in the Fizen app are yours, but the moment you fund the card or use QR Pay, you are trusting Fizen to keep the books correctly, and the published material does not describe insurance, segregation of customer funds, or what happens in a wind-down. Two-factor authentication must be enabled where offered, and the terms give you 72 hours to report unauthorised access to [email protected]; the card-management page with freeze and controls exists but I have not read it, and the support documents list a card freeze feature as part of the standard set of controls.
The complaint record is small but positive. Trustpilot shows 4.1 from 5 reviews, with the visible reviews all five-star, dates clustered between 21 April and 3 June 2026, and a reply from the company on each one. One reviewer notes the app is “a bit buggy” sometimes, and Trustpilot flags that the company “may be associated with high-risk investments”, which is the platform’s generic warning rather than a finding about Fizen. No Reddit threads on the card turned up in the search. The Master Terms took effect on 5 June 2026, with material changes effective 30 days after notice, and the $FIZEN token had not been launched as of June 2026.
A few things to read in the small print before you commit:
- The exact list of supported countries, and whether your country of citizenship and your country of residence are both on the supported side. The 43-country restricted list is the easier of the two to find.
- The current fee schedule, not the card page. The “0 crypto-to-fiat conversion fees” line on the card page is at odds with the 0.5% line in the standard schedule.
- The Issuer Cardholder Agreement. The name of the Visa issuer sits in there, as do the detailed card-balance withdrawal terms and any scheme-specific rights you have on disputes.
- The latest terms, including the effective date and the 30-day notice for material changes. If you are mid-onboarding and the supported-country list changes, you want to know before you load the card.
What to take instead
Three alternatives worth a look, with the headline numbers pulled from the public material.
Whop Cards
Whop Cards is a prepaid Visa with a published score of 5.2 out of 10. Consumers can sign up in 31 US states (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming); businesses can sign up in 41. The unsupported consumer list includes Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The page advertises “no extra fees”, but does not list issuance or monthly amounts, and conversion and FX numbers are not stated. Cards are backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, and the rewards are 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber, with more planned). Whop Cards is a better fit if you are US-based, do business-style spending and want a relatively cheap prepaid card.
Stella
Stella scores 6.5 out of 10 and runs as a virtual and physical Visa. The official site does not publish country support; the terms bar sanctioned users and route US and European users through affiliates. Fees are described as living in the User Agreement and the app, with no figures on the public page, and the rewards page is quiet about cashback (yield sits in a separate Earn product). The funding model is straightforward: deposit crypto into the account, which automatically tops up the card. Stella is the more “card as a debit account” option, with no published headline fee but a corresponding lack of detail.
UniFi Card
UniFi Card scores 4.7 out of 10 and is a “Prepaid Debit Visa Card” issued by Lead Bank. The App Store listing shows send-money routes to the Philippines (PHP), Mexico (MXN), eurozone (EUR) and recent release notes mention Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK (GBP). Funding options include ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) and SPEI (CLABE), and a USDC wallet, with other coins and networks not stated. Fees are not stated, and the listing claims “3% rewards on balances”, with the card cashback rate not stated. UniFi is the most “USDC wallet with a card attached” option, and the most pragmatic if you are already in the USDC ecosystem.
| Card | Score | Country stance | Cost clarity | Best fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fizen | 6.4 / 10 | Card use in 160+ countries; sign-up blocked in 43 countries incl. Russia, Belarus, India, China, Iran, Ukraine | Moderate: most lines published, several “not stated” | USDT holder who wants a virtual USD Visa in minutes |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | 31 US states for consumers; long unsupported country list | Weak: “no extra fees” without numbers | US consumer or business buyer paying at Uber-style merchants |
| Stella | 6.5 / 10 | Country list not stated; US and EU via affiliates | Weak: no public fee figures | Crypto user who wants a Visa without a published fee schedule |
| UniFi Card | 4.7 / 10 | Country list not confirmed; send routes to PH, MX, EU, CO, BR, UK | Weak: no published fees | USDC-native user who wants a Lead Bank-issued Visa |
The honest comparison is that Whop Cards and UniFi Card each name a banking or payments partner (Stripe-funded programme in Whop’s case, Lead Bank in UniFi’s), and Stella is closer to Fizen in being card-as-crypto-balance without a named bank. If the lack of a named issuer is what bothers you most about Fizen, the UniFi Card through Lead Bank is the clearest alternative; if the small-transaction and FX fees bother you most, Whop Cards is the cleanest pitch on cost.
Who I would recommend it to
Fizen is worth a serious look if you already hold USDT, you live somewhere that is not on the 43-country list, and you want a USD Visa you can spin up in the time it takes to install an app. The virtual card path is fast, the Apple Pay and Google Pay support is standard, and the fee schedule, once you have read it, is honest about the conversion, FX and ATM charges. Adventure is a fair $9.99 entry into a prepaid card with the small-transaction fee as the main day-to-day watch-out.
Fizen is a poor fit if you want a metal card today, if you want a banking relationship rather than a prepaid card, if you need a named regulated issuer on the public page, or if your country of citizenship or residence is on the restricted list. Pioneer and Frontier are not yet shipping, so the headline numbers there are paper pricing; if you are buying the card for the metal and the higher APR bonus, you are buying a roadmap. The ATM allowance is also worth flagging for cash-heavy readers: the $2 + 1.5% plus the $200 free first-withdrawal quota is fine for occasional use, but a reader who needs to take out $1,000 a month from ATMs will burn through the free allowance and pay a meaningful per-withdrawal charge.
If you sit in the centre of the recommended reader, Fizen is a sensible 6.4-out-of-10 pick. If you sit closer to either edge, the alternatives table is the right next stop.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Fizen card?
The Fizen card is a USD Visa prepaid card that lives inside the Fizen Super App. You fund it with USDT, and the card then spends from a USD balance anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores.
How does the Fizen card work?
You transfer USDT to a Fizen-controlled wallet, the USDT becomes a USD card balance, and the card debits that balance at the point of sale. The card is prepaid, so it cannot overdraw; once the balance is gone, the card declines.
Is Fizen a bank?
No. Fizen Limited, registered in Hong Kong, is not a bank, an e-money institution or a licensed payment institution under its own terms. The Visa card issuer is named only in the Issuer Cardholder Agreement, which is one level deeper than the public card page.
Who owns Fizen?
Fizen Limited is the operator. On 30 July 2026 Tether announced a strategic investment in Fizen; the amount was not disclosed, and the existing ownership structure before the investment is not detailed on the public pages.
Is the Fizen card available in my country?
The card is not available in 43 countries, including Russia, Belarus, Serbia, India, China (Mainland), Iran, Ukraine and Venezuela, and the terms reserve the right to refuse citizens, residents or persons located in sanctioned jurisdictions. The exceptions page, which I have not read in full, says that a citizen of a restricted country who currently lives in a supported country may still be eligible.
How do I get the Fizen card?
Download the Fizen Super App on iOS or Android, create a wallet in the app, follow the sign-up link on the card page, pass the identity and eligibility checks, and the virtual card is issued instantly. Pioneer and Frontier metal cards are “coming soon”.
Does the Fizen card require KYC?
Yes. The terms say KYC is performed at the level each service requires, is checked at onboarding and on an ongoing basis, and uses signals including KYC, IP, device and location. The full document list, the age floor and the rejection reasons are not stated on the public pages.
How do I top up the Fizen card?
Send USDT to the Fizen-controlled wallet shown in the app; the funds become a USD card balance. QR Pay is funded with USDT on Solana or BNB Chain only, and fiat on-ramps go through a third party such as Transak. Network fees on the underlying chain are charged by the blockchain, not by Fizen.
Is the Fizen card free?
No. The Adventure virtual card costs $9.99 to issue (free for pre-registered users), the monthly maintenance is $0 if you spend at least $500 and $1.50 otherwise, the first month is free, and there is a $2 close-card fee. FX on non-USD payments is 1%, the small-transaction fee is $0.50 on purchases under $50, and the ATM fee is $2 + 1.5% on the physical card with the first withdrawal up to $200 per month free.
Is the Fizen card safe?
It is as safe as the model allows: Fizen Wallet and Swap are non-custodial, and Fizen says it cannot recover a lost key. The card balance is custodial, sits on Fizen’s internal ledger, and is not described as insured or segregated in the public material. Two-factor authentication must be enabled where offered, and the terms give you 72 hours to report unauthorised access to [email protected]; Trustpilot shows 4.1 from 5 reviews, with all visible reviews five-star and a reply from the company on each one.
Money-app cards – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
