A Visa card that spends straight from your own crypto wallet — good idea, thin documentation
If you hold crypto in a wallet you control the keys to, and you would rather spend it than sell it and wait for a bank transfer, the ELLIPAL Pay card is an interesting idea in a fairly quiet corner of the market. The pitch is simple: a Visa card, funded from stablecoins sitting in your own self-custody wallet, with no monthly fee and no conversion markup added by ELLIPAL. The awkward part is that the product is young, the documentation is thin, and several of the details you would want before applying are simply not written down anywhere I could read.
I have gone through the card’s own pages, its help-centre material and the surrounding partner information, and I have marked clearly below what the card states and what comes from third parties that it does not confirm. Where the card’s public pages say nothing, I will say so rather than guess — that silence is itself information when you are choosing where to put your money.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
My score for the ELLIPAL Pay card is 5.8 out of 10. It is not a bad card. It is an unfinished one, and you have to be comfortable with that.
The score, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Mark | Why, in short |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Legal residents of a selected list of European and Latin American countries; a waiting list elsewhere |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Officially no transaction fees, no conversion markup, no gas on payments, card described as free; unofficial figures contradict the “free” claim |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Stablecoins from a self-custody wallet, settling on Gnosis Chain at the moment of payment; balances in EURe, GBPe, USDCe |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Partner is Gnosis Pay with KYC run through SumSub; issuer not named; the product page still reads “coming soon” |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual card at activation; physical card and Apple Pay / Google Pay support not stated |
| Total | 5.8 / 10 | A working idea with a lot of unanswered questions |
The pattern in that table matters more than any single number. Cost is the strongest column, eligibility is middling, and everyday use is the weakest. If your goal is “spend stablecoins from my own wallet without a monthly fee”, the card does that job in principle. If your goal is “an ordinary-looking card I can tap in a shop, in my wallet on my phone, and never think about”, this is not yet it.
Who suits it: someone who already owns an ELLIPAL hardware wallet, already holds stablecoins, and already thinks in networks and keys — someone for whom an on-chain settlement at the moment of payment is a feature rather than a surprise. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a physical card in the post this week, anyone who wants mobile wallet payments, and anyone for whom “coming soon” on the product page is a red flag rather than a promise.
Will they give you the card
They will, if you are a legal resident of one of the countries on their list. The starting list is long and worth reading properly, because it is not “Europe” in general — it is named countries. From the data I worked from: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Rep., Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Argentina, Brazil, Colombia.
That is the set as recorded at the start of my checking; the card’s own page redirected to a help-centre landing page when I fetched it, so treat the live list as the authority and this one as a good indication. If you are outside those countries, the card’s position is a waiting list rather than a refusal — which is honest of them, and not much use to you if you needed the card now.
Two things I want to be straight about. First, this is a list of countries you reside in; the pages do not tell me whether citizenship matters separately from residence. Second, prepaid and debit cards generally go to adults, so an age floor of 18 is the normal baseline across this industry — but ELLIPAL’s own pages do not state an age requirement, so I am not going to invent one for them. If you are under 18, assume you need to ask.
What the checking process involves is standard and worth knowing in advance: a government ID, plus a utility bill from the last three months as proof of address. The identity verification is run by Gnosis Pay as the card partner, through SumSub. So the counterparty who sees your documents is not the brand whose app you downloaded. That is normal for this category, but it is a fact you should hold consciously, because it means your identity sits with a partner company whose name appears nowhere on the card itself.
If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to decline the transaction or relationship, and where necessary close an existing one. Accounts closing pending documents is not a quirk of this card; it is the legal default. Expect a possible paper letter or email and treat it as routine rather than as a disaster.
How to get it
The route runs through the app. Inside the ELLIPAL App you go to Assets, then Pay, then ELLIPAL Pay, then Apply. You complete identity verification — email, ID, proof of address — and then wait for Gnosis Pay to verify you. How long that takes is not stated anywhere I could read, so plan for an unknown rather than for a number. Once you are through, you activate a virtual card, confirming a phone number and the source of your funds.
That last confirmation is the part worth pausing on. “Source of funds” questions exist because regulators want to know where money came from, and answering honestly is the only sensible approach — not because anyone will help you answer differently, but because a vague answer is the fastest route to an account that closes.
When it arrives you get a Visa card usable worldwide wherever Visa is accepted, in the form of a virtual card at activation. Whether a physical card exists is not stated. Whether it comes in metal, or arrives by post, or how long delivery takes — none of that is stated either. If you need something in your hand, this is the single biggest gap in the offer.
The card holds balances in EURe, GBPe and USDCe. That trio is unusual and worth understanding, because it tells you the card is not simply “your USDC, spent anywhere”. It is a multi-currency stablecoin balance that spends through a Gnosis Chain settlement layer.
And I would not skip this detail: the product page still says “coming soon”, describing a gradual rollout. That may simply mean the card is being opened country by country. It may also mean the page has not been updated. Either way, if you are planning around this card, you are planning around something still in progress.
Fees and what a payment really costs
Here the card’s marketing is at its strongest, and here the independent information is at its most contradictory. Both belong in the same place, because if the fee is the reason you are considering this card, you need both.

Officially, from ELLIPAL’s own order guide and fee pages: no transaction fees, no fee added by ELLIPAL Pay for currency conversion, and no gas fees on card transactions. The card itself is called free. That is genuinely good and almost unheard of.
Unofficial and unconfirmed by ELLIPAL: Gnosis Pay’s own ordering guide for its partner programme, per help.gnosispay.com in October 2026, says the card costs 30.23 EURe paid from a Gnosis Chain wallet, plus a small amount of xDai for gas. That directly contradicts “free”. The same source describes cash-machine withdrawals as 250 per withdrawal and 500 daily, with a fair-use allowance of five free withdrawals or 200 per month, then a 2% fee. None of this is stated on the ELLIPAL pages I read.
So which is it? My read, and I want to be careful here because I cannot resolve it from the card’s side: you are being routed to a partner programme whose own guide prices the card, and the ELLIPAL side of the story says free. Before you rely on either number, ask support directly and get the answer in writing. That is the honest advice, not a hedge.
| Fee or limit | What the card says | What the partner programme says (unofficial) |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | Card described as free | 30.23 EURe from a Gnosis Chain wallet, plus a little xDai for gas |
| Monthly fee | None stated; no transaction fees | Not stated |
| Conversion | No ELLIPAL Pay markup on currency conversion | Not stated |
| Gas on payments | No gas fees on card transactions | Not stated |
| ATM | Not stated on the ELLIPAL pages read | 250 per withdrawal, 500 daily; five free withdrawals or 200 per month, then 2% |
| Daily limit | 8,000 in EURe / GBPe / USDCe, rolling 24 hours | Not stated |
| Per transaction | 5,000 | Not stated |
Two everyday payments, so this is concrete rather than abstract.
A coffee in a eurozone city. You pay, the balance in EURe is drawn down, no transaction fee is added, no conversion fee is added by ELLIPAL, and no gas is charged on the payment itself. This is the case the card is genuinely good at. Note what is still unsaid: if your balance is USDCe and the shop is in euros, someone is converting at some point, and the card tells you it is not taking a markup — but it does not tell you whose rate you get.
A flight bought online in dollars while your balance sits in EURe. Same structure, and now a real conversion. The card adds no fee of its own, but the limits bite: the purchase fits inside the 5,000 per transaction and the 8,000 rolling daily cap, and it is inside the cap for a reason. Those caps are the reason this card is not a business expense tool, whatever anyone tells you at a conference.
Two limits define the ceiling of this card. A 24-hour rolling daily cap of 8,000 (EURe/GBPe/USDCe) and 5,000 per transaction. If your normal spending exceeds that, no amount of good behaviour will help.
What is not stated anywhere I could find: tiered plans, and ATM terms on ELLIPAL’s own pages. If cash withdrawal is part of your life, you are relying entirely on the unofficial figures above.
Top up: how the money actually arrives
This is the part most reviews get wrong, because they assume a deposit step that does not exist here. There is none.

You do not load the card. You spend from stablecoins in your own self-custody wallet, and settlement happens on-chain through the Gnosis Pay smart contract on Gnosis Chain at the moment of payment. The card holds balances in EURe, GBPe and USDCe; the product page’s own framing is that spending draws on the stablecoins sitting in your self-custody wallet. Funds stay in your wallet. No deposit step is stated, because there is no deposit step.
So what you have is a self-custody-linked card, and the practical consequences follow from that. Your keys stay yours — no bank and no third party holds, freezes or manages the funds, which the product page states plainly. What that also means is that you bear sole responsibility for key loss, for phishing, and for clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address. Self-custody is not a comfort feature; it is a transfer of responsibility from someone else to you.
The blockchain fee point deserves care. On-chain network fees for a deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. ELLIPAL’s generic FAQ says blockchain fees apply only where an on-chain movement is part of the flow. The card separately claims no gas fees on card transactions. Those two statements are compatible, but you should hold both: the payment itself is gasless, and any separate transfer you make on Gnosis Chain costs whatever that network charges.
Getting money out is the same story turned around: funds stay in your self-custody wallet, and no withdrawal step is stated, because there is nothing to withdraw. You are not closing an account balance; you are deciding not to spend. Some people find that clarifying and some find it alarming, and both reactions are reasonable.
One hard-won piece of general knowledge belongs here, because it is the single most expensive mistake available to you in this design. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery through support with no guarantee. Check the network twice. Then check it a third time.
Paying with it every day
Here I have to be blunt: this is the weakest column in the table, and it is the one that decides whether the card is useful to you.
What I can confirm: you get a virtual card at activation, and it is a Visa card usable worldwide where Visa is accepted. That is a real thing, not a demo.
What I cannot confirm: Apple Pay, Google Pay, and any physical card are not stated. If you pay by tapping your phone today, this card does not tell me it can join you. If you need a card in your wallet that your phone can see, ask before you apply — that is a make-or-break feature for many people and it is precisely the one that is undocumented.
Some limits of the wider category apply to any Visa card, whether or not ELLIPAL confirms them for this one, and it is fair to hold them in mind. A merchant category code is a four-digit number classifying a business, and MCC 7995 covers gambling — casinos, betting, lotteries. Issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. So a card that works in a café can still fail in a betting shop, and the reason is not always written down. The same goes for other blocked merchant categories, which for this card are not stated at all.
Then there is the foreign-card problem, which is structural. Merchants can look up the BIN — the issuer identification number at the start of the card number — to see which institution and country issued it, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from the billing address. That is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another, and it is why a card funded by stablecoins can behave oddly at a merchant you have shopped at for years. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs precisely because the lookup reveals the card type. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of a typed billing address with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines.
A declined authorisation may also leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to seven. Budget for the possibility that money you have spent is not immediately free again.
On rewards, the card’s own pages state nothing. Unofficial and not confirmed for ELLIPAL Pay: a 2026 review of Gnosis Pay by Bleap describes cashback of 1% to 5% in GNO depending on GNO staked. I would treat that as a possibility to ask about rather than a feature to plan around, since the card does not confirm it and the amounts depend on something you would have to stake separately.
Finally, rewards, spending controls, two-factor authentication, a card freeze button, and the dispute process — the formal route for getting a payment reversed — are all not stated. That last one matters more than it sounds. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received, and the strength of your protection depends on the issuer’s rules and the card’s status. Prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed.
What can go wrong
No official incidents found. That is worth saying plainly, and it is also worth saying that the absence of incidents here partly reflects that the product is new and small, not that the risks are well tested.
The corporate picture is the first thing to understand, because it is genuinely unusual. ELLIPAL’s own pages do not state the issuing institution, its country or its licences. What they do say: ELLIPAL Limited is the company, and the card partner is Gnosis Pay, which runs KYC through SumSub. Unofficial, from DeFiLlama in October 2026: the Gnosis Pay card issuer is listed as Monavate.
That structure — a hardware-wallet brand in front, a card programme partner in the middle, an issuer in the background — is normal for this category and it is also where your trust has to sit. A card is a payment service regulated separately from crypto; MiCA covers the crypto side of things, so a crypto card often depends on two separate licences. Ask who the issuer is and which licence it holds. If you cannot get that answer, you are relying on a brand name that is not the entity your money sits with.
Then there is the track record of the wider category, which deserves a mention because it is the reason serious people ask about crypto cards at all. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures typically give a notice period, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure, reported by a secondary source and unconfirmed, saw new loads end on 8 July 2026 and spending stop on 8 August 2026. I include that as a pattern to weigh, not as a prediction about this card.
Now the complaints picture on ELLIPAL itself, with careful labelling. Trustpilot for ELLIPAL — the hardware-wallet business, not this card — shows 4.1 out of 5 from 303 reviews, read on 2026-10-21. The recurring themes there are delivery delays, device battery and defect problems, and wallet or app issues, reported between August and October 2026. Those reviews contain no mention of the Pay card at all, because the Pay card is new. Read that rating for what it is: a signal about the company’s hardware and logistics, and nothing whatsoever about whether this card will work.
Support is the practical weak point. There is a help centre at support.ellipal.com, and ELLIPAL states it does not offer phone support. In other words: if your funds are sitting in a self-custody wallet and a payment goes wrong, there is no one to call. Budget for that when you weigh whether this is the card for you.
And one category-level fact that undercuts the anonymity idea, if anyone has sold you that idea: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof. Neither, incidentally, is your self-custody wallet a way around KYC.
What to take instead
If you want a crypto card and this one is not right, here is what else is out there — with the same rule, that unofficial means unofficial.
BloFin Wallet Card scores 6.9 / 10, higher than the ELLIPAL Pay card. Its eligibility list is not published on the card page itself — the app simply asks you to select your country or region — and the starting data lists 35 countries including the US, Australia, Japan, the UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Malaysia and New Zealand. Whether it applies to citizenship or residence is not stated. It is a Visa Platinum card, virtual or physical not stated, card currency not stated. Cost is its strongest suit: activation, annual, issuance and dormancy fees are each $0.00, and cancelling is free. The catch is the spend fee — “1% or lower” by VIP tier, from 1.00% at VIP 0 down to 0.00% at VIP 5, charged at payment, with FX fee not stated. Top up with USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base. No cashback or rebates; a reduced spend rate instead.
Decaf scores 6.2 / 10. It publishes the most detailed restrictions of the three, which is itself useful. Not issued in Belarus, China, North Korea, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico or Nigeria; restricted US states include Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington and Wisconsin. Russia and Belarus are both on the list, and whether the rule is by citizenship or by residence is not stated. Decaf Visa card, virtual or physical with tracked delivery; card currency not stated. Activation costs $5 for the virtual card worldwide, $10 for physical in the US only or $90 in the rest of the world; no annual or monthly fee. On FX, Decaf adds no fee — “the FX is the one Visa offers”. You can pay a Decaf payment link or account details by card, bank transfer or USDC; the app runs on Solana and Stellar, but which coins and networks top up the card itself is not stated.
SafePal scores 6.2 / 10. Eligibility is described as “citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas”, and the list at its bank page was empty when I fetched it — a caution in itself. Virtual Mastercard debit, physical not stated, spending limits given in EUR against a Swiss Fiat24 account. No account creation or management fees; card issuance fee not stated. Standard top-up fee 0%; Mastercard non-USD settlement carries a 1% FX fee; refund processing costs 1 USD/EUR/CHF or 7 CNH; swaps include an unquantified spread, and its bank page elsewhere says crypto top-up “as low as 0.4%” on the top tier. Top up from 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC (default) or fiat, with transactions on Arbitrum. No cashback; referral commissions up to 40% of referred top-up fees and tier privileges tied to deposits, referrals and SFP staking.
| Card | Score | Fees on the card | Top-up | Biggest unknown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ELLIPAL Pay | 5.8 / 10 | None stated; card described as free; partner guide says 30.23 EURe | Stablecoins from a self-custody wallet, settling on Gnosis Chain | Physical card, Apple Pay / Google Pay |
| BloFin Wallet Card | 6.9 / 10 | Spend fee 1% or lower by VIP tier | USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base | Country list not published on the card page |
| Decaf | 6.2 / 10 | Activation $5 virtual / $10 US physical / $90 rest of world; no monthly fee | Card, bank transfer or USDC; app on Solana and Stellar | Which coins and networks top up the card |
| SafePal | 6.2 / 10 | Top-up 0% standard; 1% FX on non-USD; swaps include a spread | 40+ blockchains to USDC, transactions on Arbitrum | Supported regions list was empty |
The honest comparison: if you want the widest eligibility, BloFin looks broadest and scores highest, but you pay a percentage on every purchase and its country list is not published. If you want clarity about where you are welcome, Decaf publishes its restrictions in detail, which is a kind of respect, and its physical card exists — but it costs real money to join. If you want a low-cost top-up and do not mind an unexplained spread, SafePal. And if you want your funds to stay in your own wallet with no bank in the middle, that is the ELLIPAL proposition, and it is the only one of the four where non-custody is the point.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the ELLIPAL Pay card to someone in this specific position: you already hold an ELLIPAL hardware wallet, you already keep stablecoins in a self-custody wallet, you live in one of the listed countries, and you spend in EURe, GBPe or USDCe amounts well inside the 8,000 daily and 5,000 per transaction caps. If you can say yes to all four, this card does something no bank card of yours does, and it does it without a monthly fee. The recommendation comes with the understanding that you are self-custody, which means you own the risk of key loss and that someone will need to block a bad address.
I would not recommend it — yet — if you need a physical card, if you pay by phone, if you are outside the listed countries, if you spend more than 8,000 a day, if you draw cash regularly, or if you would rather have a phone number to call. If you need a physical card, BloFin or Decaf are more likely to get you there.
Before you apply, three things. Ask support.ellipal.com in writing whether the card is free or costs 30.23 EURe, because the card and its partner say different things. Ask whether Apple Pay and Google Pay are coming, and whether a physical card exists. And confirm who the issuer is, since the card’s own pages do not name it. Those three questions cost you one email and settle most of what I could not.
Finally, on money and taxes, one neutral note rather than advice: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction. That means each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. What that means for you depends on where you live — ask someone qualified in your jurisdiction rather than taking my word for it.
Frequently asked questions
What is the ELLIPAL Pay card?
The ELLIPAL Pay card is a Visa card that spends stablecoins directly from a self-custody wallet you control, rather than from a bank account. When you pay, settlement happens on-chain through the Gnosis Pay smart contract on Gnosis Chain at the moment of payment. It holds balances in EURe, GBPe and USDCe. ELLIPAL is a hardware-wallet company and Gnosis Pay is its card partner.
How does the ELLIPAL Pay card work?
You apply inside the ELLIPAL App, verify your identity, and activate a virtual card. Your crypto stays in your own wallet. When you tap or pay, the balance is drawn down and settlement occurs on-chain through Gnosis Pay’s contract on Gnosis Chain at that moment. There is no separate deposit step, because there is nothing to load — you are spending what you already hold.
Who owns ELLIPAL Pay and who issues the card?
ELLIPAL Limited is the company behind the app and the hardware wallet. The card partner is Gnosis Pay, which runs KYC through SumSub. The issuing institution, its country and its licences are not stated on the ELLIPAL pages I read; DeFiLlama listed the Gnosis Pay card issuer as Monavate in October 2026, which the card does not confirm.
Is ELLIPAL Pay available in my country?
Only in selected countries in Europe and Latin America. The list I recorded includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Rep., Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Argentina, Brazil and Colombia. Elsewhere the card’s position is a waiting list. The pages do not say whether citizenship counts separately from residence.
Does applying require KYC?
Yes. You need a government ID and a utility bill from the last three months as proof of address. Verification is run by Gnosis Pay rather than ELLIPAL, so a partner company sees your documents. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to decline, and where necessary close, the relationship.
Is the ELLIPAL Pay card really free?
That is genuinely unclear. ELLIPAL’s own order guide calls the card free, with no transaction fees, no conversion markup and no gas on payments. Gnosis Pay’s partner-programme guide, unofficial and not confirmed by ELLIPAL, says the card costs 30.23 EURe plus a little xDai for gas. Ask support.ellipal.com in writing before you rely on either figure.
How do I top up the ELLIPAL Pay card?
You do not, in the usual sense. There is no deposit step and no withdrawal step — your funds stay in your self-custody wallet, and the card simply draws on the stablecoins there. Note that blockchain transfers are irreversible, so sending funds on an unsupported network or to an address of another network can lose them. Network fees are charged by the blockchain, not the card.
Can I add the ELLIPAL Pay card to Apple Wallet?
Not stated. The card’s own pages mention a virtual card at activation and do not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay, a physical card, or delivery timing. If paying by phone is essential to you, ask support directly before applying, because this is the detail most likely to decide the matter for you.
Is the ELLIPAL Pay card safe?
In the sense of custody, yes by design: no bank or third party holds, freezes or manages your funds, because they never leave your wallet. In the sense of key management, the responsibility is entirely yours — key loss, phishing and clipboard malware are yours to handle. Two-factor authentication, card freeze and spending controls are not stated. And support is help-centre only, with no phone support offered.
Is the ELLIPAL Pay card worth it?
Worth it if you already hold stablecoins in your own wallet, live in a listed country, and spend well inside the 8,000 daily and 5,000 per-transaction caps — you get a Visa card with no monthly fee and no stated conversion markup. Less worth it if you need a physical card, mobile wallet payments, cash withdrawals or phone support, all of which are either unstated or documented only by unofficial sources.
Wallet-linked cards – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
