A MiCA-authorised crypto card with a clear role in Europe, and a few rough edges you should know about

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Nebeus card is a Mastercard debit card tied to a custodial crypto-and-fiat account, issued by a Polish e-money institution and operated by a Barcelona-based company that holds MiCA authorisation in the EU. For someone in Europe who already holds crypto and wants a payment card that draws directly from that balance, the setup is unusually direct: you deposit crypto, the platform converts it at the point of sale, and the card pays in euros, pounds, or US dollars. The card is “free of charge” to issue, the SEPA deposit is free, and the ATM ceiling is 2,000 a month in major currencies, which is workable for day-to-day spending rather than for large cash withdrawals.

Nebeus works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

It is not for everyone. The platform restricts 128 countries, and the list includes the United States, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Israel, and Hungary, so readers in those places should stop here. Several common card fees (FX, crypto conversion spread, monthly subscription) are not published on Nebeus’s consumer pages, and the most common Trustpilot complaints in 2025 were about cards being rejected without explanation, slow or silent support, and an app that reviewers say is “full of bugs.” The total score I land on is 6.2 out of 10, and the breakdown is below.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026

Verdict: 6.2 out of 10

The Nebeus card earns a 6.2 because it does the core job for a specific reader, a Europe-based resident who already holds crypto and wants a payment card linked to that balance, without asking much in the way of fees. The score is held back by the silence around everyday costs (FX, conversion spread, monthly fees), a long restricted-country list that excludes major English-speaking markets, and a pattern of user complaints about opaque card rejections and slow support.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Nebeus payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 5/10 128 restricted countries; the US, UK, Netherlands, Israel and Hungary are on the list, and access is gated by country of residence.
Cost 8/10 Card issuance is free, SEPA deposits are free; FX and crypto-loading fees are not officially published.
Top-up options 6/10 BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, BCH, XRP across Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tron, and Litecoin, but USDT and USDC personal deposits were halted on 5 April 2026.
Reliability and complaints 4/10 MiCA authorisation via Spain’s CNMV, card issued by a licensed Polish EMI; recurring complaints about unexplained card rejections and unresponsive support.
Everyday use 8/10 Virtual and physical Mastercard, 2,000 monthly ATM limit in EUR/USD/GBP; mobile-wallet support is not confirmed on the official site.

If you are in one of the supported European countries, you can get a virtual card quickly and a physical card by mail, and the fee structure is light enough that the card is worth trying. If you are outside the supported geography, or if published fee transparency matters to you more than headline pricing, the score should read lower in your eyes.

Who Nebeus Will and Will Not Issue a Card To

The platform restricts 128 countries, and the restriction is by residence rather than by citizenship. The terms say access is “permitted only to natural persons or legal entities residing in jurisdictions not subject to international sanctions,” and the restriction list is the practical version of that rule. On it are Belarus, the Russian Federation, Ukraine, the United States, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Israel, and Hungary, alongside many others, so a US or UK resident cannot get the card even if they hold European citizenship.

For KYC, you need a government-issued ID, a proof of address, and a short video selfie, and you must be at least 18. If you live outside Europe, the only document Nebeus accepts is a valid passport, which matters for readers whose national ID is the easier document to hand. Once identity is confirmed, you order the virtual or physical card from the app; there is a single KYC level rather than a tiered system that unlocks more spending.

The bottom line: the card is a Europe-first product. If you are a resident of an EU country that is not on the restriction list, the path is straightforward. If you are a US, UK, or Israeli resident, you will not pass the geography check, and the rest of this review is for context only.

How to Get the Nebeus Card

The signup path is the standard regulated-crypto pattern: register on the platform, complete KYC, then order the card. The identity check is the gate that determines how long everything else takes, and Nebeus has an article titled “How Long Does Verification Take?” but the actual processing time is not given in the content I could see.

The documents Nebeus asks for are:

Once your account is verified, the card itself is a Mastercard debit, available in virtual and physical versions, in EUR, GBP, or USD. There is no metal card on offer, and there is no published paid tier that upgrades limits or features. The terms also list the reasons Nebeus can reject an application: appearance on international sanctions lists, classification as high-risk under internal compliance, incomplete or inconsistent documentation, and a failure to provide updated information. The first three are normal; the last one is worth taking seriously, because if Nebeus asks for refreshed documents at any point and you do not supply them, the application can stall.

One detail the official pages do not publish: physical card delivery countries, delivery time, delivery cost, and replacement cost. If you are weighing Nebeus against another card, that is a question to put to support before you sign up, and it is the kind of gap that explains why some readers end up feeling stuck.

What the Nebeus Card Really Costs

The card’s headline pricing is friendly: issuance is “free of charge” on the consumer site, and SEPA deposits in euros are free. What is not published on the same page is the spread on crypto conversion, the FX fee when you pay in a currency different from the card’s currency, and any monthly or annual subscription. A third-party review from July 2026 says the FX fee is 0% and the crypto loading fee is 0%, but I am flagging those as unofficial because they are not on Nebeus’s own pages. The card page does mention “automatic foreign currency exchange,” which confirms the conversion happens at point of sale, but it does not name a fee percentage.

Fee or limit Amount
Card issuance Free of charge (official)
Monthly or annual subscription Not published on the consumer site
Crypto conversion fee / spread Not stated officially; 0% reported by a third party (unofficial)
FX fee on non-card-currency payments Not stated officially; 0% reported by a third party (unofficial)
ATM withdrawal fee beyond free limit Not stated
ATM monthly limit 2,000 EUR, USD, or GBP
Daily and monthly spending limits Not published officially; “no spending limits at all” reported by a third party (unofficial)

Three everyday payments show how this plays out, given what is and is not published:

The honest summary is that the card looks cheap on the fees that are published, and the fees you actually care about, FX and conversion, are not published. For a reader who needs certainty, that is enough of a gap to ask support for the FX and spread numbers in writing before you commit.

How to Top Up the Nebeus Card

The card spends from your Nebeus account balance, and there are two ways to put money into that balance: a SEPA bank transfer in euros, or a crypto deposit. SEPA is free, and the card auto-converts whatever is in the balance to fiat at the moment of payment, so you do not have to manually convert crypto before a purchase.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Nebeus starts with a transfer to the right network

On the crypto side, the assets and networks Nebeus confirmed as supported are:

A change that matters for personal accounts: on 5 April 2026, Nebeus stopped accepting USDT and USDC deposits and withdrawals for personal accounts, under MiCA-driven changes. EURC still works, and business accounts are not affected by the halt. If you were planning to fund the card with USDT or USDC from a personal wallet, you will need to use EURC instead, or open a business account if that fits your situation.

The card also supports SEPA via a personal IBAN or a reference-based deposit, which gives you a European-style account number to receive salary or other income. The minimum top-up is not stated, and the platform does not publish whether card-to-card transfers are possible. For crypto deposits, network fees (gas on Ethereum, bandwidth and energy on Tron, mining fees on Bitcoin and Litecoin) are charged by the blockchain, not by Nebeus, so a small USDT top-up can still cost a few dollars in gas if you are sending on Ethereum during a busy moment.

The practical takeaway: if you are in Europe and you want to top up from a euro bank account, the path is free and simple. If you want to top up from crypto, you have several coins to choose from, but the USDC and USDT option has narrowed for personal accounts, and you need to be careful to send on a network Nebeus supports, because a transfer on the wrong network is typically irreversible.

Paying With the Card Day to Day

The card is a Mastercard debit, accepted wherever Mastercard is taken online and in stores, and it comes in both virtual and physical versions. Apple Pay and Google Pay are reported as supported by a third-party source from July 2026, but the official Nebeus site does not confirm tokenised mobile-wallet support, so I am treating that as unofficial and worth checking in the app before you assume it. There is no cashback programme published anywhere I could see, on the official site or in the third-party review, so do not expect rewards on spending.

The ATM ceiling is 2,000 a month in EUR, USD, or GBP, which is enough for normal cash needs and below the level of a card designed for large cash handling. Spending limits (daily and monthly) are not published officially; a third-party review claims “Nebeus Card publishes no spending limits at all,” and I am flagging that as unofficial. The currencies the card can hold are EUR, GBP, and USD, and the account itself holds both crypto and fiat balances, with automatic foreign-currency exchange at point of sale.

The mobile app is available on iOS and Android, and the Google Play rating is 3.5 stars from 448 reviews and 100,000+ downloads as of an update on 11 February 2026. A 3.5 is middling, and the rating is one of the data points behind the lower reliability mark in the verdict.

If a transaction goes wrong, the dispute process runs through Nebeus’s Chargeback Policy and the Mastercard network rules. You are expected to try to resolve the problem with Nebeus first, and the grounds that count are unauthorised charges, technical errors, and confirmed fraud. The same policy warns that unjustified chargebacks can carry processing fees, acquirer penalties, and investigation costs that are recovered from the cardholder, so the route is real but not free of consequence. Refunds are described as “final once confirmed and are not eligible for a refund,” with an exception only at Nebeus’s discretion for a demonstrated technical error on its side, which is a tighter refund stance than some cards in this category.

What Can Go Wrong With the Nebeus Card

The platform has the licences you would want to see, but the user experience around them is uneven. Nebeus is owned by Rintral Trading SLU, a company incorporated in Spain at C/ de la Llacuna 11, 08005, Barcelona. The card itself is issued by Quicko Sp. z o.o., a licensed financial institution registered in Poland (REGON 142004870), and the platform is authorised under the EU MiCA framework by Spain’s CNMV. It also holds an EMI licence in the UK with the FCA, is registered as an SRO in Switzerland, and as a VASP and PI in Argentina, and is registered with the Bank of Spain under registration number D664. The custody side uses BitGo for institutional-grade custody, with insurance coverage of $250 million from Lloyd’s of London, and fiat funds are held in segregated safeguarding accounts under the relevant regulation.

That is the picture on paper. The user reports are a different picture, and they fall into three repeating themes from 2025:

The structural risks are the standard ones for a custodial card. Your crypto is held by Nebeus, with custody delegated to BitGo under segregated accounts under MiCA Article 75, and your fiat is held in segregated safeguarding accounts, but those funds are not bank deposits and are not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. The platform recommends and may require 2FA, and can preventively block an account on detecting suspicious activity, which is good for security but a hard experience for the user who triggers it by accident.

There is one date worth noting in the recent news. On 5 April 2026, MiCA-driven changes halted USDT and USDC deposits and withdrawals for personal accounts, with EURC still supported and business accounts unaffected. On 10 June 2025 Nebeus published tax reporting FAQs, and on 31 March 2025 Dash was removed from the platform. The MiCA authorisation from CNMV is stated on the current site but is not announced as a separate news item with a date.

The summary on risk: the licences and custody setup are real, the support and product-quality complaints are also real, and the gap between the two is what the 4/10 reliability mark is measuring.

What to Take Instead

Nebeus is not the only crypto card on the market, and the alternatives below are the ones with scores in the same range, so you can see whether the trade-offs suit you better. Each is described with the same cost-and-fee honesty: where the official pages are silent, the table says so.

Card Score Where it works Card type Cost and fees Funding and rewards
Whop Cards 5.2/10 31 US states for consumers; not Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam Visa, online and in-store, virtual and physical not stated “No extra fees” on the page; no issuance or monthly amounts; conversion and FX fees not stated Spends from a Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral; 5% cashback at Uber, more planned
Stella 6.5/10 Countries not stated officially; US and European users routed through affiliates; sanctions users barred Virtual and physical Visa, accepted at “over 40 million VISA merchants” Fees “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App”; conversion and FX fees not stated officially Deposit crypto to the in-app custodial wallet; the card tops up automatically; no cashback stated on the card page
UniFi Card 4.7/10 Not confirmed from official pages; App Store lists send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico, eurozone, Colombia, Brazil, UK Prepaid Visa debit issued by Lead Bank, USD balance, Apple Pay supported in app “Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details”; amounts not stated Receive funds via ACH, wire, SEPA, or SPEI; get paid to a USDC wallet; “3% rewards on balances” claimed on the listing

The reading: if you are in a US state Whop serves, Whop’s USDC-backed balance and 5% Uber cashback are the standout features, but its consumer country list is shorter than Nebeus’s, and it explicitly excludes the UK and most of the sanctioned-country set. Stella’s score is the highest here, but it is also the one with the least published cost detail, and the user is asked to trust the in-app fee schedule. UniFi’s lead-bank issuing and the “3% rewards on balances” claim are interesting, but the official cost and limit pages are empty, so you are signing up for a fee structure you cannot read in advance.

If you are a Europe-based reader, the realistic shortlist is Nebeus for the SEPA-and-crypto mix, and Stella as a backup that may or may not be open in your country. If you are in a US state Whop serves, Whop is a stronger USDC-rails alternative despite its shorter consumer list.

Who I Would Recommend the Nebeus Card To

I would recommend the Nebeus card to a reader who lives in a supported European country, already holds some crypto, and wants a payment card that draws from that balance without paying issuance or monthly fees. The 2,000 monthly ATM limit in major currencies is fine for everyday cash, the SEPA deposit is free, and the card is a real Mastercard. The MiCA authorisation through Spain’s CNMV and the Lloyd’s-backed custody are real protections.

I would not recommend it to:

For that last group, the gap between the advertised two-minute live-chat reply and the reported experience is the single biggest reason to look at the alternatives first.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Nebeus card?

The Nebeus card is a Mastercard debit card (virtual and physical) tied to a Nebeus account that holds both crypto and fiat balances. You top up the account with SEPA in euros or with supported cryptocurrencies, and the card auto-converts the balance to fiat at the point of sale. The card is issued by Quicko Sp. z o.o., a licensed Polish financial institution, and the platform is authorised under MiCA by Spain’s CNMV.

Is Nebeus a bank?

No. Nebeus is a crypto platform that holds MiCA authorisation in Spain and an Electronic Money Institution licence with the UK’s FCA, and its card programme is run through a licensed Polish e-money institution. Customer funds are held in segregated safeguarding accounts, which is not the same as a bank deposit and is not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.

Who owns Nebeus?

Nebeus is owned by Rintral Trading SLU, a company incorporated in Spain at C/ de la Llacuna 11, 08005, Barcelona. The card itself is issued by Quicko Sp. z o.o., registered in Poland. The platform is also registered with the Bank of Spain under registration number D664.

Is the Nebeus card available in the United States or the United Kingdom?

No. The platform restricts 128 countries, and that list includes the United States and the United Kingdom, as well as the Netherlands, Israel, Hungary, Belarus, the Russian Federation, and Ukraine. The restriction is by country of residence, so a US or UK resident will not be able to complete KYC for the card.

How do I apply for the Nebeus card?

You register on the platform, complete KYC with a government-issued ID (passport for non-Europeans), a proof of address, and a video selfie, and once verified you order the virtual or physical card from the app. The minimum age is 18. The processing time is not published on the consumer pages, even though an article titled “How Long Does Verification Take?” exists.

Does the Nebeus card require KYC?

Yes. The card sits behind full identity verification: government ID, proof of address, and a video selfie. The terms list sanctions-list appearance, high-risk classification, incomplete or inconsistent documentation, and failure to provide updated information as reasons Nebeus can reject an application.

How do I top up the Nebeus card?

You top up the Nebeus account, not the card directly. The free options are a SEPA bank transfer in euros via a personal IBAN, or a crypto deposit in BTC, ETH, LTC, BCH, or XRP on the relevant network. USDT and USDC personal deposits were halted on 5 April 2026; EURC still works, and business accounts are not affected. Network fees for crypto deposits are charged by the blockchain, not by Nebeus.

Is the Nebeus card free?

Card issuance is “free of charge” on the consumer site, and SEPA deposits in euros are free. Monthly or annual subscription fees, the crypto conversion spread, the FX fee on non-card-currency payments, the ATM fee beyond the free limit, and the daily and monthly spending limits are not published on the official consumer pages; a third-party review from July 2026 reports 0% FX and 0% crypto loading, but I treat that as unofficial.

How do I add the Nebeus card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Apple Pay and Google Pay support is reported by a third-party review from July 2026, but the official Nebeus site does not confirm tokenised mobile-wallet support, so I treat that as unofficial. The practical step is to check the card-management screen in the Nebeus app for a “Add to Wallet” option, and to confirm with support if the option is not visible, because the absence on the official site means the feature is not guaranteed.

Is the Nebeus card safe?

The licences and custody setup are real: MiCA authorisation via Spain’s CNMV, EMI status with the UK’s FCA, card issued by a licensed Polish institution, institutional custody with BitGo, $250 million of Lloyd’s of London insurance, and segregated safeguarding for fiat funds. The user-experience risk is the 2025 pattern of unexplained card rejections, slow or silent support, and app bugs reported on Trustpilot and on Google Play, where the app holds a 3.5-star rating from 448 reviews. The custody risk is the standard counterparty and hack risk that applies to any custodial platform.

How do I delete or close my Nebeus account?

The official route is to contact support to close the account; the closure policy is referenced but the fee and balance-handling details are not publicly displayed. Crypto balances are withdrawn to an external wallet via the supported networks, and fiat balances are withdrawn via SEPA from the IBAN account. Because the closure details are not in the public help centre, it is worth asking support for the timeline and any remaining-balance handling in writing before you start the process.

Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team