The card that promises zero fees and leaves you guessing about almost everything else
PokePay is a Visa card that you feed with crypto and then spend like an ordinary payment card. On paper it looks like a clean, cheap answer for anyone who has crypto but struggles to get a normal bank card: no monthly fee, no annual fee, no cross-border commission, and a top-up in four well-known coins. I went through the card’s own pages and the material a reader would realistically find alongside them, and the picture that comes out is uneven. The things PokePay says clearly, it says well. The things it does not say — who the issuing bank is, what the conversion costs, which currencies the card holds, whether Apple Pay works — are exactly the things you need in order to decide.
The score I landed on is 5.4 out of 10. That is not a rejection. It is a card with genuinely good numbers attached to genuinely poor disclosure, and whether that is acceptable depends entirely on what you need it for.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: who the card suits
PokePay is built for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong who want to top up with USDT. That is not a broad guess on my part — it is what the site says about itself. The whole proposition is strongest for someone who already holds stablecoins, already has a crypto account they trust with its own risk, and wants to convert that balance into everyday spending without paying a monthly fee or a cross-border charge. If that is you, there is a real card here, and the fee structure is better than most of what I have read about in this category.
It suits you poorly if you are an American, if you live anywhere the site’s own terms do not clearly cover, or if the thing you want most is to know precisely what a payment will cost you before you make it. It also suits you poorly if you are the kind of person who wants to hold the crypto yourself rather than hand it to a provider. PokePay is custodial by design: your balance sits with them, not with you.
Here is the mark I gave each area, and why.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | The site is written for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong; unofficial reports say the United States is closed and that the service is “available in most countries” |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Zero monthly and annual fees, zero cross-border commission; but the opening fee and the foreign-exchange cost are not officially disclosed |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH accepted; unofficial reports add ERC20, Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Polygon and AVAX C-Chain networks |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | No issuing bank is named and the licences are self-declared; there are reports of a suspension wave in the second half of 2025, a Trustpilot page at 2.8/5 from three reviews for a similar name, and an App Store HK rating of 3.9 out of 5 |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Physical and virtual Visa, cash withdrawal mentioned; unofficial reports say Apple Pay is not supported |
The total is 5.4 out of 10. If you scan only one row above, make it the first: availability, not fees, is this card’s defining constraint.
Who will they hand the card to
The short answer is: Hong Kong residents who are living in Hong Kong. That sentence is lifted almost word for word from the site’s own notice, which states that the content of the website is only for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong. The same notice adds that promotion outside Hong Kong may require permits.
Everything else here is unofficial, so I want to be careful how I present it. Third-party reporting, which the card itself does not confirm, describes the service as available in most countries while explicitly excluding the United States. One German-language version of that same third-party site additionally lists China as blocked. None of this appears on PokePay’s own pages, so treat it as a direction rather than a promise: if you are not in Hong Kong, the site’s language does not tell you whether you qualify, and you would be relying on someone else’s reading of the rules.
The one thing I can say plainly is that if you are a United States resident, this is not your card. Whether other countries are open or closed is exactly the sort of question you should put to their support before you send any money.
Getting the card: identity first
You cannot use PokePay without identity verification — the card’s own rules require KYC certification before services are provided, and the data you type in must match your uploaded documents exactly. A mismatch fails. The rules also mention email verification, and say that the name you enter must correspond exactly to the name in your passport, normally in English. The instructions suggest using Google Chrome with the camera enabled.
Beyond that, the card does not tell you much. Whether you need proof of address, what documents are acceptable, what age is required, how long verification takes, and whether there are different verification tiers — none of that is stated on the public pages. The rules do mention that enhanced due diligence may ask about the source of your funds or wealth, which is worth knowing about before you need it rather than after.
Unofficial reporting from an affiliate review site describes the verification flow as free and taking under a minute through a provider called Didit, with an ID document plus a face scan, an age range of 18 to 80 in the app, and a requirement that your balance be above 0 USD before you can start verification. Take all of that as a description, not a specification: the card does not confirm any of it, and the fee in particular matters enough that I would want to see it in the app myself.
On the physical side, the card is Visa and comes in both a physical and a virtual form. The card’s own currency is not stated anywhere I could find. Physical cards take roughly 10 to 30 working days depending on the country or region, and the card warns this may take longer. Which countries it ships to, what delivery costs, and whether a replacement card carries a fee — none of that is on the public pages.
So the practical shape of signing up is: Hong Kong resident, live in Hong Kong, identity documents that match your face and your form entries, and a wait measured in working weeks for the plastic. None of that is unreasonable. It is just more conditional than a bank card application.
Fees: what the card says and what it does not
The headline numbers are the strongest thing about PokePay. Zero monthly fees, zero annual fees, no micro-transaction fees, and zero percent cross-border transaction fees. For someone who would otherwise pay a foreign transaction charge on every purchase, that is a real advantage and I want to give it its due.

The problem is how much is missing around those numbers. Let me show you the state of each fee as the card publishes it.
| Fee or limit | What PokePay states |
|---|---|
| Monthly fee | 0 |
| Annual fee | 0 |
| Micro-transaction fees | None |
| Cross-border transaction fee | 0% |
| Issuance / card opening fee | Not stated |
| Crypto conversion fee or spread | Not stated |
| Foreign exchange fee | Not stated |
| Cash withdrawal (ATM) fee | Not stated |
| Daily limit | 100,000 HKD |
| Minimum single transaction | 0.1 HKD |
| Monthly limit | Not stated |
| Card currency | Not stated |
Two rows in that table deserve a second look. First, the opening fee: the FAQ contains a line about “no annual fee in the 0th year,” which is not the same as saying there is no opening charge, and leaves the question open rather than answered. Unofficial reporting says the virtual card can be had from “as low as 5 USD” and that in June 2026 the app charged 5 USD despite a free banner. That report attributes the “as low as 5 USD” figure to the official site. I could not find a card opening fee on PokePay’s own pages, so I would treat the zero-fee picture as covering the recurring costs, not necessarily the first one.
Second, the daily limit is quoted in HKD — 100,000 HKD per day, with a minimum single transaction of 0.1 HKD. That tells you the account’s home currency is Hong Kong dollars, but it does not tell you which currency your card holds when you tap it abroad, or what happens to the amount when you spend in euros. The conversion rate and spread are the missing pieces, and in this category they are often the whole cost. The card states a zero percent cross-border fee; it does not state what rate the conversion executes at, and those are different numbers.
Let me run three everyday payments through what I actually know.
A coffee in Hong Kong on your phone or tap. Cross-border fee is zero percent and there is no monthly or annual fee, so as far as the published numbers go the card’s own cost to you is nothing. What I cannot tell you is the conversion, because I do not know the card currency or the rate.
An online subscription paid in US dollars. Same zero percent cross-border commission. Again the conversion is the open question — and if the subscription service checks that the billing address matches the card, a card whose address details are not stated on the public pages is its own small risk.
Cash from an ATM. The card’s materials mention payments and cash withdrawals, so withdrawals are clearly a thing. The fee and the allowance are not stated officially. Unofficial reporting says the ATM withdrawal fee is not disclosed and that the physical card only is involved, and it calls heavy ATM use a poor fit for this card. That is a third-party characterisation, not a card statement, but it aligns with what I can see: the cash side of this product is the least documented part of it.
Where the card is strongest is the boring monthly cost. Zero monthly and zero annual with no micro-transaction charges is genuinely better than the majority of what I have looked at. Where it is weakest is that “free” is doing more work than the disclosure behind it can support.
How to top up
Topping up is the part of PokePay I find clearest, and it is the part that makes the card coherent as a product. You load it with cryptocurrency — USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH are the named coins. That is the whole model: crypto in, card balance out.

The card does not name the networks on its own pages. Unofficial reporting from the same affiliate review site lists five deposit networks, including ERC20, Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Polygon and AVAX C-Chain. That report also says there is a 5 USDT surcharge on an ERC20 deposit and no surcharge on the other four networks, which, if accurate, means the network you choose changes the cost of putting money in. I would want to confirm that in the app before transferring a large amount.
On timing, the card says a crypto recharge in USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH usually credits in about fifteen minutes, and that you should contact support if it has not arrived after thirty minutes. That is a useful, specific commitment to hold the service to.
The card also names payment platforms — WeChat, PayPal, Alipay and Wise — and lists SWIFT, SEPA and local clearing for overseas accounts. On the fee question it takes a different approach from the rest of its disclosure: rather than naming an amount, it says fees are disclosed before a transaction or published on the website or in a Fees Schedule, and there are no amounts in the terms. No top-up fee and no minimum are listed on the pages I read. Reading a promise to disclose “before a transaction” as anything other than “you will find out at the point you pay” would be stretching it.
One structural thing to understand before you send anything. Withdrawing your balance is not a quick, self-service mirror of topping up. The card says an account can be closed through the website or support only when there are no pending transactions and nothing owed, that remaining funds are returned after anti-money-laundering and counter-terrorism-financing checks, and that PokePay may suspend or freeze the account and the balance without prior notice in listed circumstances. The fee for withdrawing the balance to crypto or to a bank, and the process itself, are not stated. For a card you might want to close one day, that gap is worth thinking about before you load it.
And the general warning that applies to everyone in this category: blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee attached.
Paying with it day to day
The card behaves like a prepaid card rather than a debit card. You convert or load a balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw — which is a genuine comfort if your income is irregular.
The apps are where you do the practical work. There is an iOS app on the Hong Kong App Store, an Android app on Google Play, an APK download, and a web login at app.pokepay.cc. The App Store HK listing sat at 3.9 out of 5 from fifteen ratings when I looked. I did not read the Google Play rating from the store, so I will not characterise it.
Two day-to-day features you will search for are not on the card’s own pages at all. Wallet support is not stated on the home page or the FAQ. And unofficial user reports say Apple Pay is not supported — adding the card to Apple Wallet returns “this card is not supported,” with Steam also reported as not working. That last one matters more than it sounds: if you are the sort of person who pays for subscriptions through a platform wallet, you may simply be unable to.
On rewards, the card mentions “generous rewards” and nothing more — no rate, no currency, no conditions. Unofficial reporting describes a 3% cashback banner on a first purchase, time-limited. I would not plan around a banner.
If a payment goes wrong, the card’s stated timelines for refunds are worth knowing before you need them: three to seven working days for ordinary merchants, seven to fourteen for airlines, hotels and travel agencies, three to ten for online payment platforms, seven to thirty for cross-border, and thirty to ninety days for chargebacks. Complaints go to a designated contact, which in the terms is still a placeholder, and Canadian law is named as governing.
What can go wrong
I want to put the risk picture plainly, because it is the part of this card that a reader should not have to dig for.
The company. The copyright notice names PokePay Technology Co., Ltd. Licences are listed for Hong Kong, the United States, Canada, Ontario and Poland. The issuing bank is not named. That last omission is not a small one — the bank behind the card is the entity whose name would appear on your statement and the party to which your claim is addressed.
The licences are self-declared. The card’s own footer and FAQ list registrations with FINTRAC in Canada, an Ontario money services business registration, a Poland virtual asset service provider registration, and Hong Kong, with the wording varying between the two places. FINTRAC itself says a registration is not an endorsement, which is a fair thing to keep in mind about any registration.
Funds are held by them, and are not deposits. The card says customer funds are held separately from operating funds, that they are “not deposits,” and that they are not insured by CDIC or any deposit insurance scheme. The site claims 24/7 monitoring, custody through partner banks, transaction monitoring, anti-money-laundering screening and encryption. That is the reassurance on offer; the absence of deposit insurance is the more durable fact.
There is history of disruption in this category. Unofficial reporting describes a suspension wave in the second half of 2025, with the company saying funds would be returned within 10 business days. That is a single unverified source and I am passing it on as such. It sits alongside a wider pattern that is well documented: custodial platforms in this space have failed before, and crypto card programmes have been closed by the networks that license them.
The complaints. The Trustpilot page I found is for the Pokeapay website, which may or may not be the same entity; it carries 2.8 out of 5 from three reviews, one of which calls the app “fake” and says verification passed without showing the full face. I found no page for PokePay itself. Separately, the most consistent user complaint in the same third-party reporting is slow support response. The channel list and the opening hours of “official customer service” are not on the home page, though there is a contact page.
What the card does well on safety is modest. The card locks after repeated wrong CVV or expiry attempts, or after three wrong PIN entries, and customer service unlocks it after verification. Multi-factor authentication is recommended, not required. I would enable it anyway.
The honest summary is that this card asks for custody, verification, and a degree of trust, and in return publishes a good fee page and an incomplete risk page.
What to take instead
I want to compare this fairly, because all three cards below are reasonable attempts at the same problem and the choice often comes down to where you live rather than which is better. The scores I have on these are from the same scale as the PokePay score above.
| Card | Score | Where it stands |
|---|---|---|
| PokePay | 5.4 / 10 | Zero monthly and annual fees, zero cross-border fee; Hong Kong-focused, undisclosed issuing bank and conversion cost |
| Stella | 6.5 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa at over 40 million merchants; fees not stated, US and European users routed through affiliates |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | “No extra fees,” 5% cashback at select merchants currently including Uber; US-state footprint, not for Hong Kong or many other countries |
| UniFi Card | 4.7 / 10 | Prepaid debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, USD balance, Apple Pay support; fees not stated |
A few notes on each.
Stella scores highest of the four. It is virtual and physical Visa, working at what it describes as over 40 million merchants globally, and you deposit crypto into the account and it tops up the card automatically. Its official card page states no cashback. Its terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates, and the countries served are not stated on the official site. Fees are “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App” rather than in numbers. If you are outside Hong Kong and want a card with slightly more published substance behind it, this is the one I would look at next — with the same caveat about undisclosed fees.
Whop Cards is the opposite bet on geography: it is built around the United States, reaching consumers in 31 states and businesses in 41, with Hong Kong explicitly among the unsupported consumer countries. It spends from a Whop balance, with pending balance usable as soon as a payment arrives, backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, and offers 5% cashback at select merchants. If you are in the US, this is the more interesting card; if you are reading this as someone outside the US, it is not an option.
UniFi Card is a prepaid debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, spending from a USD balance, with Apple Pay support in the app — which is exactly what PokePay reportedly lacks. You fund it by ACH, wire, SEPA, or SPEI, and the listing claims 3% rewards on balances. Fees are not stated beyond “fees may apply.” Its routing is oriented towards the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone and, in recent release notes, Colombia, Brazil and the UK.
Who I would recommend this to
I would recommend PokePay to a Hong Kong resident, living in Hong Kong, who holds USDT and wants to spend it without a monthly fee or a cross-border charge — and who is comfortable with the balance sitting with a provider rather than in their own wallet, and with asking support what a given operation costs before they do it.
I would not recommend it as a first card for anyone outside Hong Kong, for anyone in the United States, or for anyone who needs to know the conversion rate, the foreign-exchange cost, the cash-withdrawal cost or the name of the bank behind the card before they commit. Nor would I recommend it to anyone whose plan depends on Apple Pay or a platform wallet, or on using the card for heavy cash withdrawals.
The fee structure is the best argument for it and it is a real argument. The disclosure is the argument against, and it is equally real. Weigh them against what you personally need, and if what you need is a Hong Kong dollar card funded with stablecoins, this one does that job at a price most of its competitors cannot match.
Frequently asked questions
What is the PokePay card?
PokePay is a Visa payment card you fund with cryptocurrency rather than from a bank account. You top up with coins such as USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH, and the balance is converted and loaded so the card can spend it like an ordinary card. It comes in physical and virtual form, and it behaves more like a prepaid card than a debit card linked to your current account.
How does the PokePay card work?
You convert or top up a balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. The card routes its payments through Visa like any other card, but the crypto side is custodial: PokePay holds the funds rather than you holding the keys. A card payment may still involve a currency conversion, and the card does not publish what that conversion costs.
Who can actually get a PokePay card?
The site’s own notice says its content is only for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong. Third-party reporting describes the service as available in most countries with the United States explicitly excluded, but PokePay does not confirm that on its own pages. If you are not in Hong Kong, ask their support before you send money or documents.
Does the PokePay card require KYC, and what does it involve?
Yes — identity verification is required before you can use the services, and the data you enter must match your uploaded documents exactly or the check fails. The rules mention email verification and matching the name on your passport, and suggest using Chrome with the camera on. Which documents are needed and how long it takes are not stated on the public pages.
What does a PokePay card cost to keep and to use?
The card states zero monthly fees, zero annual fees, no micro-transaction fees and zero percent cross-border transaction fees. What it does not state is the card opening fee, the crypto conversion fee or spread, and the foreign-exchange cost. Unofficial reporting puts a virtual card at “as low as 5 USD.” The daily limit is 100,000 HKD with a 0.1 HKD minimum.
How do I top up the PokePay card?
You recharge with USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH, and the card says a crypto recharge usually credits in about fifteen minutes, with support to be contacted if it has not arrived after thirty. The networks are not named on the card’s own pages; unofficial reporting lists ERC20, Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Polygon and AVAX C-Chain, with a 5 USDT surcharge said to apply on ERC20.
Can I add the PokePay card to Apple Wallet?
Probably not. Apple Pay support is not mentioned on the card’s home page or FAQ, and user reports on a third-party site say adding the card to Apple Wallet returns “this card is not supported,” with Steam also reported as not working. If a platform wallet is essential to how you pay, treat this as a likely no until you have seen it work yourself.
Is the PokePay card safe to use?
It is custodial: your funds are held by PokePay, not by you, and the card says those funds are not deposits and are not insured by CDIC or any deposit insurance scheme. The card names licences in several jurisdictions but does not name the issuing bank. There is also a category-wide risk that a card programme is suspended or closed; third-party reporting describes such a wave in late 2025.
Can I withdraw my balance and close the account?
You can close the account through the website or support, but only when there are no pending transactions and nothing owed, and remaining funds are returned after anti-money-laundering checks. PokePay may also suspend or freeze an account and balance without prior notice in listed circumstances. The fee for withdrawing the balance, to crypto or to a bank, is not stated on the public pages.
Is PokePay a bank?
No — the card does not present itself as one. The company behind it is PokePay Technology Co., Ltd., with registrations self-declared in Hong Kong, Canada, Ontario and Poland. The bank that actually issues the card is not named on the public pages, which is a real gap if you ever need to make a claim or trace where your money went.
Money-app cards – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
