Foton scores 4.8 out of 10: a virtual USDT-only card with an unnamed issuer and unresolved deposit complaints
If you are looking for an ordinary debit card and your usual bank has refused you one, a crypto card looks like the obvious workaround. The Foton card is one of those options: virtual, no KYC according to third-party listings, and funded with USDT. That combination sounds useful until you read what is missing. There is no published country list, no named issuer, and a set of user reports on Trustpilot describing money taken and a deposit that was never returned. My score for this card is 4.8 out of 10, and that number is not a guess — it is the sum of the five marks below, and the low marks come from thin and contradictory information rather than from a fee schedule that cheats you.
Let me be precise about who this page is for. You are someone who cannot get a standard bank card, or who wants a card that spends a crypto balance directly. You are reading this from wherever you are, not from Europe or the US specifically. That matters, because the card’s public pages do not say who can have it, and I am not going to fill that gap with guesses. Where the facts below come from a third-party listing rather than the card itself, I will say so. Where the card simply does not say, I will say that too, once, and then stop repeating it.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
What Foton is, and whether it fits you
The Foton card is a virtual Visa card that spends money you have already loaded, and the loading appears to happen in USDT on the Tron network. That is the short version. The longer version is that almost everything specific about it — the countries, the identity checks, the fees, the issuer — comes from third-party listings rather than from Foton’s own pages, and those listings contradict each other in places. You are not reading about a card with a published fee schedule and a named bank behind it. You are reading about a card whose details someone else has assembled.
The score table breaks the card into the five things you would actually be deciding between: who can get it, what it costs, how you top it up, how dependable it is, and whether it works day to day.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | The official site returned a 403 when checked, so no country list is disclosed. Unofficial listings mention BINs in the US, Hong Kong and Singapore, and no country list is published anywhere I could confirm |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Unofficial figures: $2 issuance, no monthly fee, 1% top-up, free conversion, a $100 refundable guarantee deposit to start — though another note says 1.5% on top-ups |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Unofficial: USDT on Tron (TRC20) only. One coin, one network, no card funding from a bank transfer |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Neither the issuer nor the company behind it is named. Trustpilot shows 3.5 out of 4 reviews: chat support not answering, an allegation of $145 taken in September 2023, and a deposit not returned |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Unofficial: virtual only, 3D Secure, Apple Pay and Google Pay marked as supported on the English page and not supported on the Chinese page of the same site |
| Total | 4.8 / 10 | The weakest marks are reliability and top-up flexibility, and both come down to the same thing: very little verifiable information |
Two groups should look elsewhere. If you want a card with published limits, a named issuer and a support team you can reach, this is not it. And if you already hold USDT on Tron and want to spend it at online shops without a bank account, it is at least worth a look — that is the audience this card is built for, and it does one job rather than five.
Will they give you the card
Foton’s public pages do not state who is eligible. That is the honest answer, and I have checked whether it is hiding somewhere else.
What is available is unofficial. A third-party listing, in a Chinese-language review of crypto cards, mentions BINs in the United States, Hong Kong and Singapore, and publishes no country list. That is a hint about where the cards were issued, not a statement of who may hold one. No exclusion list exists either, which cuts both ways: nobody can tell you that your country is definitely refused, and nobody can tell you it will work.
The pattern behind the 5 out of 10 is worth stating plainly. Foton’s own site returned a 403 error when checked, so the eligibility question remains unanswered. A card whose issuing country is not published is a card where your rejection, if it comes, will be sudden and unexplained. If you need to know before you plan around it, that uncertainty is the answer.
You also need to know that the card is virtual. There is no physical card listed anywhere, and one of the listings that describes the card type says virtual only. If your reason for wanting a crypto card is a card you can hand over in a shop that takes plastic, this does not solve that.
How to get it
The application process is another area where Foton’s own pages are silent and third-party descriptions carry the weight.
Unofficial sources describe the signup as requiring no KYC: email, phone number, ID, proof of address and selfie all listed as “Not Required”. Foton’s own pages do not state a KYC position. The listing says no KYC, and the rating for this criterion reflects taking that at face value rather than treating it as a promise.
There is a $100 refundable guarantee deposit mentioned as a condition of starting. Whether that is held as a deposit you get back, or as a float on the balance, is not explained by the operator. That distinction matters, and it sits underneath every complaint on Trustpilot.
If you want to know what this looks like in practice, compare it with how another card in the same category handles the same question. TakeCard issues a virtual card immediately once you have an account, and its physical card is described as available only to Bolivian users for now. Cardex lists virtual and physical cards. Foton’s listing describes one virtual card and notes that “unlimited card issuance available for high-volume users”. None of these is a reason to choose one over another on its own — but if your use case needs plastic, only some of them mention it at all.
What it really costs: Fees
The cost picture is the strongest part of this card, at 7 out of 10 — and it rests almost entirely on unofficial figures, with one direct contradiction inside them.

| Fee or limit | Value as stated | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | $2 | Unofficial listing, 2026 |
| Monthly fee | Free | Unofficial listing, 2026 |
| Starting deposit | $100, described as refundable | Unofficial listing, 2026 |
| Top-up fee | 1% | Unofficial listing, 2026 |
| Earlier top-up figure | 1.5% for USDT TRC20 deposits | Earlier checking note — the sources disagree |
| FX fee | Free | Unofficial listing, 2026 |
| Conversion | Free | Unofficial listing, 2026 |
| ATM fee | “Free” in the listing | Unofficial listing, 2026 — but the card is virtual only, so this is untestable in practice |
| ATM withdrawal | Listed as “Unlimited” | Same caveat: a virtual card has nothing to insert into a machine |
| Daily spend | Unlimited | Unofficial listing, 2026 |
| Monthly spend | Unlimited | Unofficial listing, 2026 |
| Decline policy | A strict 20% maximum decline rate policy | Unofficial listing, 2026 |
Foton’s own pages do not publish a fee schedule, a currency list, or a limits table. Everything in that table is third-party. I have not calculated a monthly cost from these figures, because I cannot tell you what a top-up of a realistic size would cost when the top-up fee is quoted as 1% in one place and 1.5% in another, and because “free conversion” says nothing about the rate the conversion happens at.
Three everyday payments, and which fees apply to each:
- A $30 subscription or online service. The $2 issuance is behind you by then. If you funded the balance with a top-up, the top-up fee is the one that touches this payment, at 1% or 1.5% depending on which figure holds. The FX fee is listed as free, and the card is presented as spending in dollars.
- A purchase priced in euros while your balance is in dollars. The FX fee is listed as free, so the cost is the rate at which the conversion happens rather than a separate line item. This is where an unlisted spread would show up, and I found none published either way.
- A cash withdrawal. You cannot make one in any practical sense. The card is virtual only. A virtual card number can be used at a compatible terminal, but it has no chip and no PIN for a machine that requires them. The “free” and “unlimited” ATM entries in the table are the least meaningful rows in it.
The decline policy deserves a second look because it is unusual. A “strict 20% maximum decline rate policy” is an unofficial figure not confirmed by the card. That is worth knowing before you keep a card that only gets tapped for small, infrequent things, or one you are still testing.
How to Top up
Unofficial sources describe one funding route: USDT on Tron, known as TRC20. One coin, one network. If you hold USDT on Ethereum, you would need to move it to Tron first, which means a conversion, a transfer, and the network fee for doing it — the fee is charged by the blockchain, not by the card company.

There is a $100 refundable deposit to start, and top-ups are described as fast and automated. The top-up fee is listed at 1%, with the conflicting 1.5% figure from an earlier note.
On withdrawals: the $100 deposit is described as refundable. That is the claim. The problem is what sits next to it. Trustpilot reviews and the Chinese-language third-party review both contain reports of a withheld deposit and unanswered tickets. A refundable deposit is only as good as the company’s willingness and ability to return it, and that is precisely where the reports against this card sit.
The mechanics of this matter more than usual, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost outright or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Tether also says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof. If you are in a sanctioned jurisdiction, or your address touches one, that is a hard stop before any of this matters.
I want to be clear about the limits of what I am telling you: none of this describes a way to route around identity checks, sanctions screening, or country restrictions. If you are not eligible somewhere, the answer is that you are not eligible.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day use scores 4 out of 10, and the reason is thinness again rather than a defect you can point to.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are marked as supported on the English page of the card’s site. The Chinese page of that same site says they are not supported. Two pages of one site disagree. I would plan on testing it yourself rather than believing either, and if adding the card to your phone is the point of the exercise for you, that uncertainty is decisive.
There is no physical card, so everything happens online or through a phone wallet. 3D Secure is supported, which is the standard extra check on online payments — the issuer assesses the risk and either approves it without a prompt or challenges you with a one-time code or a biometric. It is a genuine safeguard, but it also means the card can be declined at checkout for reasons that have nothing to do with your balance.
There are no rewards. Cashback is listed at 0%.
The card’s own pages do not state what wallets are supported, whether there is an app, or how disputes are handled. That last one is not a small gap. A dispute is how a cardholder gets a refund from a merchant — a chargeback, ordered by the issuer, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. A virtual card with no published dispute process and no named issuer is a card where the mechanism for getting your money back is not something you have been told about.
Some background on why a virtual card like this gets declined in ordinary shops, because it is not random bad luck. A card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number, and any merchant can look it up to see which institution and which country issued it. If the issuer country does not match the billing address, the merchant may apply extra scrutiny. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for exactly that reason. A separate mechanism, address verification, compares the numeric parts of the billing address you typed with the issuer’s records; it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven.
So the practical picture: a virtual USDT card from an unnamed issuer, on an unspecified BIN, in a wallet that one page of the site says works and another says does not, with no rewards and no published dispute route. It will work where it works. Where it does not, you get a decline and possibly a week-long hold.
What can go wrong
I want to look you straight at the reliability mark, because 3 out of 10 is the lowest here and it is the one that should decide this for most people.
No official incidents came to light. What exists is user reporting. Trustpilot shows 3.5 out of 5 from four reviews, read on 21 October 2026, with none in the last twelve months and an unclaimed profile. The themes from those reviews: chat support does not answer (September 2023), an allegation that $145 was taken (September 2023), and scam accusations (September 2023). The Chinese-language third-party review mentions an unresolved withheld deposit and unanswered tickets, also as user reports. There are positive five-star reviews from March and April 2024 mentioning timely customer service, so this is not a one-sided picture — it is a thin one, in both directions.
Neither the issuer nor the company behind Foton is named anywhere I could confirm. That is not a small administrative gap. Under the usual structure, the card network (Visa or Mastercard) routes the transactions and sets the rules, an issuer holds the card programme under the network’s licence, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front-end wearing the brand. If the last two are invisible, you cannot tell which of them is liable to you when $145 does not arrive, and you cannot check either of them against a register.
The category has form here, which cuts both ways. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. A closure typically means a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. That is what happens when the card layer and the crypto layer are not the same company and one of them loses interest. Nobody is saying Foton is heading there. The point is that the failure mode is ordinary in this category, and this card gives you less information to prepare with than most.
A few more things the card does not publish: how to delete a Foton account, what to do when support does not answer, or what happens to a balance if the service stops. Three-D Secure is listed as supported, which is the main security control you can actually verify.
What to take instead
Two or three cards in the same category have published enough for me to compare them fairly. Here is what I found, with the caveat that these are my notes on each card’s own pages and listings, not a head-to-head test.
| Card | Score | Card type | Cost as published | Funding | Where the information is thinnest |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Foton | 4.8 / 10 | Virtual Visa | $2 issuance, no monthly fee, 1% or 1.5% top-up, free FX and conversion, $100 refundable deposit | USDT on Tron (TRC20) only | Issuer unnamed, no country list, no published disputes, Apple Pay contradicted across pages |
| OkiCard | 6.0 / 10 | Virtual card; a physical card is mentioned without detail; network listed as “Visa/Mastercard” unspecified; currency USD or EUR pegged | $0 issuance and $0 monthly on the pricing page, starting price $15 for the virtual card; the FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee — pages disagree; initial deposit 100 USDT | USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana; USDC “soon”; BTC and altcoins “coming soon”; deposits go to a generated address | Card network unnamed, pricing pages contradict each other |
| TakeCard | 5.5 / 10 | Virtual card immediately; physical card for Bolivian users only; Visa; issued in the United States; prepaid; currency USD paid 1:1 | Virtual $5; physical in Bolivia $20 issuance plus $20 shipping (another article in the same centre says $10 — conflicting); no monthly fee stated | Top up from the Takenos balance; starting data says USDC or USDT via Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum — unverified | Physical card limited to Bolivia; crypto conversion fee not stated; conflicting Bolivia pricing |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical | Not stated | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated | App Store listing is Naira-focused; conversion claims an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates, with no fee percentage stated |
Reading across that table, three differences matter most.
Network choice on funding. Foton takes USDT on Tron and nothing else. OkiCard takes USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana. If the crypto you already hold sits on Ethereum, Foton means you move it and pay to move it; OkiCard means you do not. TakeCard’s stated routes would include Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron and Ethereum, though I could not verify that myself.
Whether the issuer is visible. Foton names neither the issuer nor the company. TakeCard says the card is issued in the United States and is prepaid, which tells you at least which country’s law applies to it. That is the kind of detail you want when something goes wrong.
Whether the fee claim is a number or a slogan. Cardex describes an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one when you spend, with no percentage stated. Foton at least says 1% on the top-up — even though another note says 1.5%. A figure you can check beats a mechanism you cannot.
None of these three is a clear recommendation. They score between 5.5 and 6.0, which is above Foton’s 4.8, and all three have their own contradictions. If Foton’s specifics fail you, these are where I would look next — with the same scepticism applied to their pages that I applied to Foton’s.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to one specific person: someone who already holds USDT on the Tron network, needs a virtual card number for online payments, wants no identity check, and is treating the balance on it as money they can afford to lose while they test how a foreign, unnamed issuer behaves at a checkout.
I would not recommend it if any of these are true of you. If you need a physical card. If Apple Pay or Google Pay support is the deciding feature. If you are depositing a sum you would be upset to lose — especially the $100, given the unresolved deposit reports. If you want to know who is legally responsible for your money. If your country might be refused and you cannot absorb finding out late.
Before you put money in, here is the order I would check things. Confirm your own eligibility, because the card will not tell you and the site’s own page returned a 403 error. Confirm the top-up fee on the page in front of you, since 1% and 1.5% figures both exist. Send a small first transfer, on the network the card actually supports, and treat it as a test. Confirm what happened to the $100 and when you saw it back, rather than assuming. And keep a record of your own transactions, because with four Trustpilot reviews and an unnamed issuer, your own notes may be the only evidence you will have.
One thing I will not do here is tell you what your taxes are. If crypto funds the card, tax treatment follows your jurisdiction, and in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods or services generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured in local currency at the value on the date of the transaction — which can make each card payment a separate disposal event. Work that out with a professional in your country, not on a card review page.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Foton card?
Foton is a virtual crypto payment card: a card number you add to a wallet and spend online, funded from a crypto balance rather than a bank account. Third-party listings describe it as a virtual Visa with 3D Secure. Foton’s own public pages state very little about the product, so most of what circulates about it comes from outside the company rather than from the company itself.
How does the Foton card work?
You load a balance, the provider converts crypto into spendable funds, and the card draws down that stored balance as you pay. Merchants can see which institution and country issued the card from the first digits of the number, so a card issued in one country can attract extra scrutiny or a decline in another. A declined payment can also leave a hold on your funds lasting several days.
Is Foton a bank?
There is no evidence it is one, and the card’s own pages do not name an issuer or a company. The usual structure is that a licensed institution issues the card, a network like Visa routes the payments, and the crypto brand manages the front end. With the first two unnamed here, you cannot tell which party is responsible for your balance or where to complain.
Who owns Foton?
Not stated anywhere I could confirm. Unofficial sources mention BINs associated with the United States, Hong Kong and Singapore, which suggests where cards were issued but tells you nothing about ownership. An unnamed issuer is the single biggest gap in this card’s published information, because it removes your clearest route to a remedy if money goes missing.
Is Foton card available in my country?
I cannot tell you, and that is the honest answer rather than a dodge. No country list is published, and Foton’s site returned a 403 error when checked, so eligibility is not publicly disclosed. Unofficial listings mention BINs in the US, Hong Kong and Singapore. If your country is refused, you will probably find out at application rather than in advance.
Does the Foton card require KYC?
Unofficial listings say no — email, phone, ID, proof of address and selfie all marked “Not Required”. Foton’s own pages do not state a KYC position, so treat the claim as unconfirmed rather than settled. Note that no-KYC status does not override sanctions rules, which apply to the provider regardless of what it asks you for.
How do I top up the Foton card?
Unofficial sources describe one route only: USDT on the Tron network (TRC20), with automated top-ups and a fee listed as 1%, though an earlier note says 1.5%. A $100 deposit described as refundable is required to start. Transfers on the blockchain are irreversible, so a transfer to the wrong network or address can be lost with no guarantee of recovery.
What are the fees?
Unofficial figures are $2 issuance, no monthly fee, 1% top-up (or 1.5% by another source), free conversion and free FX, plus the $100 refundable deposit. Daily and monthly spend are listed as unlimited, with a strict 20% maximum decline rate policy. ATM fees are listed as free but are meaningless for a virtual card with no physical card to insert.
Is the Foton card safe?
I would not call it safe, and I would not call it a scam either — the record is simply too thin to tell you. Trustpilot shows 3.5 out of 5 from four reviews, with reports of unanswered chat support, an alleged $145 taken in September 2023, and a deposit not returned, alongside positive reviews from 2024. Neither the issuer nor the company is named. 3D Secure is supported, which is a real safeguard, but it protects the payment step, not your deposit.
Can I add the Foton card to Apple Wallet?
Possibly, but do not rely on it. The card’s English page marks Apple Pay and Google Pay as supported while the Chinese page of the same site says they are not, so the official source contradicts itself. If adding the card to your phone is the reason you want it, check on the page in front of you before committing any money, and expect to test it with a small balance first.
Virtual cards for online use – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
