A 6.6 out of 10 card, and the awkward truth sitting underneath the numbers

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Scallop is not a bank and does not pretend to be one. What it is, as far as its own public pages go, is a place to hold a balance across several blockchains and a virtual Visa card that spends from that balance. That framing matters more than anything else on this page, because almost every question people arrive with — is it safe, is it free, who gets one — is answered differently once you understand that the card is the small end of a larger wallet product.

Scallop works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

My score for the card is 6.6 out of 10. That number is not a shrug. Scallop does two things genuinely well: it lets you fund a card from an unusually wide spread of networks, and its pricing tiers are laid out in plain figures rather than hidden behind a support chat. It also does two things that keep it well below the middle: it is a virtual card only, and the most important fee on the card — what a payment costs when the currency is not the dollar — is simply not published on the pages I could read.

Who this suits: someone who already holds stablecoins or crypto spread across several networks, and who wants a card number to spend from that balance without moving funds back to a bank first. Who it does not suit: anyone whose priority is a card in their pocket, Apple Pay on a phone, a cash withdrawal, or a spending limit they can point at in writing. If any of those four matter to you, keep reading — I go through each one.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 “Most countries that are not sanctioned by OFAC”; Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and the United Kingdom are on the prohibited list
Cost 7 / 10 Voyager is free ($2 per virtual card, 1.50% swap); Mariner is $14.99 a month with a 0.75% swap; the card’s own FX fee is not disclosed
Top-up options 9 / 10 Funded from an account balance across Ethereum, Tron, Base, Solana, BSC, Bitcoin, XRP, Sui and others; minimum $15
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 No complaints found, but Trustpilot shows 0 reviews with a “high-risk investments” note, and card top-ups cannot be returned
Everyday use 3 / 10 Virtual Visa only, up to three active cards; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM are not disclosed
Total 6.6 / 10 Strong at funding, thin on everything that happens after the money arrives

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Who can get a Scallop card

Scallop says it can onboard customers from “most countries that are not sanctioned by OFAC”. That is a wide door with a specific set of walls in it. Virtual cards are not available in the Prohibited Countries & Regions list, and that list names Russia and Belarus — along with Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and the United Kingdom. High-risk countries, with China, Turkey and Vietnam given as examples, are reviewed case by case after an extra questionnaire.

Two things you should notice here, because they are the kind of thing people only discover halfway through an application. First, the United Kingdom is on the list, which surprises a good number of applicants who assume a British address settles everything. Second, and more awkward: the page does not say whether eligibility turns on citizenship or on residence. Those are different questions, and they can have different answers. If you hold one passport and live in another country, the only way to find out is to start the process.

There is a broader point here about how card country rules work in general, and it is worth holding in mind before you read any country’s list. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are usually applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to the address you type into the form. That is why nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, and why a card can be refused to someone whose address is perfectly acceptable. Nothing about this is specific to Scallop — it is how the category works.

How to apply

Identity checks are the price of entry, and Scallop’s list is fairly conventional with one hard stop in it.

For individuals, the documents are a passport or national ID (non-US), or another ID plus a tax ID number (SSN/TIN). For the virtual card specifically, a valid passport is required for individuals — except for users from Hong Kong or China, and users whose identity check did not include a passport are asked to upload one during the card application itself. Proof of address is required only in one specific situation: when you show a government ID from a high-risk region but live somewhere else. That document must have been issued in the last 90 days, and a PO box or virtual address will not do.

The hard stop: “Individuals over 65 years of age at the time of submission will not be accepted.” If you are over 65, that is the end of the line at application, and it is worth knowing before you gather documents rather than after.

On the card itself: virtual only, VISA, accepted “wherever VISA is accepted”, with a maximum of three active virtual cards at any time. The card’s currency is not stated. Delivery times are not stated either, and that follows logically — there is no physical card to ship. What the pages I read do not contain is a set of tier definitions in the usual Tier 1 / Tier 2 / Tier 3 form, a processing time, or any list of rejection reasons. That absence is more informative than it looks: you will not find a published SLA telling you how long a review takes, or what tripped it if it fails.

One tier note does exist. The documentation mentions that HKD pay-in and payout is not available for Tier 1 or Tier 2, and that Tier 3 is for businesses. Individual users effectively live inside the lower part of that ladder, without the definitions published.

What it really costs: Fees, tiers and three everyday payments

Here is the whole pricing picture the card publishes, gathered in one place.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Scallop payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Voyager Mariner Admiral
Monthly fee $0/month $14.99/month, waived with $10,000 average fiat balance $49.99/month, waived with $50,000 average fiat balance
Issuance $2 per virtual card First card free, extra $1 each Multiple cards free
Swap (conversion) fee 1.50% 0.75% 0.40%
Card FX fee not stated not stated not stated
ATM not stated not stated not stated
Top-up minimum $15 $15 $15
Auto top-up threshold minimum $20 $20 $20
Daily and monthly spend limits not stated not stated not stated

Three things in that table decide whether this card is cheap or expensive for you, and only one of them is fully published.

The swap fee is the real number. Every time you convert across networks, the tier’s percentage comes off. On Voyager that is 1.50% — on a $200 shop, $3. On Admiral it is 0.40%, which is $0.80. If you convert once and then spend the balance many times, the fee is paid once per conversion, not once per purchase. If you convert small amounts often, it is paid over and over. That single behavioural detail changes the arithmetic more than the monthly fee does.

The card-load conversion has its own rate. For USDT the reference rate is “1 USDT = 0.9975 USD”, and other rates are shown in the app before you confirm. So a USDT load quietly loses half a percent before any swap fee is considered.

The FX fee is the gap. The card’s FX fee is not stated on the pages I read, and that is the figure that decides what a purchase in a currency other than the dollar costs you. It is the difference between a card that is cheap everywhere and a card that is cheap in one country and surprising in twenty. I would not want to put money behind an undisclosed percentage.

Now three everyday payments, using only published figures.

A $40 grocery shop, card loaded with dollars already. Nothing converts at that moment, so no swap fee applies to the purchase itself. You pay $40. This is the clean case.

A $40 grocery shop, card funded from USDT on Voyager. The load converts at 1 USDT = 0.9975 USD, and then the tier’s 1.50% swap applies depending on which conversion path the app uses. The card’s own FX fee, if any, is not stated. So the cheapest version of this payment is the one where you converted earlier and are spending a plain balance.

A €25 dinner abroad. The amount hits your card balance and a currency conversion happens at the card network level. What you pay depends on the card FX fee — undisclosed — on top of whatever balance conversion preceded it. This is the payment to watch, and it is exactly the payment I cannot cost for you from public information.

Tiers differ in more than price. Mariner adds 50+ local fiat currencies and the ability to send and receive with anyone. Admiral adds priority corridors and carries a yield of 1.5% APR marked “coming soon” — treat that as unbuilt until it exists in the app. User-set spending limits are possible, which is a genuine safety feature even though the ceiling itself is not published.

How to Top up the card

Top-up is where Scallop is genuinely good, and this is the section that earned its marks.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Scallop starts with a transfer to the right network

The card is funded only from a balance already in the Scallop account — fiat, or stable digital assets. The app supports tokens on Ethereum (ETH, USDT, USDC), BSC, Solana, Bitcoin, Tron (TRON, USDT, USDC), Base (USDT, USDC), XRP, XDC, Sui and others. The page does not say whether these are deposit-only, so treat the list as what the app can receive, not a promise about what you can later send back out.

The mechanics are simple. Minimum top-up $15. Auto top-up can be set with a threshold of at least $20, paid from your available balance. Loaded funds are reserved for card use. The top-up fee is not stated, and neither is who pays the network fee.

Two points deserve your attention. First, network fees are a category fact, not a Scallop fact: on-chain gas is charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so it comes out of a transfer regardless of who issued the card. Second, and much more important — the direction of the money is one-way. Loaded funds “cannot be withdrawn, transferred, or refunded”. Virtual card loads “cannot be refunded, withdrawn, or reversed under any circumstances”. The closure balance is not stated.

Read that again in the context of everything else on this page. You can move money in, and then it is spent money. If you top up by mistake, or top up and then decide you want your funds back, the card’s own terms say there is no route. I would treat a first top-up as a small one for exactly this reason.

Getting the network right is not a formality. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. And there is a live example of a network changing under your feet: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option anymore. Check what the app currently accepts before you send anything.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where this card scores 3 out of 10, and I want to be direct about why, because it is not a criticism so much as a description.

There is no physical card. It is a virtual Visa, which means a card number, an expiry and a security code, living in your app. That is genuinely useful for online spending, but it is not a card for the café, the taxi or the market stall. Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM availability are not disclosed, so there is no basis for planning around phone wallet provisioning or cash withdrawal. No rewards or cashback programme is mentioned, and wallets offered alongside the card are not documented.

So the realistic daily picture is: subscribe to services, pay for software, buy online, book travel. Not: walk into a shop.

Some of that is a choice the card has made, and some of it is how card payments behave for anyone outside their home market. It is worth knowing the mechanics, because they explain most declined payments you will ever hit with any card from this category.

Merchants can look up the card’s issuer identification number — the 6- or 8-digit BIN at the front of the card number — and see which institution and country issued it. If that country differs from the billing address you typed, the merchant may apply extra scrutiny. That is the single biggest reason a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another, and it is not a fault in your card.

Address verification works the same way: the numeric parts of the billing address you enter are compared with the issuer’s records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK. For a foreign-issued card it is generally unavailable, which causes declines that have nothing to do with you. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright, because the lookup reveals exactly what the card is.

Two more things about declined payments. A merchant category code is a four-digit number classifying a business, assigned when the business starts accepting cards; gambling sits under 7995, and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law — with a list that varies by issuer, so ask Scallop rather than guess. And when an authorisation is declined, a hold on funds can remain for several days, typically up to seven.

Online payments may also involve an identity check step. Visa’s version is called Visa Secure; it either approves the payment without interruption or challenges you with a one-time code or biometric. Where that applies, liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift from the merchant to your bank — or, per critics, to you.

What can go wrong

The top-up is one-way. Already covered, and it is the item I would read twice. No withdrawal, no transfer, no refund, no reversal.

Wrong network, wrong account. If you send to the wrong network or a mismatched account address, recovery is via a support ticket, with an extra fee, not guaranteed, and it “may take several days”. That is a support request with an uncertain outcome, not a refund.

The counterparty question. There is a general risk worth naming plainly. Whoever holds the private keys controls the crypto. With a custodial wallet, the provider holds the credentials, so you are trusting them completely; a seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is the unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return funds.

This is not hypothetical for the category. Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen over 2011–2014. Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018. Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. And card programmes specifically have collapsed: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures follow a pattern — notice, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.

Scallop’s account is account-based: balances are held in the Scallop account, card details are revealed only after you authenticate, and you get instant block and unblock, permanent termination, spending limits, real-time transaction tracking and monitoring, and the ability to freeze cards at any time. That is a decent safety list. It does not change the structure of who holds your funds.

Nobody has complained, and nobody has reviewed it either. I searched for reviews and complaints and found no official incidents. The Trustpilot page for Scallop’s official website, read on 2026-10-21, has zero reviews and no TrustScore, and carries the note “This company may be associated with high-risk investments.” That label is a third-party page’s statement, not something Scallop’s own documentation says, and I am giving it to you as unofficial and unconfirmed by the card. But read it the right way round: zero reviews on a payments product is not an absence of problems, it is an absence of track record. Nobody has publicly confirmed this card works well at scale either. No dated announcements were found, and the company behind the operation is not named on the official documentation pages I read. Help is available through the app or official support channels, with no languages or hours stated.

Regulation is a moving floor. In the EU, an electronic money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and wallets but cannot lend. Under MiCA — the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, which ESMA says took legal effect in June 2023 — the rules on e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining service-provider provisions from 30 December 2024, and e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an EMI. Providers operating under national law can continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused authorisation, whichever comes first. A crypto card often depends on two licences at once, since the card is a payment service and MiCA covers the crypto side.

Stablecoins are stable in name. About 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation sits in USDT and USDC by the BIS’s July 2025 measure, but stablecoins can depeg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. And they are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.

Taxes. I am not giving tax advice here, and you should talk to someone who knows your jurisdiction. The general shape: digital assets are treated as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a gain or loss, measured in your local currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. On a card, that means each payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal event. Budget for a conversation with an accountant rather than a surprise.

What to take instead

The alternatives I looked at each solve a different problem, and none of them clearly beats Scallop on breadth of networks. Here they are with their scores.

Scallop Whop Cards Stella UniFi Card
Score 6.6 / 10 5.2 / 10 6.5 / 10 4.7 / 10
Card Virtual Visa only, up to 3 active Visa, online and in stores; virtual/physical not stated Virtual and physical Visa Prepaid Debit Visa, issued by Lead Bank, USD
Countries Most countries not sanctioned by OFAC; UK, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela excluded 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses; many countries unsupported Not stated; US and European users routed through affiliates Not confirmed from official pages
Fees $0–$49.99/month; 1.50% to 0.40% swap; FX not stated “No extra fees”; no amounts listed Not stated officially Not stated
Funding Multi-network balance, minimum $15 Whop balance, stablecoin-collateral Crypto deposit auto-tops the card ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI; USDC payout
Rewards None mentioned 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber None on the card page “3% rewards on balances” claimed in the app listing

Whop Cards is the reward option: 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned — the payout currency and conditions are not stated. Its coverage is narrow: 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses, and a long unsupported list including Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Whether eligibility turns on citizenship or residence is not stated.

Stella is the closest structural rival, and the nearest score at 6.5. It offers both virtual and physical Visa cards working at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally”, funded by depositing crypto into the account, which automatically tops up the card. Countries are not stated on the site; its terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates. No cashback is stated on the official card page — its Earn product is a separate yield.

UniFi Card is the one with a named issuer, Lead Bank, and a stated currency, USD. It supports Apple Pay and lists send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico and the eurozone, with Colombia, Brazil and the UK in recent release notes. It is funded by ACH, wire, SEPA or SPEI, and you can get paid to a USDC wallet. Its eligibility is not confirmed from official pages, no fees are published, and the “3% rewards on balances” claim comes from an app listing rather than a terms page. The three-state reward claim on a listing is exactly the kind of figure I would not build a spending plan around.

Who I would recommend it to

I’d recommend Scallop to one specific person: someone who already has funds spread across several chains — ETH here, USDT on Tron there, USDC on Base — and wants a Visa number that draws on that without a bank in the middle. For them, the nine-out-of-ten top-up section is real, the free Voyager tier costs $2 and 1.50% per swap, and the setup is a weekend’s work.

I would not recommend it to someone whose first card problem is “I can’t get a normal bank card”. The eligibility rules leave real gaps — the UK is excluded, high-risk countries are case by case, the page never says whether citizenship or residence governs, and anyone over 65 is refused outright. If you are in one of those situations, this is not the workaround; it is another hurdle with a crypto-shaped name on it.

I would not recommend it as a daily card, because it is virtual only and Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM are all undisclosed. I would not recommend it to anyone who needs to know their FX rate, an ATM limit or a monthly ceiling in advance, because none of those are published. And I would not recommend it to anyone who wants to load money in and change their mind, because the terms say they cannot.

Before you apply, do three things. Have the passport ready — for individuals it is required for the virtual card outside Hong Kong and China. Load $15, not more, until you have seen one full cycle work. And ask support, in writing, what the card FX fee is, what the daily and monthly spend limits are, and whether Apple Pay or Google Pay work. If those three come back with clear answers, this card is a reasonable tool. If they come back vague, the 5 out of 10 on reliability and complaints is telling you something worth hearing.

Frequently asked questions

What is Scallop card?

Scallop is a crypto platform that holds a balance across several blockchains and issues a virtual Visa card drawing on it. The card works “wherever VISA is accepted”, and up to three virtual cards can be active at once. It is not a bank account and not a physical card. Spend comes from a balance you load, which is why it behaves like a prepaid card rather than a debit card linked to a current account.

How does Scallop card work?

You convert or deposit crypto into your Scallop balance, then load the card from that balance with at least $15. Purchases draw down the loaded balance. The conversion between your tokens and the card’s balance carries a swap fee of 1.50% on Voyager, 0.75% on Mariner, or 0.40% on Admiral. Loaded funds are reserved for card use and cannot be withdrawn, transferred or refunded.

Is Scallop a bank?

No, and it is worth being clear about that. Scallop’s public pages describe a crypto balance platform with a card programme, not a deposit-taking bank. Your funds sit in a Scallop account, which means you are trusting a provider rather than a bank with deposit protection. Electromoney institution customer funds must be safeguarded by segregation or insurance, but such funds are not the same as bank deposits.

Who owns Scallop?

The company behind the operation is not named on the official documentation pages I read. Scallop’s own site is Scallop’s official website, and its Trustpilot page for that domain carries zero reviews, no TrustScore, and a third-party note that the company “may be associated with high-risk investments” — unofficial, and not confirmed by the card. I would want to see a named, verifiable legal entity before moving meaningful sums.

Which countries can use Scallop?

Scallop says “most countries that are not sanctioned by OFAC”. Excluded for virtual cards: Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and the United Kingdom. High-risk countries such as China, Turkey and Vietnam are reviewed case by case with an extra questionnaire. The page does not say whether citizenship or residence decides eligibility, so do not assume your address settles it.

Does Scallop require KYC?

Yes. Individuals need a passport or national ID, or another ID plus a tax ID number, and a valid passport is required for the virtual card except for users from Hong Kong or China. Proof of address is required only when a high-risk-region ID is shown but residence is elsewhere — issued in the last 90 days, no PO box. Individuals over 65 will not be accepted.

How do I top up the Scallop card?

Only from a balance already in your Scallop account. The app supports Ethereum (ETH, USDT, USDC), BSC, Solana, Bitcoin, Tron (TRON, USDT, USDC), Base (USDT, USDC), XRP, XDC, Sui and others. Minimum top-up is $15, and auto top-up can be set at a threshold of at least $20. Check the network before sending — transfers are irreversible, and a wrong-network deposit needs a support ticket with an extra fee.

Can I get my money back out of Scallop?

Not from the card. Loaded funds “cannot be withdrawn, transferred, or refunded”, and virtual card loads “cannot be refunded, withdrawn, or reversed under any circumstances”. The balance at account closure is not stated. Treat a top-up as a one-way transfer of spendable money and size your first one accordingly.

Can I use Scallop in Apple Pay or Google Pay?

Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM support are not officially disclosed. What is documented is a virtual Visa card number; there is no information about physical cards or wallet provisioning. If phone-wallet use matters to you, ask support before you commit.

Is the Scallop card safe?

Structurally, it is a custodial card: your balance is held in the Scallop account, and the card draws on that balance rather than on keys you hold. Scallop publishes sensible safeguards — authentication before card details are shown, instant freeze and unblock, permanent termination, spending limits, real-time transaction tracking. Against that, the load is irreversible, FX and spend limits are undisclosed, and the platform has no public review history to lean on.

Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team