The Payrit card spends naira and USDT from one Verve card in seven West African countries — but its fee page is silent

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have been looking for a card that spends both your naira balance and your USDT from a single piece of plastic — or if you are trying to spend crypto in Nigeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Senegal or Togo — the Payrit card is the kind of product that looks purpose-built for exactly that. And it is a real, currently running product: a physical and virtual card on the Verve and Interswitch networks, produced in an app, delivered in “5–14 working days within Lagos and most states in Nigeria”.

Payrit works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

That is the good part. The problem is everything the card’s public pages do not tell you. There is no disclosed monthly fee, no published conversion rate, no FX spread, no stated ATM allowance, no daily or monthly spending limits, no list of supported blockchain networks for topping up, and no information at all about identity verification. What is published is one price: “The Payrit Card costs ₦7,000”. I have read those pages closely and this review separates what Payrit states from what you would have to find out yourself.

Conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 4.7 out of 10, and the gap is information, not features

The Payrit card scores 4.7 out of 10. That number is not a complaint about a broken product — it is a complaint about how little of the product is written down anywhere a customer can read it.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Payrit starts with a transfer to the right network

Here is the score broken down, criterion by criterion, with my reason for each mark.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 Works in Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, Togo — seven countries, and nothing stated about eligibility within them
Cost 6 / 10 “The Payrit Card costs ₦7,000” is clear; the monthly fee and every commission are undisclosed
Top-up options 5 / 10 Naira and USDC/USDT from one card; supported networks and top-up fees not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Tree-House Nigeria LTD, “not a bank”, partnered with licensed providers; issuer unnamed; App Store 4.33 from 3 ratings; no complaints found
Everyday use 6 / 10 Physical and virtual card on Verve and Interswitch, POS and ATMs in Africa; Apple Pay and Google Pay support not disclosed
Total 4.7 / 10

Who this suits: a West African user who holds both naira and USDT and wants one card to spend either from, who is comfortable being an early adopter of a young financial product, and who can live with asking support what a fee is rather than reading it. The card’s own audience framing is exactly that — West African users spending naira and USDT from one card.

Who it does not suit: anyone whose main spending country is outside those seven. Anyone who needs a card accepted everywhere, because Verve and Interswitch are regional African networks, not Visa or Mastercard. Anyone who needs Apple Pay or Google Pay — the card’s pages do not disclose support for either. Anyone who needs their fee schedule in writing before committing. And, bluntly, anyone who finds the words “not a bank” and an unnamed card issuer unsettling, which is a reasonable thing to find unsettling.

Will they give you the card?

The card works in Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal and Togo. Those seven countries are what Payrit publishes.

That is the entire published eligibility statement. The card’s public pages do not say whether nationality matters, whether residence matters, whether both matter, what the minimum age is, or what documents are needed. For a product whose own terms say it is “a financial technology company and is not a bank”, that silence is worth taking seriously rather than skimming past.

A general point that applies to every card of this kind, and to this one: prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults (18+), and some issuers set higher limits. But “generally available to adults” is a category habit, not a Payrit rule. Payrit does not publish its own age requirement.

How to get it

You order in the app. The order takes three things from you: the card name, a delivery address, and which balance is primary. The card is produced immediately and shipped.

Delivery is quoted as 5–14 working days within most of Nigeria. Read that literally. Lagos and most Nigerian states are named; the other six countries where the card works are not mentioned in the delivery estimate. If you are applying from Benin or Senegal, the card’s pages do not tell you where your card ships from or how long it takes, and the cost of delivery is not stated.

Activation works like this: you enter the first 6 and last 4 digits of the card, set a new PIN, and the card is live. That is a sensible design — the card details stay with you rather than being read out over a call — but it means you need the physical card in hand before you can spend anything.

One thing I looked for and could not find: the card’s public pages do not state what identity verification is required, or at what level. Whether there is a KYC tier structure, whether you can hold the app without verifying, what happens if verification is requested later — none of it is published. If your reason for reading this page is that you cannot get an ordinary bank card in your country, then the question you most need answered is precisely the one the card does not answer. Ask support before you rely on it.

Fees: one published price, and a lot of silence

Cost is where this card is weakest, because cost is exactly what you cannot check.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Payrit payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The card’s own words: “The Payrit Card costs ₦7,000” — that is the physical card. The monthly fee is not stated. The fees are not stated. Fees and allowances on POS and ATM withdrawals are not stated. Daily and monthly limits are not stated. There are no tiers.

Fee or limit What Payrit publishes
Card issuance “The Payrit Card costs ₦7,000” (physical card)
Monthly fee not stated
Conversion (crypto to naira or other) not stated
FX / foreign currency fees not stated
ATM withdrawal fees and allowances not stated — POS and ATMs in Africa are supported
Daily spending limit not stated
Monthly spending limit not stated
Delivery not stated
Top-up fees not stated

Two of these deserve a moment.

Conversion. The card spends naira and USDC/USDT from one card. That means something has to convert between them at the moment of purchase, and the conversion rate, the spread, and any fixed fee attached to it are all undisclosed. If you are a person who holds USDT precisely to avoid naira weakness, the conversion cost is not a rounding error in your financial planning — it may be the whole question, and Payrit does not publish it anywhere I can find.

Limits. No daily or monthly cap is published. For most people the absence of a published ceiling is a mild surprise; for someone whose reason for wanting a card is that banking access is difficult, an unknown ceiling is not something you can plan around.

Tapping a category habit. Card payments involve several parties: the network routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end. It follows that on-chain network fees — gas or bandwidth — for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. A deposit can therefore cost you a blockchain fee while the card charges nothing at all. Neither side of that is disclosed here.

Let me walk through three everyday payments, because that is the only honest way to show what a missing fee schedule does to a plan.

A ₦8,000 fuel payment in Lagos. The card draws on your primary balance. Whether that is a naira balance or a USDT balance decides whether a conversion happens — and the conversion rate and fee are not stated. If your primary balance is USDT, you are guessing at the cost of petrol until you see it in the app.

An online subscription paid from naira. Here the direction reverses: you hold naira, you are charged in dollars. The FX cost of that conversion is not stated. This is the payment where the missing number bites hardest, because the merchant chooses the currency, not you.

A cash withdrawal at an African ATM. Payrit states POS and ATMs in Africa are supported. It does not state the fee per withdrawal, the daily allowance, the number of free withdrawals, or whether the ATM operator adds its own charge on top. You will find out at the machine.

None of this means the fees are high. It means nobody outside the company can tell you. A ₦7,000 card price is a real, checkable number, and it is genuinely useful that it is published at all — many cards in this category publish nothing whatsoever.

How to top it up

The funding model is the part of Payrit I find most interesting, and the part where the card’s own language is unusually clear.

You fund the account with any supported currency — USDC, USDT or Naira — and spend right away. Naira and USDC/USDT wallets spend from one card. And then the sentence that tells you this is not a prefunded card in the usual sense: “Your card works without needing to be prefunded.” It draws on the connected primary balance, which can be NGN or USDC/T.

In plain terms: you do not load a float and spend down. The card spends from whatever you have connected at the moment of payment. If your primary balance is naira, that is what pays for the coffee; if it is USDT, that is what pays for it. Which balance is primary is one of the three things you choose when you order the card, so the decision is made once, at setup, and it shapes every payment afterwards.

What is missing: the networks. USDC and USDT exist on many blockchains, and Payrit does not say which ones it accepts for a deposit. In this category that omission has teeth. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or sent to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost outright or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. Circle, for example, stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option on that side of the market — and nothing on Payrit’s pages tells you what it does support.

Top-up fees are not stated. Cash-out or withdrawal conditions are not stated either.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, the card behaves like a normal card. Payrit states a physical and a virtual card on the Verve and Interswitch networks — explicitly not Visa and not Mastercard — accepted at POS terminals and at ATMs across Africa.

This is the single most important practical fact in the review, and it deserves more than a line, because people outside Africa routinely assume “card” means “works everywhere”. Verve and Interswitch are African schemes. They are useful across West Africa and are not the schemes that a hotel in Europe, a US subscription service or an Asian marketplace will recognise. If you travel, or if your bills sit with merchants outside the region, this card is not the tool for them.

Why “foreign” cards get declined is worth understanding, because it explains a lot of the friction people report with cards like this. A card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that identifies the issuing institution; merchants can look that up and see which institution and which country issued the card, and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards precisely because that lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. AVS, the check that compares the numeric parts of your billing address with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines.

Two more everyday-use facts are missing rather than bad. The card’s pages do not disclose whether Apple Pay or Google Pay are supported, so if you live your life on a phone wallet, do not assume. And the pages do not state what rewards, if any, exist — no cashback, no earn rate, nothing.

Online payments may also involve 3-D Secure, an identity check where the issuer assesses risk and either approves without friction or challenges you with a one-time code or a biometric. Visa’s brand is Visa Secure and Mastercard’s is Identity Check; on a Verve card the scheme is different again, and Payrit does not describe the flow.

There is one genuinely good piece of everyday-use news, and it is in the security section below: you can freeze the card instantly in the app.

What can go wrong

Nothing here is a warning about a specific failure. The honest finding is that I found no official incidents and no user reports — no Trustpilot page exists. For a young product that is neutral rather than reassuring; it also means there is no track record to lean on.

The risks I would weigh are structural.

You do not know who issued the card. Payrit states that it “is a product of Tree-House Nigeria LTD”, that it “is a financial technology company and is not a bank”, and that services are provided “in partnership with licensed transmitters and banking partners”. The issuer is not named. Those two things sit awkwardly together. The brand is a front end; the institution holding the card programme is undisclosed. If something goes wrong with your money, you need to know which regulated entity to write to, and the public pages do not give you that name.

Card programmes get shut down. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. In general, a programme closure gives notice, then stops spending and loading, then asks users to withdraw remaining balances. If you hold a balance on a card whose issuer you cannot name, that sequence is worth thinking about in advance.

Support is thin in the places that matter. Payrit invites you to “speak with the founders directly” and links a community from the card page, which is a nice touch and not a substitute for a help desk. The help centre is marked “Under construction”. Support hours and languages are not stated. Community links and founder chats are good for a quick question; they are poor places to resolve a disputed payment.

Disputes and chargebacks are unaddressed. The card’s pages say nothing about how to dispute a transaction. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. Whether Payrit’s structure supports one, and who you file with, is not published. Note also that prepaid-card coverage varies by jurisdiction and should not be assumed.

The App Store picture is thin, not bad. The iOS app “Payrit” by TREE-HOUSE NIGERIA LIMITED is rated 4.33 from 3 ratings, version dated 2026-09-18. Three ratings is not a signal in either direction, but it does mean no established user base is documented. The version notes are more informative than the rating: v3.0.96 (“Feb 5”) “Physical cards are now available”, and v3.0.114 (“Apr 5”) “Payrit virtual dollar and crypto card now available” — both without a year shown on the page. Read that as a young product that shipped its core features recently.

Your money may sit with a custodian. If your balance is held by the platform rather than in a wallet you control, you are exposed to counterparty risk. Custodial platforms have a record of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Payrit’s pages do not state whether balances are custodial, so this is a question to ask rather than an accusation.

Declines can strand funds temporarily. A declined authorisation may leave a hold that can remain for several days, typically up to 7. Worth knowing before you retry a payment three times and conclude the card is broken.

Identity checks can arrive late. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documents, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether the customer is a politically exposed person; if it cannot be completed, the institution must refrain from the transaction or end the relationship — which is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents. Nationality is screened separately from residence. A young fintech can apply equivalent rules in its own jurisdiction without publishing them, and you should expect verification to appear at some point rather than assuming the first ₦7,000 buys permanent anonymity.

On taxes, one factual note and no advice. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction — so each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. Nigerian and other national rules have their own treatment, and this is not advice; it is the reason a large month of crypto-funded spending deserves a conversation with someone who knows your country’s position.

What to take instead

If Payrit’s idea — one card, multiple currencies, crypto-funded spending — is right but the disclosure is not, three alternatives come up in this category. Here they are, with their own scores from the same review method.

Card Score Card type Where it works Cost published?
Payrit 4.7 / 10 Verve and Interswitch, physical and virtual Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, Togo ₦7,000 issuance only
Stella 6.5 / 10 VISA, physical and virtual Over 40 million VISA merchants globally; US and European users routed through affiliates; sanctions screening applies No amounts published
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses; unsupported countries listed including India, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam “No extra fees”
UniFi Card 4.7 / 10 Prepaid Debit Visa Card, issued by Lead Bank App Store lists send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico, eurozone; release notes mention Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and UK Not stated

Stella is the strongest of the three on score. Virtual and physical, VISA, working at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally” — which means the acceptance problem that limits Payrit largely does not apply. It is custodial: you deposit crypto into the account and it automatically tops up the card. Its terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes. Fees are described only under the user agreement or in the app, and its official card page states no cashback (an Earn product exists separately as a yield feature). The countries it formally supports are not stated, and its US and European routing goes through affiliates — which is a detail worth asking about.

Whop Cards are a Visa, so the same global acceptance applies, and the page says “No extra fees” with no issuance or monthly amounts listed. It spends from a Whop balance, with a pending balance usable as soon as a payment arrives while standard withdrawals use settled funds. It offers 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned — payout currency and conditions not stated. It is heavily US-shaped: 31 states for consumers, 41 for businesses, and an explicit unsupported list including India, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and others, with Russia and Belarus also unsupported for corporate accounts. What basis it uses, citizenship or residence, is not stated.

UniFi Card is a prepaid debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, in USD, supporting Apple Pay. It is funded by ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE), and pays out to a USDC wallet. A listing claims “3% rewards on balances” but card cashback is not stated. Eligibility is not confirmed from official pages; the App Store data and release notes are what we have. Fees are not stated — the listing says only that fees may apply and to see the website.

The pattern across all four is worth naming. Every one of them is more transparent about *what* the card does than about *what it costs*, and Payrit is the only one of the four whose network is regional rather than global. If your priority is acceptance outside West Africa, Payrit is out of the running regardless of price. If your priority is spending naira and USDT inside Nigeria, Payrit is more directly aimed at it than any of the three.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Payrit card to someone in Nigeria who already holds both naira and USDT, is comfortable with a young product run by a fintech rather than a bank, spends at POS terminals and local ATMs, and has asked support directly for the conversion rate, the FX cost, the ATM fee and the spending limits — and got answers they believe. For that person, the product logic is genuinely good: one card that draws on whichever balance you have connected, without a pre-funding ritual before every purchase.

I would not recommend it to someone planning a first card abroad, someone who needs Apple Pay or Google Pay, someone who needs to know in writing what a transaction costs before it happens, or anyone who needs a named issuing institution on a piece of paper. Nor would I recommend it as the only card someone depends on while they build a banking history elsewhere — the disclosed issuer is the weak point, not the features.

The honest summary: this is a ₦7,000 product with a clean idea and a thin information layer. If you are the kind of user who enjoys being early, that trade may be fine. If you are the kind who reads the terms first, you will find this one frustrating — and you should, because the numbers are not published.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Payrit card?

It is a payment card issued by a Nigerian fintech, Tree-House Nigeria LTD, that spends both naira and USDC/USDT balances from one card. It comes in physical and virtual form and runs on the Verve and Interswitch networks, which are African card schemes rather than Visa or Mastercard. The physical card is priced at ₦7,000. It is marketed for West African users who hold both currencies and want one card for everyday spending.

How does the Payrit card work?

You order in the app, choosing a card name, a delivery address, and which balance is primary. The card is produced immediately and shipped, with 5–14 working days within most of Nigeria quoted for delivery. You activate it with the first 6 and last 4 digits plus a new PIN. After that it draws directly on your connected primary balance rather than a pre-funded float — the card’s own wording is that it “works without needing to be prefunded”.

Is Payrit a bank?

No. Payrit states that it “is a financial technology company and is not a bank”, and that services are provided “in partnership with licensed transmitters and banking partners”. The card issuer itself is not named on the public pages. That distinction matters if something goes wrong with your balance: the institution holding the card programme is not the brand you downloaded.

Who owns Payrit?

Payrit is a product of Tree-House Nigeria LTD, which is also the named developer on its iOS app, “Payrit” by TREE-HOUSE NIGERIA LIMITED. The App Store listing was rated 4.33 from 3 ratings, with the version read dated 2026-09-18. Version notes record “Physical cards are now available” in v3.0.96 and “Payrit virtual dollar and crypto card now available” in v3.0.114.

Which countries can I use the Payrit card in?

Payrit states the card works in Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal and Togo. POS terminals and ATMs across Africa are supported. The card is on Verve and Interswitch rather than Visa or Mastercard, so do not expect it to work in Europe, North America or Asia the way a Visa card would. Delivery timing outside Lagos and most Nigerian states is not stated.

Does the Payrit card require KYC?

The card’s public pages do not say. No identity verification requirements, no document list and no KYC tiers are published. Regulated businesses generally must verify customers and monitor transactions under anti-money-laundering law, and many young fintechs apply verification at signup or shortly after. If your concern is avoiding identity checks, this card is not a route around them — ask support what is required before you rely on the account.

How do I activate the Payrit card?

Take the physical card and, in the app, enter the first 6 and last 4 digits of the card number and set a new PIN. That completes activation. The design means your card details stay with you rather than being dictated to anyone, but it also means you cannot activate before the card arrives. Delivery is quoted at 5–14 working days within most of Nigeria.

How do I top up the Payrit card?

You do not top it up in the conventional sense. The card spends from a connected primary balance, which the card describes as NGN or USDC/T, and the account can be funded with any supported currency — USDC, USDT or Naira. One important gap: Payrit does not publish which blockchain networks it accepts for USDC or USDT deposits. Sending on the wrong network can be lost, because transfers are irreversible.

Can I add the Payrit card to Apple Wallet?

Payrit’s public pages do not disclose Apple Pay or Google Pay support, so treat it as unavailable until you confirm otherwise in the app. This is worth checking early if you rely on a phone wallet, because it affects how you would actually use the card day to day. Some cards in this category support mobile wallets and some do not, and Payrit is not clear which it is.

Is the Payrit card safe and worth it?

On safety, I found no official incidents, no user reports and no Trustpilot page — which means no track record rather than a clean bill of health. The genuine protections are real: instant freeze and unfreeze in the app, card termination if lost, and a PIN set at activation. Against that, the issuer is unnamed, the help centre is marked “Under construction”, and disputes are unaddressed. Whether it is worth it depends on whether the one-card-two-currencies idea outweighs undisclosed fees for you.

Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team