The card is easy to get in one click and cheap to try; the paperwork behind it is thin, and that is the real risk.
TakeCard is a Visa-branded payment card that spends out of a crypto wallet account called Takenos. You convert or top up a balance, and the card draws down that balance like a prepaid card. The virtual card costs USD 5, there is no monthly fee stated, purchases carry a 1% commission, and paying in USD costs nothing extra. Those are good numbers, and for a Latin American crypto holder paying in dollars the card does a specific job well.
The problem is everything around those numbers. The help articles never list which countries are eligible, only that the physical card is restricted to Bolivian residents. The provider is Takenos; the site names no legal entity, no issuer and no licence, and the card is stated to be issued in the United States. Public reviews are thin and grim in a specific pattern: accounts deactivated with funds held. My score is 5.5 / 10 — below the middle, not because the fees are bad but because I could not confirm enough to recommend it with confidence.
Conditions stated in the review are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.5 out of 10
TakeCard suits a crypto holder in Latin America who wants a USD-denominated card for subscriptions, travel and online services, and who is comfortable holding a prepaid balance with a provider whose paperwork is thin. It does not suit you if you need a bank account, a card in your own name from a regulated institution you can name, a chargeback process written down somewhere, or a physical card outside Bolivia.
The card is not a bank. It behaves like a prepaid card: money in, money spent, nothing beyond the balance. That is a legitimate design for a crypto wallet, and it also means you carry the counterparty risk of the company holding your balance.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | Countries are not listed in the help articles; the physical card is available only to Bolivian users for now; a virtual-card country list exists in starting data but I could not confirm it on a page I could read |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Virtual card USD 5, 1% commission per purchase, USD payments 1:1, ATM 1% plus the ATM’s own fee; no monthly fee named |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Top up from your Takenos account; coins are not named in the article; USDC and USDT over Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum appear in starting data, which I could not verify |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Issuer and licences not named, card issued in the United States; Trustpilot 3.2 from 147 reviews, with complaints about accounts being deactivated while funds were frozen |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual card immediately, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM limit USD 250 per transaction; plastic only in Bolivia |
| Total | 5.5 / 10 | Cheap and usable, thin on disclosure and thin on trust signals |
Read the table as a shape rather than a verdict: the two 7s are about mechanics and money, the two 4s are about who is behind it and whether anyone answers.
Who will give you the card?
This is the first question and the one the card’s own help centre answers least.
The help articles do not list the countries where TakeCard is available. What they do say is narrow: the physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now”. Meanwhile the Takenos site says the wallet can receive payments “from any country”. That is a statement about receiving payments into the wallet, not about being issued a card, and reading it as card availability is a mistake.
Starting data I could not confirm on a readable page lists the virtual card for Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, the US, Spain and Italy. Treat that as unofficial. The card does not confirm it, and if your country is on that list you should still expect to find out at the application step rather than from the help centre.
So who gets it in practice? On the evidence I can see, Bolivian users can get the physical card, and users in the listed Latin American countries are likely to be able to get the virtual one. Everyone else is in a grey area that the card’s documentation does not resolve. Nobody in my reading was told clearly, in advance, “yes, we issue to your country”.
That matters more than it sounds. Card issuers apply their own risk policy, and nationality and country of birth are usually screened separately from where you live. A provider with an unnamed issuing bank can change that policy without much warning, which is exactly the kind of change that catches people out. If your plan depends on this card existing in six months, that is a risk to price in, not a technicality.
How to get it
The application is short and the identity check is a single one-time event.
You will be asked for a photo of the front and back of your DNI (the national identity document used across much of Latin America) plus a short gesture video used as a biometric check. The check is one-time and the card states it takes up to 24 business hours. Proof of address and proof of age are not stated as requirements, and neither are the identity tiers or the reasons an application might be refused — the card does not publish those.
The steps in the app are: open the app, go to Tarjetas, choose “Internacional”, tap “Quiero mi tarjeta”, pass the identity check, and the app notifies you when the card is ready.
What you end up with, as the card describes it:
- A virtual card, available immediately.
- A physical card, Bolivia only.
- Visa named as the network.
- Issued in the United States.
- Prepaid, not a debit card against a bank account.
- Card currency USD, with USD payments at 1:1.
The physical card in Bolivia costs USD 20 shipping on the fee page. Delivery time and the cost of a replacement card are not stated.
The 24 business hours is worth reading twice. That is not “same day” in the way a crypto exchange onboarding flow often is, and it is not a soft warning either. It is simply a stated processing window, and for anyone trying to have a working card before a trip or a subscription renewal, it is a scheduling fact rather than a detail.
Fees: what a payment really costs
The headline numbers are good. The gaps are in the places people get caught.

| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| Virtual TakeCard | USD 5 |
| Physical TakeCard (Bolivia) | USD 20 issuance + USD 20 shipping; another article in the same help centre says USD 10 for physical in Bolivia — the card’s own pages conflict |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Purchase commission | 1% per purchase |
| USD payments | 1:1, no currency adjustment |
| Other currencies | Converted at the official Visa rate of the day |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
| ATM | 1% Takenos fee plus the ATM operator’s fee, usually around USD 5; no free allowance stated |
| Default weekly spending limit | USD 5,000, changeable in the app under Tarjetas > Ajustes > Límites y restricciones |
| ATM limits | USD 250 per transaction including the ATM fee; USD 750 per day across up to 3 transactions; 3 attempts per 24 hours |
Two readings of that table. The optimistic one: USD 5 to open a USD card with no monthly fee and no FX penalty on dollar spending is genuinely cheap, and the 1% purchase fee is transparent rather than buried. The careful one: the card’s own pages disagree about the physical card price, and three of the cost lines are simply not stated.
Now the everyday cases, because percentages only mean something against a specific purchase.
A USD 30 subscription paid in dollars costs USD 30 plus the 1% commission, so USD 30.30. No FX layer, because the card is a dollar card.
A EUR 40 subscription converts at the official Visa rate of the transaction day, then carries the same 1% commission. What that costs in dollars depends on the rate on the day you are billed, which is exactly the part you cannot predict in advance. The card’s articles cover ARS and EUR payments specifically, which tells you those are real use cases.
A USD 200 ATM withdrawal costs the 1% Takenos fee, so USD 2, plus the ATM operator’s fee of usually around USD 5, so roughly USD 207 in total. That ATM operator fee is the number people forget, and it is charged by the machine, not by TakeCard. With a USD 250 per-transaction ceiling including the ATM fee, a larger cash withdrawal simply cannot be done in one go — you would be splitting it, and the 1% would apply again to each piece.
The USD 5,000 default weekly limit is not a spending cap in the usual sense; the card says there is no fixed spending limit beyond your balance, and the weekly figure is a setting you can change yourself. Still, if you are moving a large sum through the card in a week, the default is what applies until you open the app and change it.
One line that is missing and that I would want to know before committing real money: the crypto conversion fee is not stated. If the card converts at the moment of payment, there is some cost there, and it is not in the table above.
Top up: how the balance gets there
The card’s own words are direct: you can top up quickly from your Takenos account. Coins are not named in that article.

Starting data says USDC and USDT over Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum can be sent into the Takenos account. I could not verify that on a page I could read, so treat it as unofficial rather than as a documented feature list.
Here is why that gap is more than cosmetic. On-chain deposits are irreversible. A transfer sent to an address belonging to a network the provider does not support can be lost outright, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. And the mechanics are not forgiving at the edges: ERC-20 tokens need ETH in the wallet to pay gas, so a wallet holding USDT with nothing else in it cannot send; Tron prices fees by burning TRX through bandwidth and energy; and one widely used dollar coin is not natively available on one of the networks often suggested for it, since Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024.
The card’s TakeCard articles do not state the deposit fee, the minimum deposit, or who pays the network fee. For the network part, the general rule applies: gas is charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. So the cost of getting money onto the card depends on the chain you pick, and you are picking it without a published fee table.
Cash is the other direction and the picture is thin. Cash out is ATM only, at the terms above. Whether you can withdraw back to crypto, back to a bank account, or get a leftover balance returned on closure — the card does not say on the pages I could read. That last one deserves a direct question to support before you load a meaningful amount, because an unreturned residual balance is a real outcome in this category of product.
Paying with it every day
The virtual card is available immediately and is the practical version of this product. It goes into Apple Pay — iPhone, Apple Watch and iPad — and Google Pay, and PayPal has its own help article. Adding the card to Apple Wallet can be done once per 24 hours and the card number can be entered manually. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, which means you do not know in advance whether gambling, gift cards or adult merchants will decline.
A merchant category code is the four-digit number classifying a business by what it sells, assigned when it starts accepting cards. Gambling sits under MCC 7995, and many issuers block it on specific cards by their own policy rather than by law — the blocked list varies by issuer. TakeCard does not publish one. So the gambling question has no answer here, and that is an answer of a sort: it is not “yes you can gamble with it”.
Rewards are not stated. No cashback, no programme, no fee waiver for spending more.
The app is on iOS and Android through a single link. I did not read the store listings, so I am not going to tell you its ratings.
If something goes wrong with a payment: pause the card in the app, then contact support with the date, the amount and the merchant. No time frame for a resolution is stated and chargeback is not mentioned. A refund from a merchant is credited to your Takenos balance, typically 15 to 30 business days after the merchant processes the return.
That refund path is worth understanding carefully. You are not waiting on your bank; you are waiting on the merchant, then waiting for a balance to reappear in a wallet. For a subscription you have already paid for and not received, that is a long road with no stated deadline at the end of it.
What can go wrong
Group these by how likely they are to hurt you.
Frozen funds and a closed account. This is the dominant complaint theme in public reviews, and it is the reason the reliability mark is 4 out of 10. One user report from July 2026 describes an account deactivated without explanation with more than USD 10,000 held and no replies. Another reviewer reports being asked to deposit USD 200 to verify, in September 2025. Trustpilot shows 3.2 out of 5 from 147 reviews, 28 of them in the last 12 months as I read them, with recurring themes of frozen funds and deactivation without explanation and of the company not replying to negative reviews. User reports are exactly that — reports — but the pattern repeats, and the money at stake is yours. A separate Argentine article says the card remains more than 15% more expensive than the “financial dollar” because other levies apply.
Who is actually behind it. The provider is Takenos. Starting data names Global Flow S.A.U. The site names no legal entity, no issuer and no licences, while stating the card is issued in the United States. When a provider will not tell you which institution issued your card or under which licence, you cannot check that institution against a regulator’s register. For context, ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities, and that register is only useful to you if you know the name to look up. I found no dated licence or programme events for TakeCard.
The card looks foreign to merchants. A card number begins with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that tells the merchant which institution and country issued it. Merchants can look it up and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from your billing address, which is common for a Latin American user holding a US-issued card. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for the same reason. Address verification, which compares the street number and postcode a buyer types with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — another way a decline happens with no obvious cause.
Declines that leave a hold. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to 7. On a prepaid balance, that money is simply unavailable to you while it sits pending.
Programmes get wound down. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa said in November 2022 that it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, and the FTX US debit card was being wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically run in a fixed order: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. In the FTX case that meant paying with a card whose issuer was being dismantled.
Support exists, with gaps. In-app chat and WhatsApp at +54 9 11 2471-6668, and email at [email protected]. The help centre has an English path, but the articles themselves are in Spanish. Opening hours are not stated. If your money is stuck, “hours not stated” is the answer I would want in my pocket, and it is not the answer I have.
Custody questions the card does not answer. The card’s pages do not state whether the balance is custodial. If the provider holds the credentials, you are trusting them completely, and you cannot withdraw your funds without them. Cryptographic transfers are irreversible, so a stolen key has no recovery path — the network cannot freeze or return anything.
What I did not find: any official incident reports. No dated licence or programme events surfaced. And on taxes, since this is where card spending meets the tax authorities: in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so spending them produces a taxable gain or loss measured in local currency at the value on the transaction date — which can make each card payment its own disposal. That is a general point about how these payments are treated, not a statement about your position, and it is not advice.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up in the same review work. None of them is a clean answer either, and the comparison is more useful as a shape than as a winner.
| TakeCard | Cardex | OkiCard | NEXA Cards | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.5 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Coverage as stated | Not listed; physical only for Bolivia | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no exclusions listed; store listing is Naira-focused | “150+ countries” (some pages “200+”); no geo-blocking by passport; users must confirm not in a sanctioned jurisdiction | “190+ countries” for sending; acceptance at “over 33 million merchant locations” |
| Card | Virtual immediately; physical Bolivia only; Visa; issued in the US; prepaid; USD | Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical; Naira per listing | Virtual (physical mentioned, no details); network not specified; USD/EUR pegged | Stored-value: virtual Silver, plastic Black, metal Platinum; Visa and Mastercard; currency not stated |
| Issuance | Virtual USD 5; physical USD 20 + USD 20 shipping (one article says USD 10) | Not stated | Issuance $0 and monthly $0 on the pricing page, starting price $15 for virtual; FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee — pages disagree | Silver $49.95 enrolment, $3.99 monthly, $5.95 activation; Black $99.95 / $11.95 / $10.00; Platinum $99.95 / $11.95 / $10.00 |
| Spending fees | 1% per purchase; USD 1:1; other currencies at the day’s Visa rate; crypto conversion fee not stated | Real-time conversion at payment, “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” picking the best rate; no percentage stated | Load fee 3%; transaction fee in USD 0%; “no hidden exchange spreads”; FX fee not stated | FAQ says fees may apply to ATM withdrawals, international transactions and card replacement; the fee-schedule link is a placeholder with no values |
| Funding | From Takenos account; coins not named in the article; USDC/USDT over Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum per unconfirmed starting data | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated | USDT on BSC (BEP-20), Ethereum (ERC-20), Tron (TRC-20), Solana (SPL); USDC “soon”; initial deposit 100 USDT | Cash, wire, transfer or crypto via the dashboard; coins not named |
Two things stand out. First, coverage claims: “200+ countries” and “150+ countries” are marketing numbers with no exclusions published, which is better than nothing but not the same as a country list. TakeCard is worse here only in that it does not even claim breadth — but honesty about a narrow footprint has some value when the alternative is an unexcluded claim.
Second, fee disclosure. OkiCard publishes actual percentages and says transaction fees in USD are 0%. NEXA publishes a fee schedule that is a placeholder, and its displayed totals do not equal the sum of the line items, which the page does not explain — Silver is shown at $49.95 enrolment, $3.99 monthly hosting and $5.95 activation with a displayed total of $114.93. That is not a small rounding issue; it means you cannot predict your own cost. Cardex claims to pick the best rate at the moment of payment without publishing any percentage at all.
On the specifics: OkiCard’s funding routes are the most explicitly documented in this set, naming networks for USDT. Cardex offers the broadest set of networks on paper. NEXA is the only one with a metal tier, which is also the one where the pricing is hardest to explain.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend TakeCard to someone who already has a Takenos account, already holds dollar-pegged stablecoins, and wants a spare USD card for online spending — subscriptions, software, travel booking — without opening another bank relationship. The USD 5 entry, the absence of a monthly fee, and the 1:1 dollar spending make that specific job cheap. I would also say it to a reader who is deliberately running a small prepaid balance and treats it like cash in a drawer: a limited amount, spent, not saved.
I would not be the person who recommends it for a large balance kept over time. The reliability mark is 4 out of 10 and the reason is specific: public complaints cluster around accounts being deactivated with funds held and no replies, on a product whose site names no issuer and no licence. When a provider will not tell you who issued the card, and card programmes do get wound down, the amount you are comfortable losing is the amount you should hold.
Before applying, ask support three questions in writing and keep the answers: which entity issues the card and under whose licence; what the crypto conversion fee is at the moment of payment; and what happens to any remaining balance if you close the account. All three are currently not stated on the pages I could read, and a written answer is worth more than a chat message. Two smaller things to decide early: if you are outside Bolivia you are getting the virtual card, so check that Apple Pay or Google Pay on your device is your main path; and if you plan to use ATMs, the USD 250 per-transaction ceiling and the operator’s fee mean cash is the expensive way to use this card, not the cheap one.
One last framing. TakeCard is a payment card, not a bank, and the difference is not pedantry. A bank account comes with a named institution behind it, a regulator who answers for it, and deposit-style recourse when something goes wrong. A prepaid crypto card comes with a company, a balance, and terms that currently do not tell you much about either. Know which of those you are holding.
Frequently asked questions
What is TakeCard card?
TakeCard is a Visa-branded prepaid payment card that spends from a balance held in your Takenos wallet. You top up, the balance is available to spend, and the card cannot go past that balance. It is issued in the United States, its currency is USD, and dollar payments are charged at 1:1. The virtual card is available immediately; a physical card is available only to users in Bolivia.
Is TakeCard a bank?
No, and nothing in its own materials presents it as one. The provider is Takenos; the site names no legal entity, no issuer and no licences, while stating the card is issued in the United States. It works like a prepaid card rather than a debit card linked to a bank account, which means you hold the risk of the company holding your balance rather than the protection of a named regulated institution.
Does TakeCard require KYC, and what do they ask for?
Yes. The card asks for a photo of the front and back of your DNI plus a short gesture video used as a biometric check. It is a one-time check with a stated processing time of up to 24 business hours. Proof of address and proof of age are not stated as requirements, and neither are the reasons an application could be refused. Knowing why you were rejected matters more than knowing you were.
How much does TakeCard cost to open and to use?
The virtual TakeCard is USD 5. There is no monthly fee stated. Each purchase carries a 1% commission. Payments in USD cost nothing extra because the card is a dollar card, and other currencies convert at the official Visa rate of the day. ATM withdrawals cost 1% from TakeCard plus the ATM operator’s fee, usually around USD 5. The crypto conversion fee is not stated.
Is TakeCard card free?
Not entirely. The USD 5 virtual card fee is a one-off purchase, and no monthly fee is stated, so a card that you use for spending rather than for cash can stay close to free after that. But every purchase costs 1%, ATM withdrawals cost 1% plus the machine’s own fee, and the physical Bolivia card carries USD 20 issuance plus USD 20 shipping, with one help-centre article saying USD 10 instead.
How do I top up the TakeCard card?
The card’s article says you can top up quickly from your Takenos account, but does not name the coins. Starting data lists USDC and USDT over Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum; I could not confirm that on a page I could read. Deposit fee, minimum deposit and who pays the network fee are not stated. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so the network you send on matters more than it usually would.
Can I use TakeCard card in my country, and where?
The help articles do not list eligible countries. The physical card is only for Bolivian users, and the Takenos site says the wallet can receive payments from any country — which is about receiving payments, not being issued a card. An unconfirmed list covers Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, the US, Spain and Italy. Assume virtual only outside Bolivia, and expect the application to be the real test.
Is TakeCard card safe to use?
It has the standard protections: you can pause the card in the app, report it lost or stolen, set an ATM PIN in the app, and add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay with tokenised device numbers. What it does not state is the custodial status of your balance, which matters because funds you cannot withdraw without the provider’s cooperation are not fully yours. Public reviews raise a different risk — frozen funds and unexplained deactivation — so use it with a small balance.
What happens if a payment goes wrong?
Pause the card in the app, then contact support with the date, amount and merchant. No resolution time frame is stated and chargeback is not mentioned. A merchant refund is credited to your Takenos balance, usually 15 to 30 business days after the merchant processes the return. Also note that a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to 7, and a prepaid balance cannot be overdrawn while it is held.
Is TakeCard worth it?
For a small, spend-only dollar balance, possibly: USD 5 to open, no monthly fee, 1% per purchase and no FX penalty on dollar spending is a cheap way to pay online. For holding meaningful savings, the score I would give is not above the middle, because the site names no issuer or licence and public reviews cluster around accounts deactivated with funds held. Ask support in writing who issues the card, what the conversion fee is, and what happens to a leftover balance on closure.
Virtual cards for online use – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
