A crypto card with real everyday features and a thin safety net
The Mobilum Pay card is one of those crypto cards that has quietly become a normal payment card: virtual and plastic, Apple Pay and Google Pay, a multi-currency account in euros, dollars and Polish złoty, and money loaded straight from a crypto wallet. On the surface it does the job. Underneath, the two things a person in a difficult position actually needs — what it costs and who stands behind it — are mostly missing from the public pages, and the review record on Trustpilot is bad.
I gave it 6.3 out of 10. That is not a rejection; it is a card whose everyday mechanics are strong and whose paperwork and complaints history are weak. Read on if you want to know whether that balance suits your situation.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
The verdict at a glance
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | 27 EEA countries are listed, and the site adds “Accessible worldwide, excluding sanctioned nations” |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Only “Competitive transaction fees” and “transparent costs” are claimed; no amounts are published, though extra cards are free |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Crypto directly — BTC, ETH and many ERC-20 tokens — plus a bank account; stablecoins and networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Mobilum Inc, an MSB registered with FinCEN, issuing bank not named; Trustpilot 2.4 from 11 reviews, 82% one-star: unpaid withdrawals, unauthorised charges |
| Everyday use | 10 / 10 | Virtual and plastic cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay through external wallets, ATM withdrawals |
| Total | 6.3 / 10 | Strong daily mechanics, weak disclosure and a poor complaint record |
Who this suits: a European who wants an app with both virtual and plastic cards, holds crypto they are willing to convert, and can live with published-by-nobody fee levels. Who it does not suit: anyone whose priority is knowing exactly what a payment costs before they make it, anyone who needs a named bank behind a deposit guarantee, and anyone with a history of frozen accounts or slow refunds — the complaint pattern on file is exactly that.
The highest single mark in the table is for everyday use, which is unusual and worth pausing on. Most crypto cards are fine at the theoretical mechanics and poor at the small print. Mobilum Pay scores well because it simply has the full set: virtual card, plastic card, mobile wallets, ATM, three currencies. The score is not generous overall — the totals are dragged down hard by reliability, which is the category that decides whether you can get your money out.
Will they give you the card?
The public page lists 27 countries in the EEA area: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. That is a broad list, and Poland’s presence explains the złoty currency and the Polish company behind it.
Alongside it, the page says the card is “Accessible worldwide, excluding sanctioned nations”. That is a much broader claim than the country list, and it is the kind of phrase that gets read two different ways. Read narrowly, it is a statement about where the app and the crypto can be used. Read as an eligibility promise, it would mean residents outside Europe can open an account, which no page here actually confirms.
Two things I could not find on the public pages, and you should assume nothing about them: the verification requirements are not stated, and the identity tiers — what level of documents you need, and for which country — are not stated either. So if your question is whether you personally qualify, the honest answer from these pages is that they do not tell you. You will find out by trying, and the risk of trying is that a declined or half-finished check can itself be the thing that complicates your week.
The card itself is described as virtual and plastic, as multi-currency debit and credit cards, on Mastercard — with the App Store wording noting ATM withdrawals “in MasterCard-supported countries”. Whether you get a debit arrangement, a credit arrangement, or both depends on what your account is set up as; the public page does not break that down.
What I would check first: whether the address you will give matches a country on the list, whether your document type is accepted in that country, and whether the sanctions wording in that “accessible worldwide” line is the kind of thing that would be applied to your nationality as well as your residence. That last point matters more than it sounds, and I am deliberately not going to tell you how to get around any of it — the answer is only ever the company’s own answer.
How to get it
The short version: the public pages describe a mobile app on iOS and Android, a virtual card you get inside it, and a physical card as the durable option. Beyond that, the mechanics of applying are the part I have least to go on.
Not stated anywhere on the public pages: what documents you need, whether identity verification is required before you can hold or spend anything, how long approval takes, whether a physical card is shipped automatically or on request, and what delivery time applies. The card is described as virtual and plastic — virtual and physical — with multi-currency debit and credit cards on Mastercard, in EUR, USD and PLN.
So the honest shape of the answer is: install, register, go through whatever checks the app puts in front of you, and the virtual card is the one you can expect fastest because it is not shipped. The physical card’s arrival is a variable the pages leave open.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the section where Mobilum Pay asks you for patience, and where the 5 out of 10 comes from. The card’s own words are “Competitive transaction fees and transparent costs”. No amounts. Not one. The card describes unlimited card issuance — “the ability to issue multiple cards without additional fees” — which is genuinely useful if you want a separate card for a separate purpose, and it is the only cost statement in the public material that comes with a concrete commitment.

| Fee or limit | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Not stated |
| Additional cards | Free — “issue multiple cards without additional fees” |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Transaction fees | “Competitive transaction fees” — amounts not stated |
| Conversion fees | “Transparent costs” — amounts not stated |
| FX fee | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | Available on virtual and plastic cards; fee and allowance not stated |
| Daily limit | Not stated; the app offers card management with limits |
| Monthly limit | Not stated |
| Tiers | Not stated |
| Card currencies | EUR, USD, PLN, with exchange between USD, EUR and PLN in the app |
Now the part that actually costs you money, day to day. Take three ordinary payments and ask what you would be charged, based on what is and is not published.
A coffee in a eurozone city. You tap the card, the merchant charges euros, your balance is in one of three currencies. If your balance is not in euros, the conversion happens somewhere — the app does currency exchange between USD, EUR and PLN — but the rate, the spread and the fee are not stated. You are told the costs are transparent; you are not told what they are.
A payment in dollars from a European card. Your Mastercard is issued with a billing currency that the pages do not name. A cross-currency payment on a card almost always has a conversion markup, and here the markup is unstated. This is the single most likely place for you to lose a percent or two without noticing, month after month.
Withdrawing cash at an ATM. The card does this — “withdraw funds at ATMs using virtual and plastic cards” — and the App Store says it works in MasterCard-supported countries. The fee is not stated and the allowance is not stated. Card-not-present and foreign-BIN surcharges are common across this whole category of card, and none of that is ruled in or out here.
The number that would matter most for your budgeting — the monthly or issuance fee — is simply not published, and there is no tier structure to look at either. My judgement: treat your cost as unknown rather than small, until you have seen real figures in your own app.
How to Top up
The card loads crypto directly. The FAQ names BTC, ETH and “many ERC-20 tokens”, and the wallet is described as custodial. A bank account can be linked for deposits and withdrawals.

What that means in practice: you move crypto from a wallet you control to a wallet Mobilum controls, the balance becomes spendable card money, and you spend it. Two supporting details are not stated: the deposit fee and the minimum top-up. Crypto can be loaded from any wallet; fiat goes through the linked bank account.
Two practical warnings before you send anything. First, the specific coins and networks are not named — which matters because a transfer sent on a network the provider does not support can be lost, or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Blockchain transfers are irreversible by design. Second, on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so they come out of the amount you send regardless of what the card says.
The bank-account route for withdrawals is described plainly: the linked account handles deposits and withdrawals, and the fees for it are not stated. That is the route you care about most, because a card you cannot get money out of is a wallet with extra steps.
Paying with it every day
This is where the card earns its 10 out of 10, and I would not be overselling it: it does the ordinary things without drama.
The cards. Virtual and plastic, both usable, both free to add beyond the first. Multi-currency debit and credit. Mastercard, so it works wherever Mastercard is accepted.
The phones. The card can be added to “any external wallet, such as Apple Pay or Google Pay”. That phrasing matters — it is not a restricted list, it is the standard tokenisation path, with the device-specific number stored on your phone and a fresh security code per payment. Spending limits are managed in the app. What is not stated: which merchant categories are blocked. That is a real gap, and it connects to the complaints below — see gambling.
The cash. ATM withdrawals on both card forms, in Mastercard-supported countries.
The app. iOS and Android. The App Store listing for Canada shows 5.0 from a single rating, version 2.8.7 dated Apr 1, which I read on 2026-10-21. One rating is not a signal in either direction. The Google Play rating was not read because the page did not load. Support is a ticket form and an email address in the FAQ; the languages and working hours are not stated.
The rewards. Not stated. No cashback, no points, no referral scheme appears on the public pages.
One category-specific point worth internalising, because it explains why crypto cards get declined at ordinary tills: shops can look at the first six or eight digits of a card number and see which institution and country issued it, and some apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. A European-issued card paying in another country can read as foreign without anyone at the till knowing anything about crypto.
What can go wrong
No official incident is on record for this card. What follows is user-reported, and it is the part of this review I would not skip.
The complaints. Trustpilot shows a TrustScore of 2.4 from 11 reviews, of which 2 were posted in the last 12 months, read 2026-10-21. 18% five-star, 82% one-star. The themes, all user report: withdrawals and refunds not processed, spanning October 2022 to October 2026; support unresponsive, 2022 to April 2025; unauthorised or disputed card payments in October 2025 and October 2026; and verification problems in April 2025. One reviewer writes that Mobilum refused a refund and advises a bank chargeback — a user’s account, not an official position.
The entity. Mobilum Inc, 228 Park Avenue South, New York, NY 10003, registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business (#31000258001314). Starting data names Mobilum Pay Sp. z o.o. in Poland. The issuing bank is not stated, and the “licensed partners” are unnamed. That combination is the crux: an MSB registration is not a banking licence, and without a named issuer you cannot tell which deposit regime your money sits under.
The wallet is custodial. Whoever holds the credentials holds the wallet, so you are trusting the provider completely. Recovery runs through a backup phrase, described as “the only way to restore your wallet” — and a seed phrase is an unencrypted form of the private key, so anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend it. Whether the card offers 2FA or an instant freeze is not stated. That is a setting I would want confirmed in the app before I put meaningful balances on it.
The regulatory picture. In the EU, customer due diligence covers identity documents, a sanctions check and PEP screening; if it cannot be completed, the institution is required to stand aside from the relationship — which is exactly why accounts freeze or close pending documents. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and the transitional period for existing providers runs only until 1 July 2026 or until authorisation, whichever comes first. A card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a crypto card often depends on two licences at once. None of that tells you how this particular provider is structured; it tells you why “which licence, under which entity, for which balance” is the right question to ask.
The gambling connection. Some of the disputed-transaction complaints name gambling merchants. Blocking those categories is a policy choice each issuer makes, not a legal rule, and the blocked list here is not stated. Merchant category 7995 covers casinos, betting and lotteries, so if your account has gambling charges on it, expect friction.
The category’s known failure modes. Programme closures have happened in this space: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest, a card issuer that supplied several crypto brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. The pattern is usually a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.
Tax. If you are in the US, the IRS treats digital assets as property, so converting crypto into card spending is generally a disposal measured at fair market value on the date — each card payment potentially its own taxable event. I am not giving tax advice here, and the same shape of question arises in other countries; take your own advice.
What to take instead
None of these is automatically better; they are better at different things. Scores are mine, on the same scale.
| Alternative | Score | Who it’s for | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mobilum Pay | 6.3 / 10 | Europeans wanting virtual and plastic cards in one app | No published fees, no named issuer, 2.4 Trustpilot |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | US consumers in 31 states and businesses in 41 | Spent from a Whop balance, not your own wallet; consumers unsupported in 18 named countries including China, India, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam |
| Stella | 6.5 / 10 | Users who want virtual and physical VISA cards funded by crypto | Countries not stated; US and European users are routed through affiliates; no cashback on the card page |
| UniFi Card | 4.7 / 10 | People moving money between the US and specific corridors | Prepaid Visa issued by Lead Bank, USD balance only; fees not published; eligibility not confirmed from official pages |
Whop is the narrowest fit if you are outside the US — consumer countries it explicitly does not support include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, and unsupported corporate countries include Russia and Belarus. It also pays 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber. It spends from a Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, and coins and networks are not stated.
Stella is the closest on paper to what Mobilum Pay does, with a slightly higher score, but it is vaguer where Mobilum Pay is specific: its country list is not stated at all, and its fees are “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App”. Depositing crypto tops the card up automatically from an in-app custodial wallet. The VISA card works at what the site calls over 40 million merchants globally.
UniFi is the one to look at if your problem is corridors rather than crypto. It is a prepaid Visa debit issued by Lead Bank, spendable from a USD balance, with Apple Pay support, and money moves in through ACH, wire, SEPA or SPEI while you can get paid to a USDC wallet. The app lists routes to the Philippines, Mexico and the eurozone, with recent release notes adding Colombia, Brazil and the UK. Its own listing says “Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details.”
If none of these fits your situation, the honest answer is that the crypto card category is thin on disclosure right now. Score them all on what is published, not on what is claimed.
Who I would recommend it to
If you are European, you hold crypto rather than dollars, you want both a virtual and a plastic card, you want to add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and you can absorb surprise conversion costs — then this is a reasonable card and the everyday mechanics are genuinely good.
If any of those is different, I would hesitate. Not because crypto cards are a bad idea in principle, but because here the numbers you would need to make a real decision — issuance fee, monthly fee, conversion rate, ATM allowance, limits, issuing bank — are not on the public pages, and the complaint record is 82% one-star about money not arriving.
My own checklist, in order: what does it cost, concretely, in euros? Which legal entity holds my balance and which licence covers it? What is the withdrawal route if my bank account changes? Can I freeze the card instantly? And only then, is the daily convenience worth the answers I could not get.
That is the honest shape of this card: good at spending, unproven at everything behind it.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Mobilum Pay card?
Mobilum Pay is a crypto-linked payment card offered by Mobilum Inc, a Money Services Business registered with FinCEN. You load crypto into a custodial wallet inside its app and the balance becomes card money. The card comes in virtual and plastic form, on Mastercard, in EUR, USD and PLN, and can be added to external wallets such as Apple Pay or Google Pay. The card describes itself as multi-currency debit and credit.
How does the Mobilum Pay card work?
You load crypto — the FAQ names BTC, ETH and many ERC-20 tokens — or link a bank account for fiat. The balance is converted into card money you spend directly. Many crypto cards work like prepaid cards rather than debit cards: the money is already there, converted, before you spend it, so the card cannot overdraw. Whether a linked bank account can also be used to add funds directly is not stated on the public pages.
Is Mobilum Pay a bank?
No. It is registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business (#31000258001314), which is a money-transmitter registration rather than a banking licence. The issuing bank is not stated, and the “licensed partners” are unnamed. That matters because it tells you which deposit protection, if any, applies to your balance — and you cannot tell from these pages.
Who owns Mobilum Pay?
The company behind it is Mobilum Inc, at 228 Park Avenue South, New York, NY 10003. Starting data also names Mobilum Pay Sp. z o.o. in Poland, which fits the Polish złoty currency the app supports. No parent company is described, and no issuing bank is named.
Does the Mobilum Pay card require KYC?
The public pages do not say. Identity verification requirements are not stated, and neither are the document types or the verification tiers by country. Expect some form of checks in practice — every regulated provider does customer due diligence — but do not expect the specifics to be published. Applying and finding out is the only route the pages offer.
Is the Mobilum Pay card free?
Partly. Extra cards are free: the card states you can issue multiple cards without additional fees. Issuance of the first card, any monthly fee, transaction fees, conversion costs and ATM charges are all not stated. The card promises “competitive transaction fees and transparent costs” without publishing a single number, so treat your cost as unknown until you see it in your own account.
How do I top up the Mobilum Pay card?
Two routes are described: send crypto directly, from any wallet, or link a bank account and use it for deposits and withdrawals. Coins and networks are only partly named — BTC, ETH and many ERC-20 tokens. Deposit fee and minimum are not stated. Check the network before sending anything, because a transfer on an unsupported network can be lost or need manual recovery.
Is the Mobilum Pay card safe?
That depends entirely on your tolerance. The wallet is custodial, so the provider holds the credentials and recovery runs through a backup phrase. Trustpilot shows 2.4 from 11 reviews, 82% one-star, with reports of unprocessed withdrawals, unresponsive support and disputed card payments — all user reports, but the volume and consistency of them matter. Ask yourself whether you could absorb a delayed withdrawal.
Can I use the Mobilum Pay card in my country?
The pages list 27 EEA countries — Austria through Sweden, including Poland — and separately say the card is “Accessible worldwide, excluding sanctioned nations”. Whether that second line means non-European residents can open an account is not confirmed anywhere. And your place of residence is only half the question: nationality is screened separately from address for sanctions purposes.
Can I add the Mobilum Pay card to Apple Wallet?
Yes. The card says it can be added to “any external wallet, such as Apple Pay or Google Pay”, and the app is on iOS and Android. Adding it works by tokenisation: the card number is replaced by a device-specific number stored on your phone, with a one-time security code for each payment. One caveat — if the issuer restricts a tokenised number, it can be blocked for phone or online use.
Money-app cards – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
