Bolt card in 2026: fee-free, but locked to the US and light on disclosed detail
The Bolt card is a US debit card tied to the Bolt Account inside the Bolt SuperApp, marketed as fee-free, with a virtual card issued instantly after a $5 deposit and a physical card shipped in around 10 business days. I spent time going through the company’s public help pages, disclosures and the broader research base for this category, and what I have to say is honest rather than enthusiastic. The headline is simple: there is almost no published information about conversion fees, foreign exchange, ATM access, supported coins or even the card network, and the card is presented as a US product with no other country lists visible on the pages I read. That combination, fee-free on paper but thin on disclosure, is what drives my overall score.
The conditions in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Bolt scores 4.8 out of 10 in my review. The reason is not that the product is bad on its own terms; the reason is that I cannot verify enough of its terms from public pages to be confident about what “fee-free” actually means in practice. The “no annual or other fees” line is explicit, but everything around it (conversion, FX, ATM, network, bank) is not stated, and the card appears to be limited to US residents.

Here is how each criterion broke down for me:
| Criterion | Score | Why it scored that way |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Starting data is the United States only; help pages require identity verification before requesting the card. No other country list is published. |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | “There are no annual or other fees associated with the Bolt Card.” Conversion fees and FX are not stated, so the eight reflects the explicit zero-fee claim, not a full cost picture. |
| Top-up options | 3 / 10 | Help pages say you deposit to the Bolt Account from the app, but they do not name coins or networks. Starting data mentions crypto via Zero Hash, and that is not confirmed by any page I read. |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Starting data lists Bolt Financial, Inc. The issuing bank is not named in the disclosures I read. I found no official incidents and no Bolt-card complaints. |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual card is instant after a $5 deposit; physical card ships in around 10 business days. Apple Wallet is “not supported yet.” ATM access is not stated. |
| Total | 4.8 / 10 |
If you are a US resident who wants a fee-free debit card backed by an in-app account and you are comfortable with the gaps in disclosure, Bolt is plausible. If you live outside the United States, the card is not presented to you on the pages I read, and I cannot confirm an application path. The audience note I worked from: US residents wanting a fee-free debit card with an in-app account.
Who they will give the card to
The eligibility story is short, and that is itself a finding. The starting data on Bolt points to the United States. The help pages say identity verification must be completed in the app before a card can be requested, and I found no public list of additional supported countries. That means the card is, for the moment, a US-only proposition in everything I can verify from official material.
A few things follow from that. First, the pages I read did not state which documents are required (a driver’s licence, a passport, proof of address, an age minimum beyond 18, which is a typical threshold for prepaid and debit cards in this category). Second, the single identity verification step is not described as tiered, so I cannot tell whether there is a lower level that lets you open a limited account or only one full-KYC path. If you are reading this from outside the US and you are hoping the card will work where you are, the honest answer is that the public help pages do not currently invite that.
For comparison, the alternatives section below shows what an explicitly multi-country list looks like (Whop, for example, names both 31 US states for consumers and a long list of unsupported countries) and what a “terms bar users under economic sanctions” phrasing looks like (Stella). Bolt is more restrictive on its face than either of those, because it does not even list its supported countries; it just says “United States.”
How to get it
The signup path as described on the help pages is straightforward. You complete identity verification inside the app, then you request the card. Once you have made an initial deposit of at least $5, the virtual card is issued instantly. The physical card is a separate page in the app, and the company describes the delivery time as “around 10 business days.” The card is offered in two forms: a virtual card and a physical card.
What I could not find is equally important. The card network (Visa, Mastercard, or something else) is not stated on the pages I read. The settlement or card currency is not stated. The cost of the physical card, and the cost (if any) of replacing it, is not stated. The countries the physical card can be shipped to are not stated. If any of those matter to you, the only way to confirm is to complete verification and look in the app itself.
There is a second practical issue. Bolt’s web presence sits at boltapp.com, and help.bolt.com now redirects to that domain with a 308 redirect. The page does not state when the move happened, and the redirect is the kind of thing that is easy to miss if you are arriving from an old link. For a first-time applicant that is mostly trivia, but it does mean that any screenshot or instructions older than the move may be misleading.
One more detail that often matters in this category and is not stated: the help pages do not describe a separate activation step for the physical card, nor do they describe how the PIN is set or where to change it. The risk section below covers what I could find about PIN and card controls.
What it really costs
Bolt’s central cost claim is unambiguous: “There are no annual or other fees associated with the Bolt Card.” That is the strongest fee statement I have seen on a card of this kind, and it is the main reason the cost criterion scored an 8.
What sits around that claim is much thinner, and it is where you should look carefully before relying on it.
| Fee or limit | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Annual / monthly fee | None | “There are no annual or other fees associated with the Bolt Card.” |
| Issuance | not stated | The help pages do not list a cost for the virtual or physical card. |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion | not stated | Not disclosed on the help pages read. |
| Foreign exchange (FX) | not stated | Not disclosed on the help pages read. |
| ATM withdrawal | not stated | No dedicated ATM page; a PIN can be set, but limits and fees are not stated. |
| Initial deposit minimum | $5 | Required before the virtual card is issued. |
| Other minimums | not stated | Subsequent top-up minimums and maximums are not stated. |
| Spending limits | Defaults set by Bolt | The help pages say “all limits are set to default by Bolt,” and the only place to see them is inside the app under Bank/Cards > Limits. |
| Card currency | not stated | The card currency is not stated on the pages I read. |
| Reward rate | not stated | Disclosures reference a “Bolt Account Reward Program Terms” document; the rate itself is not stated on the help pages. |
Two worked examples will give you a sense of where the gaps matter most. Imagine you buy a coffee for $4. Bolt says there is no annual fee and no other fee attached to the card, so the company does not appear to charge a per-transaction fee on that purchase. If you paid in US dollars from a US-dollar balance, the cost would be $4 plus whatever the merchant charges you (taxes, tip, and so on). Now imagine you are travelling in Europe and you tap the same card at a terminal in euros. The conversion rate the network applies is set by Visa or Mastercard in their role as the card network, and the FX spread, if any, that Bolt adds on top is not disclosed on the help pages. That is a real gap: a “no fees” claim is only as good as the FX mark-up is small, and that mark-up is invisible in the public documentation.
The daily-limit setup is also worth a look. Because the help pages route you to the in-app screen to see your limits, the published cost of this card is effectively the cost of the in-app experience rather than the cost described in the marketing. If the in-app screen shows that the default limits or conversion fees are not zero, then the cost is not “no fees” in any meaningful sense, even if the company is technically correct that the card itself carries no fee. The same caution applies to ATM withdrawals, where the lack of a dedicated page is unusual in this category.
Top up options
The funding path is described in a single line: you deposit to the Bolt Account from the app, and you withdraw from the Bolt Account in the app under Bank/Cards > Bolt Card > Bolt Account > Withdraw. That is the full extent of what the help pages say. The minimum initial deposit is $5, and that deposit is also the trigger for the virtual card being issued.

What is missing here is what most people actually need to know. Which coins can you deposit? Which networks does Bolt accept? Is the top-up a stablecoin transfer, an ACH pull from a US bank, a debit-card top-up, or something else? The help pages do not say. Starting data about this card mentions crypto via Zero Hash (a US-registered payments and infrastructure provider for digital assets), but I did not see that confirmed on any of the help pages I read, so I am not going to repeat it as fact. If crypto top-up is in fact supported, the standard risks in this category apply: blockchain transfers are irreversible, sending on the wrong network can mean lost funds, and a stablecoin is not necessarily stable, however much the name suggests otherwise. The Tether and Circle stablecoins, which together account for roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation according to BIS figures from July 2025, are typically the ones to look for first, but that is a market observation, not a statement about Bolt’s support.
For the practical reader, the safer mental model right now is to assume the help pages describe the entire public story: deposit from inside the app, after verification, with $5 as the floor. If you need to send crypto from a self-custody wallet, the right next step before committing any funds is to look in the live app for the deposit address, network and accepted assets. Treat anything else as unconfirmed.
Paying with it every day
A few practical things I can confirm, and a few I cannot. I can confirm that the virtual card is instant and that the physical card ships in around 10 business days. I can confirm that you can set a PIN and apply temporary blocks, unblocks and a permanent block from the app, which is a sensible set of controls. I can also confirm that adding the card to Apple Wallet is “not supported yet,” with the help page suggesting it “will be available soon.” Google Pay is not mentioned on the help pages I read. The app is called the Bolt SuperApp, and I did not dig into store ratings or platform support for this review.
I cannot confirm how widely the card is accepted. A card without a disclosed network and a country list limited to the US will, in practice, behave the way prepaid debit cards typically behave: well at point-of-sale and online where the network is honoured, less well where the merchant looks at the BIN to decide whether to accept the card, and unpredictably when AVS (the address verification system) is required and the address does not match a US record. None of that is specific to Bolt; it is a category pattern. But it is the pattern you should plan for, especially if you are hoping the card will work for cross-border subscriptions or travel.
Two more things in this section. The disclosures reference a “Bolt Account Reward Program Terms” document, which suggests a rewards structure of some kind, but the rate is not stated on the help pages. And the dispute process, which is the safety net you hope you never need, is not stated. If a transaction goes wrong, the help pages do not say how to start a chargeback, what evidence to provide, or what to expect. Compare that to a regulated bank-issued debit card, where Regulation E in the US gives debit cardholders defined error-resolution rights; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed.
What can go wrong
The risk picture for this card is a mix of “thin disclosure” risk and category-level risk.
On disclosure, the help pages do not name the issuing bank, even though the disclosures reference a “Consumer Checking Account Agreement.” That phrase strongly suggests the Bolt Account is a bank account of some kind, but until the bank is named, you cannot look up the regulator, the deposit-insurance position, or the bank’s own track record. The help pages also do not describe how customer funds are safeguarded, whether they are held in segregated accounts at a partner bank, or whether they are unprotected. In a category where platforms have failed and customers have lost access to funds, that is the kind of detail that matters more than the fee schedule.
On support, the public contact points are the boltapp.com site, help.boltapp.com and a Discord chat. The languages and hours are not stated. If something goes wrong with a payment on a Sunday evening, you should plan for an asynchronous support experience rather than a phone call.
On the card itself, the app supports temporary block, unblock, permanent block and PIN change. That is a reasonable set of self-service controls and is the kind of feature I would want before travelling. What is not stated is the policy on lost or stolen physical cards, replacement cost, or the dispute process if a card is used without authorisation.
On reliability, I did not find any official incident affecting the Bolt card, and I did not find a Trustpilot page dedicated to the Bolt card. That is mildly reassuring, but it is also a function of how new and how small the user base is, so I would not weight it too heavily. The category itself has a record of programme closures: in 2018, Visa suspended WaveCrest, which closed all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes, and in November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, with the FTX US debit card being wound down by its issuer. Programme closures typically follow a notice period and then a stop on spending and loading, with a window to withdraw the remaining balance. I am not predicting anything similar for Bolt; I am saying that this is the kind of event a category-aware reader should keep in mind.
A final category note. Card payments on the Visa and Mastercard networks are routed and governed by the network; the network can suspend a programme, and that decision sits with the network rather than with the brand on the front of the card. That is why a “fee-free” card is not the same as a “safe” card: the card depends on at least one regulated partner whose continuity you do not control.
What to take instead
If Bolt does not fit your situation, here are three alternatives from the same category, each with a different angle. I have included the publicly available facts and noted where the disclosure is thin.
| Card | Score | Where it works | Card form | Fees | Funding | Rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Consumers: 31 US states (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming); businesses: 41 states. Unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam. Unsupported corporate countries include Russia and Belarus. | Visa, online and in stores. Virtual/physical type and card currency not stated. | Page says “No extra fees”; no issuance or monthly amounts listed. | Spends from a Whop balance; backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet. | 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, more planned. |
| Stella | 6.5 / 10 | Official site: countries not stated. Terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes; US and European users are routed through affiliates. | Virtual and physical; Visa, accepted at “over 40 million Visa merchants globally.” | not stated (fees “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App”). | Deposit crypto into the account; the account automatically tops up the card (in-app custodial wallet). | No card cashback stated; an Earn product is separate yield. |
| UniFi Card | 4.7 / 10 | Not confirmed from official pages. App Store listing shows send-money routes to the Philippines (PHP), Mexico (MXN), eurozone (EUR) and recent release notes mention Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK (GBP). | Prepaid Debit Visa Card, issued by Lead Bank; Apple Pay supported; card currency USD. | not stated (“Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details.”). | ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN), SPEI (CLABE); receive payments to a USDC wallet. | Listing claims “3% rewards on balances”; card cashback not stated. |
Whop is the most explicit of the three about where it works and where it does not, which makes it easier to evaluate at a glance. Stella is more like Bolt in that the country list is not on the front page, but it is more international in practice because it is happy to take US and European users through affiliates, and it uses Visa at a much larger scale. UniFi is the most interesting if you live outside the US and want a card with explicit cross-border rails, but the cost disclosure is essentially absent, and the rewards claim is on the listing rather than in the card terms. None of the four is a clearly dominant choice; they each optimise for something different, and the best one for you depends on where you live, what coin you hold, and how much published disclosure you need to feel comfortable.
Who I would recommend it to
If you are a US resident, you already have access to a US bank account, and you want a fee-free debit card that lives inside a “super app” with the option of a crypto-funded balance, Bolt is a reasonable candidate, with the caveat that you should check the in-app disclosure on conversion and FX before you load any meaningful amount. If you do not live in the United States, I cannot point to a public onboarding path for you on the pages I read, and I would not apply. If you are someone who needs Apple Wallet or Google Pay, the current “not supported yet” line on Apple Wallet is a reason to wait. If you need clear, written, public terms on conversion, FX and ATM access, this is not the card for you today.
The honest summary: Bolt’s “no fees” line is the strongest thing in its favour, and the rest of the disclosure is too thin to put a number higher than 4.8 with a straight face. The 8 / 10 on cost reflects the explicit zero-fee claim, not a full cost picture, and the 3 / 10 on top-up options reflects the absence of a published coin and network list. Where Bolt is going, presumably, is a fuller disclosure page, an Apple Wallet integration, and a confirmed crypto top-up rail. Until those land, my recommendation is: if you can see all the numbers in the app before you load a dollar, and you are happy with what you see, Bolt is fine. If you cannot, look at the alternatives.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bolt card?
The Bolt card is a US debit card tied to a Bolt Account inside the Bolt SuperApp, issued by a banking partner that is not named on the help pages I read. It is offered as a virtual card (issued instantly after a $5 deposit) and as a physical card (ships in around 10 business days). The card’s network and currency are not stated in the public help pages.
How does the Bolt card work?
You complete identity verification in the app, deposit at least $5, and the virtual card is issued instantly. The card draws on the balance of the Bolt Account, and you top up and withdraw from inside the app. Whether the underlying balance is funded by US dollars, a stablecoin, or both is not stated on the help pages, although starting data mentions crypto via Zero Hash, which I have not confirmed from official pages.
Is Bolt a bank?
The public help pages reference a “Consumer Checking Account Agreement,” which strongly suggests the Bolt Account is a bank account of some kind, but the issuing bank is not named. Without a named bank, you cannot easily check the regulator, deposit insurance, or the partner’s track record, so I would treat the “is it a bank” question as open until that information is published.
Who owns Bolt?
Starting data lists Bolt Financial, Inc. as the company behind the card. The help pages I read do not go into corporate ownership, parent companies, or investors, so the public story is limited to the corporate name.
Is the Bolt card available in my country?
The help pages present the card as a US product, and I did not find a list of other supported countries. If you are not a US resident, my honest answer is that the public onboarding path is not visible to me. You would need to check inside the app after installing it to see whether your country is actually supported at registration.
How do I get the Bolt card?
You download the app, complete identity verification, deposit at least $5, and request the card. The virtual card is issued instantly, and the physical card is a separate request that takes around 10 business days to arrive. The cost of the physical card, the replacement cost, and the shipping countries are not stated on the help pages.
Does the Bolt card require KYC?
Yes. The help pages require identity verification in the app before the card can be requested. The specific documents, the age minimum, and whether there is a tiered KYC structure are not stated. In this category, identity verification is standard and is driven by US rules such as the customer identification programme and the wider anti-money-laundering framework.
How do I top up the Bolt card?
The help pages describe a single path: deposit to the Bolt Account from the app, with a $5 minimum for the initial deposit. Coins and networks are not named on the help pages, so if you are sending crypto from a self-custody wallet, look inside the live app for the deposit address, network and accepted assets before you send anything. Treat the absence of a published list as a reason to be careful, not as a reason to assume any particular coin or chain works.
Is the Bolt card free?
The company states that “there are no annual or other fees associated with the Bolt Card,” and that is the strongest fee line I have seen on a card of this kind. What is not stated is the cost of the conversion from crypto to fiat, the FX mark-up, the ATM fees, the issuance or replacement cost of the physical card, and the limits that apply. The card itself is presented as free; the rest of the cost picture is not fully disclosed.
Is the Bolt card safe to use?
The app supports a reasonable set of self-service controls: temporary block, unblock, permanent block, and PIN set. The card network is not disclosed, the issuing bank is not named, the dispute process is not stated, and the safeguarding of customer funds is not described. Category-level risks apply as well: card programmes can be suspended by their network, and crypto balances depend on the platform that holds them. None of that is unique to Bolt, but it is the set of risks a careful reader should keep in mind.
Money-app cards – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
