Gemini's card is a US credit card that pays you in Bitcoin — and the APR is the real story
If you have been reading about “crypto cards” expecting a card you load with Bitcoin and spend at any shop, the Gemini card is not that. Gemini issues a Mastercard World Elite credit card through WebBank, open to residents of all 50 US states. You do not top it up with crypto; you pay it back in dollars, and the reward is that some of your spending comes back as Bitcoin or one of 50+ other coins. That single distinction explains almost everything about this card, including why people who wanted a crypto spending card often walk away disappointed and why people who wanted a rewards credit card find it quietly interesting.
My overall score is 4.9 out of 10. That is not a rounding of “average” — it is a card with one genuinely good property (no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, usable mobile wallets) sitting on top of a structure that will cost a great many people more in interest than they ever earn back in rewards. Let me show you where the marks come from, then walk through who gets one, what it costs, what can go wrong, and what the alternatives look like.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
My score for the Gemini card, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | Credit card for residents of all 50 US states; no other country named |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | No annual fee and no foreign transaction fee; purchase APR 16.49% to 34.49%, cash advance $10 or 3%, replacement $50 after the first free one per 12 months |
| Top-up options | 2 / 10 | Credit card repaid in fiat; crypto only as reward — 4% on fuel, EV and transit (up to $300 a month), 3% dining, 2% groceries, 1% everything else |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Issued by WebBank, Mastercard World Elite; Trustpilot 1.3 from 1,513 reviews: frozen accounts, withdrawal delays up to 35 days, disputes refused, no phone line |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay; cash advance available at ATMs; unofficially, a metal physical card and a virtual card |
| Total | 4.9 / 10 | A good rewards wrapper around an expensive credit product with a weak support record |
The audience note here matters: this is a card for US residents who want crypto-denominated rewards on a credit card, not for someone abroad who wants to convert Bitcoin into everyday spending. Everything below is written on that basis.

Who will they give you the card to?
The honest answer is narrower than the marketing suggests. Gemini’s own support pages state that residents of all 50 US states are eligible to apply, and that terms and restrictions apply. The card page itself does not restate the eligibility rules in the place most people look first. So if you are reading the product page and hunting for a country list, you will not find one there — that is a real gap, not an oversight on your part.
For everyone outside the United States, the practical position is that no route is described. Third-party reviewers describe it the same way: US residents only, with a hard credit pull and a valid Social Security Number listed as a requirement. I want to be careful about how I present that. The SSN requirement comes from review sites, not from Gemini’s own text that I could find, so treat it as unofficial. What is official is the 50-state residence rule and the fact that this is a credit application.
That last point carries weight for the person reading this who struggles to get an ordinary bank card. A credit card under US underwriting rules is not a workaround for a thin credit file, a frozen account, or a country the issuer will not touch. It is a mainstream credit product with mainstream credit checks: a hard inquiry, a creditworthiness assessment, and a limit that the issuer sets according to what it finds. Review sites suggest limits generally land somewhere between $2,500 and $25,000, with starting limits as low as $1,000 reported by users — again, unofficial figures, but useful for calibrating expectations.
One more structural thing to understand before you apply. The card says “Issued by WebBank”. Gemini is not the bank here in the way people often assume; it is the brand running the programme. WebBank holds the credit account, sets the credit policy, and decides the limit. Gemini markets the card, issues the rewards in crypto, and runs the app you use to see the balance. That split matters enormously when something goes wrong, because it determines who answers you — and on this card, that answer is often slow.
How to get it
The application path is a credit application, and that is the honest description of it. Gemini’s card page does not lay out a step-by-step application flow, does not describe identity-verification tiers, does not publish processing times, and does not list rejection reasons. What the cardholder agreement does tell us is what happens at the point of approval: a creditworthiness check sets the purchase APR, starting somewhere between 16.49% and 34.49% depending on what the check finds. The cash advance rate is 29.49% and the penalty rate 33.49%, all variable and all tied to the Prime Rate, which means they move.
So the sequence is the ordinary one: apply, undergo a credit check, and receive a limit and a rate together. What you will not find is a published checklist. If you go in expecting “upload this, photograph that, wait N days”, the public pages do not give you that.
On the physical side, the cardholder agreement gives one concrete, checkable fact: one free card replacement per 12 months, with each additional replacement at $50. Delivery countries, delivery time and shipping cost are not stated. Unofficially, reviewers describe a metal physical card arriving about 5–7 days after approval, and a virtual card issued once you have completed verification. If a virtual card is what you need for an immediate online purchase, that is worth confirming yourself before you apply rather than taking my word for it.
The mobile apps are a reasonable comfort. Gemini’s iOS listing on the App Store showed 4.8 out of 5 from 110K ratings when I read the US listing, requiring iPhone with iOS 17.2 or later, with Apple Watch and Apple Vision support, in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish. There is no Russian-language version listed. I did not read the Google Play listing, so I am not going to characterise its score.
What it really costs: Fees
Here is where this card lives or dies, so I will put the numbers in one table before I interpret them.

| Fee or limit | What Gemini’s materials say |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | None |
| Issuance fee | Not stated |
| Purchase APR | 16.49% to 34.49%, variable, set by creditworthiness at opening |
| Cash advance | 29.49% APR plus $10 or 3% of each advance, whichever is greater |
| Penalty rate | 33.49% |
| Foreign transaction fee | None |
| Foreign-currency conversion | Done by the card network at its own exchange rate, to a US dollar account |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not applicable — this is a credit card and rewards are paid in crypto |
| Late payment | Up to $35; first late fee up to $25 |
| Returned payment | Up to $35 |
| Card replacement | One free per 12 months, then $50 each |
| ATM withdrawal limit | Not published |
| Credit limit | Not stated on the card page |
| 4% rewards tier cap | $300 of spend per month, resetting on the 1st, then 1% |
Three everyday payments, and which fees apply to each:
- A $40 grocery shop run. No fee at all. Groceries earn 2% back in crypto, credited instantly. The only thing that could cost you money here is the interest if you do not pay the $40 off the statement in full — at the top of the range, roughly $5.50 a month in interest on a $400 balance carried for a year.
- A $300 dinner out with friends in another country. No foreign transaction fee, which is genuinely rare and genuinely valuable. The network converts the local currency to dollars at its own rate, and Gemini puts no markup on top of that. You still owe $300 plus interest if you carry it. The 3% dining rate applies.
- $200 taken out of an ATM while abroad. This is the one that hurts. A cash advance carries 29.49% APR plus $10 or 3%, whichever is greater — so $10 on a $200 withdrawal, on top of the interest accruing from the moment the money leaves the machine. Gemini does not publish an ATM limit. Cash advances are also typically treated differently from purchases for rewards purposes, which is another reason not to reach for one casually.
Let me make the arithmetic honest rather than dramatic. At the lowest published rate, 4% back on $300 of fuel and transit is $12 a month; 3% on a hypothetical $200 of dining is $6; 2% on $400 of groceries is $8; 1% on everything else. If your total eligible spend is well under $300 a month you never reach the cap, and the headline 4% is real for you. Spend of, say, $1,000 a month (an unofficial figure) means the first $300 caps at 4% and the rest falls to 1%, which turns “up to 4%” into something much smaller. Meanwhile one missed payment can cost up to $25 immediately and up to $35 after that, plus penalty-rate interest. A single late payment wipes out a year of decent spending rewards.
There is also a category of cost that does not appear on a fee table at all: credit card debt at 16.49% to 34.49% variable is expensive money. If you carry a balance, you are paying a rate most people would consider punitive to borrow at, and the rewards do not come close to offsetting it. The honest way to use this card is to pay it in full every month.
How to top it up
There is nothing to top up, and I would rather say that in one clear sentence than dress it up. This is not a prepaid card. You do not load it with Bitcoin, you do not load it with a stablecoin, and no coin or network choice applies. You spend on credit and you repay in fiat. There is no deposit fee because there is no deposit.
What replaces the top-up question is the cash advance fee, because that is the only moment you can turn the card into a source of cash rather than a spending tool: $10 or 3% of each advance, whichever is greater. And then there are the consequences of not paying: a late fee of up to $35, with the first one up to $25, and a returned payment fee of up to $35, both in the cardholder agreement dated 1 April 2026. Users have separately reported late fees landing after app glitches in July 2026 — a pattern worth knowing about if you are considering this card at all.
Withdrawal questions do not apply in the usual sense either. There is no stored balance to withdraw. Closing the account and paying off what you owe are handled in the cardholder agreement, which I did not extract into a summary here — if that is your situation, read that document rather than trusting any review, including this one.
So the “top up” for this card is: pay the statement. That is the whole mechanism.
Paying with it every day
Where this card is at its best is the boring stuff. Gemini’s support pages confirm it works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. The card page itself does not list the mobile wallets, does not publish a blocked-merchant-category list, and notes that some instant-reward exclusions apply — so a handful of purchases will not earn crypto.
The rewards structure is straightforward and, for a US credit card, competitive:
- 4% back on gas, EV charging and transit, on the first $300 of spend per month, then 1%
- 3% back on dining
- 2% back on groceries
- 1% back on everything else
- Paid instantly in Bitcoin or one of 50+ cryptocurrencies on Gemini, and you can change which coin at any time
- 10% Vault Rewards at some merchants, capped and varying by merchant
- Referrals: $50 in crypto each, $250 per five referrals, up to 50 a year
Some of this deserves a second look. “Change which coin at any time” means your reward is not in a fixed asset; it is in whatever you pick, and choosing well is now a decision you are making on every purchase. The 4% tier capping at $300 with a reset on the 1st is a real constraint that reward-comparison sites routinely skip. And the referral terms are worth reading as a schedule rather than a windfall.
The page also names Solana Edition, XRP Edition and Bitcoin Credit Card variants carrying “Same Benefits”, alongside the World Elite Mastercard. Treat the variant names as what they are: different branding of the same reward structure, not different economics.
On disputes, the cardholder agreement contains a “Billing Rights” section covering transaction disputes. I did not extract the details, and a statutory 60-day window was not confirmed in the text I read. Under US law, credit card dispute rights come from Regulation Z, with debit card rights under Regulation E — and given this is a credit card, Regulation Z is the relevant frame. If a charge goes wrong, the agreement is the document to read, not this page.
What can go wrong
I want to spend real space here, because this is where the 3 out of 10 in my table comes from. Trustpilot showed Gemini at 1.3 out of 5 from 1,513 reviews when I read it, with 212 of those reviews in the last 12 months, and Gemini having replied to 3% of negative reviews. That reply rate is itself a fact worth sitting with for a moment.
The specific user reports I found cluster into three groups:
- Accounts frozen and money held. Accounts locked after a third-party fraud email; withdrawal and account holds reported in August and September 2026 lasting up to 35 days; a January 2026 review describing a fraud freeze still unresolved after more than two months. Frozen accounts after due diligence cannot be completed are normal industry behaviour, and the US customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number — but “normal” is not the same as “fast” or “recoverable on request”.
- Support that does not reach you. Slow, email-only support; no phone line; poor phone support specifically named as a problem. When the issuer is a bank and the brand is the front end, and the front end answers by email, the gap between “I am locked out” and “someone is handling it” can be very wide.
- The card itself misbehaving. Disputes denied after card data was compromised (October 2026), repeated declines over three months (October 2026), a card closed without explanation (September 2026), the app stopping showing balance and payment history after a July payment (July 2026), and late fees charged after app glitches (July 2026). Unofficially, users also report the available credit figure updating slowly after payments, and low starting limits in the $1,000–$3,000 range.
None of these are official incident disclosures — the card materials do not publish any. They are user reports, and user reports are anecdotes, not a measured failure rate. But a pattern of the *same* stories across different months and different years is a signal worth respecting, especially when the reply rate to negative reviews is 3%.
Two structural risks deserve naming alongside them. First, control: Gemini’s card page does not state what app-based security features exist — no published 2FA, no instant freeze, no spending controls described there. Second, and more simply: this is a credit account, not crypto custody. The crypto part is the reward; your money sits in a bank credit facility. That is arguably safer than some crypto card models, and it is also why none of the key-loss and seed-phrase risks apply — but it is a different risk profile, not a risk-free one.
What to take instead
The three comparisons below come from the same review set, with scores on the same ten-point scale, so you can weigh them directly against my 4.9.
| Card | Score | The shape of it |
|---|---|---|
| Gemini | 4.9 / 10 | US credit card, rewards paid in crypto, US residents only |
| Lava | 7.1 / 10 | “No annual fees”, no FX fees and no FX spread, up to 5% back in bitcoin on every purchase, spend at 150 million merchants in 150+ countries |
| Trastra | 4.1 / 10 | Prepaid debit card accepted at Visa merchants worldwide, available in 31 listed countries, “will be available for all residents of the European Economic Area”; topped up with crypto from a Mover wallet |
| Based Visa Card | 6.9 / 10 | Visa debit, worldwide except a published exclusion list effective 1 August 2026; tiered cashback in $BASED paid monthly |
Three honest notes before you read those rows as a ranking:
- If your problem is “I cannot get an ordinary bank card”, Gemini is probably the wrong card to fix it. Every one of these alternatives is a debit or prepaid product, which is a fundamentally different and usually easier credit conversation. That framing matters more than the scores.
- Lava looks the strongest of the three on paper, with no annual fee, no FX fee, no FX spread, and bitcoin back on every purchase. But the conditions on that 5% are not stated, the card’s network and its physical/virtual form are not stated, and the eligibility page does not say who can get one. I am telling you the claims as published, not vouching for them.
- Based covers a great many countries — everywhere except a list of about 74 including the Russian Federation, Belarus, the United States, Canada, Australia, China, India, Singapore, Ukraine, Iran and Turkey, effective 1 August 2026, with availability depending on your country of residence. Its cost structure is unusual: no signup or annual fees, $50 shipping for the HYPE tier’s physical card and free for Based Gold, and an FX markup on non-USD spending of 2.5% on Based Orange, 1.5% on HYPE and 0% on Based Gold. Cashback is $BASED at the start of each month, 2% capped at $20 on HYPE and 4% capped at $100 on Gold. Deposits can be USDT, USDC, XSGD, SOL, HYPE or BASED across Solana, Arbitrum, Polygon and Hyperliquid. Two conditions to weigh heavily: the rewards are promotional and may change, and all benefits end when you begin unstaking.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to a specific person: someone living in the United States who already pays a credit card in full every month, wants their rewards in Bitcoin rather than points, spends meaningfully at gas stations, EV chargers or transit, and is comfortable that the company behind the app has a 1.3 Trustpilot rating and a 3% negative-review reply rate. For that person the no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee and instant crypto rewards add up to something better than most bank cards in that niche — 4% on fuel and transit up to $300 a month is genuinely strong if you actually drive and charge.
I would not recommend it to someone who might carry a balance, because 16.49% to 34.49% variable is not a rate to be casual about. I would not recommend it to anyone outside the United States, since no route is described. I would not recommend it to someone whose current problem is access to a basic bank card, because a credit application is a harder gate, not an easier one. And I would think twice if phone support matters to you, because there is no phone line and reviews repeatedly name that gap.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Gemini card?
It is a Mastercard World Elite credit card issued by WebBank and marketed by Gemini, open to residents of all 50 US states. It is not a prepaid card and not a crypto wallet. You spend on credit, repay in US dollars, and receive part of your spending back as Bitcoin or one of 50+ other cryptocurrencies on Gemini. Rewards arrive instantly and you can switch which coin you receive at any time.
How does the Gemini card work?
You apply through a credit application that includes a creditworthiness check, which sets both your limit and your purchase APR within the published 16.49% to 34.49% range. You then spend anywhere Mastercard is accepted, and in-app or through Gemini’s support the card works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. Rewards post instantly by spend category. Crucially, you repay the balance in fiat — crypto never funds your purchases, it only rewards them.
Do I need KYC to get the Gemini card?
It is a credit card, so a credit application with a creditworthiness check is the core gate. Gemini’s card page does not publish identity-verification tiers, processing times or rejection reasons. US customer identification rules require name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and a Social Security Number is listed as a requirement by third-party reviewers rather than in Gemini’s own published text — treat that detail as unofficial and confirm it yourself during application.
How much does the Gemini card cost?
There is no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, which are its two genuine cost advantages. Against that: purchase APR runs 16.49% to 34.49% variable depending on your creditworthiness, cash advances cost 29.49% APR plus $10 or 3% whichever is greater, penalty rate is 33.49%, late payment fees go up to $35 with the first up to $25, and a replacement card costs $50 after the first free one within 12 months. No issuance fee is stated.
What are the Gemini card rewards?
You earn 4% back on gas, EV charging and transit on the first $300 of spending per month, then 1%; 3% on dining; 2% on groceries; and 1% on everything else. There are also 10% Vault Rewards at some merchants, capped and varying. The cap resets on the 1st of each month, so heavy spenders fall back to 1% quickly. Rewards are paid instantly in Bitcoin or 50+ other coins, and the choice is changeable at any time.
Where can I use the Gemini card, and can I use it in my country?
Anywhere Mastercard is accepted, and Gemini’s support confirms it works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. On geography: Gemini’s support states residents of all 50 US states are eligible, and no other country is named on the card materials. If you are outside the US there is no described application route, so do not assume availability — if your country matters to your decision, confirm with Gemini before applying.
Is Gemini a bank, and who actually issues the card?
WebBank issues the card, and Gemini is not the lender. That distinction is worth understanding before you apply, because it shapes who sets your limit, who approves you, and who you deal with when a payment is disputed. Gemini’s corporate and licence details are not on the card page, so if the issuer relationship matters to your decision, look at the cardholder agreement itself rather than the product page.
Is the Gemini card safe?
There is no fraud-specific safety claim I can make, and I would not make one. The card is a bank credit account rather than crypto custody, which means seed-phrase and key-loss risks do not apply to your balance. But user reports on Trustpilot include frozen accounts, withdrawal holds reported up to 35 days, disputes refused after compromised card data, cards closed without explanation, and late fees after app glitches. Gemini replied to 3% of negative reviews.
Is the Gemini card worth it?
Worth it if you are a US resident who pays in full monthly and spends real money on fuel, EV charging, transit, dining or groceries — the rates are strong for a card with no annual fee. Not worth it if you might carry a balance at 16.49% to 34.49%, if you need a card outside the US, or if you need to reach a human by phone. The card’s own economics are fine; the weak spot is how the company behaves when something breaks.
How do I withdraw money or close my Gemini card?
Withdrawal does not apply the way it does on a prepaid or crypto card, because there is no stored balance to take out. The only cash route is a cash advance, which costs 29.49% APR plus $10 or 3% whichever is greater, and Gemini does not publish an ATM limit. Account closure and payoff terms are set out in the cardholder agreement, which I did not summarise here — read that document directly for the current terms.
Credit and cashback cards – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
