A closed shop with open withdrawals: what the SpectroCoin card still does for the people already inside it

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The short answer is that the SpectroCoin card is no longer something you can walk in and get. The company stopped opening new accounts, stopped accepting deposits and stopped executing exchanges and transactions on 30 June 2026, and its own help centre carries a banner saying it can no longer provide crypto-asset services in the EU/EEA. That does not kill the card for people who already hold one, but it changes the question entirely: instead of “is this card good?”, the only question left for most readers is “is my money reachable, and how do I get it out?” I score the SpectroCoin card 3.4 out of 10 overall, and that number is a judgement about the product as a proposition to a new applicant today, not about whether the plastic in your drawer still works.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

SpectroCoin works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

This matters if you were hoping for an ordinary debit card that crypto can top up. The fees on the card itself are cheap, the limits are high, and the everyday spending experience is unremarkable in the best way. If you had been told this was a good card to sign up for, that advice is out of date, and I will say so plainly rather than dress it up.

The conditions described here are current as of 20 October 2026.

Who should and should not consider the SpectroCoin card

The card suits one group: existing cardholders who want to withdraw what is left. Everyone else is looking at a closed product. That is the honest summary, and it is worth understanding why before we get into fees.

If you already hold a physical or virtual SpectroCoin card, the useful things are unchanged. The card is a Visa Debit in euros. You can load it from your SpectroCoin wallet, spend at the till and online, and take cash out at ATMs in the EEA and further afield. The load and unload operations through the wallet are free. If your plan was to move crypto to a card for spending, that machinery still exists.

If you do not hold one, there is nothing to sign up for. New clients have not been accepted since 30 June 2026. There is also no MiCA authorisation behind the crypto side: Spectro Finance OÜ is described in the company’s own documents as not authorised as a crypto-asset service provider under Regulation (EU) 2023/1114, and ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers and non-compliant entities that anyone can check. If a card depends on two licences — one for the payment side, one for the crypto side — this one has a hole in the second.

There is one more group who should think twice: anyone who values predictability. The Trustpilot score for spectrocoin.com is 2.3 out of 5 across 1,996 reviews, and the complaint themes in recent months cluster around accounts being blocked, crypto payments being held or not refunded, and slow or automated support. That is a track record, not a rule, but it is the environment a new user would be entering.

Here is the score card in full, with my reasoning for each line.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 Closed: new clients not accepted since 30 June 2026, crypto services in the EU/EEA stopped
Cost 6 / 10 Physical €5, virtual €1, €1 monthly; wallet loading free, EEA EUR ATM €1, international 2% (min €2); unofficial reports of 4–5% fees when topping up
Top-up options 5 / 10 Card funded in EUR from a virtual-currency exchange in the SpectroCoin wallet; coins and networks not named
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Issuer is UAB Pervesk (EMI licence No 17, Bank of Lithuania); Spectro Finance OÜ has no MiCA authorisation, EU/EEA crypto services stopped; Trustpilot 2.3 of 5 from 1,996 reviews
Everyday use 6 / 10 Visa Debit in EUR, virtual and physical, ATMs available; Apple Pay and Google Pay not mentioned
Total 3.4 / 10 Weighted across the five criteria above

The total is not an average of the five marks. It is a weighted figure, and the two lowest lines — who can get it, and reliability — pull it down hardest. A card that nobody can obtain cannot be a good recommendation, however well it performs once you have it.

Alternatives at a glance

If your reason for looking at SpectroCoin was “crypto to a card I can spend anywhere”, these are the cards I would look at instead. The scores come from the same exercise I ran on SpectroCoin.

Alternative Score Card Funding Cost and fees as stated
Stella 6.5 / 10 Virtual and physical VISA, works at over 40 million VISA merchants Deposit crypto into a custodial in-app wallet, which tops up the card automatically Not stated; fees described in the User Agreement and app
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa, online and in stores; virtual or physical not stated Spends from a Whop balance, backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet “No extra fees”; no issuance or monthly amounts listed. 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber
UniFi Card 4.7 / 10 Prepaid Debit Visa, issued by Lead Bank, USD; Apple Pay supported ACH, wire, SEPA or SPEI; get paid to a USDC wallet Not stated (“fees may apply”)

Who gets the SpectroCoin card

Nobody new. That is the answer, and it is not a technicality.

The card’s own page points to the EEA: the fee tables distinguish “EEA” from “outside EEA”, which tells you the structure of the pricing but not who qualifies. There is no country list on the page. The page does state that it is not intended for US residents. And then there is the closure: since 30 June 2026 new clients are not accepted, deposits and exchanges have stopped, and the group’s crypto-asset services in the EU/EEA have been shut down.

So the “who can get it” question, which is usually a list of countries, has been replaced by “who already has it”. If you are reading this wondering whether you can open an account in your country, the answer is that the card is not onboarding anyone, so the question of your country has stopped being relevant.

Worth knowing how the rest of the industry is framed, because it explains why this matters. KYC rules under EU anti-money-laundering law cover name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often follow citizenship and country of birth as well as address. SpectroCoin’s page does not say which documents it requires or how its verification levels are tiered — that is not stated on its public pages. What it does say is that the card must be verified and activated before use.

How to get the card

You cannot, unless you are already inside. For an existing holder, the card details are these.

The product is a Visa Debit denominated in euros, offered in physical and virtual form. A free personal IBAN account is offered alongside it. No cash advances are available, which means the ATM function works as a debit withdrawal against the loaded balance rather than as a credit line.

Delivery terms, for reference if you have a replacement coming:

Countries served for delivery are not listed. There is a single tier, with physical and virtual as variants rather than as separate products.

What the SpectroCoin card really costs in Fees and charges

The card is cheap to hold and cheap to spend in euros. The expensive parts are the ATM abroad, spending in other currencies, and — according to users, not the card — loading it.

First the official numbers, then three ordinary payments walked through, because a fee table alone does not tell you what a Tuesday costs you.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a SpectroCoin payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Amount
Physical card €5
Virtual card €1
Monthly service charge €1
Replacement €15
Renewal €6
Load / unload via SpectroCoin Wallet Free
Currency exchange fee (non-EUR) Free
POS purchase, EEA, EUR Free
POS purchase, EEA, non-EUR 0.5%
POS purchase, international (outside EEA, non-EUR) 1%
ATM, EEA, EUR €1 (1% fee in Lithuania)
ATM, EEA, non-EUR 1% (min €1)
ATM, international 2% (min €2)
Balance inquiry €0.50
Chargeback / dispute fee €25
Daily POS and online limit €25,000
Daily ATM limit €2,500
Minimum load €1
Load limit €25,000
Cards per person Max 2 physical, 10 virtual

Now, three everyday payments:

Coffee in an Amsterdam café, paying in euros. You loaded the balance from your wallet for free, you are inside the EEA, and the amount is in euros. That purchase costs you nothing beyond whatever you already paid to acquire the crypto. This is the case the card handles best, and it is why I still give it 6 out of 10 for everyday use.

A hotel booked online in Prague, priced in Czech koruna but billed to your euro card. This is a non-EUR purchase inside the EEA, so it carries 0.5%. The currency exchange fee line is listed as free, so the visible cost is that half percent and nothing else in the published table. It is still a real cost on a large booking, and worth checking against your bank’s own foreign-purchase fee before assuming this card is the cheaper side.

Withdrawing cash in a non-EEA country — say a week in Morocco, converted to local currency. This is the worst case in the table: 2% with a €2 minimum on the ATM side, and the ATM daily limit is €2,500 rather than the €25,000 you can spend in shops. Add the 1% international non-EUR purchase fee if you pay by card instead, and the 0.5% that applies to foreign currency even inside the EEA. Cash abroad is where this card quietly costs you the most.

Then the number that does not come from the card’s own pages. Reviews carry unofficial reports of 4–5% fees and card failures when topping up the card, clustered around February to April 2026. I have not been able to confirm that on the official material, and the fee table above does not show it, so treat it as user report rather than established pricing — but it is the kind of gap between the published table and reported experience that you should ask about before loading a large balance.

One more thing the card does not say. Multi-currency balances are not stated; the card is in euros, and how non-euro holdings are handled is simply not described.

How to Top up the SpectroCoin card

In euros, from an exchange of virtual currency inside the SpectroCoin wallet. Which coins and which networks are not stated on the card page, and that is a bigger gap than it looks.

The mechanics, such as they are documented:

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up SpectroCoin starts with a transfer to the right network

That last item and the missing coin-and-network list are the two places a careful user will get hurt. The general category explains why. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or sent to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee attached. The fee for the underlying on-chain transfer — gas or bandwidth — is charged by the blockchain, not by the card company, and it is paid in that network’s own token. ERC-20 transfers on Ethereum cost gas paid only in ETH, which means a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send at all. Tron prices its fees through bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX. These are the mechanics behind the general warning, not something specific to SpectroCoin.

The withdrawal direction matters just as much. Unloading back to the SpectroCoin wallet is free, client funds are held in a segregated account, and the help-centre banner asks users to withdraw their assets — though no deadline or procedure is given on the page. If you are an existing holder, that banner is the single most important thing on this page, and the section on risks picks it up.

Paying with the card day to day

Unremarkable, which is what you want from a payment card. Visa Debit, euros, physical or virtual, ATMs available.

The daily ceilings are generous for ordinary life: €25,000 for point-of-sale and online payments, €2,500 for ATM withdrawals. Cash advances are not available. The personal IBAN account is offered free, which is useful if you need a euro account rather than just a way to pay.

What the card’s pages do not mention, and what you should therefore assume nothing about:

Two more things that bite in practice. Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines on foreign addresses. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven.

What can go wrong

Funds being held and accounts being blocked. That is the top risk, and it is not hypothetical — it is the dominant theme in the reviews and it is the reason the company stopped onboarding.

Starting with the official statements. The help-centre banner reads: “Spectro Finance OÜ can no longer provide crypto-asset services in the EU/EEA — please withdraw your assets.” That banner is undated on the page itself, though the linked article’s slug carries 10 September 2026. A footer notice dated 30 June 2026 records that onboarding, deposits and exchanges have stopped. That is the shape of a wind-down: first stop selling, then ask people to leave.

The corporate structure matters for anyone assessing where their money sits:

Client funds are held in a segregated account. That is the required safeguard, and it is also where the misunderstanding comes from: e-money funds must be safeguarded by segregation or insurance, but they are not the same as bank deposits and are not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. So “your money is segregated” and “your money is insured” are two different statements, and only the first one is true here.

Then the user-reported picture. Trustpilot for spectrocoin.com, read on 21 October 2026, shows 2.3 out of 5 described as “Poor” from 1,996 reviews, 33 of them in the last twelve months, split 76% five-star and 16% one-star. That split is unusual and worth pausing on: it suggests a large satisfied cohort — almost certainly the people who used the card years ago — and a sharp tail of recent disaster. The themes by period:

Support consists of Live Chat for lost or stolen cards, email for existing clients, and a Help Centre at help.spectrocoin.com. Languages and hours are not stated. Whether 2FA and instant card freeze are available is also not stated.

And the category-level caution that applies here more than most: crypto card programmes do close. Visa and Mastercard do not issue these cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. The pattern is usually a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. If you are holding a balance, treat the withdrawal banner as the operative instruction rather than as background information.

What to take instead

If your reason for considering SpectroCoin was a crypto-funded card you can spend anywhere, the alternatives score better on the same exercise, and I would look at them first. None of them is a clean choice either — the category is young and the fee disclosure is patchy across the board — but you can compare them.

Stella, 6.5 out of 10. Virtual and physical VISA, stated as working at over 40 million VISA merchants globally. Funding is straightforward: deposit crypto into the account and the card is topped up automatically from an in-app custodial wallet. Countries are not stated on the official site; the terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates. Fees are described under the User Agreement and app rather than published as amounts. No cashback is stated on the card page — the Earn product is a separate yield feature.

Whop Cards, 5.2 out of 10. Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores; virtual or physical is not stated, and cards can also be issued to team members. It spends from a Whop balance, with a pending balance usable as soon as a payment arrives and standard withdrawals using settled funds; the balance is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet. The page says “no extra fees” but lists no issuance or monthly amounts, which I read as a claim rather than a schedule. There is 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned; payout currency and conditions are not stated. Eligibility is the most detailed of the three: 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses, with a named list of unsupported consumer countries.

UniFi Card, 4.7 out of 10. A prepaid Debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, spending from a USD balance, with Apple Pay support in the app. You fund it by ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE), or get paid to a USDC wallet. Fees are not stated beyond “fees may apply”. A listing claims 3% rewards on balances, but card cashback is not stated, and eligibility is not confirmed from official pages.

A comparison table, because the differences matter more than the scores:

SpectroCoin Stella Whop Cards UniFi Card
New customers Closed since 30 June 2026 Open Open Open
Card Visa Debit, EUR VISA, virtual and physical Visa Prepaid Debit Visa, USD
Funding Exchange in SpectroCoin wallet to EUR Crypto deposit tops up card Whop balance, stablecoin-backed ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI, USDC
Cashback stated Not stated Not stated 5% at select merchants 3% on balances claimed
Issuer or entity UAB Pervesk, EMI licence No 17 Not stated Not stated Lead Bank

Before you commit to any of them, the checks I would run: whether the provider appears on ESMA’s register of authorised crypto-asset service providers or on the list of non-compliant entities; whether the fee schedule is published as numbers rather than described in an agreement; whether funds are described as segregated and whether anyone claims deposit insurance for them; and whether withdrawals are stated to be free. SpectroCoin passes none of the first three and, on the fourth, passes only because it has stopped taking deposits.

Who I would recommend it to

Existing holders with a balance, and nobody else. For them the recommendation is narrow and practical: withdraw what you can, unload to the wallet free of charge while that function runs, and do it sooner rather than later, because the closure notices are dated and the help-centre banner asks for it in plain words. If you are waiting on a replacement card, the €15 fee and the delivery options above tell you what to expect, but weigh that against how much balance you actually intend to keep on the card.

For anyone without a card: I would not start here. Not because the fees are high — they are among the better published tables in this category — but because you cannot open an account, the crypto side has no MiCA authorisation, and the recent record is dominated by held funds and blocked accounts. If a SpectroCoin card is on your list because you want crypto to be usable at an ordinary shop, look at the alternatives above and check ESMA’s register first.

And if you are in the group this page was written for — someone who has had trouble getting an ordinary bank card — then the hard truth is that this particular door has closed, and it closed for reasons that have nothing to do with you. That is worth knowing before you spend more time on it.

Frequently asked questions

What is SpectroCoin card?

The SpectroCoin card is a Visa Debit card denominated in euros, offered in physical and virtual form, that spends a balance you load from the SpectroCoin wallet by exchanging virtual currency. It comes with a free personal IBAN account and allows no cash advances. The card is issued by UAB “Pervesk”, an electronic money institution licensed by the Bank of Lithuania, while Spectro Finance operates the front-end and wallet. It now exists mainly for people who already hold one.

How does the SpectroCoin card work?

You exchange virtual currency inside the SpectroCoin wallet, and the euros that come out of that exchange load the card. From then on it behaves like a prepaid debit card: it draws on that stored balance and cannot overdraw it. Loading and unloading through the wallet are free. The daily spending limit is €25,000 in stores and online, and the daily ATM limit is €2,500. Non-euro spending costs 0.5% inside the EEA and 1% outside it.

Is SpectroCoin a bank?

No. The card issuer is an electronic money institution, UAB “Pervesk”, holding electronic money institution licence No. 17 from the Bank of Lithuania, dated 06-11-2017. An e-money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and wallets but cannot lend. Client funds sit in a segregated account and are not covered by the Lithuanian Deposit Insurance System, so they are safeguarded but not insured like a bank deposit.

Who owns SpectroCoin?

The group is built around Spectro Finance OÜ (Estonian code 14608294), together with Spectro Finance Limited in the British Virgin Islands (code 2022454) and Spectro Finance Systems Inc. in Panama (code 155770356). Spectro Finance OÜ is described in company materials as not authorised as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA, Regulation (EU) 2023/1114. The payment card itself is issued by the separate Lithuanian entity, UAB “Pervesk”.

Can I apply for a SpectroCoin card?

Not at the moment. On 30 June 2026 the company stopped onboarding new clients, stopped accepting deposits and stopped executing exchanges and transactions. A footer notice and a help-centre banner record the change, the latter asking users to withdraw their assets. The card page also states it is not intended for US residents, and it does not publish a country-by-country eligibility list.

Does the SpectroCoin card require KYC?

Yes, the card must be verified and activated before use, and EU anti-money-laundering rules require customer due diligence covering identity documents, a sanctions check and politically exposed person screening. The card’s own pages do not list which documents are needed or how verification levels are tiered. US requirements differ, covering name, date of birth, address and an identification number. If you do not hold a card, none of this is relevant right now.

How do I top up the SpectroCoin card?

You exchange virtual currency in the SpectroCoin wallet and the resulting euros load the card. Loading and unloading through the wallet are free, the minimum load is €1 and the load limit is €25,000. A local or foreign payment receipt costs €10. The card page does not list which coins or which networks are supported, and does not say who pays the underlying network fee, so check both before sending anything.

What does it cost to use the card?

A physical card is €5 and a virtual one €1, with a €1 monthly service charge, €15 for a replacement and €6 for renewal. Spending in euros inside the EEA is free, non-euro spending inside the EEA is 0.5% and outside the EEA 1%. ATMs cost €1 in the EEA for euros, 1% with a €1 minimum for other currencies, and 2% with a €2 minimum internationally. Reviews carry unofficial reports of 4–5% fees when topping up.

Is SpectroCoin card safe?

Your funds are held in a segregated account, but they are not covered by deposit insurance, and the crypto side is custodial, which means the provider holds the credentials. Read that against the record: Trustpilot shows 2.3 out of 5 from 1,996 reviews, with recent themes of held or unrefunded crypto payments and blocked accounts. Visa and Mastercard do not issue these cards themselves, and comparable programmes have been wound down before. I would treat existing balances as something to withdraw.

Is SpectroCoin card worth it?

For a new applicant, no: it is closed to new customers and the crypto side lacks MiCA authorisation. For an existing holder spending euros inside the EEA, the published fees are among the cheapest in this category, with free euro purchases and free wallet loading. But that advantage is only worth holding while the withdrawal function works, and the company’s own notice asks users to withdraw their assets. Check ESMA’s register and the current notices before you move any balance.

Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team