A virtual, plastic and metal card range with an open fee schedule and no named issuer
I’ve read the NEXA card’s own pages, its FAQ, its terms and conditions, and a couple of third-party write-ups, and this is what I found. Short version: NEXA is a crypto-funded prepaid card range in three tiers — a virtual card, a plastic card and a metal card — aimed squarely at people who cannot get, or would rather not use, an ordinary bank card. It markets itself across “190+ countries” with acceptance at “over 33 million merchant locations” and no published list of restricted countries. The cost side is where it gets thin. The card’s public pages show an unusually large upfront fee, three different displayed totals that don’t match their own line items, and a fee-schedule link that is a placeholder with no numbers behind it. No issuer is named anywhere on the site, and the company information that is published reads like comparison-site boilerplate rather than card terms. That combination puts it at 4.7 out of 10 — not a scam on the evidence I saw, but not something I’d tell a friend to load several thousand dollars into on the strength of its own website.
Everything below is current as of October 28, 2026.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8/10 | “190+ countries” for sending money, accepted at 33 million locations, no restricted-country list published |
| Cost | 1/10 | Silver: $49.95 enrollment, $3.99 monthly, $5.95 activation, displayed total $114.93; Black $133.85, Platinum $281.85; the fee table is not published |
| Top-up options | 6/10 | Cash, wire, transfer or cryptocurrency through the dashboard; coins not named on the official pages |
| Reliability and complaints | 3/10 | No issuer named; the site advertises a token presale; a third-party rating site scores the Silver card 3.2/10 |
| Everyday use | 6/10 | Virtual, plastic and metal tiers; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not confirmed; the ATM is mentioned with no terms |
| Total | 4.7/10 | Strong reach and a clear tier structure, held down by disclosed-but-unpublished costs and thin company information |
Who this suits: someone who already holds crypto and needs a card number that works online, without a bank account in their name. Who it doesn’t: anyone whose main worry is what a payment costs, because you cannot answer that question from what NEXA publishes; and anyone who needs to know who is legally responsible for their money, because that name is not on the site.
Will they give you the card
They will try to give it to almost anyone. The card’s own materials say “190+ countries” for sending money and acceptance at “over 33 million merchant locations”, and there is no eligibility list and no list of restricted countries published anywhere on the pages I read. For the reader in the general case — wherever you live, whatever your citizenship — that is the single most appealing thing about NEXA: the coverage claim is very wide and, notably, unbounded at the edges. No restricted-country list also means no published answer to “is my country excluded?” You are left reading the absence of a rule as a green light, which is not quite the same thing.
The cards themselves are reloadable stored-value cards, which is the format that matters for understanding everything else. There are three: Nexa Silver, which is virtual; Nexa Black, which is plastic; and Nexa Platinum, which is metal. The FAQ names Visa and Mastercard as the networks. Which network sits behind which tier is not stated, and neither is the currency of the card.
A stored-value card draws on a balance you have already put there, unlike a debit card that asks a bank to pull funds from a linked account at the moment of purchase. So the card cannot overdraw, and the questions that decide whether it works for you are “what does loading it cost” and “what does spending it cost” — both of which I cover below.
How to get it
The homepage says “NO Bank Account Required” and no credit check. The KYC level is not stated — the card’s public pages do not describe what verification it does or does not do, and I could not find a published identity standard anywhere on them. That silence is worth sitting with, because every regulated card programme has one; the absence of a description is not evidence of a light regime.
One third-party site (cryptocards.so, as of October 2026) reports that email, a phone number and an identity document are required, and that proof of address and a selfie are not. That is unofficial and unconfirmed by the card, so treat it as a starting point for what to expect, not as the rule. If you have to hand over an identity document, that is a normal thing to be asked for by a card issuer, and it is also the moment to check what the issuer’s name on the form actually says.
Delivery depends on the tier, and this is one of the clearest things the card publishes:
- Nexa Silver (virtual): card number within 24 hours
- Nexa Black (plastic): up to 5 business days
- Nexa Platinum (metal): up to 7 business days
- Replacement: contact support; the cost is not stated
If the card is lost or stolen, you block it through support rather than through a toggle in an app. The FAQ refers to a mobile app and an online dashboard at dashboard.nexacards.com, and store ratings for the app are not something I read.
Fees: what it really costs
Here is the part that should make you pause before loading anything. NEXA publishes a large upfront price for each tier, and then publishes a “total” that does not equal its own line items. The page does not explain the difference.

| Tier | Type | Enrollment | Monthly hosting | Activation | Displayed total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nexa Silver | Virtual | $49.95 | $3.99 | $5.95 | $114.93 |
| Nexa Black | Plastic | $99.95 | $11.95 | $10.00 | $133.85 |
| Nexa Platinum | Metal | $99.95 | $11.95 | $10.00 | $281.85 |
Black and Platinum are labelled “Pre-Paid Annually”. So you are committing to a year’s fee in advance, and the figure the site shows as your total does not reconcile with the items above it. I am not going to guess which number is the real one — the honest answer is that the page doesn’t say, and that ambiguity is the finding. You would need NEXA to tell you in writing what you pay on day one and what you pay at renewal, before you pay anything.
Beyond that, the FAQ says fees may apply to ATM withdrawals, international transactions and card replacement — and then the fee-schedule link on the page is a placeholder with no values behind it. So the three fees most likely to bite a cardholder are exactly the three that are not priced. The ATM is mentioned only as a fee-bearing transaction, with no allowance attached: how many withdrawals, for how much, is not stated. A third-party site lists ATM, foreign-exchange, top-up and decline fees as free, while the same page calls the fee schedule opaque — which is not a contradiction so much as two statements that pull in opposite directions, and neither is the card speaking.
Limits are published for physical cards: “Max load amount is $150,000 U.S. Dollars or equivalent in cryptocurrency”. Virtual loading is described as unlimited. The FAQ adds that load limits depend on account type. Currency is stated as USD, in the form of that $150,000 figure; other currencies are not named.
Three everyday payments, walked through:
- A coffee payment abroad. The conversion from your crypto balance to the local currency happens at some point between your top-up and the sale, and the rate applied to it is not disclosed. Any foreign-exchange fee on top of it is not disclosed either. This is the most common payment anyone makes with a travel card, and it is the one NEXA prices least clearly.
- An online subscription payment. If the merchant accepts prepaid cards, the payment itself should proceed. What you have not been shown is whether the merchant’s category is one the issuer declines, or whether the address you type will match — for foreign-issued cards, address verification is generally unavailable outside the US, Canada and the UK, which is a common cause of declines on prepaid and foreign-issued cards.
- A cash withdrawal. You know a fee may apply and you have no idea what it is. There is no allowance stated, so you cannot tell whether your bank’s or ATM operator’s fee is the only cost, or whether there’s a NEXA charge on top.
None of that means the card is expensive. It means the card does not tell you, and the difference between “expensive” and “unknown” matters enormously when it is your money on the line.
Top up: how to get money onto it
The funding story is simple and genuinely broad. The card’s pages say you can fund by cash, wire, transfer or cryptocurrency through the dashboard at dashboard.nexacards.com. That covers the two routes most people in the general case need: a bank transfer from somewhere, or holding crypto and converting it.

What is missing is the part that decides whether it works. No coins are named on the official pages, and the FAQ leaves the coin count as a placeholder. The deposit fee and the minimum deposit are not stated. The only withdrawal term mentioned is “instant transfers”, with no conditions given.
A third-party source (cryptocards.so, October 2026) shows BTC, ETH and BNB icons and claims “over 65 different cryptocurrencies”. Unofficial, and not confirmed by the card. I’d treat the coin list as the first thing to get in writing before you send anything, because the network question is not cosmetic:
- USDC is the best-documented option in the category. Circle lists it as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar, and says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents with monthly reserve attestations.
- USDT is issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche, and Tether describes reserves intended to back it 1-to-1.
- Chain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. This is the single most expensive beginner mistake in this category, and it costs real money to make.
- Sending ERC-20 tokens needs ETH in the wallet for gas; a wallet holding USDT and nothing else cannot send. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy and often burn TRX.
- Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. Compare with a Cardex wallet list, which names USDT, USDC and BTC but no networks at all — nobody is publishing this clearly.
Cash as a funding route is listed, which matters for readers without a bank account, but the card does not describe where or how the cash top-up happens. That’s a question to ask rather than an answer to read.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is where NEXA is most ordinary, and that’s a compliment of a sort. Three physical formats — no card at all, a plastic card, a metal card — mean you can pick what fits. The metal card is a different proposition from the virtual one rather than a better version of the same thing, and the price table shows it: Platinum’s displayed total is $281.85 against Silver’s $114.93.
Two things you use daily are not confirmed. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned on the official pages at all. One third-party source is internally inconsistent on this: its card details say Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, its cons list says they are not. So the honest position is that neither wallet is confirmed by NEXA, and you should assume you will be typing a card number into a website rather than tapping a phone. That is a materially worse experience at a checkout, and for a card whose whole proposition is being the easy option, it’s a real gap.
If a wallet does work, the mechanism matters. Apple Pay replaces your card number with a device-specific number held in the phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and every payment uses a one-time dynamic code. The issuer can restrict that number — blocking it on phone use, say, or on magnetic-stripe payments.
Three things NEXA does not describe: what rewards, if any, exist; how a disputed transaction is handled; and what protections you have if a charge goes wrong. On that last one, know the category baseline before you assume anything. A chargeback is a refund the issuer orders to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. US reversal rights come from Regulation E for debit cards and Regulation Z for credit cards, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from the merchant to your bank, or to you. Gambling is its own category: MCC 7995 covers casinos, betting and lotteries, and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law — but NEXA doesn’t say whether it does.
What can go wrong
This is the section where NEXA is thinnest, and it’s worth being blunt. I found no confirmed official incidents. What I did find is a pattern of gaps that together add up to risk.
The issuer is not named. Not on the card pages, not in the footer, not in the FAQ. And a card cannot exist without an issuer: Visa and Mastercard don’t issue crypto cards to consumers themselves, they license issuers and can suspend a programme. When Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. That is the mechanism by which programmes end — the network acts, the issuer responds, users are told to withdraw. You cannot tell whether that lever could be pulled on NEXA, or by whom, because the name isn’t there.
The company information doesn’t read like card terms. The footer says “Powered by NEXA”, © 2023, with no issuer named. The Terms & Conditions page names “Natural Intelligence Ltd.” as site operator, states that NEXA is “not a lending institution, insurance provider, or other Partner”, and gives governing law as Israel with the courts of Tel Aviv-Jaffa. That combination — a disclaimer of that shape, a Hong Kong-style governing-law clause, a Tel Aviv court — reads like text copied from a comparison page rather than from a card issuer’s own terms. A third-party site names “Nexa Cards Solutions Ltd”. Three different identities, none confirmed by the card.
The site sells a token. presale.nexacards.com is promoted on the card’s own site, and I found no dated licence or issuer news to set against it. A card company’s homepage advertising a token presale is not automatically wrong — plenty of legitimate projects do it — but it means part of the site’s incentive is in the token’s price rather than in your card working well, and it tells you where to be careful about trusting marketing on this domain.
Complaints are muddled, not absent. A third-party card-rating site scores the Silver card 3.2/10 as of October 2026, citing opaque fees and high upfront fees. There is a Trustpilot page for a similarly named domain, showing reports of frozen funds and a company reply about sanctions screening — but that is a different domain, not confirmed as the same operator, so I am not attributing it to NEXA. No Trustpilot page is confirmed for the site. What that absence and near-miss together suggest is that anyone who wants to warn you about this card is, at this moment, writing about a domain that may not be the one you’d sign up on.
Your money sits with somebody. Any crypto card funded from a crypto balance is custodial to some degree: crypto is converted and loaded as a stored balance. Custodial platforms have a real record of failure — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). The FAQ cites encryption, secure payment processing and fraud protection, and you can block a lost card through support; custody and safeguarding are not stated. In the EU an electronic money institution must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, but such funds are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. A declined payment can also leave a hold that stays for several days, typically up to seven.
Support hours don’t match. The phone number is +1 (877) 770-0550, listed 9 AM–9 PM Monday–Friday, while the hero text claims 24/7. Email is [email protected]. If you need to reach someone about a frozen balance, those two hours are what matter.
And the regulatory picture in the background: MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023, with its stablecoin rules applying from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. E-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. Transitional arrangements for providers already operating under national law run until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. A card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, which means a crypto card often depends on two licences. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers and white papers, and checking it is a reasonable ten minutes of your time.
What to take instead
If the reason you are here is that ordinary bank cards are hard to get, these are the same-category options I looked at, with the same question applied to each: what does it cost, and who is behind it?
Cardex — 5.6/10. Claims “One crypto card, 200+ countries” with no country list or exclusions, though its App Store listing is Naira-focused and pays in Naira. A debit crypto card on the networks VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay, virtual and physical, issued currency Naira. Cost is not stated. Fees: real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment, with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one — and no fee percentage published either. Funds from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated.
TakeCard — 5.5/10. The most transparent pricing of the three. Virtual card USD 5; physical card (Bolivia) USD 20 issuance plus USD 20 shipping — though another article in the same help centre says USD 10 for physical in Bolivia, so the site’s own figures conflict. No monthly fee. Fees are stated and simple: 1% commission per purchase, USD payments 1:1 with no currency adjustment, other currencies at the official Visa rate of the transaction day. Virtual card available immediately, physical only to Bolivian users for now. Issued in the United States, Visa network, prepaid, card currency USD. Help articles don’t list countries; a Takenos page says the wallet can receive payments from any country.
OkiCard — 6.0/10. “150+ countries” on some pages, “200+” on others; “no geo-blocking based on your passport”, with users confirming they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. Virtual card, with a physical card mentioned without details; currency USD/EUR pegged. Pricing page: issuance $0, monthly $0, starting price $15 for the virtual card — while the FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee, so the pages disagree. Initial deposit 100 USDT. Fees: 3% load fee, 0% transaction fee in USD, “no hidden exchange spreads”; FX fee not stated. Funding from USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana; USDC “soon”; BTC and altcoins “coming soon”.
| NEXA | Cardex | TakeCard | OkiCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 4.7/10 | 5.6/10 | 5.5/10 | 6.0/10 |
| Coverage claimed | 190+ countries | 200+ countries | Not listed; physical Bolivia only | 150–200+ countries |
| Entry price | $49.95 (Silver) | Not stated | USD 5 virtual / USD 20 physical | $15 virtual |
| Monthly fee | $3.99 (Silver) | Not stated | None stated | $0 |
| Purchase fee | Not published | Conversion at payment, % not stated | 1% per purchase | 0% in USD |
| Load fee | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 3% |
| Coins named | None officially | USDT, USDC, BTC | None in article | USDT (USDC “soon”) |
The comparison is unflattering to NEXA on the only axis that matters most for this category: it is the only one of the four that doesn’t publish a purchase fee. TakeCard tells you it’s 1%. OkiCard tells you it’s 3% to load and 0% to spend. Cardex at least tells you the conversion happens at the moment of payment. NEXA tells you fees “may apply” and links to nothing.
Who I would recommend it to
I’d recommend NEXA to a narrow group, and only with two conditions attached. The group is people who already hold a crypto balance they want to spend as card payments, who have no usable bank card, and who treat the card as a convenience rather than as infrastructure. For them, a virtual card number within 24 hours, three formats, and cash/wire/crypto funding across a claimed 190+ countries is a real, useful answer to a real problem.
The conditions. First, get the fee schedule in writing before you load anything: the per-payment fee, the foreign-exchange fee, the ATM fee and allowance, the replacement fee, the renewal price, and what happens to the displayed total that doesn’t reconcile. If NEXA won’t put those in writing, that answer is itself the decision. Second, load the minimum you’d need for a week, not the amount you were planning to move. Then test a withdrawal and a small online payment before you rely on it, and check that the issuer named on your paperwork is a company you can find, because the website won’t name one for you.
What I would not do: hold a large balance here long-term, treat it as a place to park money, or take the free-fee claims from third-party listings as fact when the card’s own page calls its schedule opaque. And if the reason you need a crypto card is that banks have declined you, keep looking alongside it — Cardex, TakeCard and OkiCard each publish something concrete about costs, and a card you can price is worth more than a card that promises reach.
Frequently asked questions
What is the NEXA card?
NEXA is a crypto-funded payment card in three tiers: Nexa Silver, a virtual card; Nexa Black, plastic; and Nexa Platinum, metal. They are reloadable stored-value cards, so you load a balance and spend it. The FAQ names Visa and Mastercard as the networks, but which network backs each tier, and the card currency, are not stated. The card presents itself as usable without a bank account.
Does NEXA require KYC?
The card’s public pages do not describe its verification requirements, and the KYC level is not stated. The homepage says no bank account is required and no credit check is run. A third-party site (cryptocards.so, October 2026) reports that email, phone and an identity document are required while proof of address and a selfie are not — unofficial, and not confirmed by the card. Expect to be asked for identity documents, and check the issuer’s name on the form.
Is NEXA a bank, and who owns it?
No issuer is named on the card’s pages or FAQ, which is unusual — a card cannot exist without one. The footer reads “Powered by NEXA” with © 2023. The Terms & Conditions page names “Natural Intelligence Ltd.” as site operator and gives Israeli governing law, but its wording reads like comparison-site boilerplate rather than card terms. A third-party site names “Nexa Cards Solutions Ltd”. None of these is confirmed by the card.
Is the NEXA card free?
No. Nexa Silver is listed at $49.95 enrollment, $3.99 monthly hosting and $5.95 activation, with a displayed total of $114.93 — a total that does not equal its own line items. Black shows $133.85 and Platinum $281.85, both labelled pre-paid annually. Separately, the FAQ says fees may apply to ATM withdrawals, international transactions and card replacement, and the fee-schedule link is a placeholder with no values.
How do I top up the NEXA card?
The card says you can fund by cash, wire, transfer or cryptocurrency through the dashboard at dashboard.nexacards.com. No coins are named on the official pages, and the deposit fee and minimum are not stated. A third-party source shows BTC, ETH and BNB icons and claims over 65 cryptocurrencies, but that is unofficial. Get the supported list and networks in writing before sending, because transfers on an unsupported network can be lost.
Can I add the NEXA card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Neither is confirmed. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned on NEXA’s official pages at all, and the one third-party source that covers them contradicts itself — its card details say they are supported, its cons list says they are not. Plan on typing a card number into a checkout rather than tapping a phone. If it does work, the phone holds a device-specific number and each payment uses a one-time code.
How much can I load onto a NEXA card?
For physical cards the stated maximum load is “$150,000 U.S. Dollars or equivalent in cryptocurrency”. Virtual loading is described as unlimited, and the FAQ adds that limits depend on account type. Currency is stated as USD. What none of that includes is the fees: the ATM is mentioned only as a chargeable transaction, with no allowance, and no withdrawal conditions are given beyond the phrase “instant transfers”.
Is the NEXA card safe to use?
There is no published incident I could confirm, but the safety question runs through the unnamed issuer. The FAQ cites encryption, secure payment processing and fraud protection, and a lost card can be blocked via support; custody and safeguarding are not stated. Support is listed 9 AM–9 PM Monday–Friday at +1 (877) 770-0550 while the hero text claims 24/7. Treat it as a card for small, convenient spending rather than a place to hold money.
What can I do if NEXA freezes my account?
Expect it to be possible — sanctions screening is routine, and frozen funds are a known complaint pattern in this category — and the card’s own support channel is where you would find out. The phone line runs 9 AM–9 PM on weekdays, or use [email protected]. Don’t send support an address, seed phrase or full card number, and don’t pay anyone offering to “unfreeze” a card for a fee.
Is a NEXA card worth it?
Worth it if you already hold crypto, cannot get a normal bank card, and will treat it as a convenience with small balances. Not worth it if you need to know what a payment costs, because the fee schedule is a placeholder and three tier totals don’t reconcile with their own line items. On disclosure, TakeCard publishes a 1% purchase fee and OkiCard publishes 3% to load and 0% to spend; NEXA publishes neither. I’d load a week’s worth first, not a month’s.
Virtual cards for online use – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
