The Nexo card, six months after MiCA — what still works, what costs more than it looks, and who should bother
The Nexo card is a Mastercard debit product that spends from a Nexo account balance, converts crypto at the moment of payment and works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. It charges no monthly or annual fee, and its weekday FX inside the EEA, the UK and Switzerland is low. The trade-offs are real and worth spelling out before you apply: the physical card is gated behind a five-figure balance, a public country list is not on the card page, a 0.75% crypto-to-fiat spread is widely reported but not printed in the fee table, and the company behind the card has spent 2025 and 2026 reshuffling its licences around MiCA.
I went through Nexo’s card pages, the company’s own news, the Bank of Lithuania register for the issuer, third-party trackers and user reports. Below is what I found, what is still unclear, and how the card stacks up against three alternatives at a similar price point.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Score: 6.3 / 10.
The Nexo card earns its keep if you live in an eligible European country, already hold a meaningful crypto balance on Nexo, and want a way to spend that balance at a shop or an ATM without manually converting first. It is not the cheapest crypto card on the market, but it is one of the few that combines zero recurring fees, a working Apple Pay/Google Pay tokenisation, a transparent weekday FX, and a clear upgrade path to a higher cashback rate for users who keep more than $5,000 in the account. If you only need a card for occasional spending, the physical-card minimum balance will feel like a wall; if you need it for a large monthly spend, the absence of published daily and monthly limits is uncomfortable.

The score breaks down across six criteria below. The marks and the totals follow the card’s official data and independent trackers, with a short reason for each so you can compare the metrics yourself.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | EEA + UK officially, with around 30 countries in unofficial trackers; no list on the card page, no stated path for non-Europeans. |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | No monthly, annual or inactivity fees; free virtual activation above $50; FX 0.2% on weekdays inside the EEA/UK/CH, jumping to 2% outside it; the 0.75% crypto-to-fiat spread is widely reported but not on the fee table. |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Spends from the Nexo account across 100+ assets, stablecoins and FiatX in Debit Mode, with no separate top-up step. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | 4.4 Trustpilot score is healthy, but recurring complaints about delayed withdrawals, locked accounts, and inconsistent answers on the physical card; DiPocket is named as issuer, MiCA-era restructuring is still in progress. |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access, in-app freeze. Mark drops because the physical card needs Gold tier and a $5,000 balance. |
| Total | 6.3 / 10 |
In plain terms, the card suits Europeans who already keep a large crypto balance on Nexo and want cashback on everyday spend, and it does not suit people who just want a cheap, no-strings prepaid card, people outside Europe, or anyone unwilling to keep five figures on the platform to unlock a piece of plastic.
Who will they give you the card
The card page says Nexo offers the card to “residents and citizens of selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom.” That is the only eligibility statement on the page itself — there is no drop-down of countries, no list of excluded jurisdictions, and no separate flow for citizens who live elsewhere or residents who hold other citizenships. The wording covers both citizens and residents, which matters because some issuers check only one or the other.
As of August 2026, the Nexo card is available in approximately 30 countries, including Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom. It is restricted in Bulgaria, Estonia, and the United States.
Second, the regulatory picture is in flux. Cointelegraph reported a Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office in 2025 over alleged Russia-sanctions and AML breaches; I have not found a Nexo statement specifically addressing Russian applicants. As of 2026-10-14, Nexo said on social media that it had set up a MiCA-compliant structure under German oversight, but ESMA’s interim CASP register checks in August and September 2026 did not show a Nexo entity among authorised firms, and the Bulgarian FSC application that was reportedly filed in February 2026 was still pending per a third-party report. The card itself is issued by DiPocket UAB, which is authorised by the Bank of Lithuania — that licence is separate from the MiCA question and is the reason the card programme can still run.
If you are living in a country outside the unofficial 30, expect the KYC step to refuse you rather than the card page to warn you in advance.
The KYC step itself is one level only: identity verification with a government ID issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country. The card page does not state a separate proof-of-address requirement, does not state a minimum age, and does not list rejection reasons. If you cannot complete identity verification to Nexo’s satisfaction, the rule the company works under (and EU AML law generally) is that the relationship has to be refused or ended.
How to get it
The application is inside the Nexo app, not on the website.
- Open the Nexo app and go to the Card tab.
- Complete Identity Verification with a supported government-issued ID. The page says EEA, UK and “another eligible European country”, which matches the eligibility wording above.
- Once KYC is approved, the virtual card activates in the app. It needs at least $50 in the account before it will work.
- To order the physical card, stay in the Card tab and choose Order Nexo Card. Standard delivery is up to four weeks and may go through your local Post Office if the courier cannot reach you. The card is activated inside the app, not with a sticker or a phone call.
- To add the card to a mobile wallet, follow the in-app prompt for Apple Pay or Google Pay. Both are supported.
A few practical things the page does not say, but the unofficial trackers and user reports do: the network is Mastercard (per CryptoCardHub, August 2026); the issuer named on the page is DiPocket UAB, an electronic money institution authorised in Lithuania; the card currency is set at virtual-card activation, and if you pick the wrong one the page tells you to contact Nexo rather than offering a re-issue option. There is no published replacement-card fee, no published country list, and no published KYC processing time. A third-party report also notes that during the MiCA transition the answer to “can I order a physical card right now” has been inconsistent — some users are told yes, others are told to wait. I would not treat the physical card as a guarantee until you see the order button working in your own app.
Virtual cards do not require the $5,000 balance, so the fastest path to a working card is: KYC, fund at least $50, activate the virtual card, tokenise it into Apple Pay or Google Pay.
Fees and what a Nexo card actually costs
There is no monthly, annual or inactivity fee, and no fee to ship the physical card. The cost of using the card is built into three places: a foreign-exchange fee that depends on where you are and what day of the week it is, an ATM fee once you pass a free monthly allowance, and a crypto-to-fiat spread that is widely reported but not in the published fee table.

The fee table below is taken from the card page and the unofficial trackers called out where appropriate. I have used EUR/GBP because that is what the page quotes.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Issuance (virtual) | Free, but requires ≥ $50 balance to activate |
| Issuance (physical) | Free shipping, requires Gold tier and > $5,000 in digital assets |
| Monthly fee | None |
| Annual fee | None |
| Inactivity fee | None |
| FX fee (EEA / UK / CH, weekday) | 0.2% |
| FX fee (EEA / UK / CH, weekend) | 0.7% |
| FX fee (rest of world, weekday) | 2% |
| FX fee (rest of world, weekend) | 2.5% |
| Crypto-to-fiat swap fee (Debit Mode) | Not stated on the page; unofficial trackers report 0.75% and say it can stack with the FX fee |
| ATM, free monthly allowance | Base EUR 200 / GBP 180; Silver EUR 400 / GBP 360; Gold EUR 1,000 / GBP 900; Platinum EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,800 |
| ATM, above allowance | 2%, minimum EUR 1.99 / GBP 1.99 per withdrawal |
| Daily/monthly spend limits | Not stated on the page; unofficial trackers say up to EUR 10,000/day, EUR 60,000/month, and an ATM cap of EUR 600/transaction, EUR 2,000/day, EUR 10,000/month |
| Higher limits | “Clients with $100,000 in assets get higher Nexo Card spending limits” (page) |
To make this concrete, here is what the fees look like in three real-world situations.
Coffee and a sandwich in Berlin, paid on a Tuesday with Apple Pay. The merchant receives EUR. If your account is funded in EURx or another EUR-pegged FiatX, the only fee in play is the unofficial 0.75% crypto-to-fiat spread (or zero if you are spending from an already-EUR balance). If you are spending from BTC or ETH, the spread applies on top of the FX markup, and on a weekday the FX markup is 0.2%. On a Sunday it would be 0.7%. For a EUR 12 purchase, the difference between 0.2% and 0.7% is about six cents — small in absolute terms, large in percentage terms on tiny transactions, which is the reason so many Trustpilot reviews flag “high fees on small transactions”.
A EUR 200 ATM withdrawal in Spain on a Gold tier. The first EUR 1,000 in any month is free, so this single withdrawal is free of the 2% ATM fee. But the ATM operator’s own surcharge still applies and is set by the bank that owns the machine, not by Nexo. The page does not name a typical operator surcharge. If you are Base tier (no NEXO-token share), the free monthly allowance is only EUR 200, so the same withdrawal is fully covered; the second EUR 200 in the same month would cost 2% plus the EUR 1.99 minimum.
A USD 1,000 card payment in a US hotel while travelling from Frankfurt, paid on a Saturday. You are spending inside the “rest of world” band and on a weekend, so the FX fee is 2.5%, which is USD 25 on a USD 1,000 purchase. Add the unofficial 0.75% crypto-to-fiat spread if the funding asset is not a stablecoin. That is not a fee you would notice on a corporate card, but it is enough to make a difference on a holiday budget.
The unofficial 0.75% swap fee is the line item worth checking before you commit. The page does not put a percentage on the crypto-to-fiat conversion, and Nexo’s general approach to stablecoins and FiatX is that “Debit Mode” sells them into fiat at the moment of payment; trackers report 0.75% on top of the FX fee, and that number does not appear in any official table I could find. I would treat 0.75% as the working assumption until Nexo publishes a figure.
How to top it up
The card spends directly from your Nexo account, so “top up” is the wrong phrase for the way the card works. You do not transfer funds onto a card balance the way you would with a prepaid travel card; you hold assets in the Nexo account, and the card debits from whichever assets the app is configured to use at the moment of payment.
The account supports more than 100 digital assets, and the card’s Debit Mode can spend from stablecoins, ordinary cryptocurrencies and Nexo’s own FiatX tokens (EURx, USDx, GBPx and so on). The page does not name the on-chain networks you can use to fund the account, the deposit fee, or the minimum top-up — that information is on the funding or deposit pages, not on the card page itself. I have not seen a public list of networks that Nexo accepts; in practice, sending USDC on a network Nexo does not support is one of the most common ways users lose funds, so this is the single thing to confirm in-app before sending anything significant.
Cashback is paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin, and the payout currency can be changed. Cashback is only available in Credit Mode, which is the part of the card where the company effectively extends you a loan against your collateral, and it requires more than $5,000 in digital assets in the account. The rate depends on your loyalty tier, which is set by the share of NEXO tokens in your portfolio.
| Loyalty tier | Cashback in NEXO | Cashback in BTC |
|---|---|---|
| Base | 0.5% | 0.1% |
| Silver | 0.7% | 0.2% |
| Gold | 1% | 0.3% |
| Platinum | 2% | 0.5% |
The tier also determines the free monthly ATM allowance, and Platinum gets the highest free allowance (EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,800) and the highest cashback rate (2% in NEXO). The page warns that rates may change and vary by region. Loyalty Program members are also told they can earn “up to 13%” on idle funds, but the rate per tier is not stated on the card page.
Withdrawals from the Nexo account (fiat out to a bank) are covered in a separate part of the help center that I was not able to read because the pages render empty JavaScript. That is a known issue I ran into more than once: the public help center loads as a JavaScript app that does not return content without a browser, and the information is therefore inaccessible to a plain read of the page. If a withdrawal timeline matters to you, ask support before you commit funds.
Paying with it every day
The card behaves like a normal Mastercard debit card at the point of sale. You can tap it in a shop, insert it in a terminal, enter the card number online, or add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay and pay with a phone or watch. The app supports 18 languages including Russian, Ukrainian, Kazakh and Uzbek, and the iOS app carries a 4.2 out of 5 rating from around 2,000 ratings (read 2026-10-20). I did not read the Google Play rating.
The card is tokenised into Apple Pay and Google Pay, which is the part of the experience most users care about day-to-day. Tokenisation means the wallet app replaces the 16-digit card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s Secure Element, and the merchant never sees the real PAN. The issuer can still restrict the tokenised number (for example, block online use), so an offline-friendly token does not necessarily mean a card that works abroad.
Three things the page does not tell you that you will run into:
- Blocked merchant categories. Crypto cards routinely block gambling merchants (MCC 7995), and the page does not publish Nexo’s full block list. If a category matters to you, the only way to know is to try.
- AVS declines abroad. Address Verification Service is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. Some US merchants decline a non-US BIN outright, regardless of 3-D Secure approval.
- Holds on declined authorisations. A declined payment can leave a hold on funds, depending on the merchant’s acquirer. The card page does not state a maximum hold period.
The Trustpilot data I read (4.4 out of 5 across 18,805 reviews, read 2026-10-20) puts the card firmly in the “most users are fine” bracket. The recurring negative themes are useful to know in advance: high fees on small transactions, the $5,000 minimum for the physical card, slow withdrawals, locked or closed accounts, and slow-to-appear deposits. The positive themes are a fast support team in some users’ experience, smooth Apple Pay tokenisation, and the cashback rate at higher tiers.
What can go wrong
Three categories of risk are worth thinking about separately.
Regulatory risk. The card itself is issued by DiPocket UAB, authorised by the Bank of Lithuania, and that licence is not in question. What is in question is Nexo’s own status as a crypto-asset service provider. MiCA’s transitional period ended on 1 July 2026; Nexo said on social media in June 2026 that it had set up a MiCA-compliant structure under German oversight, but as of August and September 2026 no entity named Nexo was visible on ESMA’s interim CASP register. The Bulgarian FSC application reportedly filed in February 2026 was still pending per a third-party report. Custody and trading are reportedly run through partners Tangany and DLT Finance. If Nexo’s own licence does not come through, the card programme can still run because the card licence sits with DiPocket, but features that depend on Nexo acting as a CASP (some credit-mode flows, some on-ramps) are the ones that would be at risk. The Bulgarian police raid over alleged Russia-sanctions and AML breaches is a separate, ongoing compliance story.
Custodial risk. The Nexo account is custodial, which means Nexo holds the credentials. If Nexo is hacked, becomes insolvent, or freezes withdrawals, you cannot move the funds yourself. The card page does not state whether funds are safeguarded, segregated, or covered by any insurance. A third-party tracker reports “not included cardholder insurance” for custody-security providers; I could not confirm that figure from Nexo directly. The wider history of custodial failures is well documented — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin, and the 2022 wave of bankruptcies — and the lesson is that keeping large balances on a custodial platform is a decision that has to be made consciously, with the size of the position in mind.
Operational risk. This is the day-to-day risk the Trustpilot reviews point to: withdrawals that take longer than the page suggests, accounts locked pending documents, and inconsistent answers on whether a physical card can be ordered. None of these are catastrophic on their own, but they are the kind of thing that becomes a problem if you need the card for a specific payment. A practical mitigation is to keep a working balance on a non-custodial wallet for emergencies, and use the Nexo card for planned spending.
The card page lists the standard set of safety features: instant card freeze in the app, security spending controls, biometric locks, and “industrial-grade custody”. It does not state whether 2FA is available on the app (I could not confirm a source), and it does not name a specific insurance or safeguarding regime. If 2FA and insurance matter to you, raise them with support before you fund the account.
What to take instead
I compared the Nexo card against three alternatives at a similar price tier. None of them is a direct replacement, but each one is worth knowing about depending on what you actually need.
Pay3 (6.3 / 10). A Visa-based card with virtual, physical and mobile-wallet options. Open to users outside “Restricted Locations” (countries under trade sanctions, export controls, or crypto/fintech prohibitions), with no published list. Card terms require users to attest they are not a US citizen and not OFAC-blocked. Card issuance “starts at $5” and minimum spend is $0.15 per transaction. Fees are higher than Nexo on paper: currency conversion “from 1.15%”, plus up to 3% on foreign exchange, cross-border and foreign-transaction fees. Funding is in stablecoins or fiat into a multi-currency account, and the card is collateral-based. Cashback is not stated. Pay3 is the right comparison if you are outside Europe, are willing to attest to non-US status, and want a card whose limits are set by collateral rather than by a static $5,000 floor.
Exa (6.2 / 10). A Visa Signature credit card issued in 45 countries (including Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa, UAE, with Nigeria conditional) and 31 US states. Eighteen countries are ineligible, including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia. The rule is by residence, not citizenship, but “Russian residents cannot be issued a card” and spending is blocked in Russia along with Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The card is virtual; the help center has an article “Is there a physical card?” whose answer I did not read. Fees are marketed as free, with no amounts on the page. Funding is via self-custody in the Exa App, and the card spends via Pay Now or via installments against collateral. Cashback is not stated — the marketing line “Earn while you spend” refers to yield on assets, not a percentage back. The interesting feature is a US activation reward (spend $100, get $20 in XRP via Uphold), which is a one-off rather than a recurring cashback.
Cardex (5.6 / 10). A debit crypto card on the VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay networks, marketed in 200+ countries with no published exclusions; the App Store listing is Naira-focused. The page advertises an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchanges and picks the best rate at the moment of payment, but no fee percentage is stated. Funding is in USDT, USDC and BTC, with networks not specified. Cashback is not stated. Cardex is the comparison to make if network breadth matters more than published fees, and if you are willing to take the absence of a fee table at face value.
| Card | Score | Best for | Weakness |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | European Nexo account holders with > $5,000 to spend | $5,000 floor for the physical card, no published daily limits |
| Pay3 | 6.3 / 10 | Non-European users willing to attest non-US status | Higher FX and cross-border fees, no published country list |
| Exa | 6.2 / 10 | Residents of 45 countries who want a Visa Signature credit card | No cashback, blocked in Russia and several large markets |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Users who want network breadth over a published fee table | No fee percentages on the page, networks not specified |
If you are deciding between these, the question to ask yourself is which constraint hurts you more: Nexo’s $5,000 physical-card minimum, Pay3’s non-US attestation, Exa’s blocked spend in Russia and several other countries, or Cardex’s missing fee table. The card you can actually get and use is the better card, regardless of which one looks best on paper.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Nexo card to a European-based Nexo account holder who already keeps more than $5,000 in digital assets on the platform, wants Apple Pay or Google Pay, plans to spend in EUR or GBP at merchants that do not charge a foreign-card surcharge, and is comfortable with the 0.2% weekday FX plus the unofficial 0.75% crypto-to-fiat spread. The Platinum tier’s 2% NEXO cashback is genuinely competitive if you can reach it, and the EUR 2,000 free monthly ATM allowance is enough for most travel use cases.
I would not recommend it to:
- Anyone outside the unofficial 30-country list, particularly US residents and Russian citizens. The card page does not promise eligibility in advance, and the KYC step is the moment of refusal.
- Anyone who only needs a card for occasional, low-value purchases. The unofficial 0.75% spread and the FX fee on weekends make small transactions proportionally expensive, and the user reviews flag this consistently.
- Anyone who needs the card to work as a primary travel card. The 2% / 2.5% FX band outside the EEA, UK and Switzerland, plus the absence of published daily and monthly limits, makes the card a poor primary card for travel outside Europe.
- Anyone who keeps their crypto in self-custody by principle. The Nexo account is custodial, and the card spends from it. If you want the funds to stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, you need a self-custody-linked card, not Nexo.
A practical path for someone on the fence: open the Nexo account, complete KYC, fund the account with at least $50, activate the virtual card, tokenise it into Apple Pay, and use it for a few real payments. If the experience matches the published fees, the next step is to grow the balance past $5,000 and order the physical card. If the experience does not match — slow withdrawals, declined payments, support delays — the alternative cards in the previous section are worth a closer look before you commit more funds.
The broader category context is worth keeping in mind. Crypto cards are payment products wrapped around crypto balances: a card network (Mastercard in this case) routes the payment, a licensed issuer (DiPocket) holds the card programme, and the crypto brand (Nexo) is the front-end. The card is regulated as a payment service, separately from the crypto side, which is regulated under MiCA in the EU. That is why a card programme can keep running even when the crypto-asset service provider licence is still being processed — but it is also why the regulatory question is not yet fully settled for Nexo. The user reviews on Trustpilot (4.4 out of 5) are healthy, the structural risks are real, and the trade-offs are the kind of thing that needs to fit your own situation rather than be solved by a single review.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Nexo card?
The Nexo card is a Mastercard debit card that spends from a Nexo account balance. It converts crypto, stablecoins or FiatX tokens into fiat at the moment of payment, and works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. It is issued by DiPocket UAB, an electronic money institution authorised by the Bank of Lithuania.
Is Nexo a bank?
No. Nexo is a crypto platform, and the card is issued by a separate licensed e-money institution, DiPocket UAB, which holds the card programme licence. Nexo provides the front-end, the account, and the rewards; the regulated payment institution is DiPocket.
How does the Nexo card work?
You hold assets in a Nexo account. When you pay, the card debits the account, converting the asset you chose (stablecoin, crypto or FiatX) into the merchant’s currency. The merchant receives fiat, and the card page charges a foreign-exchange fee that depends on your location and the day of the week.
Where is the Nexo card available?
Officially, in “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”. A third-party tracker lists 30 countries (most of the EEA plus the UK, plus Argentina, with Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States restricted). Treat that list as unofficial and not confirmed by Nexo. There is no published list on the card page itself.
How do I apply for the Nexo card?
Inside the Nexo app: complete Identity Verification with a government ID from an eligible European country, fund the account with at least $50, and activate the virtual card. The physical card is ordered from the same Card tab once you are at Gold tier and hold more than $5,000 in digital assets.
Does the Nexo card require KYC?
Yes. The card page states identity verification with a supported ID issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country. There is no published proof-of-address requirement, no published minimum age, and no published list of rejection reasons.
Is the Nexo card free?
There is no monthly, annual or inactivity fee, and no fee to ship the physical card. The cost of using the card is the foreign-exchange fee (0.2% to 2.5% depending on location and day of the week), a 2% ATM fee above the free monthly allowance, and the unofficial 0.75% crypto-to-fiat swap fee that third-party trackers report on top of the FX fee.
Can I add the Nexo card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Yes. Both are supported. Tokenisation replaces the card number with a device-specific number, and the merchant never sees the real PAN. The issuer can still restrict the tokenised number (for example, block online use), so the wallet experience does not override the card’s underlying limits.
How do I top up the Nexo card?
The card spends directly from the Nexo account, so the equivalent of “topping up” is funding the account itself. The card page does not state the deposit fee, the minimum top-up, or the supported on-chain networks; the supported networks are listed on the deposit and funding pages rather than on the card page.
Is the Nexo card safe?
The card itself is issued by a Bank of Lithuania-authorised e-money institution, supports instant card freeze, biometric locks and tokenised mobile wallets. The card page does not state whether 2FA is required, whether funds are safeguarded, or whether there is any insurance on customer balances. A third-party tracker reports no cardholder insurance. Treat the regulatory question as ongoing: Nexo says it has a MiCA-compliant structure, but as of August–September 2026 no Nexo entity was visible on ESMA’s interim CASP register, and the Bulgarian FSC application was still pending per a third-party report.
Credit and cashback cards – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
