A crypto-funded Mastercard with a Swiss IBAN attached, weighed against its real costs
SafePal is a crypto wallet company that has built a payment product around it: a virtual Mastercard you fund from crypto, plus a Swiss IBAN account held with Fiat24. The pitch is straightforward. You hold your own keys in the SafePal wallet, you convert crypto into a spendable balance when you need to pay, and the card draws on that balance wherever Mastercard is taken. For someone who already lives inside the SafePal app, the card removes the step of moving funds out to a bank first.
I went through the card’s own help pages, the regional coverage notes, the fees article and the support materials, and cross-checked what I found against user reports. The score I give it sits at 6.2 out of 10. That number is not a verdict on SafePal the wallet, which is a separate product, but on the card and the IBAN that come with it. The card is cheap to fund and free to keep open, but the everyday experience is held back by a region list that does not actually publish its names, a card issuer that is not named, and a 2026 data breach that hit close to 40,000 customers.
The card suits people who already use the SafePal wallet and want a quick way to spend stablecoins at point of sale, plus anyone who needs a Swiss IBAN without setting up a Swiss bank account. It is a poor fit for someone who wants a physical card, who needs cash from an ATM regularly, or who has to know upfront that their country is on the supported list.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
SafePal’s card program earns 6.2 out of 10 in my scoring. The cost side is genuinely good: no account or management fees, standard crypto top-up at 0%, and only a 1% fee when Mastercard settles in a currency other than US dollars. Funding is broad, with crypto from more than 40 blockchains flowing in and converting to USDC by default on Arbitrum. The card works with Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal, which covers most in-store and online situations.
What drags the score down is reliability and complaint data. The card issuer is not named in the public materials I could see; the region page exists but does not list its regions; and in 2026 SafePal disclosed a data breach that exposed order information for around 39,798 customers. On Trustpilot the company sits at 3.1 out of 5 across 394 reviews, with recurring complaints about withdrawals that show as completed but do not arrive, and phishing attempts that use real personal data. I also could not confirm a physical card, which is a real limitation for someone who travels or uses ATMs.
If you are a SafePal wallet user who wants a Swiss IBAN and a way to pay with stablecoins at the till, this is a reasonable fit. If you want a card you can pull from an ATM in three currencies, or a clear answer on whether your country is supported before you sign up, you will want to look elsewhere.
| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Page mentions “supported regions” but the list was empty when I checked; unclear who actually qualifies |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | No creation or management fees, 0% standard top-up, 1% non-USD Mastercard settlement, refunds cost a small flat fee |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | 40+ blockchains accepted, USDC default on Arbitrum; activating the Mastercard needs 10 USDC on Arbitrum plus ETH for gas |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Issuer unnamed, region list empty, 2026 breach, Trustpilot 3.1/5, recurring withdrawal complaints |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal covered; physical card not stated; ATM details are unofficial and inconsistent |
| Total | 6.2 / 10 | Cheap and flexible on paper, held back by transparency and trust issues |
Who they will give the card to
SafePal describes eligibility in one sentence on its regional help page: “Citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas.” The page itself is titled “Supported regions for SafePal Fiat gateway,” but the list of regions was empty when I fetched it. The only concrete numbers on that page are monthly limits, not country names: 100,000 US dollars a month for users who have the Mastercard, 1,000 US dollars a month for those who do not.
That phrasing matters. The phrase “citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas” pulls in two separate checks: your passport and where you actually live. Until SafePal publishes the list, you cannot tell from the outside whether you are eligible, and the only practical way to find out is to start the sign-up flow inside the app and see whether your country code is accepted. If it is not, the app will tell you at the country selection step rather than after a long form.
There is no mention of a credit check, no staking requirement to qualify, and no minimum income. The wallet itself is non-custodial, so the card does not depend on how much crypto you already hold; it depends on the documents you can provide.
How to get it
The card is part of the SafePal app, which is available on iPhone and iPad (iOS 15.0 and above, current version 4.11.12 from 12 October 2026) and on Android. You apply by opening the app, going into the Banking Gateway, and starting the onboarding flow.
KYC is mandatory. SafePal does not run the checks itself: they are handled by Fiat24, the Swiss firm that holds the IBAN account. The steps I can confirm from the help materials are:
- Email and phone number verification.
- A residential address check, which requires the app to read your current location and asks that the address on file be within 2 km of where you are. That is how Fiat24 confirms you actually live where you say you live.
- A passport scan, taken through the ReadID Ready app, which reads the chip in the document. Passport is the only document the help articles name. National ID cards and driving licences are not mentioned.
The app version required is 4.5.0 or later, and you also need a small amount of ETH on Arbitrum in your wallet to cover the gas cost of activating the Mastercard on-chain. The help article dated 25 July 2026 puts the activation amount at 10 USDC on Arbitrum, paid in addition to the ETH gas.
A few things are not stated publicly: how long KYC takes, what the age threshold is, and what reasons lead to a rejection. If you are rejected or your account is blocked, the help page says to go through Fiat24 support, not SafePal. Monthly limits depend on the result: 100,000 US dollars a month with the Mastercard, 1,000 US dollars a month without.
As for the card itself: SafePal’s public materials describe a virtual Mastercard debit card. I could not find any reference to a physical card, and the help section on Banking Gateway contains articles for the virtual card only. One third-party site lists the card as virtual-only, while another notes “ATM withdrawals: Yes” with no fee or limit; those two pieces of unofficial information conflict, which I would read as the ATM story being unconfirmed rather than settled.
Fees
This is the section of the review where SafePal looks strongest. The fee structure is thin, the headline rate is 0% on standard top-ups, and the only meaningful cost in everyday use is the 1% that Mastercard charges when it settles in a currency other than US dollars.

The table below summarises the fees and limits I could confirm from SafePal’s own articles.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Account creation | 0 |
| Account management | 0 |
| Card issuance fee | Not stated |
| Standard top-up fee | 0% |
| Mastercard non-USD settlement | 1% |
| Crypto top-up (top tier) | From 0.4% |
| Fiat deposit fees | From 0.6% |
| Refund processing | 1 USD / 1 EUR / 1 CHF / 7 CNH |
| Contactless daily limit | 1,600 EUR |
| Other payment methods daily limit | 5,000 EUR |
| Monthly limit (with Mastercard) | 100,000 USD |
| Monthly limit (without Mastercard) | 1,000 USD |
| ATM fees | Not stated |
| Swaps spread | Not quantified |
A few details are worth pulling out of the table. The 0.4% rate is a top-tier figure mentioned on the bank page, while the standard rate elsewhere in the fees article is 0%. The 1% deposit rate on a standard tier comes from a separate article and looks like it describes a baseline rather than the rate most users actually pay. The exact fee you pay on a given top-up depends on your tier at the start of the month, which is set on the first of each month from points accumulated in the previous three months. Opening the IBAN account itself gives you 1,500 points.
Two examples make the cost picture concrete. First, a coffee in a country that uses euros, paid by tapping Apple Pay with the card funded from USDC. The conversion from USDC to USD is part of the standard top-up, so no fee there. The settlement in euros is in a non-USD currency, so Mastercard charges 1%. On a 4 euro coffee, that is roughly 4 US cents, which you will never notice. Second, paying for a 60 euro hotel booking online with the same card. Same 1% non-USD fee, so about 60 US cents, and you are also exposed to any spread inside the USDC-to-fiat conversion, which the help article mentions but does not put a number on. The flat 1 EUR or 1 USD fee on refunds is the kind of small charge that matters if you are processing many small transactions and expect frequent reversals.
The Mastercard 1% applies to any settlement outside US dollars. If you enable EUR, CHF, USD and CNY on the account, payments in any of those currencies avoid the FX fee entirely. If a payment comes through in a currency you have not enabled, the account falls back to your default currency and the 1% applies.
There is no cashback and no rebate scheme that returns a percentage of what you spend. What the tiers do is lower the top-up fee: a Silver user, for instance, pays the standard 1% deposit rate and gets 0.1% back, while higher tiers reach a point where top-up is essentially free. The trade-off is that you reach those tiers by staking SFP, the SafePal token, with a 90-day lock and no early redemption, or by accumulating points through deposits and referrals.
Top up
Funding the card is the part SafePal has put the most work into. You can send crypto from more than 40 blockchains, and by default the wallet converts what arrives into USDC on Arbitrum. The Mastercard activation step then takes 10 USDC on Arbitrum from your balance, plus whatever ETH is needed to pay the gas for that on-chain transaction. The sender pays the network gas; SafePal does not charge it on its side.

The standard crypto top-up fee is 0%, which is a competitive headline. The fine print sits in the fees article and the tier article: there is a 0% waiver on on-ramp and deposit while SafePal’s program runs, and the bank page elsewhere quotes fiat deposit fees starting at 0.6% and crypto top-up from 0.4% on the top tier. Those numbers do not contradict the 0% headline, but they explain why your top-up cost is not always zero in practice: it depends on how you fund the IBAN (fiat bank transfer versus crypto) and which tier you are on at the start of the month.
For a typical workflow, you would:
- Open the SafePal app and go to the Banking Gateway.
- Choose the asset and network you want to send from.
- Send to the deposit address shown in the app, making sure the network matches.
- Wait for the transaction to confirm on the source chain; the wallet then routes it to USDC on Arbitrum.
- Once the balance shows, the Mastercard draws from that balance at the point of sale.
The 10 USDC activation amount is one-off and is held by the program, not spent. After activation, top-ups add to your spendable balance. If you want to move funds off the card, transfers between accounts within the IBAN are free; transfers to external banks carry no SafePal or Fiat24 fee, though the receiving bank may charge its own. I could not find steps for withdrawing back to crypto, and the help materials do not describe what happens to a positive balance if you close the account. Both of those are gaps worth asking support about before you commit meaningful funds.
A practical caution: a deposit sent on a network SafePal does not support, or sent to an address for a different network, is generally unrecoverable because blockchain transfers are irreversible. Send a small test amount first if you are using a network you have not used with the card before.
Paying with it every day
In day-to-day use, the card behaves like a prepaid Mastercard. The balance you have topped up is the balance you can spend; there is no overdraft and no credit line. Where it works, the experience is unremarkable in a good way.
The card supports Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, and you can also bind it to PayPal. That covers the four main mobile-wallet options in most markets, and the only gap I noticed is the absence of a physical card in the public materials, which matters if you want to swipe or insert, or hand a card to a hotel for a deposit. Whether specific merchants are blocked is not stated, so I cannot tell you whether, for example, gambling transactions or cryptocurrency exchanges are declined at the issuer level; the help materials do not publish a list.
The wallet app lets you freeze and unfreeze the card, view transactions, and set a custom spending limit. Those are the basics any modern card app should have, and they are present here. The 3-D Secure flow for online payments uses Mastercard’s Identity Check, which means you may be asked for a one-time code or biometric confirmation on first-time or higher-risk payments. Address Verification Service is largely a US, Canadian and UK feature, so foreign-issued cards can see declines on merchants that rely on AVS; this is a category-level constraint, not a SafePal-specific one.
Spending limits are given in euros because the underlying account is held with Fiat24 in Switzerland. Contactless payments are capped at 1,600 EUR per day, other payment methods at 5,000 EUR per day, and the monthly cap is the same as the per-transaction limit for your account tier. The US-dollar figures from the regions page, 100,000 USD with the Mastercard and 1,000 USD without, are the cross-currency way of expressing the same idea.
There is no cashback. What you can earn comes from referrals: SafePal pays up to 40% of the top-up fees your referees pay, with the exact share depending on your tier. Staking SFP for 90 days with no early exit raises your tier, which in turn reduces your top-up fee. Perks tied to SFP staking are tier-based, not point-based, and they are not a reward scheme in the conventional cashback sense.
If a transaction goes wrong, the help materials point you to Fiat24 support rather than SafePal for account-level issues. A chargeback process is not described in the public articles, and the only refund-related fee I could find is the flat 1 USD/EUR/CHF/7 CNH processing fee the fee article mentions. Failed registrations and banned accounts are directed to the Fiat24 Telegram bot at t.me/fiat24bot.
What can go wrong
A few risks are worth taking seriously before you put a meaningful balance on the card.
Data breach and phishing. In 2026 SafePal disclosed a data breach that exposed order information for around 39,798 customers. The company’s own statement said no seed phrases, private keys, card numbers or identity documents were part of the leak. What was exposed was enough for follow-up phishing attempts: in early July 2026, weeks before the disclosure, users reported phishing contacts that referenced real order details. The combination of accurate personal data and a non-custodial wallet is dangerous, because the wallet side cannot be reset by changing a password.
Unnamed issuer. The public materials describe the card as a Mastercard debit card issued through Fiat24, but the issuing bank is not named. That is a transparency gap, and it is the kind of detail most other card programs put in their terms. If the programme were to be wound down, the notice would come from the issuer, not SafePal, and you would have to deal with Fiat24 support in Switzerland.
Region list. The page that should tell you whether your country is supported does not currently publish its list. You will only know whether you qualify by trying. For someone who is unsure about their residency status, has recently moved, or is travelling, this is a real practical issue.
Withdrawal complaints. On Trustpilot, safepal.com sits at 3.1 out of 5 from 394 reviews, and the company’s responses cover 93% of the negative reviews. The most common card-related pattern I noticed across user reports is a swap or withdrawal that shows as completed in the app but does not arrive in the destination account, with slow support. A separate report from May 2026 described a Fiat24 refund arriving about 20% short. None of the reviews I saw mentioned the card or IBAN directly; most were about the wallet and swap products, but the pattern matters because the same app and the same support channel handle both.
No physical card, unclear ATM access. The public materials describe a virtual card only. ATM access is listed as “Yes” by one unofficial source, with no fee or limit; the same source acknowledges no physical card exists. The conflict means I would not plan around ATM withdrawals until I had a written confirmation from support.
No insurance, no deposit guarantee. The materials do not state that card balances are insured or covered by a deposit guarantee. In the EU and UK, funds held by an electronic money institution are safeguarded, not guaranteed like bank deposits, and that distinction is worth keeping in mind.
Stablecoin depeg. The Mastercard activation step holds 10 USDC on Arbitrum, and USDC is the default top-up target. Stablecoins can depeg; USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis, and Tether’s USDT has its own reserve history. Holding a stablecoin balance on a card is not the same as holding the underlying currency.
Sanctions and freezes. Tether has stated that it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. The point is not that you should expect to be frozen, but that stablecoins are not censorship-proof, and balances can be restricted by the issuer of the token in cooperation with the card program.
What to take instead
If SafePal does not quite fit, three other programs are worth a look. Each one scores slightly differently, and the differences are mostly in who can get one and what the card costs to use day to day.
| Card | Type | Score | Notable differences from SafePal |
|---|---|---|---|
| BloFin Wallet Card | Visa Platinum | 6.9 / 10 | Activation, annual, issuance and dormancy fees all $0; spend fee from 1.00% (VIP 0) down to 0.00% (VIP 5); no published country list, but 35 countries in starting data |
| Decaf | Visa (virtual or physical) | 6.2 / 10 | Clear restricted-country list (Belarus, Russia, China, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, North Korea, Syria, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Nigeria and several US states); physical card available, $5 virtual / $10 US physical / $90 rest-of-world physical; no FX markup, uses Visa’s own rate |
| Avici | Visa credit card | 6.1 / 10 | Secured credit model with category-based virtual cards; advertised “no hidden fees, no gas, no interchange”; travel perks and rental car insurance, no cashback rate stated |
The pattern I notice across the three alternatives is the region story. Decaf publishes its restricted list plainly, so you can check eligibility before signing up. BloFin keeps its list in-app only, like SafePal, but at least has no minimums and a flat $0 cost to keep the card open. Avici does not publish a region list at all in the materials I read, which is a real gap for someone whose country might be excluded.
On cost, the BloFin tier ladder is more transparent than SafePal’s: a single spend rate that drops as you go up the VIP ladder, rather than a 0% headline with tiered top-up rates underneath. Decaf avoids the conversion question entirely by passing Visa’s exchange rate through unchanged. Avici’s cost story is the hardest to pin down because the published page is short on numbers.
On card form, Decaf and Avici both offer a physical card, which SafePal does not. That alone could be the deciding factor for someone who wants to hand a card to a hotel or use it at an ATM.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the SafePal card to three groups of people. The first is existing SafePal wallet users who already hold crypto in the app and want a fast way to spend stablecoins at the till without manually transferring to a bank each time. The 0% standard top-up fee and the USDC default make the round trip cheap, and the activation cost of 10 USDC plus ETH gas is a one-off. The second is people who specifically need a Swiss IBAN, whether for cross-border invoicing, for paying suppliers in euros or Swiss francs, or for separating a business balance from a personal account. The third is users in supported regions who want a low-cost virtual card bound to Apple Pay, Google Pay or PayPal and who are comfortable with the fact that the card issuer is not named in public.
I would not recommend it to people who need a physical card for travel, who want to rely on ATM withdrawals, who want a published list of supported countries before they start the application, or who are uneasy about a 2026 data breach that exposed order data for tens of thousands of customers. The reliability score of 4 out of 10 reflects real user frustration with delayed withdrawals and slow support, even if most of those complaints are about the wallet rather than the card itself.
If your situation is at the edge of any of those, the BloFin Wallet Card or Decaf Visa is a safer bet on transparency, and Avici is worth a look if you want a credit-style card with travel perks.
Frequently asked questions
What is the SafePal card?
The SafePal card is a virtual Mastercard debit card attached to a Swiss IBAN account held with Fiat24. You fund it from crypto in your SafePal wallet, and the balance is what you spend. The card is part of the SafePal app, not a separate product.
How does the SafePal card work?
You top up the card from your SafePal wallet, the wallet converts what you send to USDC on Arbitrum by default, and the card draws on that balance at the point of sale. There is no credit line; what you have loaded is what you can spend.
Is SafePal a bank?
No. SafePal is a crypto wallet company. The card is issued through a banking partner, with the IBAN account held by Fiat24 in Switzerland. The card issuer is not named in SafePal’s public materials.
Who owns SafePal?
SafePal’s ownership is not publicly disclosed, and SafePal describes itself as a crypto wallet provider, with the card run jointly with Fiat24 for the fiat side.
Is the SafePal card available in my country?
SafePal’s regional page says “citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas,” but the list of regions was empty when I checked. The only practical way to find out is to open the app and try the country selection step at the start of onboarding.
How do I apply for the SafePal card?
You apply inside the SafePal app through the Banking Gateway. You need the app version 4.5.0 or later, a verified email and phone, a passport scan through the ReadID Ready app, a residential address within 2 km of your current location, and a small amount of ETH on Arbitrum to cover the activation gas.
Does the SafePal card require KYC?
Yes. KYC is required by the licence and regulator that governs the card program, and the checks are carried out by Fiat24. There is no way to use the card without going through identity verification.
How do I activate the SafePal card?
Activation is on-chain. The help article dated 25 July 2026 says you need to deposit 10 USDC on Arbitrum into the card program and pay the ETH gas for that transaction. The activation is one-off; after that, top-ups add to your spendable balance.
How do I add the SafePal card to Apple Wallet?
Once the Mastercard is active, you add it through the standard Apple Pay flow in the SafePal app. The card supports Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal, so the same general process applies on each platform.
How do I delete my SafePal account?
The public materials I read did not describe a deletion process in detail. Account-related issues, including frozen or blocked accounts, are directed to Fiat24 support rather than SafePal.
Wallet-linked cards – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
