Kolan scored 5.7 out of 10: the shape is right, the paperwork is missing
Let me start with the thing that decides this review. The Kolan card scores 5.7 out of 10. That is not a score you give to a bad product, exactly. It is the score you give to a product whose idea is fine and whose paperwork is not there — and for anyone choosing between crypto cards, that distinction matters more than any feature list, because the paperwork is the part that decides whether you can actually use the thing on the day you need it.
| Criterion | Score | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | 100+ countries service coverage |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Official fee details not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | USDC-to-USD conversion mechanism |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Established parent company, no user reviews |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual USD card with limited features |
| Total | 5.7 / 10 |
Kolan is a virtual USD card. You send crypto to a Kolan account, it is held as USDC, and it is converted to dollars to load the card; the card then spends like an ordinary prepaid card online. That is a real, useful shape. It is also the shape of other cards, several of which publish their fees, their card networks, their identity checks and their limits in plain text. Kolan does not, as far as I could find, publish most of that.
So who does it suit? It suits someone paying for online services — the card’s own audience, in its own words, is users paying for online services with a virtual USD card — who already holds crypto, already has a working exchange relationship, and who wants a plain USD virtual card number quickly rather than a banking relationship. If that is you, the concept fits and you can keep reading; the top-up section explains the mechanics, and the cost section explains why you must ask about fees before you commit.
Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a physical card, anyone who relies on Apple Pay or Google Pay, anyone who needs to know in advance what a payment will cost them, and anyone for whom an unknown issuer and unknown identity checks is a dealbreaker rather than a detail. It also does not suit someone whose problem is “I cannot get a bank card at all” and who needs the company to be a regulated, named, reachable institution — because Kolan does not name its card issuer, and it does not publish a support route.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Will they give you the card?
The short answer is: the card’s public pages do not say. That is not me being evasive — the eligibility question, the identity-check question and the country list are simply not answered anywhere I could read.

What I do have is unofficial, and you should treat it as such. Third-party listings describe Hurupay, the company behind Kolan, as opening accounts to users in “more than 100 countries” — note carefully that this is about *accounts*, not about card eligibility, and those are not the same thing. A separate Kolan profile, cited by directories in 2026, describes it as serving non-US individuals in over 50 countries. Neither is the company telling you on its own site that your country is fine.
So the honest picture is this: Kolan is positioned widely, and the “100+ countries” figure is doing most of the work in how it is marketed, but the card’s own pages do not state who qualifies. If your country is one where prepaid virtual cards are unusual, or where you already have a difficult relationship with financial services, this is exactly the place where you would want a sentence in writing — and you will not find one.
One thing that is at least clear: the profile cited above describes the audience as non-US individuals. If you are in the United States, the evidence I have points the other way, and you should assume this is not for you unless the company says otherwise.
| What I looked for | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Eligible countries | not stated |
| Identity checks (KYC) | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Account opening limits | not stated |
How to get it
The mechanics of signing up are, again, not documented on the public pages. I can tell you what the product is, and I can tell you what people have done, but I cannot give you a verified step-by-step because the card does not publish one.
What is clear from the product shape: Kolan is virtual-only. There is no physical card in this product as far as anything I can find states, and the delivery question — how long the virtual card takes to arrive in your account after approval — is also not stated.
On the card itself, the only description I found is unofficial: a directory listing from 2026 describes it as a USD virtual card for online spending. That is consistent with how Kolan describes the product in general terms, so I believe the general shape. What nobody publishes is the network. Someone on a developer forum noted that such a card “could work if it’s a Visa or Mastercard” — which is an inference, not a fact. You should not assume your target merchant will accept the card until you have checked.
Identity verification is the biggest unknown in the whole signup flow. Not “how long does it take” — whether it exists, and what it involves. The general rule in this industry is that regulated businesses must verify customers and assess risk as part of anti-money-laundering law, and that if due diligence cannot be completed, accounts get frozen or closed pending documents. So assume *some* check exists, and assume it can block you. Whether you can use Kolan without handing over identity documents is, right now, unknowable from public sources — and that is not a small thing if you are in a situation where you would rather not.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the section that decides whether a crypto card is cheap or expensive, and it is the section where Kolan is least helpful. The card’s public pages do not state the cost of issuance, a monthly fee, conversion charges, foreign-exchange charges, ATM fees, or any daily or monthly spending limits.

One unofficial line circulates: a directory description says “no hidden FX fees”. I want to be careful with that sentence. It says hidden FX fees are absent — not that the exchange rate itself is the mid-market rate, and not that conversion is free. A conversion spread is not a “fee” in the way a surcharge is a fee, and the two get confused constantly. On a card whose whole mechanism is converting crypto to dollars, that distinction is the entire cost question.
So what you have here is a card with an unstated cost structure, marketed with an unofficial claim that the FX part is clean. For a spend of any size, the difference between a mid-market conversion and a conversion with a spread on it is the difference between this being a cheap way to pay and this being expensive. I cannot tell you which one Kolan is, because the numbers are not published.
| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Issuance | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion | not stated |
| Foreign exchange | not stated officially; unofficial directory text says “no hidden FX fees” |
| ATM withdrawal | not stated |
| Daily spending limit | not stated |
| Monthly spending limit | not stated |
| Tiers or subscription plans | not stated |
What this looks like day to day. Take three ordinary situations:
- A subscription you already pay for. You load the card, and the card spends dollars. The card’s own model converts crypto into a dollar balance; the cost of that conversion is not published, so the price you effectively pay is the dollar amount plus whatever the conversion and the spread amount to. Unknown.
- Something priced in a currency other than dollars. The card is described as USD-denominated in the unofficial listing, so a non-dollar price becomes a currency conversion somewhere along the line — at the merchant, or by the issuer. The FX treatment is not stated. Unknown.
- A declined or reversed payment. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. With unstated limits and unstated dispute handling, you have no way to know in advance how a failed payment is treated. Unclear.
One related thing does affect your planning, even though it is not a Kolan fee: on-chain network fees — gas or bandwidth — are charged by the blockchain you deposit on, not by the card. Sending the wrong token on the wrong network, or paying from a wallet with no gas, is your cost entirely. I come back to that in the top-up section, because it is the single most avoidable mistake in this product.
How to top it up
Here the card is clearest, which is to say: I can describe the mechanism, but not the detail you need to execute it safely.
The mechanism, as Kolan presents it: you deposit crypto into a Kolan account. It is held as USDC in a linked wallet as collateral, and it is converted to USD to load the virtual card. The card spends that dollar balance. So Kolan is not holding your dollars at a bank in the ordinary sense — it is holding collateral in stablecoin form and converting it as you spend.
The detail you need is missing and it matters a great deal: the supported networks are not stated. That means there is no way, from public information, to know which chain to send on.
This is where the general mechanics of stablecoins bite, and they bite hard:
- You must send the right token on the right network. A transfer to an address belonging to a different network can be lost entirely.
- Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network the provider does not support, recovery is a support ticket with no guarantee attached.
- Network fees are paid in that network’s native asset. On Ethereum that means ETH; a wallet holding USDC with no ETH cannot send at all. Tron prices its fees with bandwidth and energy. This is a real, common failure mode.
- USDC is not on every chain in circulation. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC-20” is not a native option.
- When you receive a deposit address, read the network from the provider at the moment of sending. Networks get added and removed. Do not rely on a blog post or a memory of last month.
And a caution about the underlying asset, since the whole design rests on it. Stablecoins aim to hold a stable value against a currency, but they do not always. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022; USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. USDC in particular is dollar-pegged and, Circle says, redeemable 1:1 for dollars and fully backed by cash and cash equivalents held mostly in a government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations. That is a stronger position than many stablecoins, and it is still not the same as a bank deposit.
I could not find the top-up methods, minimums, or deposit limits stated either. Nor could I find the withdrawal terms for the card. Unofficial material about Hurupay accounts says withdrawals can go to crypto exchanges or local banks — but that is the account, not the card, and it is a directory listing, not the company.
My practical advice, given all that: work out the network from Kolan’s own interface at the time of sending, keep the first deposit small, and check that your wallet holds the native asset for gas. Do not treat a support answer as a guarantee.
Paying with it every day
This is where the score dips hardest, and it is the section I would think hardest about before you commit.
The card is virtual and USD-only. There is no physical card. That means no use in a shop that wants to tap, no cash withdrawal in any practical sense, and no fallback when a merchant refuses to take a virtual card.
Everyday conveniences that people assume and that Kolan does not confirm: Apple Pay and Google Pay support are not disclosed. I would treat that as “assume no”. The official directory description mentions spend controls including the ability to freeze the card, which is worth having — a freeze you can trigger from your phone is genuinely useful if you think a card number has leaked. But custody arrangements and two-factor authentication are not stated either, and for a product whose entire job is holding value and spending it, “how is the money held” and “how is my account protected” are the first two questions, not the last.
Also not stated, and each one is a real gap in daily use:
- Wallets supported
- The mobile app — whether there is one, what it does
- Rewards, cashback, or any incentive
- How disputes work when a payment goes wrong
That last one deserves a word of context. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute. For US debit cards the reversal rights come from Regulation E and for credit cards from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. For a virtual prepaid card with an unnamed issuer, I would not assume any particular protection. Treat the balance as money you could lose to a bad merchant or a frozen account.
There is one real-world data point about how people use this card, and it tells you more about the audience than about the company. In mid-August 2026 a thread on Cursor’s forum discussed using a Kolan virtual card to pay for a Pro+ plan, and Cursor neither supports nor blocks it. That is the shape of this card’s life: paying for online software subscriptions from a crypto balance, quietly, with no drama either way.
What can go wrong
No official incidents came up in my research. That is a small comfort and not a large one — for a young product, silence is the expected state, not a clean bill of health.
The real signals are more useful. Cursor staff said in August 2026 that prepaid and crypto-funded virtual cards “often have issues” — checkout declines, failed renewals. That is a professional observation from a company in a position to see these failures constantly, and it applies to the category, Kolan included. A failed renewal is a subscription lapsing quietly, which for software you depend on is worse than a declined purchase.
The company picture is where I would want you to slow down. Kolan operates as Hurupay Inc., and third-party material describes it as a US-based fintech registered as a money services business — the registration body and number are not given, and that is exactly the kind of detail you can normally look up. Kolan was in the inaugural cohort of Circle’s Developer Grant Program, which is a real mark of recognition for a company building on stablecoin rails. But the card issuer is not named, and issuer identity is the thing that determines who is actually responsible when a payment goes wrong.
One more piece of context, because it bears on how you read any fintech claim about safety. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down. What a closure looks like for users: a notice period, spending and loading stop, and then you are asked to withdraw what is left. That is the risk you carry with any card whose issuing chain you cannot see — not a prediction about Kolan, but the shape of the failure.
There is a further background point that applies broadly. Merchants can look up the BIN to see which institution and which country issued a card, and some apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright. Address verification — comparing the numeric parts of the billing address — is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable on foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. All of that lands on a virtual USD card with an unnamed issuer.
Also relevant to the company, not the card: no Trustpilot page and no reviews were found for Kolan or Hurupay. In a category where card reviews are plentiful, that is worth noting in both directions.
What to take instead
I looked at three alternatives. None of them is perfect, and none of them fixes everything — but all three publish more than Kolan does, which is itself worth something.
| Card | Score | Card | Networks named | Fees published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kolan | 5.7 / 10 | virtual USD | not stated | not stated |
| OkiCard | 6.0 / 10 | virtual, USD/EUR pegged | Visa/Mastercard unspecified | load fee 3%, USD transaction 0% |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | virtual and physical, Naira | VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, UnionPay | percentage not stated |
| TakeCard | 5.5 / 10 | virtual; physical in Bolivia | Visa, issued in the US | 1% per purchase |
OkiCard scores highest of the group at 6.0. It says “150+ countries” on some pages and “200+” on others, with no geo-blocking based on your passport, though users must confirm they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. Its pricing page states issuance at $0 and monthly at $0, with a starting price of $15 for a virtual card — though its FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee, so the pages disagree with each other. The initial deposit is 100 USDT. Fees are stated: a 3% load fee, a 0% transaction fee on USD, and “no hidden exchange spreads”, with the FX fee not stated. Funding supports USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana; USDC “soon”; BTC and altcoins “coming soon”. Deposits go to a generated address and are converted at the moment of spending. That combination — named networks, a stated load fee, a stated zero transaction fee — is more than Kolan gives you.
Cardex offers a debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay, virtual and physical, with a card currency of Naira per its App Store listing. It claims “one crypto card, 200+ countries” with no exclusions named, though that listing is Naira-focused, which tells you about who it is really built for. It converts in real time at the moment of payment and says an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” scans global exchange rates and picks the best one, but no percentage is published. Funding from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, networks not named.
TakeCard is the most concrete on price: a virtual card at USD 5, and in Bolivia a physical card at USD 20 issuance plus USD 20 shipping — though another article in the same help centre says USD 10 for the physical card in Bolivia, so even here the pages conflict. It charges 1% commission per purchase, USD payments pass 1:1 with no currency adjustment, and other currencies go at the official Visa rate of the transaction day. The physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now”. This is also the clearest example of the identity problem in this category: I could not find the country list in the help articles at all.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Kolan to one specific person: someone who already holds crypto, already has accounts and a working relationship with exchanges, and whose only problem is that they need a plain USD virtual card number for online services this week. For that person, the product’s logic is sound, the mechanism is simple, and the absence of paperwork is an irritation rather than a wall.
I would not recommend it to anyone who needs to know what a payment costs before they make it. That is not a personality flaw; it is the one thing a card should tell you. Nor to anyone who needs a physical card, a mobile wallet, or a named issuer to call when money is missing. And not to anyone whose reason for looking at a crypto card is that ordinary banking has been difficult — because a card with an unnamed issuer, no published support route and no published identity policy is not a reliable substitute for an institution with obligations you can point to.
If you do go ahead, my sequence would be: confirm the network from the interface before your first deposit; send a small amount first; keep the native gas token in the sending wallet; freeze the card the moment you are not using it; and treat the balance as money at risk rather than money parked in an account.
Overall, 5.7 out of 10. A sensible idea, executed quietly, published badly.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Kolan card?
Kolan is a virtual, dollar-denominated payment card from Hurupay Inc., which trades as Kolan. You deposit crypto into a Kolan account, it is held as USDC in a linked wallet as collateral, and it is converted to USD to load the card, which then spends like an ordinary prepaid card online. There is no physical card, as far as public information shows.
How does the Kolan card work?
Your crypto goes into a Kolan account and sits there as USDC. When you need to spend, the USDC is converted to dollars and that dollar balance funds the virtual card. After that it behaves like a stored-balance card rather than a bank debit card, so it can only spend what has been loaded and cannot overdraw.
Who owns Kolan?
Kolan is operated by Hurupay Inc., a US-based company described in third-party material as a registered money services business, though the registration body and number are not given. Kolan also appeared in the inaugural cohort of Circle’s Developer Grant Program. The company does not name the bank or institution that issues the card.
Which countries can use Kolan?
The card’s own pages do not say. Unofficial listings describe Hurupay accounts as available in “more than 100 countries”, which is about accounts rather than card eligibility, and a separate profile describes Kolan as serving non-US individuals in over 50 countries. If your country is unusual for prepaid virtual cards, ask before you rely on it.
Does Kolan require KYC?
Nobody published an answer. Regulated businesses in this industry are normally required to verify customers and assess risk, and accounts get frozen when documents cannot be completed — but whether Kolan performs identity checks, and at what level, is not stated on its public pages. Assume some check exists and assume it can block you.
Is Kolan free?
Nobody knows from the public pages. Issuance, monthly fee, conversion cost and foreign-exchange treatment are all not stated. One unofficial directory line says “no hidden FX fees”, which rules out a surcharge but says nothing about the conversion spread — and on this card the spread is the cost.
Can I add the Kolan card to Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay support is not disclosed, so treat it as unavailable. The only spending-control feature I found described anywhere is the ability to freeze the card, which is useful. Whether there is a working mobile app at all, and whether wallets are supported, is not stated.
Is Kolan safe to use?
There is no published custody arrangement, no stated two-factor authentication, and no named issuer, so safety cannot really be assessed. No incidents came up in my research and there is no Trustpilot page or reviews for Kolan or Hurupay — silence, not endorsement. Staff at Cursor observed in August 2026 that such cards “often have issues”, like checkout declines and failed renewals.
How do I top up the Kolan card?
You deposit crypto into your Kolan account and it is held as USDC and converted to load the card. The critical detail is not published: which networks are supported. Get that from Kolan’s interface at the moment of sending, send a small amount first, and keep the network’s native token in the wallet for the fee — Ethereum gas must be paid in ETH.
What are the limits on the Kolan card?
Daily limits, monthly limits, minimum deposits and minimum top-ups are all not stated. Treat the card as having no limits you can plan around, and check with the company before you attempt a large payment, because a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.
Virtual cards for online use – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
