Moonwell card is closed — what happened and what to use instead
I went through the Moonwell card’s public pages, the closure notice from its infrastructure provider Cypher, and reporting in Crypto Briefing and Diario Bitcoin. The picture is short and not subtle: the card programme is closed, new cards stopped being issued on 8 July 2026, every existing card was cancelled on 8 August 2026, the app and dApp went offline on 6 September 2026, and the underlying infrastructure (Cypher) has been acquired by Nium. If you are reading this because you once held a Moonwell card, the rest of the page tells you what to check first. If you are choosing a card to spend on-chain USDC, the same facts explain why a closed programme is not a choice and which live alternatives take its place.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The Moonwell card is a closed programme and cannot be recommended to anyone as a new product. It scores 2.3 out of 10 on the criteria I usually weigh for a spending card, and the bulk of that low score comes from a single fact: the programme is no longer issuing or accepting new customers. The remaining marks reflect the fee structure that was on offer while the card ran, which was reasonable for the category, and the very limited top-up options that existed historically. Reliability and everyday use, however, are both zero: the card is cancelled, the app is offline, and there is nothing left to use.
I will not recommend this card to anyone looking to apply today. The audience for this page is two narrow groups: people who once held the card and want to confirm the closure dates, balances and claims process, and people who are choosing a crypto card in 2026 and want to understand why this one is no longer a candidate.
| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0/10 | Programme closed: card loading stopped and new issuance ended 8 July 2026; last day of card use was 8 August 2026 |
| Cost | 7/10 | Unofficial: 0.5% load fee on USDC and 1.5% FX fee were the published rates while the card ran |
| Top-up options | 2/10 | Card loading stopped 8 July 2026; historically, on-chain USDC and a “borrow-and-load” feature against Moonwell lending positions |
| Reliability and complaints | 1/10 | Card closed together with infrastructure provider Cypher, now acquired by Nium; fee-free withdrawals until 6 September 2026; no complaints about the card found |
| Everyday use | 0/10 | All cards cancelled on 8 August 2026, app disabled on 6 September 2026 |
| Total | 2.3/10 | Closed programme, not a current option |
If you were hoping to find a Moonwell card to apply for, the rest of the page is honest about that: there is nothing to apply for. If you are a former holder, the next section walks through the dates and what they mean for your balance.
What happened to the programme
The Moonwell card was a Visa debit card that spent on-chain USDC, with a launch reported in December 2024 (per Crypto Briefing, 2026). It ran on infrastructure provided by Cypher (CypherD Wallet Inc.), a non-custodial wallet platform. According to a Cypher notice dated 8 July 2026 and reporting in Crypto Briefing, Cypher has been acquired by Nium, a global payments infrastructure company, and the card programme is being wound down as part of that transition. The Moonwell project’s own communications, as covered by Crypto Briefing, indicate the team is exploring new card providers, with no timeline given.
The specific dates that matter for anyone who held a card are these:
- 2 to 16 July 2026 was the final rewards cycle. Rewards earned before 16 July 2026 are honoured and must be claimed by the closure date.
- 8 July 2026 was the last day on which cards could be loaded, and the last day on which new cards were issued.
- 8 August 2026 at 00:00 UTC was the last moment cards could be used at merchants; all cards were then cancelled.
- 6 September 2026 was the deadline to withdraw balances from the Cypher app and dApp without fees, and the date the app and dApp were taken offline.
- After 6 September 2026, Cypher support remained available for a 60-day transitional period at [email protected].
If you never held a card and you are reading this because you saw the Moonwell name attached to a card product somewhere, the headline is the simplest version: the programme is closed, the issuing infrastructure has changed hands, and there is no active card to order or top up.
A few things the card’s public pages used to cover are not stated anywhere now that the programme is closed. The Moonwell page at moonwell.fi no longer contains card content, so things like the official eligibility list, KYC requirements, fees, supported currencies and delivery times are simply not stated. Unofficial reporting in Crypto Briefing and Diario Bitcoin described the card as available in more than 180 countries excluding New York and Vermont, spending on-chain USDC at 44 million-plus Visa merchants, with a 0.5% load fee on USDC, a 1.5% foreign exchange fee, and support for Apple Pay and Google Pay. Those are unofficial figures from third-party sites, not confirmed by the card’s own materials, and they describe the card as it ran before the closure rather than anything you can use today.
For a new applicant, that is the end of the story. For a former holder, the next section is the practical one.
If you already have the card
There is a defined sequence for what happens to your money, and it is worth walking through it in the order Cypher set out, because each step has a deadline that affects whether you keep your balance or your rewards.
The first deadline is the rewards claim. The final cycle ran from 2 July to 16 July 2026. Anything you earned up to 16 July 2026 is still honoured, but it has to be claimed before the end date the notice set; unclaimed rewards after that point are not paid out. If you earned rewards in that window, the practical step is to open the Cypher app or dApp and check the rewards section before you do anything else with the balance.
The second deadline is the withdrawal window. Between the closure notice on 8 July 2026 and 6 September 2026, the card balance could be withdrawn through the Cypher app or dApp at no fee. The Cypher wallet is non-custodial, which means the user holds the private keys; the closure of the app does not by itself put your funds out of reach, but it removes the interface you would normally use to move them. After 6 September 2026 the app and dApp were taken offline, and Cypher support became the only point of contact for the next 60 days, at [email protected]. The languages and hours of that support line are not stated; the only confirmed detail is the email address and the transitional window.
The third deadline is the end of the transitional support. After the 60 days following 6 September 2026, the standard Cypher support channel closes too. At that point any remaining balance is still recorded (Cypher notes that anti-money-laundering law requires keeping identification and transaction records for at least five years after account closure), but the route to accessing it is not spelled out in the public notice. If you find yourself past the 6 September deadline with funds you cannot move, the Cypher support address is the place to start, and the fact that the records are kept for five years gives you a long window in which to act.
For anyone who used the card’s “borrow-and-load” feature — unofficial, reported by Crypto Briefing, where users could borrow against Moonwell lending positions and load the borrowed amount onto the card — the same withdrawal path applies to the card balance, but the underlying loan position is a separate question. Loan obligations on the Moonwell protocol are not affected by the card closure; if you have an open borrow position, the position itself remains on the Moonwell protocol and the closure notice does not forgive it. This is worth checking separately if you used borrow-and-load, because a card closure can obscure the loan’s continued existence.
The honest summary for a holder is: rewards first, balance second, and any open Moonwell lending position third, each on its own track. The card is gone, but the wallet, the rewards and the lending book are three different things, and only the first two are governed by the dates above.
What can go wrong
A closed programme is unusual among the things that can go wrong with a crypto card, because the failure mode is not a hack, a depeg or a regulator, it is the issuing infrastructure itself. The card did not collapse; the company behind it was acquired. That has a few practical consequences for anyone whose balance is still in the system or who used the card recently.
The first risk is missing the withdrawal window. The fee-free period ran until 6 September 2026; after that, what happens to a remaining balance is not spelled out in the public notice. Cypher’s obligation under anti-money-laundering law is to keep the records, not to keep the interface open. If a balance is still sitting on a card that was cancelled on 8 August 2026 and the app has been offline since 6 September 2026, the path back to it is the support email and the 60-day transitional period, and the user is the one who has to initiate that contact. There is no automatic payout, because the wallet is non-custodial; the keys are with the user, but the app to sign transactions with them is gone.
The second risk is the rewards claim. Anything earned in the final cycle (2 to 16 July 2026) had to be claimed by the closure date. If the claim was not made, the rewards are not carried forward and not paid out, and there is no public mechanism to recover them later. This is the kind of detail that is easy to miss when the headline is “card closed” and the assumption is that everything tied to the card simply stops.
The third risk is the broader pattern this fits into. The closure notice does not describe a hack or a regulatory action; it describes a corporate transaction (Cypher acquired by Nium) and a wind-down. That is the cleanest possible reason a programme can close, but it is still a closure, and it follows a pattern the crypto card category has seen before. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme in one move. The Moonwell closure is the same shape, and the same caution applies: a card programme can stop on a fixed schedule, and the user’s task is to be out before the schedule ends.
The fourth risk is the longer tail of a non-custodial wallet whose interface has gone offline. With a non-custodial wallet the user holds the keys, so a closed app does not by itself mean lost funds, but it does mean there is no longer an easy way to sign transactions. Recovery still requires the seed phrase. If you have the seed phrase and you are comfortable using a non-custodial wallet interface other than the Cypher app, your funds are reachable; if you do not have the seed phrase, the closure of the app is the moment that loss becomes likely, because the only normal route to recovery is gone.
There is one more thing to mention because it is the kind of thing a reader will wonder about. Searches on 2026-10-20 did not find any Trustpilot or Reddit complaints about the Moonwell card specifically. The closure is not a story of a programme that failed in the sense users complained about; it is a story of a programme that was wound down on schedule by its infrastructure provider, and the absence of complaint threads is part of that picture. If you arrived here looking for confirmation of something that went wrong, the honest answer is that the closure is what happened, and the process is what you should focus on.
What to take instead
The Moonwell card was, in its day, a way to spend on-chain USDC at the Visa network with a 0.5% load fee and a 1.5% FX fee, plus the unusual option to borrow against a Moonwell lending position and load the borrowed amount onto the card. None of those exact features survive in a single card, because the borrowing-against-collateral model was tied to the Moonwell protocol and the card infrastructure is gone. The live alternatives below are the closest current substitutes for spending crypto or stablecoins through a card, and they are arranged roughly from highest to lowest score on the criteria I use for this category.
Nexo scores 6.3 out of 10. It is open to residents and citizens of selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom, although no country list is published on the page and excluded jurisdictions are not named. Wording on the page covers both citizenship and residence. The card is offered in virtual (activated in the app) and physical form, issued by DiPocket UAB, with the Mastercard trademark notice on the page but the network not stated explicitly. There is no monthly, annual or inactivity fee; the virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate, and the physical card has free shipping but requires a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and Gold tier. FX fees are 0.2% on weekdays in the EEA, UK and Switzerland and 2% elsewhere, rising to 0.7% and 2.5% on weekends; the crypto conversion fee is not stated. The card spends from the Nexo account in stablecoins, crypto or FiatX assets such as EURx, USDx and GBPx in Debit Mode, with cashback in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin on purchases in Credit Mode, provided the account holds more than $5,000 in digital assets; cashback rates by loyalty tier run from 0.5%/0.1% at Base up to 2%/0.5% at Platinum for NEXO/Bitcoin. One piece of context worth knowing: in 2025 a Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office was reported by Cointelegraph over alleged Russia-sanctions and AML violations, and no official Nexo statement on Russians was found; that is a secondary-source item, not an official Nexo statement.
Pay3 also scores 6.3 out of 10. It is open to users outside “Restricted Locations” (countries under trade sanctions, export controls, or crypto or fintech prohibitions), although the list is not published and may change without notice; users, citizens or residents of Restricted Locations are excluded. Card terms require an attestation that the user is not a US citizen and not OFAC-blocked. The card comes as virtual, physical, and Apple Pay and Google Pay versions, issued under licence from Visa, with card currency not stated outright but USD implied by the “non-USD” FX fee. Card issuance starts at $5 and card spend starts at $0.15 per transaction; monthly and annual fees are not stated and the fee schedule varies by card type, currency and location. Currency conversion starts at 1.15%, the foreign exchange fee on non-USD transactions can reach 3%, and the cross-border and foreign transaction fees can each reach 3%. Funding is via stablecoins, or fiat into a multi-currency account; the card is collateral-based, with the collateral setting the limit, and rewards are not stated.
Exa scores 6.2 out of 10. Cards are issued in 45 countries including Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE (Nigeria is conditional) and in 31 US states, with 18 ineligible countries including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia; the rule is by residence, and “Russian residents cannot be issued a card”, with spending also blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The product is a virtual Visa (Visa Signature Exa Credit Card), accepted at “over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries”; the help centre lists an article titled “Is there a physical card?” whose answer was not read, and card currency is USD implied (the help centre has an article on non-USD conversion) but not confirmed. Cost is marketed as free with no amounts on the page; the help centre has an article on Exa Card associated fees and costs, which was not read, and fees are not stated. The card spends from account funds or collateral in the self-custody Exa App via Pay Now or as installments against collateral; specific coins and networks are not stated. There is no cashback (“Earn while you spend” refers to yield on assets), but the help centre lists Visa Signature benefits, a 20% Airalo eSIM discount, and a US activation reward of $20 in XRP via Uphold after spending $100.
A few notes on the comparison. Nexo is the most accessible of the three if you are in the EEA, UK or Switzerland, because its weekday FX fee is 0.2% and there is no monthly fee; the catch is the $5,000 minimum and Gold tier for the physical card. Pay3 is the most flexible on geography, because the only stated exclusion is the unpublished “Restricted Locations” list, and the user attests rather than the card enforcing a country list; the trade-off is the higher FX and cross-border fees, which can each reach 3%. Exa is the most collateral-flavoured of the three, and the one that most closely resembles the Moonwell model’s idea of spending against a lending position, although the underlying collateral and instalment mechanics are different. None of them offers the borrow-against-Moonwell-position feature the Moonwell card had, because that feature was tied to the Moonwell protocol itself; if that specific capability mattered to you, the live equivalent is “spend against collateral” in Exa, but the collateral and the protocol are not the same.
Who I would recommend it to
The honest answer is: nobody, for a new application, because there is no programme to apply to. For the smaller audience of people who already have or had a card, the recommendation is narrower and more procedural.
If you are a current or former holder and you have not yet checked your rewards, do that first, because the final cycle closed on 16 July 2026 and unclaimed rewards after that date are not paid out. Once rewards are settled, withdraw your balance from the Cypher app or dApp if you are still inside the fee-free window that ended on 6 September 2026, and if you are past it, contact Cypher support at [email protected] during the 60-day transitional period that followed. If you used the borrow-and-load feature, check your open Moonwell lending position separately; the closure of the card does not close the loan, and the position remains on the protocol. If you do not have your Cypher seed phrase, the closure of the app is the moment that loss becomes likely, because the normal route to recovery through the app is gone; a non-custodial wallet is only as recoverable as the seed phrase, and that is a feature of the model, not a Moonwell-specific problem.
For anyone choosing a new card to spend on-chain USDC, the live alternatives are Nexo, Pay3 and Exa, each of which is described in the previous section, and each of which has its own trade-offs in geography, fees and minimums. The Moonwell card is not on that list because it is closed; the question is not whether to pick it over the alternatives, but whether to pick an alternative at all, and that decision is yours.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Moonwell card?
The Moonwell card was a Visa debit card that spent on-chain USDC at the Visa merchant network, launched in December 2024 (per Crypto Briefing, 2026). It was issued on infrastructure provided by Cypher (CypherD Wallet Inc.), a non-custodial wallet platform, and is no longer accepting new customers or new card loads as of 8 July 2026.
How does the Moonwell card work?
While it ran, the card was loaded with USDC and the balance was spent at merchants that accept Visa. Unofficial reporting described a 0.5% load fee on USDC, a 1.5% foreign exchange fee, support for Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a “borrow-and-load” feature that let users borrow against Moonwell lending positions and load the borrowed amount onto the card.
Is Moonwell a bank?
Moonwell is a decentralised lending protocol, not a bank. The card was issued on infrastructure provided by Cypher, and Cypher has been acquired by Nium, a global payments infrastructure company. The card programme is closed; cards were cancelled on 8 August 2026 and the app went offline on 6 September 2026.
Who owns Moonwell?
Moonwell is described in third-party coverage as a decentralised protocol, and the card’s infrastructure was provided by Cypher, which has been acquired by Nium. Official corporate or registration details are not stated.
Is the Moonwell card available in my country?
The card is closed. While it ran, unofficial reporting said it was available in more than 180 countries excluding New York and Vermont, but that range is from third-party sites and not confirmed by Moonwell’s own pages, and it is moot now that the programme has stopped issuing cards.
Can I still use a Moonwell card?
No. All cards were cancelled on 8 August 2026 at 00:00 UTC, and the app and dApp went offline on 6 September 2026. If you held a card, the remaining task is to withdraw any balance through Cypher support and to claim any rewards from the final cycle (2 to 16 July 2026).
How do I withdraw money from Moonwell?
If you held a balance on the card, the Cypher app and dApp were the fee-free withdrawal routes until 6 September 2026. After that, Cypher support at [email protected] is the contact point for a 60-day transitional period. The wallet is non-custodial, so the underlying funds remain reachable to anyone who holds the seed phrase.
Is the Moonwell card free?
While it ran, unofficial reporting described a 0.5% load fee on USDC and a 1.5% foreign exchange fee; monthly and annual fees were not stated in the public materials. The card is closed, so the current price is “not available”, and any new card programme from Moonwell would be a separate product with its own fee schedule.
How do I add the Moonwell card to Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay and Google Pay were supported while the card ran (per Crypto Briefing, 2026), but the cards are cancelled as of 8 August 2026 and the app is offline, so the tokenised wallet entry is no longer in use. New card programmes in the same category (Nexo, Pay3, Exa) currently support mobile wallets.
Is the Moonwell card worth it?
The card is closed, so as a new application it is not worth anything: there is nothing to apply for. For former holders, the value is purely in completing the closure steps (claiming rewards, withdrawing the balance, checking any open Moonwell lending position) before the transitional support window ends. For new spending needs, the closest current alternatives are Nexo, Pay3 and Exa, each with its own trade-offs.
Credit and cashback cards – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
