A prepaid crypto card with a heavy fee stack and a long country list

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Kemy is a prepaid crypto card that lets you spend from a balance you top up with stablecoins, other cryptocurrencies or, in some regions, mobile money. The product comes in two shapes: an unlimited number of virtual cards and one physical Mastercard. The country list is unusually wide, the fee stack is unusually tall, and the company behind it is not a bank. That combination is the whole story in one paragraph, and the rest of this review walks through what it means for you.

Kemy works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Kemy earns a 6.0 out of 10 in this review. The card does the basic job of converting crypto into something a card terminal will accept, it works in 190-plus countries, and the everyday experience (Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, contactless) is close to what a normal debit card offers. The reason it does not score higher is the cost: a $2 monthly fee on the virtual card, a 3.5% plus $1 transaction fee, and a top-up fee that climbs with the size of the load, all stack up quickly. For someone who spends a little, those numbers are hard to swallow.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Kemy payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The card suits people who cannot get a normal bank account or card where they live, who already hold USDT or USDC and want to spend it without going through a centralised exchange, and who need many virtual cards on a single account for subscriptions, ad spend or online services. It does not suit people who pay often, who want cashback, or who care about predictable, low fees: the 3.5% transaction fee alone is significantly higher than what the cheapest crypto cards in this category charge.

How the score breaks down

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 190+ countries with only a few unspecified restrictions
Cost 2 / 10 $2/month virtual, $10/month physical, 3.5% + $1 per transaction, top-up fees
Top-up options 7 / 10 USDT and USDC on main networks, plus BTC, ETH, SOL via on/off ramp, mobile money and virtual accounts
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Not a bank, FinCEN MSB registration, unnamed partner banks, mixed third-party reviews
Everyday use 9 / 10 Unlimited virtual cards, one physical Mastercard, mobile wallets, $500/day ATM

The audience that gets the most out of Kemy is people who need many virtual cards from a single account. If that is not you, the alternatives later in this review are worth a look.

Who Can Get the Kemy Card

Kemy says it serves “190+ countries” and that “a few restrictions apply.” It does not publish the list of restricted countries, so the only way to know whether you qualify is to start the sign-up and find out. The standard adult rule for prepaid cards applies: you need to be at least 18. There is no separate consumer tier system described in the public material, so the onboarding process is the same path for everyone.

The card is issued under Visa and Mastercard licences, so in principle any merchant that takes one of those networks will take a Kemy card, subject to the merchant’s own policies on prepaid or foreign-issued cards. That is the broad picture; the practical questions of which country you can be in, which documents you will be asked for, and which nationalities are screened out at sign-up are answered at the point of application, not on the website.

How to Sign Up

Signing up starts on the Kemy website. The identity check is handled by Sumsub, with Veriff also named as a backup, and it takes “two minutes” according to the company. That is the optimistic end of the range; in practice, electronic KYC systems can take longer when document checks need a second look, when the proof-of-address document is hard to read, or when sanctions screening flags the application for manual review. The business pricing page lists a $1.80 fee per proof-of-address check, which hints that address verification is a separate step from the ID itself.

The documents requested are not publicly listed, so you should expect the standard set: government-issued photo ID, a selfie or short video for liveness, and a recent proof of address such as a utility bill or bank statement. The terms say there are no formal KYC tiers described, but account limits may change with the KYC level you reach, so completing verification fully unlocks the higher balance and transaction ceilings.

The physical card ships “within 5 to 15 business days, depending on country,” and DHL Express is included in the $250 issuance fee. The replacement cost for a lost or stolen physical card, the list of countries it ships to, and what happens if delivery fails are not stated. If you are outside the usual courier routes for DHL, it is worth asking support before you pay the $250.

What Kemy Really Costs

This is the section to read carefully if cost matters to you, because the fee stack has more layers than most prepaid crypto cards.

The costs in one place

Fee or limit Amount
Virtual card issuance $15 (valid 3 years)
Virtual card monthly fee $2
Physical card issuance $250 (DHL Express included, valid 3 years, 1 per user)
Physical card monthly fee $10
Card top-up under $100 $1.50
Card top-up from $100 1.25% (min $5 virtual, $10 physical)
Transaction fee (virtual) 3.5% + $1
Failed transaction fee $0.80
Main-account crypto/mobile-money deposit 8% (Pricing summary) or 5% (deposits section) — page conflict
ATM withdrawal $500 per day, $15,000 per month (fee not stated)
Virtual card balance limit Up to $100,000; $10,000 per transaction
Physical card balance limit Up to $400,000; $25,000 per transaction; $50,000 daily spend

The pricing page does not separate consumer and business accounts, and the same fee schedule applies to both. The card currency is not stated, but the amounts above are shown in US dollars, and no multi-currency balance or foreign-exchange fee is described.

A few things are worth flagging:

Three everyday payments, three different fee pictures

To make the schedule less abstract, here is how it lands on three common purchases.

A $5 coffee paid with a virtual card. You paid $1.50 to top up (if under $100), then 3.5% plus $1 on the transaction, which is $1.18. Total fees on a $5 spend are significant compared to the purchase amount. The card’s small-purchase economics are punishing.

A $100 grocery run on the virtual card. Top-up is 1.25% from $100 upward, so $1.25. Transaction fee is 3.5% plus $1, so $4.50. Total fees are $5.75, which is high compared to mainstream debit cards.

A large payment on the physical card. Top-up at 1.25% is $25 (minimum $10 applies to the physical card). Transaction fee is 3.5% plus $1, so $71. Total fees are $96. The dollar amounts climb as the payment gets bigger, even if the percentage improves slightly.

For comparison, a mainstream European debit card might charge nothing on domestic payments and 1% to 2% on foreign-currency transactions. A typical cheap crypto card charges 0% to 1% per transaction with no monthly fee. Kemy’s stack puts it at the expensive end of the category.

How to Top Up the Kemy Card

Top-up is a two-step process in the Kemy flow: you first fund your main account, then you load the card from that balance. The card top-up itself costs $1.50 below $100 or 1.25% from $100 upward, with a $5 minimum on the virtual card and $10 minimum on the physical.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Kemy starts with a transfer to the right network

Funding the main account is where the cryptocurrencies come in. The public material says Kemy accepts USDT and USDC “on the main networks,” without listing the specific chains. In practice, USDT and USDC run on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, Avalanche and several other networks, and “main networks” is too vague to act on without checking. Sending USDT on a chain Kemy does not support is a common way to lose money, because blockchain transfers are irreversible and a deposit that arrives on the wrong network usually needs manual support intervention with no guarantee of recovery. The safest move is to ask support which chains are currently accepted before you send.

Beyond USDT and USDC, Kemy lists BTC, ETH and SOL through an on/off ramp, which usually means a third-party processor converts your crypto into a balance inside the app. Fiat funding is also described, through mobile money in supported regions and through virtual bank accounts, which suggests a local rail rather than a SWIFT transfer.

The main-account deposit fee is the page’s biggest internal conflict. The summary shows 8%, the deposits section shows 5%, and a third-party report flagged 8% as a concern. The CryptoSlate review of Kemy (rated 3.9, “Poor”) also picked up on this fee. Until Kemy publishes a single, consistent number, the conservative reading is 8%.

Account creation is free, and there is no minimum to open an account. Once funded, the card top-up itself is the smaller of the two fees, so loading larger amounts less often reduces the percentage drag.

Paying With the Kemy Card Day to Day

For everyday use, the card is closer to a normal debit card than to a crypto wallet. The physical Mastercard is contactless, so you tap to pay at terminals that support it. The card also works in Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, which means you can add it to your phone or watch and leave the plastic at home. When you pay with a mobile wallet, the card number is replaced with a device-specific token, so the merchant never sees the real PAN, and each transaction uses a dynamic security code.

There is no native app on the App Store or Google Play from what the public material shows. Instead, Kemy runs a web dashboard and a Telegram bot (@KemyCardBot), and that is the primary way to manage the card, check the balance, freeze or unfreeze, and contact support. If you prefer a real banking app on your phone, this is a gap.

Cashback is not mentioned anywhere in the public material, so you should not expect to earn any. The card is a spending tool, not a rewards tool.

Online payments go through 3-D Secure if the merchant requests it (Visa Secure for Visa, Identity Check for Mastercard). That is the standard for any card issued under those networks, and it usually means a one-time code or biometric prompt at checkout when the issuer wants to verify the cardholder. One user report flagged the absence of 3-D Secure as a concern, but that is not the standard behaviour for the network, so it is worth checking with your bank or card app at the point of payment.

ATM withdrawals are limited to $500 per day and $15,000 per month on the physical card. The fee is not stated, so plan for an ATM operator surcharge on top of whatever Kemy charges.

Disputes follow a written-claims process, with a two-month window from the date you discover the problem. The terms also say payments are non-refundable because the service activates immediately, which means the bar for getting money back after a card payment is set by the card network’s chargeback rules, not by Kemy. Chargebacks specifically are not addressed in the public material, and the governing law is US law in US courts, which is the part to read carefully if you live elsewhere.

What Can Go Wrong With the Kemy Card

The risks fall into four buckets: the company behind the card, the fee structure, the dependence on stablecoin networks, and the experience of past users.

Kemy is not a bank. The company describes itself as a “fintech company,” registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN in the United States, and the cards are issued by “authorized banking partners” whose names are not disclosed. That is a common arrangement in the crypto card world, where the brand you see is often a programme manager on top of a licensed issuer, but it means the regulatory protections you get depend on who that partner is and where it sits. If the issuer faces trouble, your card can be paused or wound down, and the timeline for getting your balance back is set by the issuer, not by Kemy. The terms say Kemy can terminate the service with one month’s notice and that an account can be closed after 18 months of non-use, but the public material does not describe how the balance is returned to you in either case.

The fee structure is the second risk. The transaction fee of 3.5% plus $1 is high by category standards, and it compounds with the top-up fee and the main-account deposit fee. A user who loads small amounts and pays often will see the balance drop faster than the spending suggests, and the absence of a stated foreign-exchange fee means a cardholder paying in a currency other than dollars has no way to know in advance what they will be charged.

Stablecoin networks are the third risk. USDT and USDC exist on multiple blockchains, and the public material does not list which ones Kemy accepts. Sending the wrong token to the wrong network is a well-known way to lose funds permanently, because blockchain transactions are not reversible and manual recovery is not guaranteed. The same applies to top-ups in BTC, ETH and SOL, which are routed through an on/off ramp and exposed to the processor’s fees and timing.

User reports paint a mixed picture. An aggregator review (cryptocards.so, small sample, unverified) put Kemy at 2.5 out of 5 from 4 Trustpilot reviews and flagged delayed applications, failed withdrawals, unanswered support, scam warnings and, in one case, the absence of 3-D Secure. A CryptoSlate review gave it 3.9 (“Poor”) and called out the 8% deposit deduction, the lack of a named issuing bank, undisclosed owners and inconsistent KYC claims (“No KYC” versus full eKYC on different pages). On the positive side, the same reports mention fast sign-up and praise for the breadth of countries served. The official FAQ acknowledges that external withdrawal fees vary with the network, which is at least an honest admission of where the cost can creep in.

Custody is the fourth risk. Kemy says customer funds are held “in segregated accounts with regulated institutions” and that it runs regular audits, but the custody model is not described in detail, and insurance is not mentioned. If the platform is hacked or becomes insolvent, your ability to recover funds depends on how the segregated accounts were set up and on the laws of the jurisdiction that governs them.

Security on the user side is closer to standard: 2FA and device biometric login, instant card freeze and unfreeze from the dashboard, real-time AML transaction monitoring, and AES-256 encryption of card data. Support is described as 24/7, with channels including a Telegram bot, a Telegram channel, X (formerly Twitter), an FAQ and email. The site is translated into roughly 30 languages.

What to Take Instead of Kemy

Kemy is not the only crypto card with a wide country list, and a few alternatives are worth comparing. Each one is scored on the same scale as Kemy, so the numbers line up.

Cardex

Cardex scores 5.6 out of 10. The product is one crypto card available in 200-plus countries, with no public list of exclusions. The card runs on Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay networks, in virtual and physical form, and the App Store listing is Naira-focused, which suggests the strongest fit is in Nigeria.

Cardex does not publish its own fee schedule. The site describes an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchanges at the moment of payment and applies the best rate, but the percentage charged for that conversion is not stated. The card supports USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, again without listing the networks. There is no public information on rewards. If you live in a country where Naira payment rails are important, Cardex offers a single multi-network card, but be aware that the lack of public fee schedules makes it difficult to compare costs before you sign up.

TakeCard

TakeCard scores 5.5 out of 10. The virtual card is available immediately, the physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now,” and the help articles do not list the full country set. Starting data (not confirmed on a page I could read) puts the virtual card in Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, the US, Spain and Italy. The card is a Visa issued in the United States, prepaid, denominated in US dollars.

The cost is $5 for a virtual card and $20 issuance plus $20 shipping for the physical card in Bolivia, though one article in the same help centre says $10 for the physical in Bolivia, a conflict worth confirming. There is no monthly fee stated. The transaction commission is 1% per purchase, USD payments go through 1:1, and other currencies use the official Visa rate on the day. The crypto conversion fee is not stated. TakeCard is funded from a Takenos wallet, and the underlying coins (USDC, USDT on Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum) are mentioned in starting data but not on the page I could verify. TakeCard is the option to look at if you are in Bolivia, hold stablecoins on one of the named chains and want a 1% transaction commission rather than Kemy’s 3.5% plus $1.

OkiCard

OkiCard scores 6.0 out of 10, the same as Kemy. The country list is “150+ countries” on most pages and “200+” on some, with a stated policy of “no geo-blocking based on your passport,” though users still confirm they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. The card is virtual, with a physical card mentioned but not detailed, on Visa or Mastercard, denominated in USD or EUR.

The pricing page lists $0 issuance, $0 monthly fee and a starting price of $15 for the virtual card, while the FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee, so the two pages disagree. The initial deposit is 100 USDT. The load fee is 3%, the transaction fee in USD is 0%, and the site claims “no hidden exchange spreads,” though the foreign-exchange fee is not stated. Funding is USDT on BSC (BEP-20), Ethereum (ERC-20), Tron (TRC-20) and Solana (SPL), with USDC “soon” and BTC and other coins “coming soon.” The deposit goes to a generated address and is converted to fiat at the moment of spending. Cashback is not mentioned. OkiCard is the option to look at if you hold USDT on one of the four named networks and want a 0% transaction fee in USD, even with the 3% load fee.

A quick comparison

Card Score Best for Watch out for
Kemy 6.0 / 10 Many virtual cards, very wide country list High transaction fee, $10/month physical fee, page conflicts on deposit fee
Cardex 5.6 / 10 Multi-network card, Naira rails No published fees, country list is vague
TakeCard 5.5 / 10 Bolivia, 1% commission, stablecoin funding on named chains Physical card Bolivia-only, conflicting issuance costs
OkiCard 6.0 / 10 Zero transaction fee in USD, named stablecoin networks 3% load fee, $15 starting price, page conflicts on issuance

Who I Would Recommend the Kemy Card To

Kemy is a reasonable choice in a narrow set of circumstances. If you cannot open a bank account or get a normal debit card in your country, Kemy’s 190-plus-country reach and its support for USDT and USDC make it a workable spending tool. If you hold crypto already and want a card that turns it into something a terminal will accept, without going through a centralised exchange, Kemy does that. If you need many virtual cards from a single account for subscriptions, advertising, or splitting budgets across teams, the unlimited virtual card allocation is a real advantage.

Kemy is the wrong choice if you pay often and in small amounts, because the 3.5% plus $1 transaction fee makes small purchases expensive. It is the wrong choice if you want cashback, because none is offered. It is the wrong choice if low, predictable fees are your top priority, because the fee stack has more layers than cheaper cards in the same category. And it is the wrong choice if you are uncomfortable with a card whose issuing bank is not named in public, whose deposit fee is shown as two different numbers on the same page, and whose third-party reviews range from lukewarm to poor.

If any of those “wrong choice” conditions apply to you, OkiCard and TakeCard are the two alternatives most worth comparing, depending on where you live and which stablecoins you hold.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Kemy card?

The Kemy card is a prepaid crypto card that spends from a balance you top up with stablecoins such as USDT and USDC, with other cryptocurrencies available through an on/off ramp. It comes as an unlimited number of virtual cards and one physical Mastercard, and it works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay.

How does the Kemy card work?

You fund your Kemy account with crypto or, in some regions, mobile money, then load that balance onto a virtual or physical card. When you pay, the card charges in the merchant’s currency and the balance drops by the purchase amount plus the transaction fee. The card runs on the standard Visa and Mastercard rails, so any merchant that takes those networks will take a Kemy card.

Is Kemy a bank?

No. Kemy describes itself as a fintech company, registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN in the United States. The cards are issued by “authorized banking partners” whose names are not disclosed, so the regulatory protections depend on who that partner is and where it is licensed.

Who owns Kemy?

The public material does not name the owners. A third-party reviewer (CryptoSlate) flagged undisclosed ownership as a concern, and the company behind the card is listed as a Delaware entity in unofficial sources, but the operators are not named on the official site.

Is the Kemy card available in my country?

Kemy says it serves 190-plus countries with “a few restrictions apply,” but it does not publish the list of restricted countries. The only way to confirm your eligibility is to start the sign-up and let the system check your country and documents. The physical card ships to a separate set of countries that is also not listed.

How do I apply for the Kemy card?

You start on the Kemy website and complete an electronic KYC check through Sumsub, with Veriff as a backup. The company says it takes two minutes, though the time can stretch when documents need a second look. The physical card is ordered after sign-up, costs $250, and ships by DHL Express within 5 to 15 business days.

Does the Kemy card require KYC?

Yes. The terms say identity checks are required and that limits may change with the KYC level you reach, which is the standard way prepaid cards describe progressive verification. The documents requested are not publicly listed, but you should expect a government photo ID, a selfie or liveness check, and a proof of address.

How do I top up the Kemy card?

You first fund your Kemy main account, then load the card from that balance. The main account accepts USDT and USDC on the “main networks” (specific chains are not listed), BTC, ETH and SOL through an on/off ramp, and fiat through mobile money and virtual bank accounts in some regions. The card top-up itself costs $1.50 under $100 or 1.25% from $100 upward.

Is the Kemy card safe?

The card uses standard security on the user side: 2FA, device biometric login, instant freeze and unfreeze, real-time AML monitoring and AES-256 encryption of card data. The risks are on the platform side: the issuing bank is not named, custody details are not published, insurance is not mentioned, and the third-party reviews are mixed. As with any custodial crypto product, you are trusting the company to hold your balance until you spend it.

Is the Kemy card worth it?

It depends on what you are comparing it to. If you cannot get a normal bank card, Kemy’s reach and stablecoin support make it useful. If you can get a normal card, or if you want low fees and cashback, the 3.5% plus $1 transaction fee, the $2 to $10 monthly fee and the absence of rewards make it expensive. The card is worth it for the narrow audience it fits, and not worth it for most other people.

Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team