BitMart is winding down its exchange. The card stops with it

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The BitMart card is no longer a card to consider applying for. On 26 July 2026 BitMart announced a phased shutdown of its exchange: general users have until 26 August 2026 to finish verification, close positions and submit withdrawals, and the platform plans to cease trading operations entirely on 31 January 2027. A separate notice for identified US users was published on 23 July 2026. Trustpilot reviews from September and October 2026 describe withdrawals that are blocked, accounts that freeze after the announcement and customer support that has gone quiet. The card programme is not issuing new cards and the page below walks through what that means if you already hold one, what the official fees and limits were, what can still go wrong, and what to look at instead.

The BitMart card programme no longer issues new cards

The information here reflects the card’s official pages as of October 28, 2026. BitMart’s public pages do not name the card’s issuer, the legal entity behind the programme or the licences it relies on, so I work with what the company itself states and label third-party numbers as unofficial.

Verdict

The BitMart card scores 3.7 out of 10. Almost every criterion that normally decides whether a card is worth having pulls the score down, and the platform shutdown pulls it further. The single bright spot is everyday use: the card was a Visa that worked at any merchant on the Visa network, and the structure was straightforward.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 BitMart announced a phased wind-down on 26 July 2026. The general-user deadline is 26 August 2026 and platform operations are planned to end on 31 January 2027. New cards are not being issued and the announcement is not confirmed anywhere on the public card page.
Cost 5 / 10 Issuance: virtual $0, plastic $70, Platinum metal $120. Annual fee $0 on every tier. Transaction fee 1.3% on every purchase. ATM: 2% on the plastic card, 1.5% on Platinum.
Top-up options 7 / 10 The card is paid from a BitMart exchange balance. The supported list of crypto assets is USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON and BNB. The networks those assets are accepted on are not stated on the card page.
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 The platform is shutting down. Trustpilot is at 2.3 out of 5 from 2,915 reviews. Common themes are blocked withdrawals, silent support and missing funds. The card’s issuer is not named on the public page.
Everyday use 8 / 10 A Visa, in three versions: virtual, plastic and metal. The virtual card can be added to Google Pay. Apple Pay is not mentioned. The plastic and metal cards work at Visa-marked ATMs.

If you are reading this because you are trying to find a crypto card to sign up for, the BitMart card is not the answer. If you already hold one and are trying to work out whether your money is safe, the relevant section is the holders section further down; the short version is that the deadlines to act are tight and support is reported as unresponsive.

What happened to the programme

This is the story the company itself has told, plus the things the public pages do not say. The card itself was a Visa issued in three versions: a free virtual card, a $70 plastic card and a $120 Platinum metal card. The card settled in US dollars, and the balance in your BitMart exchange account was converted to USD at the moment of purchase. There was a 1.3% transaction fee on every purchase, no annual fee on any tier, and cashback that was higher in the first month than after it.

The Identity Verification level required for the card was KYC Level 2, with the possibility of additional documents and a proof of address. The age requirement is not stated on the card’s public page. The virtual card was issued immediately after approval and the physical card shipped afterwards; delivery countries, shipping time and replacement cost are not stated.

The cashback structure on the card page was 4.0% on online shopping in the first month and 3.5% from the second month onwards; 5.5% on groceries and dining in the first month and 5.0% from the second month. The currency the cashback is paid in is not stated. Unofficial write-ups give a different range, with one citing “up to 5.5%” and another citing “1–10% by tier and merchant”; I have used the official numbers above.

The daily spending limits were $10,000 on the virtual card, $50,000 on the plastic card and unlimited on Platinum. Monthly limits are not stated. The top-up story is short: the card is paid from the crypto balance in your BitMart account, and you have to keep enough crypto there; the supported list is USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON and BNB. The networks those tokens are accepted on are not listed on the card page.

Then the wind-down. On 23 July 2026 BitMart published a notice specifically for identified US users. On 26 July 2026 it announced first-stage restrictions on new activity, with a deadline of 26 August 2026 for general users to complete verification, close positions and submit withdrawal requests. The planned end of platform operations is 31 January 2027. The company’s founder publicly denied misappropriating user funds, in a piece carried by Forklog. The card page itself does not carry any of this, and no card-specific complaint thread was found in the public record; the complaints that exist are about the exchange, not the card.

A few things on the card page are simply not stated: the country list the card was open to, the blocked merchant categories, the fee for paying in a currency other than USD, the multi-currency balance story, the legal entity behind the card, the issuer, the licences, the dispute and chargeback process, and the support channel for the card specifically.

If you already have the card

The most important things to know are the deadlines and what the card itself can and cannot do right now.

On the ATM side: the virtual card has no ATM access. The plastic card carries a 2% withdrawal fee. The Platinum metal card carries a 1.5% withdrawal fee and that is the lowest. A banner on the homepage mentions fee-free ATM withdrawals of between 200 and 1,000 USD per month, with 2% after that; the conditions around that free allowance are not clearly stated. Only Visa-branded ATMs work. Unofficial coverage at the launch described unlimited ATM withdrawals per year, but I would not rely on that number because the company is shutting down.

The spending limits are the ones above: $10,000 a day on the virtual card, $50,000 a day on the plastic card, and unlimited on Platinum, with monthly limits not stated. Unofficial write-ups say there is no fixed spending cap but transactions over $250,000 go through a security review; again, treat that as unofficial.

The card is funded by keeping enough crypto in your BitMart account, and the accepted assets are USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON and BNB. The networks are not stated. The card page does not list a deposit fee, a minimum top-up, or a fiat top-up option. The support entry point on the help side is bitmart.zendesk.

If you want your money out of the card, the path goes through the exchange. BitMart’s general-user deadline for submitting withdrawal requests is 26 August 2026; the platform plans to cease operations on 31 January 2027. A non-official guide from OneKey dated 7 August 2026, alongside user reports on Trustpilot, describes withdrawals that are held for review against KYC, source of funds, proof of address, the Travel Rule and sanctions screening, and the deadlines line up with the public shutdown timetable. None of this is mentioned on the card page itself, and the page does not describe a card-balance withdrawal process at all. The dispute and chargeback process is not stated anywhere I could read.

The cardholder experience in late 2026, as reported on Trustpilot, has been: withdrawals blocked or delayed after the wind-down announcement, support silent for stretches of a week to a month, deposits not credited in some cases, accounts frozen pending further KYC, and a number of users saying they did not receive direct notice of the closure. The Trustpilot score for the platform overall sits at 2.3 out of 5 from 2,915 reviews, with 66 of those in the last twelve months. The reviews are about the exchange rather than the card, but they are the experience cardholders are reporting right now.

What can go wrong

The first risk is the one already in motion: the platform is shutting down, and on the public record the issuer of the card has not been named. A Visa card relies on a licensed issuer to keep operating, and the card page does not say who that is. If the issuer ends the programme, the card stops working the way any other closed programme would.

The second risk is operational. Trustpilot reviews from August, September and October 2026 describe account freezes, blocked withdrawals, deposits that are still being accepted after the suspension was supposed to be in force, and support that does not reply. One user reports 280,000 USD blocked; a Hungarian company reports around 80,000 USD unreleased since 26 July. There are fraud allegations in some reviews, but I did not find any of them verified.

The third risk is structural. The card is custodial, which means the crypto that backs the card balance sits inside the BitMart exchange account rather than in a wallet you hold the keys to. The card page does not mention 2FA, an in-app freeze, spending controls or insurance, and customer support is not stated for the card. The help centre is the Zendesk instance at bitmart.zendesk.

The fourth risk is regulatory and geographic. The card’s country list is not stated on the public page. Unofficial write-ups from the launch period say 115+ countries were covered; a February 2026 list from a third-party tracker puts the figure at 183 available and 10 restricted, including the US, the UK, the Netherlands, Russia and Ukraine, but a separate piece says the card expanded to all 50 US states in early 2026, so the country list is in any case unsettled. Sanctions screening applies regardless of where you live, and a custodial programme that is winding down is not a good place to be holding balances subject to extra review.

The fifth risk is the irreversible nature of crypto transfers. If you top up the card by sending crypto from an external wallet, the networks that BitMart accepts are not listed on the card page. A deposit to a wrong address, or on a network the platform does not support, is a deposit you are not guaranteed to recover, and at this stage of the wind-down a manual recovery is not something to count on.

What to take instead

Because the BitMart card is not a going concern, the comparison below is between cards you can actually apply for today. The scores come from the same scoring framework and are not comparable across programmes in detail, but they do give a sense of where each one sits.

Programme Score Issuing region Network and card types Cost shape
BitMart card 3.7 / 10 Not stated on the card page Visa: virtual, plastic, metal Virtual $0, plastic $70, Platinum $120, $0 annual, 1.3% per transaction
MSX 6.4 / 10 Not stated officially Not stated officially Not stated officially
Bybit Card 6.0 / 10 Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific; the cards page says the product is not for European Economic Area customers Mastercard prepaid (Argentina), Mastercard credit (AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico), Visa prepaid (Brazil, Peru), Visa credit (Asia Pacific) Virtual issuance free, physical issuance Australia $29.99, Argentina $5, Georgia and AIFC $29.99 USDT, Asia Pacific $5 USDT, Brazil and Mexico free, no annual fee stated
MEXC 5.6 / 10 Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand listed; full country list not shown Virtual only, physical not yet available, network and currency not stated Issuance around $20, service fee 0%, monthly fee not stated

The Bybit Card is the most fleshed-out alternative of the three. Its crypto conversion fee is 0.9% above the One-Click Sell rate in most regions and 0.5% in Argentina, and it has a layered cashback programme with tiers from Base at 2% to Infinite at 10%, paid in USDT once a transaction is past a four-calendar-day pending window. The country picture is the awkward part: the cards page is explicit that the product is not for European Economic Area customers, the fiat-service restricted list includes Belarus, Russia, Serbia, China and the United States, and a Russian user can transact only in roubles through fiat services. If you are in any of those places, this is not your card.

MEXC is virtual-only for now and the public page does not state a network or card currency; the cashback programme is paid by the 15th of the following month with three tiers (Standard 4% up to 100 USDT, Premier 6% up to 300 USDT, Elite 10% up to 800 USDT), and the launch issuance price looks like 20 USD, possibly discounted. MSX is the least documented of the three and the public page I could read does not state the country list, the card type, the fees, the funding story or the rewards. If you have heard of MSX and were curious, this is what the public record says.

The structural point is that none of the three alternatives is a perfect drop-in. Bybit has the most detail but a tight country list and a hard no on the European Economic Area. MEXC is virtual-only and a bit thin on the public side. MSX is largely unstated. If you need a crypto-funded card right now, the realistic shortlist on the public record is Bybit for the regions it covers and MEXC for the limited regions it confirms.

Who I would recommend it to

Almost no one, and that is the honest answer. The card is not being issued. The platform behind it is being wound down on a published timetable, and the user experience on Trustpilot over the last few months is the kind of experience you do not want to be living through with money on the line. If you are a brand-new user who has heard the name BitMart, the card is not the reason to interact with that platform at this point; if you are an existing user, the recommendation is to treat the card as a means of moving the balance you have, not as something to load up.

There is a narrow set of cases where the answer is “it does not matter”. If you are a BitMart user with a small crypto balance that you are about to withdraw anyway, and the card lets you spend that balance at a Visa merchant while you do it, the card is doing the job it always did. The 1.3% transaction fee, the $0 annual fee, and the cashback are still in the price table; the question is whether the platform’s support and withdrawal machinery will get your money to you before the deadlines.

There is also a narrow set of cases where the answer is “do not touch it”. If you are a BitMart user who has a large balance, or any balance that is going to need extra review, the card is not the place to park it. The card is custodial, the issuer is not named on the public page, and the disputes and chargeback process is not stated anywhere I could read. A card without a clearly named issuer, on a platform that is closing, with a balance you cannot independently move, is the wrong place to be.

For everyone else, the practical recommendation is to pick one of the alternatives above, on the basis of where you live, what networks and currencies you need, and how much detail the programme publishes about itself. A crypto card that does not name its issuer, does not state its country list, and does not describe its dispute process is not a card to learn on.

Frequently asked questions

What is the BitMart card?

It is a Visa payment card that drew on the crypto balance of a BitMart exchange account. Three versions existed: a free virtual card, a $70 plastic card and a $120 Platinum metal card. Every version settled in US dollars, charged 1.3% per transaction, and carried no annual fee. The programme is being wound down alongside the exchange.

How does the BitMart card work?

The card spent directly from the crypto balance you held in your BitMart account. At the moment of purchase the system converted the chosen crypto to USD and passed the payment to the Visa network. The supported crypto assets were USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON and BNB, and the networks those assets were accepted on were not stated.

Is BitMart a bank?

No. BitMart is a cryptocurrency exchange, and the card page does not name the licensed issuer that actually issued the card. The card is custodial in the sense that the funds sit inside the exchange, and the public pages do not describe segregated client accounts or deposit insurance.

Who owns BitMart?

The public card page does not say. The exchange is operated by a company that has run into regulatory trouble in several jurisdictions; the founder publicly denied misappropriating user funds in a piece carried by Forklog during the wind-down. The card’s issuer and the legal entity behind the programme are not stated.

Is the BitMart card available in my country?

The card page itself does not list countries. Unofficial coverage at launch said 115+ countries were covered; a third-party tracker from February 2026 said 183 available and 10 restricted, including the US, the UK, the Netherlands, Russia and Ukraine, although a separate piece says the card expanded to all 50 US states in early 2026. With the platform winding down, availability is no longer the question.

Does the BitMart card require KYC?

Yes. The card required Identity Verification Level 2, with extra documents possible and a proof of address. The age requirement is not stated. Withdrawals from the platform can also be held for review against the Travel Rule and sanctions screening, independently of the card.

How do I top up the BitMart card?

The card is paid from the crypto balance in your BitMart account, and the instruction is to keep enough crypto there. There is no separate deposit fee, minimum top-up or fiat top-up stated on the card page. The networks the supported tokens are accepted on are not listed either, which is the kind of detail that matters when sending from an external wallet.

How do I add the BitMart card to Apple Wallet?

The public card page does not mention Apple Pay. The virtual card can be added to Google Pay; for Apple Pay there is no documented path on the card page, and I would not assume the feature exists.

Where can I use the BitMart card?

The card is a Visa, so it works at any merchant that accepts Visa, and the plastic and metal cards work at any ATM with the Visa logo. The virtual card has no ATM access. The blocked merchant categories, including whether gambling MCC 7995 is blocked, are not stated on the card page.

Is the BitMart card safe?

Right now, no, in the sense that the platform is winding down and user reports describe blocked withdrawals, frozen accounts and unresponsive support. The card is custodial, the issuer is not named, and the dispute process is not stated on the public page. Crypto transfers are irreversible and stablecoins are not censorship-proof, so any balance still on the platform is exposed to the same risks the exchange is exposed to.

Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team