A crypto card worth 7.2 out of 10, built for EU residents who already keep money on the platform

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

There is a particular kind of person who ends up reading a page like this. You have money in crypto, or you intend to hold some, and you want to spend it without the ritual of moving funds to an exchange, waiting for a transfer, and watching a spread eat part of the amount. You may also have a thinner paper trail than a conventional bank is comfortable with, or you may simply have decided that an ordinary bank’s account-opening routine is not going to work for where you live. This review is written for that person. I have gone through Trade Republic’s own pages, the company’s press material and the German-language reviews, and I have compared the card with three alternatives. I want to be specific about what is confirmed and what is not, because for this card the gap between the two is unusually wide.

Trade Republic works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The headline finding is this: the card is a good instrument for a narrow but real job — spending a crypto balance held inside the Trade Republic app from a card that behaves like an ordinary payment card — and a mediocre choice if your main question is getting a card issued quickly from a country with a difficult relationship with EU banking. Trade Republic is a Berlin-based broker with a German banking licence, so it operates inside the German and EU framework. That framework is not optional and it is not something a review can route around. If you live somewhere the app will not open an account for you, no section of this page will change that, and I am not going to pretend otherwise.

The score is 7.2 out of 10. It is not higher because too much of the useful detail — prices, limits, delivery times, which coins you can actually spend — is not published on the readable official pages. It is not lower because what the card does, it does well and cheaply, under a real banking licence, with a company that has a very large volume of public reviews.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Germany and the EU; the site runs en-de and en-nl versions; the list of countries is not disclosed on the official pages
Cost 8 / 10 Official amounts are not disclosed; unofficial sources: virtual 0 EUR, Classic 5 EUR one-off, Mirror 50 EUR, no annual or monthly fee, no currency surcharge, 1% for topping up by card
Top-up options 5 / 10 Crypto held on a Trade Republic account can be spent with the card; the coin list is not disclosed; unofficial: SEPA transfer free, top-up by card 1%
Reliability and complaints 9 / 10 Issuer is Trade Republic Bank GmbH in Berlin; Trustpilot 4.6 out of 5 from 67,608 reviews; general complaints about support and account blocks, no card-specific complaint found
Everyday use 9 / 10 Unofficial: virtual, Classic and Mirror (metal) versions, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM free from 100 EUR worldwide
Total 7.2 / 10 A strong card for EU residents spending crypto from a broker account

Will they give you the card

Short answer: only if Trade Republic will open an account for you at all, and the honest answer to your question is that the card does not broaden that circle.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Trade Republic starts with a transfer to the right network

The product is German and EU based. The company’s website exists in en-de and en-nl versions, which tells you which markets it is actually built for. The list of countries is not disclosed on the official pages, and that is the single most consequential thing you cannot read anywhere. So there is no table I can give you of “yes here, no there”. What I can tell you is the shape of the answer: it is a European broker, it operates under German banking supervision, and it will tell you itself, in the app, whether it will have you.

I want to be careful here, because this is exactly where a review could slide into something I will not do. There are people reading this page who want a bank card in a country where the local banks will not open one for them, and the honest answer is that the KYC and country rules are the boundary and there is no clever route around them. The card is not a loophole. It is a payment instrument issued by a regulated German bank, and it inherits that bank’s customer due diligence obligations exactly as they are.

Who is verified is, in fact, not stated in the readable official pages. That is worth sitting with for a moment. The company does not publish a plain summary of what identity documents it wants, in which languages, or how long it takes. The general shape of EU rules is well known — name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check, and a politically-exposed-person determination — but how Trade Republic applies that to your specific case is something you discover by attempting it.

A related and practical point: the card belongs to a broker, not to a standalone card programme. Trade Republic is a platform for buying, holding and using crypto, and the card is one way of using the balance you already hold there. If you are not going to keep a balance with them, there is little reason to route your spending through this card, and other products in this category are built for a different shape of use.

How to get it

There is no application form I can hand you, because the path is the account, not the card. You open a Trade Republic account, pass verification, and the card appears as part of the product. The card itself is called “The Trade Republic Card” and it is issued by Trade Republic Bank, Berlin. The network and whether a given version is virtual or physical are not stated in the readable official text.

Verification is not stated officially: not the documents, not the video or photo process, not the review time. I would rather tell you that plainly than invent a checklist. What you should assume, because it follows from EU law rather than from this company, is that you will need to prove who you are and where you live, and that the process can stall while they check.

Delivery is also not stated officially. What third-party sources say, and I am marking this as unofficial, is that a replacement card costs the same as the original — 5 EUR for Classic, 50 EUR for Mirror — whether it was lost, stolen or expired, and that a virtual card is usable immediately after the account is opened. Both German review sites and a dedicated card review site repeat that, so I believe it, but it is not on the official page.

Three versions are described in unofficial sources: a virtual card, a Classic card and a Mirror card in metal, with the Mirror differing only by its casing and carrying the same fees and limits. The tier structure is not stated officially. If the metal card is the one you want, understand that you are paying for the object, not for different terms.

Here is the practical sequence. Open the account. Complete verification, which is where the real uncertainty lies. Choose a version — virtual if you want to be spending today, metal if you want something that feels permanent. Confirm delivery, and note that the fee for a replacement is a real cost you carry afterwards rather than a one-time signup expense.

Fees and what a payment really costs

The costs table below is the part of this review you should read twice. Almost everything in it is unofficial, which is not a criticism of Trade Republic so much as a description of how they publish: the amounts are not on the readable official pages.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Trade Republic payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What it is Amount
Virtual card One-off cost, unofficial 0 EUR
Classic card One-off cost, unofficial 5 EUR
Mirror card One-off cost, unofficial 50 EUR
Monthly or annual fee Ongoing cost No annual or monthly fee (unofficial)
Card top-up Loading the account by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay 1% of the amount (unofficial)
SEPA transfer top-up Loading by bank transfer Free (unofficial)
Currency conversion Foreign-currency surcharge None; the official Visa rate is used (unofficial)
ATM withdrawal Withdrawing 100 EUR or more Free worldwide at Visa ATMs (unofficial)
ATM withdrawal Withdrawing below 100 EUR 1 EUR (unofficial)
Trading commission Buying or selling crypto Commission-free, with 1 EUR third-party cost per trade (help centre)
Daily limit Card spending 1,500 EUR per day (unofficial)
Weekly limit Card spending 6,000 EUR per week (unofficial)

Now three everyday payments, because the abstract numbers hide more than they show.

Coffee in a eurozone city. Say 4 EUR on the Classic card. You paid 5 EUR once when the card arrived, presumably. There is no monthly fee, so this purchase costs what the terminal charges plus nothing from Trade Republic. This is the case where the card is excellent: no surcharge, no percentage, no dance.

Coffee in the United States. The card page says the ATM is free worldwide; it does not promise anything about conversion. Unofficial sources say there is no foreign-currency surcharge and the official Visa rate is used. That is a materially better outcome than the 3% that many cards add, and it is the second-best argument for the card after the crypto spending itself. What I cannot do is tell you what the card’s own pages say about the rate, because they do not say.

A weekend booking abroad for 240 EUR. This is where the limits matter. At 1,500 EUR a day and 6,000 EUR a week — both unofficial — it goes through. But note what those limits mean in practice: they are a ceiling on your total card spend, not on a single merchant, and if you are also buying train tickets and food on the same card, the weekly number is the one that will bind. Whether there is a separate in-store limit separate from these is not stated officially, and no unofficial source gives one.

One fee that is easy to miss: card spending counts as a sale of the crypto. The press release says this directly. That is a tax fact, not a card fee, and I am not giving you tax advice — but it changes the economics of every purchase, because each payment is a disposal at that day’s value rather than a simple transfer of money you already owned as currency. For personal holdings, the general treatment in many jurisdictions is a capital gain or loss measured in local currency at the fair market value on the transaction date, and short-term if held a year or less. Ask a professional about your situation; do not treat this paragraph as advice.

How to top it up

The mechanism that makes this card different is not a top-up route at all. You do not have to move money in — you spend the crypto you already hold.

The press release states that customers can use crypto held with Trade Republic for card payments. Which coins are included is not stated, and that omission matters more than it sounds, because the conversion, the network the token sits on and the timing all follow from the answer. You should assume you have to find that out inside the app rather than on the website.

Beyond that, the top-up routes in unofficial sources are the ordinary ones. A SEPA transfer is free. Loading by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay costs 1% of the amount. Official details of the top-up process are not stated, and withdrawal terms are not stated officially either — which matters if you are thinking of this as a place to hold cash.

There is one piece of general knowledge worth having here, because it is where the real losses in this category happen and it applies to anything you might do alongside a card. If you ever send crypto directly to a deposit address, the network matters absolutely. On Ethereum, fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send. Tron prices transactions through bandwidth and energy resources and often burns TRX. A transfer sent on the wrong network, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. USDC is not a single asset spread over one network: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024 and lists native support on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026. Choose a network the provider supports, check it twice, and keep a small amount of the chain’s own native token for fees.

Paying with it every day

This is the section where the card is strongest, and where the unofficial material is most consistent across sources.

The card is reported to support Apple Pay and Google Pay, with the card added directly in the app. It comes in three versions: virtual, Classic and the metal Mirror. Withdrawals of 100 EUR or more are reported free worldwide at Visa ATMs, with a 1 EUR fee below that, and one source says there is no cap on amount or count; the ATM operator may still charge its own fee, which is worth remembering before you queue up at an airport machine.

Then there is the rewards, and here the official and unofficial material genuinely disagree, so I am going to lay out both rather than pick a winner.

Source Rate Detail
Press release, 14 Nov 2025 2% Crypto Saveback Reinvested into a savings plan, up to 1,500 EUR monthly spend
Card page 1% Saveback On card payments
Unofficial (German reviews, 2026) 1% into a savings plan of at least 50 EUR per month, capped at 15 EUR per month Not paid on transfers, ATM, investments, top-ups, PayPal, gambling and quasi-cash
Unofficial (one review) 2% on crypto-funded payments, capped at 30 EUR, since the end of 2025 Partly consistent with the press release

So there is likely a two-tier arrangement — a standard 1% with exclusions and a cap, and a higher rate on payments funded from crypto — but the third-party reporting on the caps is not confirmed officially, and one review notes that a user lost the 1% after the Saveback terms changed. Do not model your finances around the reward. Model them around the fact that there is no monthly fee and no currency surcharge, which is where the money actually is.

Two more things are not stated and I will not guess: which merchant categories are blocked on the card, and what the in-app dispute process looks like. The second one matters. If a charge goes wrong, a chargeback is a refund ordered by your issuer, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received; US rights come from Regulation E for debit cards and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. In the EU the underlying payment law is a different animal from the US one. Before you rely on a dispute, find out how this issuer actually handles it.

There is a broader category point worth a paragraph. A merchant category code is a four-digit number classifying a business, specified in ISO 18245; MCC 7995 covers gambling, and many issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs, because the six- or eight-digit issuer identification number at the front of your card number tells the shop which institution and country issued it, and a mismatch with your billing address can invite extra scrutiny. Declines like that are usually administrative, not a judgement about you.

What can go wrong

Nothing here is a prediction. These are the failure modes I found evidence for, plus the ones intrinsic to the design.

The account is the single point of failure. The complaints I could find about Trade Republic are not card complaints — they are platform complaints: slow or hard-to-reach support, wide crypto spreads, account blocks that are hard to resolve. German press has reported rising complaints to BaFin, though the date was not clear to me, and there was a July 2026 complaint from a Portuguese user about a crypto deposit address with no network warning. What I did not find is a pattern of complaints about the card’s crypto spending itself. Trustpilot showed 4.6 out of 5 from 67,608 reviews, 11% one-star, with the most recent review on 20 October 2026; the visible reviews are mostly positive and one says plainly that the card works worldwide.

Your money is with a custodian, not with you. This is not a scandal, it is architecture. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, and your protection against theft is your trust in them. The historical record is not comforting: Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen across 2011 to 2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. And a seed phrase — the usual 12 to 24 unencrypted words — is a total loss if someone else gets it, because transfers are irreversible and no network can freeze or return funds. Trade Republic is a licensed bank rather than an anonymous exchange, which is a different risk profile, but the concentration risk is the same shape: one institution, one set of credentials, one support queue.

Stablecoins are not what their name says. A stablecoin aims to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but despite the name they are not necessarily stable. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are dollar-pegged, and the BIS in July 2025 put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in those two. Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and fully backed by cash and equivalents with monthly reserve attestations; Tether describes USDT reserves as intended to back it one-to-one. Also worth knowing: Tether says it disables tokens on wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof.

The programme itself can end. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures follow a shape — a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances. So the risk is not only that the bank fails but that the network partner changes its mind. This is a small but non-zero part of the reason a card score is never a ten.

A declined payment can hold your money. Declined authorisations may leave a hold for several days, typically up to seven. If you are spending a crypto balance that moves, that gap can be uncomfortable.

Regulation is not static. Under MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, which took legal effect in June 2023, rules on asset-referenced and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. E-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they are authorised or refused, whichever comes first — a date that has now passed, so this is live, not theoretical. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers and non-compliant entities, and it is worth a look before you commit money anywhere. A card is regulated separately from the crypto side, which is why a product like this often rests on two licences: one for the payment instrument, one for custody and exchange.

One category point on protections: electronic money institutions must safeguard customer funds, by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, but such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. Check what your money is legally classified as here.

And the last one is the one people forget. The card is easy to use, the app is pleasant, and none of that tells you whether your account survives a compliance review. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to decline the transaction or the relationship and, where necessary, end an existing one. Accounts do get closed and frozen pending documents — not as a judgement about you, but as a rule the bank has no discretion about. Budget for that possibility before you put money you cannot replace into it.

What to take instead

All four products below are aimed at somewhat different people, and I include them because the honest answer for many readers is that Trade Republic is not the right shape for them.

Product Score Who it is for Card and costs
Trade Republic 7.2 / 10 EU residents already holding crypto on the platform Virtual 0 EUR, Classic 5 EUR, Mirror 50 EUR one-off (unofficial); no monthly fee; no FX surcharge
Stella 6.5 / 10 Users who want a custodial crypto wallet and a card in one, outside the EU banking perimeter Virtual and physical Visa; fees “described under the User Agreement and/or on the App”, amounts not stated; crypto deposit auto-tops-up the card; no cashback on the card page
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 US consumers in 31 states who want stablecoin-backed spending and merchant cashback Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted; “No extra fees” with no amounts listed; 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber; spends from a Whop balance
UniFi Card 4.7 / 10 People moving money to the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone and Latin America Prepaid Debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, USD; fees “may apply”; receives funds via ACH, wire, SEPA or SPEI; pays out to a USDC wallet; “3% rewards on balances” claimed in the listing

Stella is the nearest comparison and the one to look at if Trade Republic’s country eligibility blocks you. Its terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates, which tells you something important about how it is built. It offers virtual and physical Visa cards, works at what it describes as over 40 million Visa merchants globally, and works on a simple loop: deposit crypto into the account, which automatically tops up the card, with an in-app custodial wallet. Its card page states no cashback — the Earn product is a separate yield, which is a distinction worth keeping clear. Where it loses points is opacity: fees exist, are referred to elsewhere, and are not stated.

Whop Cards is a US-shaped product and mostly irrelevant if you are in Europe. It covers consumers in 31 states — Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming — with business coverage in 41 states, and it explicitly does not support consumers in Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, with Russia and Belarus also unsupported for corporate accounts. The basis — citizenship or residence — is not stated, which is exactly the detail that matters to someone outside the US. Spending draws on a Whop balance, a pending balance is usable as soon as a payment arrives, and the starting data says the balance is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, with coins and networks not stated.

UniFi Card is the specialist for corridors rather than for crypto spending. It is a prepaid debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, spending from a USD balance, with Apple Pay support, and it receives money via ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE) and can pay out to a USDC wallet. The app store listing advertises send-money routes to the Philippines in PHP, Mexico in MXN and the eurozone in EUR, with recent release notes mentioning Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK (GBP). It claims 3% rewards on balances, but card cashback is not stated, coins and networks beyond USDC are not listed, and eligibility is not confirmed from official pages.

The category lesson from comparing these four is consistent. A crypto card is three parties wearing one coat: the network routes messages and sets the rules, the issuer holds the licence and your balance, and the brand is often only a programme manager and front-end. An EMI in the EU can issue e-money, cards and wallets but cannot lend, and can serve the whole EU/EEA from a licence in one member state. In the US, FinCEN guidance FIN-2013-G001 treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while ordinary users buying goods are not. When you compare, compare who holds your money and under which licence — not which logo is on the card.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to a specific person, and I would not recommend it to most people.

Recommend it if you already have a working Trade Republic account and a balance you intend to hold, you are in a country the app supports, and you want to spend from that balance at ordinary card prices. You will get no monthly fee, no foreign-currency surcharge on the strength of third-party reporting, free cash withdrawals from 100 EUR, a metal option if you want one, mobile wallets, and the security of a card issued by a named bank in Berlin under German supervision. If your spending is travel and day-to-day inside Europe, this is a genuinely good instrument.

Do not choose it if you need a card quickly and eligibility is the problem — the product is built for Germany and the EU and the country list is not published, so this may not be for you. Do not choose it if you want to know what a coffee costs in exact terms before you buy it, because the limits, the Saveback cap and the ATM thresholds are all unofficial. Do not choose it if you are moving large sums and a temporary hold of up to seven days would hurt. And do not choose it if you intend to treat it as a place to store cash: withdrawal terms are not stated, and e-money safeguarding is not the same as a bank deposit guarantee.

What surprised me most, going through this properly, is how much of the card’s appeal rests on things that are only informally documented — and how little rests on anything doubtful. The issuer is a real bank. The public review record is large and mostly positive. The complaints that exist are about the platform’s support and its account handling, not the card. The structural risks are the ones every custodial product in this category carries. If you are already inside that perimeter, this is a good card. If you are outside it trying to find a way in, it is not, and I would rather tell you that plainly than dress it up.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Trade Republic card?

It is a payment card issued by Trade Republic Bank in Berlin that draws on your crypto balance inside the Trade Republic app. Rather than loading cash onto it, you spend the crypto you already hold, and the payment counts as a sale of that crypto. The card is one feature of a wider crypto broker rather than a standalone card programme. Reports describe virtual, Classic and metal Mirror versions.

Is Trade Republic a bank?

Yes, the card’s issuer is Trade Republic Bank GmbH, based at Brunnenstrasse 19-21, 10119 Berlin, as named in the company footer. The licence and any BIN sponsor are not stated in the readable official text. It is a German banking entity operating in the EU framework, so its customer due diligence obligations follow EU rules rather than anything optional.

Which countries can get the card?

Germany and the EU, based on the en-de and en-nl versions of the site. The official pages do not disclose the country list, and the company does not publish a plain summary of documents or languages. Eligibility is effectively decided when you try to open the account, and the app will tell you.

Does the Trade Republic card require KYC?

Yes in practice, because it comes from a regulated EU bank, but the specifics are not stated on the readable official pages. Under EU rules, due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are politically exposed. If it cannot be completed, the institution must decline the transaction.

What does it cost to have the card?

Unofficial sources and German reviews agree: the virtual card is 0 EUR, the Classic card 5 EUR one-off, and the metal Mirror 50 EUR one-off, with no annual or monthly fee. Official amounts are not disclosed. A replacement costs the same as the original. Crypto trading is commission-free with a 1 EUR third-party cost per trade.

What are the fees on spending and cash withdrawal?

Third-party reporting says there is no foreign-currency surcharge and the official Visa rate applies, which is the single biggest everyday saving. Withdrawals of 100 EUR or more are free worldwide at Visa ATMs; below that a 1 EUR fee applies, and the ATM operator may charge its own. Spending counts as a disposal of crypto, which is a tax question rather than a fee — take advice on your own situation.

What are the spending limits?

Unofficial sources give 1,500 EUR per day and 6,000 EUR per week, with no separate in-store figure provided and none stated officially. Treat these as a working ceiling rather than a promise: the weekly cap is what will bind on a trip where the card is also paying for food and transport.

Is the Trade Republic card safe?

It is issued by a named, licensed bank rather than an anonymous platform, which is the strongest thing about it. Trustpilot showed 4.6 out of 5 from 67,608 reviews on 20 October 2026, and no card-specific complaint theme appeared. The residual risks are ordinary for the category: custodial custody, irreversible transfers, stablecoins that can lose their peg, and the possibility that a network programme is suspended.

How do I get cash from it?

Unofficial sources describe free ATM withdrawals worldwide at Visa ATMs from 100 EUR, with a 1 EUR fee below that and a note that there may be no cap on amount or count. The ATM operator’s own fee is separate and still applies. The general warning for anyone holding crypto in this ecosystem: transfers on the wrong network are irreversible, and Ethereum gas must be paid in ETH.

Is it worth it compared with other crypto cards?

Against the alternatives here, yes for EU residents with an existing balance, because there is no monthly fee and no currency surcharge. Stella scores 6.5 and is more relevant if EU eligibility blocks you, but its fee amounts are not published. Whop Cards scores 5.2 and is US-only. UniFi Card scores 4.7 and is built for money movement to specific countries rather than for crypto spending generally.

Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team