A USDC-only virtual card with free issuance and a 1% processing fee — solid for stablecoin holders, thin on rewards and physical plastic
The Currency.com Card is a virtual Visa Platinum that spends your USDC balance directly — no credit line, no plastic card, no monthly fee. That combination is genuinely attractive for one narrow group: people who already hold a Currency.com account, already sit on a USDC balance, and want to convert that balance into everyday spending without going through a traditional bank. For them it works, and it is cheap to hold.
For everyone else the picture is thinner. You can only fund the card with USDC. The help pages do not say which networks you can transfer on. There is no physical card, no rewards programme, no spending or FX detail beyond a percentage table, and the card issuer is not named anywhere on those pages. The company’s Trustpilot picture — 4.2 out of 5 from 2,006 reviews, with frozen accounts and slow compliance checks recurring — is about the exchange, not the card specifically, but it is the same counterparty holding your funds.
My score for this card is 6.5 out of 10.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.5 out of 10
Here is the score broken down by what I weighed, with the reasoning behind each number.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Available globally, decided case by case on country of residency, but not usable in sanctioned territories |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Card and servicing free; 1% processing, up to 1% FX, up to 1% cross-border, 2% ATM |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | USDC only — on-chain to the wallet or bought on the platform; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Two regulated entities, issuer unnamed; Trustpilot 4.2 from 2,006 reviews, frozen accounts, slow checks |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual Visa Platinum issued instantly, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM $750 per transaction; no physical card |
| Total | 6.5 / 10 | Good for a stablecoin balance, thin for anything wider |
Who it suits: you already use Currency.com, you hold USDC rather than BTC or ETH, and you want a wallet-bound virtual card that costs nothing to keep. Apple Pay and Google Pay work, so you are not fumbling a card number at the till.
Who it does not suit: anyone who wants a physical card, who spends in currencies other than the dollar without understanding the fee stack, who wants cashback or points, or who lives somewhere the card will not be issued. It also does not suit you if you plan to hold several currencies on it — the card spends a single USDC balance.
Will they give you the card?
Short answer: probably, but not automatically. Currency.com says the card “is available globally” — and then, in the same breath, that “the ability to receive the card may depend on multiple factors, including but not limited to the country of residency of the applicant. The final decision will be made on a case-by-case basis.”
Two hard limits you should know before you apply. First, only verified Currency.com account holders can get the card — the verification tier is a gate, not a formality. Second, the card “cannot be used in certain countries, including sanctioned territories.” No list of those countries is published on the help pages, so you cannot check in advance whether yours is on it; the only honest test is to apply and see.
The upshot: eligibility is not a rule you can read off a page, it is a judgement made on your file. If you are in a jurisdiction the platform is nervous about, expect to wait, and expect that a refusal will not necessarily come with a detailed explanation.
- The card is described as globally available, but residency is assessed per applicant.
- The card cannot be used in sanctioned territories; the list is not published.
- A verified account is required before you can order.
- Age requirements are not stated on the card pages — the general rule for prepaid and debit cards is adults 18 and over, with some issuers setting higher limits.
How to get it
The route is straightforward, and unusually quick on paper. Verification happens inside your Currency.com account, then you order the card from the Cards section.
The verification itself “usually includes identity verification and proof of address. The process is automated and takes an average of 5 minutes.” In practice that means profile data, a valid ID or passport, sometimes proof of address such as a bank statement or a utility bill — notably not a mobile phone bill — and then a liveness test. That five-minute average is the happy path of an automated system; it is not a promise about your particular file.
Once verified, you order the card and it is issued instantly. It is a virtual Visa Platinum. The help text calls it “a Visa credit card”, but that is loose wording: it only spends your USDC balance and there is “no credit line”. Nothing is borrowed, so there is nothing to repay. The card currency is USD, which is why the FX fee applies to anything non-USD.
Two things the pages do not tell you. The minimum age is not stated. And because it is virtual-only, there is no physical card, no delivery process and no replacement cost to think about — you either use the virtual card in a mobile wallet or you do not use the card.
- Verification: automated, average 5 minutes, identity plus proof of address plus liveness.
- Order location: the Cards section of your account.
- A minimum USDC balance is required to order.
- Card type: virtual Visa Platinum, issued instantly, no physical version described.
- Three account tiers exist, but they change deposit and withdrawal limits, not card features.
- Rejection reasons are not stated on the pages.
Fees: what it really costs
There is no cost to holding this card. “No card order fee applies for the virtual card”, and there are “no monthly fees, annual fees, or account maintenance charges”. It is a single card.

The cost arrives when you spend. The fee table for the “Currency.com Spend card” is short and worth reading twice, because a single payment abroad can pick up more than one line.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Card order (virtual) | No fee |
| Monthly, annual, maintenance | None |
| Processing fee | 1% |
| Foreign exchange fee (non-USD) | Up to 1% |
| Cross-border fee | Up to 1% |
| Deposit USDC | No fee; network gas fees may apply |
| Crypto exchange on the platform | 1% transaction fee |
| ATM fee | 2% |
| ATM per transaction | Maximum $750 USD (including ATM surcharge) |
| ATM daily | Up to $750 USD |
| ATM attempts | Maximum 3 in a rolling 24 hours, declined attempts counted |
| Free ATM allowance | None stated |
| Card spending limits | Not stated on the help pages |
| Account limits | Tier 1: $500 deposit / $1,000 withdraw per transaction, $1,000 daily, $3,000 monthly, $15,000 lifetime; Tier 2: $15,000 per transaction/day/month, $30,000 lifetime; Tier 3: $50,000 per transaction/day/month, $300,000 lifetime |
Now three everyday payments, to show where the money goes.
Coffee in your own country, in dollars. You tap in Apple Pay. The processing fee is 1%. That is the only line that should apply, since the transaction is USD and domestic.
A subscription billed in euros. Your balance is USDC, so the payment is non-USD: up to 1% FX fee. If the merchant is foreign as well, the cross-border fee of up to 1% may join it, plus the 1% processing fee. In the worst reading you are paying the full fee stack — which is usually more than the subscription itself costs to begin with.
Withdrawing cash from an ATM. 2% fee, capped at $750 per transaction including the ATM’s own surcharge, up to $750 a day, three attempts per rolling 24 hours with declined attempts counting toward the three. That attempt limit is the one people trip over: three failed tries and you are locked out for the rest of the day.
The honest summary: the card is free to keep, and each payment is cheap but not free, and the fees stack when you spend outside dollars across a border. If you mostly spend dollars locally, the 1% is the number to budget. If you travel, budget accordingly.
How to top it up
Top-up is USDC-only. There are exactly two routes: deposit USDC on-chain to your Currency.com wallet, or buy USDC inside the platform.
The on-chain route is the one most people mean by “top up”. After the transfer confirms on-chain, the balance is available for card use “within minutes”, and “your USDC balance is automatically used to collateralise the transaction” — there is no separate “load the card” step, because the card has no balance of its own to load. What you are spending is your account balance.
Two gaps are worth flagging. The help page does not list which networks the deposit supports, and that matters more than it sounds. USDC lives on many networks, and sending it on a network the provider does not support can mean a lost transfer or a support ticket with no guarantee of recovery — blockchain transfers cannot be reversed. If you are transferring from another wallet or exchange, check the network against whatever the platform shows you at the point of transfer rather than assuming.
The in-platform route is simpler: buy USDC on the platform itself. The cost is the 1% transaction fee on the crypto exchange side. The minimum top-up for the card specifically is not stated; a minimum USDC balance is required to order the card in the first place.
- Funding: USDC only. On-chain deposit to the Currency.com wallet, or purchase in-platform.
- Availability: within minutes of on-chain confirmation.
- Deposit fee: none for USDC; standard blockchain gas fees may apply depending on the network.
- Networks: not listed on the help page.
- Fiat top-up for the card: not stated; USDC can be bought on the platform.
- Your money stays a USDC balance in the account. Account withdrawal limits follow the tier table. Withdrawal fees and what happens to a leftover balance if you close the account are not stated on the card pages.
Paying with it every day
Daily use is the card’s strongest dimension. It is virtual, so it appears the moment you order it. Once issued, Apple Pay and Google Pay both support it, which is how you would actually use it day to day — you tap rather than handle a card.
Some merchant categories are off-limits: “certain merchant categories (e.g., gambling, adult content) may be blocked at the card network level”. That is the network blocking by category code, not the issuer making a judgement about you, but the practical effect is the same — a gambling transaction simply declines.
Rewards are not stated. No cashback, no points, no tier — nothing is published on the card pages. Treat “no rewards” as the expectation rather than something you are waiting to be surprised by.
The apps: the iOS App Store listing from Currency Com Limited shows “This app hasn’t received enough ratings or reviews to display an overview” as of 21 October 2026, which tells you little beyond the app being new or small on iOS. The Google Play listing (com.currency.application.android) showed 1K+ downloads and an update dated 21 September 2026; the star rating was not shown. These are exchange apps rather than dedicated card apps, but they are where you freeze the card and raise a dispute.
If something goes wrong with a payment, the routes are documented. For an unauthorised transaction: freeze the card in the app and write to support, and “standard Visa dispute and fraud protection processes apply”. For goods not received: contact the merchant first, then request a Visa dispute with the date, amount, merchant and description. Pending authorisations normally settle in 1–3 business days; contact support if unresolved after 5. The dispute deadline is not stated — and that is a real gap, because chargeback windows are short and the one number you would want to diarise is the one not published.
- Apple Pay and Google Pay: supported once the card is issued.
- Blocked categories: certain merchant categories such as gambling and adult content, at network level.
- Rewards: not stated.
- Disputes: freeze in-app plus support for unauthorised payments; merchant first for goods not received.
- Settlement: pending authorisations normally clear in 1–3 business days; contact support after 5.
What can go wrong
The card is a front end on a custodial account, and the risks that matter are mostly to do with that account rather than the plastic-free card itself.
Counterparty risk. Currency.com states plainly that “Currency.com is a custodial service” and “You do not manage private keys.” You are trusting the platform with the funds. Custodial platforms have a history: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Holding with a custodian means carrying counterparty and hack risk that you would not carry with a self-custody card — where funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, and the trade-off is that you bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and malware that swaps copied addresses.
Account freezes and compliance. This is the loudest real-world theme. Trustpilot shows 4.2 out of 5 from 2,006 reviews (read 21 October 2026), roughly 69% five-star and 10% one-star. These are user reports about the exchange, not card-specific findings, but the recurring themes are worth knowing: frozen accounts and slow compliance checks (2023 and again a review dated 4 May 2026 describing business funds held over 15 days), accounts terminated without reasons (August 2023), unclear balances and dormant-fee complaints (October 2023), and delisting and fee complaints (September 2024). An account freeze is a card freeze, because the card spends the account balance.
Who is behind it. Two entities: CURRENCY COM INTERNATIONAL INC. (Ontario, Canada; FINTRAC Money Services Business registration C10001741, Mississauga) and Currency Com Limited (Gibraltar, company 117543; authorised as a DLT Provider by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission, Licence No. 25032). The company’s own description: “Currency.com is a financial technology company, not a bank.” The card-issuing bank or institution is not named on the help pages — so the entity whose name would appear on your statement is, on the published material, an unknown. Unofficial reporting (TradeInformer, 12 March 2026) describes the card as powered by Rain, a Visa Principal Member that settles with Visa in stablecoins; treat that as unconfirmed, not as a statement by the card.
Stablecoin risk. USDC is dollar-pegged and the largest part of that stability comes from Circle’s reserves and attestations, but stablecoins are not guaranteed. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Circle also stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option — which loops back to the network question in the top-up section.
Security features that exist. You can freeze and unfreeze the card instantly in the app, 3-D Secure is applied to online payments, Visa fraud monitoring is in place, and card details are shown only inside the authenticated session. Two-factor authentication and the safeguarding of funds are not stated on the card pages — worth asking support about directly if the balance is meaningful to you.
Support. There is a support e-mail and a “Contact us” in the help centre, in English. Hours and languages beyond English are not stated. No official incident notices about the card were found.
A separate, structural risk applies to every card of this kind rather than this one in particular: Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves — they license issuers, and can suspend a programme. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its programmes. FTX’s US debit card was wound down after Visa said in November 2022 it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw. In this category, treat your card balance as spendable money, not savings.
What to take instead
I looked at three alternatives. The comparison below uses only what is published on each provider’s own pages; where a page is silent, I say so rather than filling the gap.
| Currency.com | MSX | Bybit Card | MEXC | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My score | 6.5 / 10 | 6.4 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 |
| Card | Virtual Visa Platinum, no physical described | Not stated officially | Virtual and physical, by region | Virtual only |
| Cost to open | No fee | Not stated | Virtual free in all regions | Issuance 20 USD (page shows a possible 0 USD discounted price; unclear) |
| Funding | USDC only | Not stated | Funding Account, fiat first, then crypto sold at purchase | USDT to the Fiat account |
| Rewards | Not stated | Not stated | Cashback tiers up to 10% | Cashback 4%–10% by M-Score tier |
MSX scored marginally below this card and its official pages gave me almost nothing: card type, cost, fees, funding and rewards are all not stated on a page I could read. I am not recommending it here, but I would not dismiss it either — I simply cannot tell you what it charges.
Bybit Card is the more fully built-out alternative, and it is where I would point you if rewards matter. It offers virtual and physical cards depending on region, with real cashback tiers (Base 2%, Beta 2%, Alpha 4%, Apex 6%, Omega 8%, Infinite 10%, monthly caps from 5 USD to 600 USD). But the eligibility side is much narrower and stranger than Currency.com’s: the card page states “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited,” and the application asks for country of residence, registering interest if unsupported. Its fee load is also heavier — a 0.9% crypto conversion fee in most regions (0.5% Argentina), and FX fees of 2% in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico, 7% Argentina, 1.5% Brazil, 1% Peru. Note also that from 5 October 2026 only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback; fiat-funded spending does not. Card currency varies by region (USD, ARS, MXN, BRL, PEN), and validity ranges from 3 to 6 years.
MEXC sits lowest, mainly because the fee and currency picture is thin: issuance 20 USD with the page ambiguously showing a possible discounted 0 USD price, service fee 0%, monthly fee not stated, and neither the crypto conversion fee nor the FX fee on the page. Funding is USDT transferred to the Fiat account, networks not stated. In its favour, cashback by M-Score tier is clearly published — Standard 4% capped at 100 USDT a month, Premier 6% capped at 300, Elite 10% capped at 800.
- Currency.com wins on: no cost to open, a single clear 1% processing fee, and globally-stated availability.
- Bybit wins on: rewards, physical card options, and published region-by-region detail.
- MEXC wins on: clearly tiered cashback, but loses on the transparency of its fees.
- MSX cannot be assessed from its public pages.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to a specific person: someone already holding USDC on Currency.com who wants to spend it without a bank in the middle, who is comfortable with a custodial balance and a 1% processing fee, and who will set it up in Apple Pay or Google Pay once and forget about it. If that is you, the card does what it says at low cost, the 1% is predictable, and there is nothing to cancel or maintain.
I would steer you elsewhere if any of these are true. You need a physical card in an envelope. You want cashback or points. You spend regularly in non-dollar currencies — the FX and cross-border fees make that expensive. You want to hold several currencies on one card. You want to know which bank issues it, because the pages do not say. Or you are in a sanctioned territory, where it simply will not work.
And a caveat for everyone: this is a fintech company, not a bank, holding your money custodially, with a visible pattern of account freezes in its reviews. Size your balance accordingly. There is also a tax dimension I should flag without advising on it: in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so spending crypto produces a taxable gain or loss measured in local fiat at the value on the transaction date — meaning each card payment may be a separate taxable event. Speak to an accountant about your own position.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Currency.com card?
It is a virtual Visa Platinum card that spends your USDC balance directly. There is no credit line — it draws on the stablecoin held in your Currency.com account, and a USDC-pegged stablecoin holds roughly dollar value. The card is issued instantly, is virtual only with no physical version described, and costs nothing to order. It is aimed at people who already hold crypto on the platform and want to convert that into everyday spending.
How does the Currency.com card work?
You order the card from the Cards section once your account is verified, and it appears instantly as a virtual card you add to Apple Pay or Google Pay. When you pay, the amount is taken from your USDC balance automatically. A 1% processing fee applies, and up to 1% FX fee on non-USD transactions. Because it spends a balance rather than a credit line, it cannot be overdrawn.
Is Currency.com a bank?
No. The company’s own words are that “Currency.com is a financial technology company, not a bank.” The entities behind it are CURRENCY COM INTERNATIONAL INC. in Ontario, Canada (FINTRAC registration C10001741) and Currency Com Limited in Gibraltar (Gibraltar Financial Services Commission DLT Provider Licence No. 25032). One is registered as a money services business, the other as a crypto asset service provider — not the same thing as deposit-taking.
Who owns Currency.com?
Ownership is not something the card pages state. What they do identify are the two operating entities above, and one unofficial detail: reporting from TradeInformer dated 12 March 2026 describes the card as powered by Rain, a Visa Principal Member that settles with Visa in stablecoins. I would treat that as unconfirmed until you see it on an official page or in the app.
Can I use the Currency.com card in my country?
It depends, and you cannot check a list. The card “is available globally” and “cannot be used in certain countries, including sanctioned territories”, but no country list is published and “the final decision will be made on a case-by-case basis” based on your country of residency. So the answer is: apply and find out. The only firm precondition is that only verified account holders can receive it at all.
How do I get the Currency.com card?
Verify your account first, then order from the Cards section. Verification covers identity, sometimes proof of address such as a bank statement or utility bill, and a liveness test — automated, averaging five minutes. A minimum USDC balance is required to order. There is no application fee, no monthly fee and no annual fee.
Does the Currency.com card require KYC?
Yes. Identity verification and proof of address are part of getting the card, and the account has three verification tiers that determine your deposit and withdrawal limits. Under EU rules, if due diligence cannot be completed the institution must hold back or end the relationship — which is exactly why accounts get frozen while documents are chased. Minimum age for the card is not stated.
How do I top up the Currency.com card?
With USDC, two ways: transfer it on-chain to your Currency.com wallet, or buy it inside the platform. After an on-chain confirmation the balance is usable “within minutes” and is spent automatically. There is no deposit fee, though standard blockchain gas fees may apply. Critically, the help page does not list supported networks — check before transferring, because a wrong-network transfer can be lost.
How do I withdraw money from Currency.com?
The card does not have its own balance to withdraw from — what you spend is your USDC account balance, which stays in the account. Account withdrawals follow the tier limits: Tier 1 up to $1,000 daily and $3,000 monthly, Tier 2 $15,000 per day, Tier 3 $50,000 per day, with lifetime caps of $15,000, $30,000 and $300,000 respectively. Withdrawal fees and balance treatment on closure are not stated.
Is the Currency.com card worth it?
If you already hold USDC and want to spend it cheaply, yes: no fees to keep it and a 1% processing fee per payment. If you want rewards, a physical card, or multi-currency spending, no — it has no rewards programme, no plastic, and up to 1% FX plus up to 1% cross-border on top of processing. And weigh the custodial risk: your funds sit with a non-bank whose reviews include frozen accounts, so do not treat card balance as savings.
Trading-platform cards – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
