A crypto-funded Visa card built around Solana, but with gaps that matter
SolCard sells itself as a way to spend crypto at any Visa-accepting shop, with two tiers, a Virtual card for online use and a Platinum physical card for contactless and mobile-wallet payments. The idea is straightforward: top up with SOL, USDC, ETH or BTC, and the balance is held in USD for spending. In practice, the card’s published pages leave a lot of important questions unanswered, from the name of the issuer to the networks you can deposit on, and the user-feedback picture is not reassuring. The total I land on after weighing all of that is 5.6 out of 10, and I will walk you through exactly why.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
SolCard scores 5.6 out of 10 overall. The breakdown is below, and you can see at a glance where the card is genuinely competitive (everyday use, broad acceptance) and where it stumbles (reliability, the opacity around who actually issues the card).

| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Worldwide acceptance with regional variation; Hong Kong residents excluded, plus countries under comprehensive UN, US, EU or UK sanctions. |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | The Virtual card charges 5% plus USD 10 to top up a fresh card and 1–2% in FX; Platinum removes the top-up fee but still takes 0–1.5% in FX. No monthly fee, but the 10%-per-month dormancy charge after 90 days of inactivity is steep. |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | SOL, USDC, ETH and BTC are accepted, with instant top-ups from any wallet, but SolCard does not name the networks you can use, and a missing network detail is the difference between a successful deposit and a lost one. |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | The licensed issuer is unnamed; SC PAYMENTS LIMITED in Hong Kong is only the program manager. Trustpilot sits at 3.1 out of 5, with recurring complaints about stuck withdrawals, cards cancelled while funds were still on them, and a support team that often does not reply. |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual and Platinum are both useful, and Platinum adds Apple Pay and Google Pay; the only real friction is that the official site implies the physical card is available while a help-centre note reportedly says no physical cards are shipping “for now.” |
If you are a Solana user topping up a USD card and you value convenience over consumer protections, the Platinum tier is the more reasonable of the two. If you are looking for a low-cost everyday card with predictable FX, you will find the Virtual tier expensive and the missing details about networks and limits frustrating.
Who they will issue the card to
SolCard accepts applicants worldwide, with the qualification that “eligibility may vary by region.” The terms exclude residents, domiciled users and people located in Hong Kong, and they exclude countries under comprehensive United Nations, United States, European Union or United Kingdom sanctions, as well as any listed persons under those regimes. Everywhere else, in principle, you can apply.
Two things to keep in mind here. First, “eligible to apply” and “actually issued a card” are not the same thing. SolCard says identity verification “may be required for certain card tiers, features, or spending limits,” and the official pages do not spell out the documents, the age cut-off beyond 18, or how long the review takes. Second, even if your country is not on a sanctions list, your local rules on holding or spending crypto from a card can still apply to you. SolCard does not promise anything in that direction; that part is on you.
What I would check first: whether your country of residence is on the public sanctions exclusions list, and whether the card tier you want needs verification at all — for example, unofficial sources describe the Virtual card as no-KYC and Platinum as requiring ID, but the official page only says verification “may” be required, so do not assume anything until the app asks you.
How to get SolCard
SolCard’s two products are a Virtual card, which gives you card details for online purchases, and a Platinum physical card, which adds contactless and Apple or Google Pay. Both are issued under a Visa licence, and the balance is held in USD, although the card currency is not stated explicitly — it is implied by the USD pricing.
The signup path goes through the SolCard app, where you create an account, choose a tier and either generate the virtual card or order the Platinum. The official page does not publish delivery times for the physical card, and that is one of several details the company leaves vague. Unofficial help-centre material reportedly says no physical cards are being issued “for now,” and that the virtual card is ready roughly 18 seconds after your first deposit confirms, but that contradicts the product page, which advertises the Platinum as available. The honest answer is that SolCard has not publicly clarified this, and you should expect to see for yourself once you sign up.
Verification levels are not described in the terms beyond “may be required.” Unofficial sources describe the Virtual card as no-KYC and Platinum as KYC-required, with one Trustpilot reviewer reporting that the physical Apple/Google Pay version required identity documents. Processing time and the reasons SolCard might reject an applicant are not published. If your use case depends on a certain tier (Platinum for mobile wallets, for example), budget for a verification step that could take days and is not guaranteed to be quick.
The first practical question you should answer before signing up: which tier you actually need, because the cheaper-looking Virtual card can end up costing more once the 5% plus USD 10 top-up fee is applied, while Platinum is the one that unlocks Apple Pay and Google Pay.
What SolCard really costs: fees
This is the section that decides whether the card makes sense for you, and it is the section where SolCard is at its weakest. There is no monthly fee for an active account, but the pricing on the Virtual tier is aggressive, and even Platinum is not free once FX comes into play.

| Fee or limit | Virtual | Platinum |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | from USD 10 (per new card) | not stated (no separate fee stated) |
| Top-up fee | 5% + USD 10 per new card | 0% |
| Foreign-exchange spread | 1–2% | 0–1.5% |
| ATM withdrawals | not stated | not stated |
| Monthly spending limit | USD 5,000 | no limit (per product page) |
| Other card or monthly limits | set by SolCard, shown in app | set by SolCard, shown in app |
| Dormancy fee | 10% of balance per month after 90 days inactivity | 10% of balance per month after 90 days inactivity |
| Monthly account fee | none for active accounts | none for active accounts |
Three everyday scenarios to make this concrete:
- Paying USD 50 for a subscription in a non-USD currency on the Virtual card. You will pay the 1–2% FX spread on top of the USD 50, and the underlying fee model also includes a 5% plus USD 10 fee on the top-up that funded the balance, so a small balance does not stretch far. The 5% plus USD 10 is charged when you load a new card, not per transaction, but it eats into your first deposit heavily.
- Tapping a Platinum card for coffee abroad. The FX spread is 0–1.5%, so the worst case is 1.5% on top of the merchant’s price. For a USD 5 coffee that is roughly 7–8 cents, which is competitive for a crypto-funded card.
- Funding a Virtual card and not using it for three months. After 90 days of inactivity, SolCard charges 10% of your remaining balance every month. If you top up USD 100 and walk away, the balance drops to USD 90 after month four, then USD 81, and so on, until the balance is effectively drained. This is one of the steepest inactivity policies in the category, and it is worth knowing if you intend to keep an emergency balance on the card.
What the published material does not include is also worth noting. ATM fees are not stated, so it is not clear what it costs to withdraw cash. Unofficial help-centre sources mention a USD 10,000 monthly limit on the Virtual card and a USD 100,000 monthly limit on Platinum, which contradicts the product page; the official page is the one to rely on until the company reconciles the two. Per-transaction and daily limits are not published, which means the only way to know your real ceiling is to test in the app.
What to check first: the live FX spread shown in the app at the moment you spend. Crypto-funded cards make money on the spread between the rate you see on a price feed and the rate the card actually uses, and the published “0–1.5%” is a range, not a guarantee.
How to top it up
SolCard supports stablecoins and other crypto, naming SOL, USDC, ETH and BTC, and the marketing material talks about “instant top-ups from any wallet.” The catch is that the public pages do not name the networks you can send those coins on, and that detail matters more than the coin list. A USDC transfer on Ethereum is a different transaction with a different cost profile from a USDC transfer on Solana or Polygon, and a deposit on a network SolCard does not support, or to an address of the wrong network, is the kind of mistake that turns into a manual support ticket with no guarantee of recovery.
In practice, the safest approach is to start with a small test deposit, confirm it lands in the app, and only then send the larger amount. Minimum top-up amounts are published in the app and differ by card type, so check there rather than assuming a round figure. Crypto top-ups are credited in USD only after the blockchain transaction confirms, at the price of that moment, minus the displayed top-up fees and conversion spread — that is important to remember if the market moves between the time you send and the time the deposit credits.
Fiat top-up options are not described. There is no bank transfer or card-to-card top-up mentioned, so the only way to load the card from research is from a crypto wallet. Unused balance can be withdrawn subject to minimums, verification and processing windows shown in the app. If you cancel, a balance at or above the published minimum refundable amount is returned; below it, it is forfeited. If SolCard terminates the account, eligible balances can be withdrawn except where holds, disputes, chargebacks or legal restrictions apply, and the 10%-per-month dormancy fee after 90 days of inactivity still applies.
What to check first: the network supported for the specific coin you plan to send. SolCard does not list it on the public page, so the network selection screen in the app is the source of truth, and any mismatch on your end is your loss.
Paying with it every day
Platinum is the more useful tier for in-person spending. It is a contactless card, it works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and it has priority support. The Virtual card is online-only, with no Apple Pay and no Google Pay, and standard support. Both tiers are denominated in USD, so spending in another currency will trigger the FX spread mentioned above.
A few things the terms and product page do not cover, and that affect how the card behaves day to day:
- A blocked-merchant list is not published. The terms note that merchants restricted by the issuer or card network may be declined, which means gambling merchants (typically MCC 7995), adult content and certain crypto exchanges can be refused at the issuer’s discretion rather than by law. Whether a specific shop will accept the card is something you can only test.
- 3-D Secure, the extra identity check on online payments, applies in the usual way. SolCard does not state any deviations, so expect the standard flow of a one-time code or biometric challenge on riskier online checkouts.
- The Address Verification Service used by some US, Canadian and UK merchants is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, and a small number of merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright. Because the licensed issuer is not named publicly, you cannot predict how “foreign” your card looks to a given merchant until you try.
- Declined authorisations can leave a hold on funds for several days (typically up to 7), so a failed payment is not the same as a refund — the money can sit on the merchant’s side or on the card’s pending list for a while.
- There is no cashback or rewards programme stated in the official material. Unofficial sources mention prize-draw entries for eligible spending rather than cashback, and they are non-transferable, so the real-world value is opaque.
What I would check first: whether the merchants you actually use every day are comfortable with a Visa issued in this jurisdiction. The card works in most places, but not in all, and the BIN/country issue is the kind of thing that only shows up at the till.
What can go wrong
A payment card is only as useful as the company behind it when something goes wrong, and this is the part of the review where I have to be direct about the red flags.
SolCard is a product of SC PAYMENTS LIMITED, a Hong Kong company (Business Registration Number 78350827) at Unit 1603, 16/F, The L. Plaza, 367-375 Queen’s Road Central. That company is described as the program manager and technology platform, and the terms explicitly say it is “not a bank.” The actual licensed issuer, the bank or e-money institution that holds the Visa licence and your card programme, is not named on the public pages. When you cannot find the issuer, you cannot easily check its regulator, its safeguarding arrangements, or whether your balance is segregated in the way a regulated e-money institution would be required to do in, say, the EU.
The user-feedback picture reinforces the concern. Trustpilot sits at 3.1 out of 5 from a small sample of 29 reviews (read 2026-10-20), with 38% five-star and 52% one-star. The recurring themes, drawn from the last 12 months of reviews, are:
- Withdrawals and transfers stuck for weeks or months, with no clear resolution date.
- Cards cancelled without notice while the user still had funds loaded, and no refund path offered.
- Balances frozen and account data erased after the user contacted support.
- Unauthorised or disputed charges with no clear dispute or refund time frame in the terms.
- A support team that, in many reviews, reads as bot-like or simply does not respond.
There is also a phishing warning worth knowing about. Look-alike domains such as solcards.cc have been flagged, and the only legitimate domain is solcard.cc. If you search for SolCard and land on a similar URL, double-check the spelling before you sign in or paste a seed phrase.
The positive counterpoint is that SolCard’s Trustpilot company replies (October 2026) describe recent fixes: removal of the USD 20 minimum withdrawal, reworked withdrawals and transfers, a fix for a deposit hold, and an explanation that some card declines are driven by stricter card-issuer rules rather than SolCard’s choices. Unofficial coverage notes that the company began publicly replying to old complaints in July 2026. None of that changes the present state of the user-feedback picture, but it does suggest the company is at least aware of the issues.
Security-wise, the setup is custodial: your balance sits with SolCard, and top-ups are converted to USD on the way in. You are responsible for your card number, CVV and PIN, and you must report loss promptly; liability for unauthorised use is set by the law that applies to you. Two-factor authentication, an in-app freeze toggle, and insurance on the balance are not stated, so I would not assume any of those exist. Withdrawals may be delayed for a security review, which is normal in the category but worth knowing if you depend on moving money quickly.
What to check first: whether you can find the licensed issuer on the regulator’s register in your country. If you cannot, treat the card as you would any other prepaid product from a relatively young provider — useful for what it does today, but not a place to park more than you can afford to lose access to.
What to take instead
SolCard is not the only option for spending crypto, and three cards come up repeatedly in the same category. None of these are recommendations in the strict sense — they are alternatives to compare against, and you should run them through the same checks as SolCard (issuer, fees, limits, accepted networks, complaints).
| Card | Score | Who can get it | Card type | Cost | Fees | Funding | Rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SolCard | 5.6 / 10 | Worldwide (Hong Kong excluded, plus sanctions) | Virtual + Platinum physical, Visa, USD | Virtual 5% + USD 10 top-up, Platinum 0% | Virtual 1–2% FX, Platinum 0–1.5% | SOL, USDC, ETH, BTC (networks not stated) | not stated |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | “200+ countries,” no published exclusions; App Store listing is Naira-focused | Debit card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, virtual and physical, Naira | not stated | “AI-powered” real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at payment, no percentage published | USDT, USDC, BTC (networks not stated) | not stated |
| TakeCard | 5.5 / 10 | Countries not listed in help articles; physical card Bolivia-only | Virtual (immediate) and physical (Bolivia), Visa, USD, 1:1 for USD | Virtual USD 5, physical USD 20 issuance + USD 20 shipping (another article says USD 10), no monthly fee | 1% per purchase, USD 1:1, other currencies at Visa’s daily rate | Top up from Takenos balance (USDC/USDT via Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron, Ethereum unverified) | not stated |
| OkiCard | 6.0 / 10 | “150+” or “200+” countries, no passport-based geo-blocking, no sanctioned jurisdictions | Virtual (and physical mentioned without details), Visa/Mastercard, USD/EUR | Issuance $0, monthly $0, starting price $15, initial deposit 100 USDT (pages disagree on issuance fee) | 3% load fee, 0% transaction fee in USD, no hidden FX spread stated | USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron, Solana (USDC “soon”, BTC and altcoins “coming soon”) | not stated (no cashback) |
The pattern to notice: every one of these cards has gaps in its published information, and the gaps tend to be in the same places — the licensed issuer, the networks you can deposit on, the FX spread, and the dispute or refund process. Cardex, TakeCard and OkiCard all share SolCard’s habit of not publishing ATM fees in plain language, and Cardex, like SolCard, does not state the networks for its supported coins.
If you want a card with clearer cost structure, OkiCard’s published 3% load fee and 0% USD transaction fee is the most legible, although you trade that for a USD 100 minimum deposit and no published FX spread. If you are based in Bolivia and want a Visa prepaid card denominated in USD, TakeCard’s 1% per-purchase fee and 1:1 USD conversion are worth a closer look. Cardex, on the published material, is the most opaque of the four on cost.
What to check first, for any of these alternatives: the licensed issuer, the country in which the card is regulated, and whether that regulator’s register actually lists the issuer by name. The brand on the front of the card is rarely the entity you have a regulatory relationship with.
Who I would recommend SolCard to
If you already use Solana heavily, if you can absorb a 1.5% FX spread on non-USD spending, and if the amount you load onto the card is small enough that losing access to it would not affect your finances, SolCard’s Platinum tier is a reasonable way to turn SOL, USDC, ETH or BTC into everyday spending money. The Virtual tier, with its 5% plus USD 10 top-up fee, only makes sense for occasional online purchases where convenience matters more than cost.
If you are looking for a low-fee primary card, if you keep a meaningful balance on a card for months at a time, or if you want to know exactly who is regulated to hold your funds, SolCard is not the card for you. The unnamed issuer, the 10%-per-month dormancy fee, the 0–1.5% FX spread, and the user-feedback record all push in the same direction: this is a card to use tactically, not a card to rely on as your main payment method.
The decision I would make myself, if I were in your shoes: use the Platinum tier for small, frequent spending, set a calendar reminder for any inactivity past 90 days so the dormancy fee does not bite, and keep the bulk of your crypto in a wallet you control rather than on a prepaid balance.
Frequently asked questions
What is SolCard?
SolCard is a crypto-funded Visa card from Hong Kong-based SC PAYMENTS LIMITED, with a Virtual tier for online use and a Platinum tier that is physical and supports Apple Pay and Google Pay. Top-ups are made with SOL, USDC, ETH or BTC and converted to a USD balance that the card spends.
How does SolCard work?
You create an account in the SolCard app, choose a tier, and top up with supported crypto. The deposit is converted to USD at the moment the blockchain confirms, minus the top-up fee and the conversion spread. From then on, the card behaves like a prepaid Visa: you spend the USD balance, and any non-USD spending carries an FX spread of 0–1.5% on Platinum or 1–2% on Virtual.
Is SolCard a bank?
No. SolCard is run by SC PAYMENTS LIMITED, a Hong Kong company that describes itself as the program manager and technology platform. The terms explicitly say it is “not a bank.” The licensed issuer, a financial or e-money institution under a Visa licence, is not named on the public pages, which is the layer of the company you would normally check with a regulator.
Who owns SolCard?
The public material names SC PAYMENTS LIMITED (Hong Kong, Business Registration Number 78350827) as the operating company. The licensed issuer and any parent entities are not disclosed in the terms or on the product pages.
Is SolCard available in my country?
SolCard accepts applicants worldwide with regional variation, but the terms exclude Hong Kong residents and countries under comprehensive UN, US, EU or UK sanctions. The company does not publish a per-country eligibility list, so the only way to know is to start the signup flow and see whether your region is supported.
Does SolCard require KYC?
The official material says identity verification “may be required for certain card tiers, features, or spending limits” without specifying which tier triggers it. Unofficial sources describe the Virtual card as no-KYC and Platinum as requiring ID, but the company does not confirm this on the public pages.
How do I top up SolCard?
You send supported crypto (SOL, USDC, ETH or BTC) from any external wallet to the deposit address shown in the app. The credit appears in USD after the blockchain confirms, at the price of that moment, minus the top-up fee and the conversion spread. The networks supported for each coin are not listed on the public pages, so confirm the network in the app before sending.
How do I add SolCard to Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay is supported on the Platinum physical card, not on the Virtual card. If you are on Platinum, the option to add the card to Apple Wallet appears in the SolCard app once the physical card is active; the standard Apple Pay setup flow then applies.
Is SolCard safe?
SolCard is custodial, meaning the company holds your balance, and the licensed issuer behind the programme is not publicly named. Two-factor authentication, in-app freeze and balance insurance are not stated in the public material. Treat the card as you would any prepaid product from a relatively young provider: useful for what it does today, not a place to park funds you cannot afford to lose access to.
Is SolCard worth it?
It depends on what you are optimising for. If you want a convenient way to spend SOL or USDC at Visa-accepting merchants and you are comfortable with a 0–1.5% FX spread on Platinum, the answer is yes for small, frequent use. If you want low fees, a named and regulated issuer, or a long-term balance, the answer is no — the 10%-per-month dormancy fee after 90 days, the unnamed issuer and the user-feedback record all argue against holding meaningful funds on the card.
Virtual cards for online use – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
