SORA card review: the card is gone, the money is not

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The SORA card no longer issues new cards, and the company has stopped the card and its in-app features. What is left for you, depending on where you stand, is either a decision not to apply — or, if you already held one, a problem to solve: getting your balance out. Below I explain what happened and when, what a current holder has to do to reach their money, the risks that closure exposes, and which cards still exist as alternatives. The conditions described here are current as of 2026-10-20.

The SORA card programme no longer issues new cards

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: who the card suits, and who it does not

Let me be direct: the SORA card programme is closed, and on the evidence I have, it does not suit anyone now. The score I give it is 2.2 out of 10. That low number is not a criticism of how the card used to work; it reflects that the thing you would be reviewing no longer exists as a functioning service. When a programme stops issuing, stops the card, and locks balances behind a support process, the practical verdict for a new applicant can only be “not now.”

Who does the closure suit? Almost nobody who wants to spend crypto through a card today, because there is no card to get. The one group this page is written for is existing holders — people who still have a balance sitting in a closed programme, working out how to reach it. If that is you, skip to the sections on holders and risks; they are the parts that matter.

Here is how the score breaks down, criterion by criterion, so you can see exactly where the marks come from:

Criterion Mark Short reason
Who can get it 0 / 10 Issuance is closed: the card and the app’s card functions stopped after 30 January 2026 18:00 GMT
Cost 5 / 10 Issue €0 and monthly €0; membership €39/year after the first year; international payments €0.90 + 1.1%; ATM €1.20 + 3%
Top-up options 2 / 10 Convert XOR to EUR or a SEPA transfer; no direct crypto load
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 The programme is closed; the issuer Unlimit EU Ltd has suspended some accounts; balances are inaccessible until Unlimit reviews them
Everyday use 3 / 10 There was a physical and a digital card and there were ATMs; Apple Pay and Google Pay were promised for a “Phase 2”; the card is closed

Add those up and you get the total of 2.2 out of 10. Notice that “Cost” is the only criterion that scores even middlingly, and it scores on fees that no longer apply to anyone, because you cannot open the account. A cheap card you cannot get is not cheap; it is unavailable.

If you are weighing the SORA card against something else, the honest comparison is not “SORA versus its competitors.” It is “SORA, which is finished, versus the alternatives below, which are running.” I have set out three that still issue cards, with what each charges and who they serve, so you can pick a live option rather than a closed one.

What happened to the programme

The short version: SORA stopped the card. Here is the sequence, because the dates are what tell you which problem you have.

Two things are worth separating, because they are the two things people conflate when a crypto brand wobbles. First, the company and its non-card product (the wallet) kept going. Second, the card programme and the money attached to it went into a wind-down controlled not by the crypto brand but by the licensed issuer, Unlimit EU Ltd. That division of control is the key to everything that follows.

Who the card was for, before it closed, tells you what kind of programme this was. It was for EEA residents who passed KYC — by residence, not nationality. Residents of Russia, Iran and the DPRK were not eligible (a fuller list was published on the card’s blacklist page). KYC was required, and the checks meant a selfie, an ID document and proof of address. It was a physical and a digital debit card; the network it ran on was not stated on the pages I read. The apps were the iOS “SORA” app and an Android app; the ratings were not read.

I should be straight about the limits of what is publicly stated. The card’s own pages, as far as I could read them, did not say: the exact network the card ran on, the processing time for KYC, the card currency, the delivery time for the physical card, its replacement cost, or any rewards the card offered. Those things are “not stated” on the public pages, and I am not going to invent them for you. Any source that tells you these as fact without quoting the card is filling in its own guesses.

On the money side, the terms were, dated 17 September 2024: the first card (virtual or physical) was €0 to issue and €0 monthly; a client membership of €39 per year was charged after the first year. International card payments were €0.90 + 1.1%; domestic ones were free for the first 10 online and 10 in-store. There was no fee to load the ledger. You could convert XOR to EUR or send a SEPA transfer, but there was no way to load crypto directly. Apple Pay and Google Pay were promised for a “Phase 2” that, as far as the pages say, is not something you should count on arriving. It was a single product, not a tiered one — the €39 membership was the only paid level.

So when the closure landed, the fees stopped being the story. The story became the balance.

If you already have the card

This is the section I would read twice if the card is in your wallet and there is money on it. Let me be plain about the situation after 30 January 2026, 18:00 GMT:

That last point is the one that trips people up. You are dealing with an e-money issuer’s process, not with a support ticket from the app you signed up with. Your route is a written request to Unlimit, and then their review, and then — if all goes well — your money back to you.

Before the closure, the normal plumbing was: top up by converting XOR to EUR or by SEPA transfer (ledger load fee €0); withdraw by SEPA outgoing or SEPA Instant outgoing at €0.50 each. ATM withdrawals were €1.20 + 3% in the domestic zone (EU, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) and €1.75 + 3% internationally, with the first balance inquiry each month free. Spending limits were said to be listed on the card’s fees page, but the amounts were not actually present on that page; spending limits are therefore “not stated” from the public pages. I cannot tell you your limit, and neither could a reader of the public page.

For support generally, the card provided a support portal, a contact page and an email address, plus presence on Discord, Telegram, X and Reddit; the site was in English and Español, and Russian was not offered. Support hours were not stated. When it comes to disputing a charge, that too was not stated on the pages I read.

The practical shape of being a holder today is therefore: write to [email protected], state who you are and what balance you are claiming, and expect a review process rather than an instant release. If your account was among those suspended earlier, your money is still yours to claim, but it is frozen pending that review. I am not going to tell you this is a quick or painless process, because nothing I have read supports that. What I can tell you is that the issuer is the entity with the obligation and the licence, so your request belongs there.

What can go wrong

Closure is where a crypto card quietly turns into a bank-style problem, so it is worth being blunt about the failure modes.

The first is the one you have probably already thought of: your money sits with a licensed e-money institution, not in a bank deposit. SORA runs the site and apps; the card itself is issued by Unlimit EU Ltd (Cyprus), an electronic money institution licensed by the Central Bank of Cyprus under licence 115.1.3.7. Being an EMI is not the same as being a bank. Funds held with an EMI are not bank deposits and are not covered by the Cyprus deposit insurance scheme. If the programme winds down, your claim is against that EMI under e-money rules — not a deposit guarantee.

The second is reaching the money at all. The app no longer gives access to balances; suspended accounts may display a balance yet remain unusable until Unlimit reviews them; and SORA explicitly cannot file release requests for you. So a holder’s real risk is procedural: getting stuck between a finished brand and an issuer’s queue.

The third is the broader pattern. A crypto card is, in practice, a card programme run by a licensed issuer, with the crypto brand often acting as the front that markets it. The card network and the issuer are separate parties from the brand you signed up with, and the network can pull the plug regardless of the brand’s fortunes — Visa, for instance, terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer, and WaveCrest’s Visa programmes in Europe were shut when Visa suspended it in 2018. Programme closures follow a shape: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. SORA’s closure follows exactly that shape, with an unusual extra wrinkle — the balances are not simply waiting to be withdrawn, they are waiting to be released.

The fourth is what people find on the outside. I looked for independent reporting of complaints and found essentially none — no Reddit or Trustpilot reports of substance as of 20 October 2026 (a Trustpilot page for the brand exists, but I did not find substantive complaints on it). I read that as “not many people complaining publicly,” not as “nothing went wrong.” When an account is simply frozen and the brand says it cannot process your claim, people often do not stick around to write a public review; they just quietly leave. So treat the absence of visible complaints as weak evidence, not as reassurance. The cause of the suspensions is not stated anywhere I could read.

If you want the wider picture of what these instruments are before you put money in the next one, here is the part of the background I think matters most:

Two safety notes that apply to whatever you move to next. Stablecoins are not risk-free and are not censorship-proof: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, and stablecoins can and have depegged (TerraUSD in May 2022; USDC briefly in March 2023). And blockchain transfers are irreversible — a deposit sent on an unsupported network or to a mismatched address can be lost, with no guarantee of recovery. That is a good reason to move funds deliberately and slowly, not in a panic.

One more practical hazard when a card is wound down: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds for several days, sometimes up to seven. So even a “released” balance may not be fully spendable the moment you see it.

What to take instead

The comparison you actually want is against cards that still work. Here are three, from what each charges to who they are for. My score for each is out of 10 as I assess it.

BloFin Wallet Card — 6.9 / 10. A Visa Platinum “BloFin Wallet” card. Its country list is not published on the card page (the app just says “select your country or region”); the starting data lists 35 countries including the US, Australia, Japan, the UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Malaysia and New Zealand. Whether eligibility follows citizenship or residence is not stated. Activation, annual, issuance and dormancy fees are $0.00 each, and cancelling has no fee. The spend fee is “1% or lower” depending on VIP tier — VIP 0 at 1.00%, down to VIP 5 at 0.00% — charged at payment; the FX fee is not stated. You top up with USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base. There is no cashback; instead the reward is the reduced spend rate itself (“no waiting for cashback or rebates”). Whether the card is virtual or physical, and its card currency, are not stated.

Decaf — 6.2 / 10. A Visa card, virtual or physical (the physical one with tracked delivery); card currency not stated. It is not issued in a long list of restricted countries — Belarus, China, North Korea, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Nigeria — nor in a set of restricted US states (Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, Wisconsin). Russia and Belarus both appear; whether the rule follows citizenship or residence is not stated. Activation: virtual card $5 worldwide; physical $10 in the US or $90 elsewhere. There is no annual or monthly fee. On FX, Decaf adds no fee of its own — “the FX is the one Visa offers.” You can fund by paying a Decaf payment link or account details by card, bank transfer or USDC; the sample balance is shown in USDC. The app runs on Solana and Stellar. Which coins and networks actually top up the card itself is not stated, and the crypto conversion fee is not stated.

SafePal — 6.2 / 10. A virtual Mastercard debit card; physical not stated, and spending limits given in EUR against a Swiss Fiat24 account. It is for “citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas,” though the regions list was empty when it was fetched, so check it yourself in the app. There are no account creation or management fees; the card issuance fee is not stated. The standard top-up fee is 0%; Mastercard non-USD settlement adds a 1% FX fee; refund processing is 1 USD/EUR/CHF/7 CNH; swaps include a spread (not quantified), while the bank page elsewhere advertises crypto top-up “as low as 0.4%” on the top tier. You can top up from 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC (default) or fiat, with transactions on Arbitrum. There is no cashback; the reward is referral commissions of up to 40% of referred top-up fees and tier privileges tied to deposits, referrals and SFP staking.

Side by side

Here is the same three on one grid, so the trade-offs are visible:

BloFin Wallet Card Decaf SafePal
My score 6.9 / 10 6.2 / 10 6.2 / 10
Card Visa Platinum Visa, virtual or physical Virtual Mastercard debit
Activation / issue $0.00 each (activation, annual, issuance, dormancy) Virtual $5; physical $10 US / $90 rest of world No account fees; issuance not stated
Ongoing fee Spend “1% or lower” by VIP tier None annual or monthly 1% FX on non-USD Mastercard settlement
Top-up USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base By card, bank transfer or USDC 40+ blockchains, to USDC (default) or fiat
Rewards Reduced spend rate, no cashback Not stated No cashback; referral commissions up to 40%

What jumps out from the grid: none of these has SORA’s €0 issue and €0 monthly structure, but all three are open, and each pays for itself differently — BloFin through a tiered spend rate, Decaf through a one-off activation fee and no FX markup of its own, SafePal through a zero top-up fee offset by a 1% non-USD settlement fee. If your priority is “I want to load crypto directly onto a card,” BloFin’s USDT/USDC top-up is the most direct of the three. If your priority is “no ongoing fee and I mostly spend in one currency,” Decaf’s structure is the simplest. If you hold across many chains and want to top up cheaply from wherever, SafePal’s 40+ chain support is the widest, at the cost of that 1% FX fee on non-USD Mastercard settlement.

A word on why this category needs care at all, for context as you choose. A card payment runs through several parties at once: the network (Visa or Mastercard) routes messages and sets the rules, the issuer (a licensed bank or e-money institution) holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only the programme manager or marketing front-end. Visa and Mastercard do not themselves issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. So when you are picking a crypto card, you are really picking an issuer as much as a brand — and the issuer is the entity that still stands if the brand ends, and the entity your money sits with. In Europe that issuer is typically an EMI, which under EU rules must safeguard customer funds in dedicated accounts or by insurance, but those funds are still not bank deposits. It is worth knowing all of that before you load, because it is exactly the distinction that mattered here.

Who I would recommend it to

Let me split this into two answers, because there are two entirely different situations.

If you are choosing a card today: I would not recommend SORA, because it cannot be chosen. It is not issuing, the app’s card functions are stopped, and the score reflects that. There is nothing to sign up for. If you were reading about this card on a list of “best crypto cards” and it still appears there, that list is out of date — take it as a signal to check dates carefully wherever you read about cards, because a card can close between one guide and the next.

If you already hold the card with money on it: this is not a choice between cards, it is a retrieval task. My advice, in order:

  1. Get your claim in front of the issuer now. Write to [email protected], identify yourself, and state the balance you are claiming. SORA cannot file this for you; Unlimit is the entity that reviews and releases.
  2. If your account was suspended, expect a review, not an instant release. A displayed balance is not an accessible one. Be patient with the process, but do not go quiet on it.
  3. Do not treat the absence of public complaints as good news. I found no substantive public complaints, but I also found no stated cause for the suspensions, and a frozen account produces quiet exits rather than loud reviews. Judge this on the issuer’s responsiveness, not on the internet’s silence.
  4. Know what you are claiming from. It is e-money held with a licensed EMI, not a bank deposit, and not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. Set your expectations from that starting point.
  5. Once the balance is back, keep it somewhere you control, and think before you load the next card. Prefer a provider where you hold the keys or where the issuer is clearly identified and reputable. And when you do load, remember that on-chain transfers are irreversible: sending on the wrong network or to a mismatched address can lose the funds with no guarantee of recovery.

The bottom line: this was a real card with real users, and its closure is a reminder that in crypto cards the brand you love may not be the institution that holds your money. Know which one is which before you load either.

Frequently asked questions

What was the SORA card?

It was a physical and digital debit card tied to the SORA crypto platform, open to EEA residents who passed KYC. You loaded it by converting XOR to EUR or by SEPA transfer, and it spent like an ordinary debit card. It was issued by Unlimit EU Ltd, a Cypriot e-money institution. The card and its in-app functions stopped after 30 January 2026.

Is SORA a bank?

No. SORA runs the site and apps, but the card is issued by Unlimit EU Ltd (Cyprus), an electronic money institution licensed by the Central Bank of Cyprus (licence 115.1.3.7). An EMI is not a bank, and funds held with it are not bank deposits and are not covered by Cyprus deposit insurance. That distinction matters most at the end of a programme, which is exactly where SORA ended.

Can I still apply for a SORA card?

No. Issuance is closed, and the card and its app functions stopped after 30 January 2026 at 18:00 GMT. There is nothing to apply for. If you saw SORA listed as an option recently, that source is out of date. The SORA Wallet continues, but that is the crypto wallet, not the payment card.

How do I get my money out of a closed SORA card?

After the cutoff the app no longer gives you access to your balance, so the app is not the route. The issuer is: write to [email protected] and claim your balance. If your account was suspended earlier, the balance may display but stay inaccessible until Unlimit reviews it. SORA cannot submit release requests for you — that step belongs to the issuer.

Why was my SORA account suspended?

The public record does not say. The notice of 10 January 2026 explained the programme’s closure and the 30 January 2026 cutoff, and it said Unlimit had suspended some accounts, but no cause was stated. Treat the reason as unknown rather than assuming it was something you did or something fraud-related. Your route to funds is a written claim to Unlimit, not a debate about the cause.

Is SORA card safe or a scam?

The card was not a scam, but it has now closed, which creates its own risk: a frozen balance inside a wound-down programme. Being careful with crypto cards is not about avoiding the category, it is about knowing which institution holds your money and what happens if the brand ends. The issuer, not the app, is your counterparty, and an EMI’s funds are not deposit-guaranteed.

How much did the SORA card cost?

Before it closed, the first card was €0 to issue (virtual or physical) and €0 monthly, with a client membership of €39 per year charged after the first year. International card payments were €0.90 + 1.1%; domestic was free for the first 10 online and 10 in-store. ATM withdrawals were €1.20 + 3% in the domestic zone and €1.75 + 3% internationally. Top-ups and ledger loads were €0. None of this matters now that it is closed — but it is why its cost score was the one middling mark.

What can I use instead of the SORA card?

Three live options, in the order I would look at them: BloFin Wallet Card (Visa Platinum, $0 fees, tiered spend rate 1.00% down to 0.00%, top up with USDT/USDC on Arbitrum and Base; my score 6.9/10); Decaf (Visa, virtual $5 or physical $10 US / $90 elsewhere, no ongoing fee, no added FX markup; 6.2/10); and SafePal (virtual Mastercard, no account fees, 1% FX on non-USD settlement, top up from 40+ chains; 6.2/10). Each is open, unlike SORA.

Does SORA card require KYC?

Yes, it did. KYC meant a selfie, an ID document and proof of address, for EEA residents by residence — residents of Russia, Iran and the DPRK were excluded (with a fuller blacklist published). These checks are standard because regulated firms must verify customers under anti-money-laundering law, which is also why accounts get frozen when documents cannot be completed. That process is now moot for the card, which is closed.

Where could I use the SORA card?

While it existed, it was a debit card for everyday spending, with domestic payments free for the first 10 online and 10 in-store, and ATM withdrawals in the EU, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. It could not be used for crypto purchases, had no rewards, and Apple Pay and Google Pay were only promised for a future “Phase 2.” But since the card stopped entirely after 30 January 2026, none of this applies — there is no card to use anywhere.

Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team