Airtm review: a cheap virtual card with real gaps you should know about
The Airtm card is a virtual Visa prepaid card that spends US dollars out of your Airtm balance. On the headline numbers it is one of the cheapest cards in this category: no issuance fee, no monthly fee, and a 0% foreign exchange fee. But the picture that emerges when you look at the fine print is more mixed. It is virtual only — there is no plastic card and no ATM — and the review scores that come with it are not flattering. Accounts frozen without explanation and money held for weeks are the most common complaints in public reviews.
My score for this card is 6.3 out of 10. That number is not a verdict on whether the company is honest; it is a verdict on how well the card does the job for the person holding it. Read on if you have trouble getting an ordinary bank card where you live, or if you already hold dollars or stablecoins and want a cheaper way to spend them. If you want a physical card, cash withdrawals, or cashback, keep reading — this is not that card.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.3 out of 10
Here is how I arrived at that number, criterion by criterion, with the reason for each mark.

| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Residents of 15+ countries by residence, starting in the US and Argentina; closed in Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Russia, Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | Issuance 0 USD, servicing 0 USD, top-up 1% on the first 200 USD per month (max 2 USDC), then 0%, FX 0%; inactivity 1 USD after 30 days without top-ups |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Top up from the Airtm balance in USDC; the Airtm wallet itself is funded by crypto deposit, 500+ ways, networks not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Issuer Lead Bank, operator Bridge Ventures, Airtm Inc. registered with FinCEN as an MSB since 2015; Trustpilot 3 out of 5 from roughly 7,000 reviews, complaints about account blocks and withheld funds |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa only; Apple Pay and Google Pay available; no physical card and no ATM |
Total: 6.3 / 10.
Who this suits: residents of the United States and Latin America who spend US dollars out of an Airtm balance, and anyone whose country makes an ordinary bank card hard to get. The cost score of 9 is earned honestly — the fee structure is genuinely thin.
Who it does not suit: anyone who needs cash from an ATM, a plastic card in the post, cashback on everyday purchases, or spending in a currency other than US dollars. It also does not suit anyone who wants to be able to stop a payment or pull money back out of the card without deleting it.
Will they give you the card?
The short answer: if you can prove you live in an approved country, probably yes; if your country is on the exclusion list, no.
The card is available to users with verified residence in 15+ countries. It is residence, not citizenship, that counts — you do not need to hold a passport from the country you live in, you need to prove you live there. The service launched initially in the United States and Argentina. Coming soon are Bolivia, Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador and the Dominican Republic. Planned further ahead: Guatemala, Chile, Angola, Brazil and Peru. So the live footprint today is narrower than the marketing often suggests.
There is a hard exclusion list. The Airtm platform, and therefore the card, is not available in Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Russia, and Ukraine’s Donetsk, Luhansk and Crimea regions. Certain US states are also excluded, including New York.
I want to be plain about one thing: this page cannot tell you the full country list with certainty. The public pages state the criteria above — 15+ countries by verified residence, the launch pair, the coming-soon and planned groups, and the exclusion list — but they do not publish a definitive, complete list of every country where the card is live. Where you live decides this, and if your country is not obviously on the positive side, ask Airtm before you move any money. I am not going to guess at the missing entries.
How to get it
The process is short and centres on one specific verification.
You need what Airtm calls “Special Features KYC” — the verification tier for premium features such as this card. It is not the same as the basic account verification that every Airtm user does; it is a separate, higher step. If you have already completed Special Features KYC for a US Virtual Account, you do not need to repeat it. Standard Airtm account verification (basic KYC) is separate from this.
What the check asks for: an official ID carrying your name, address, date of birth and government ID number. You must be 18 or older.
The steps, as Airtm states them:
- Complete Special Features KYC.
- Go to the card page in the app.
- Follow the instructions there.
- The card is approved.
Activation takes a few minutes to 2 business days.
One thing you will not find published: Airtm does not state any reasons for rejection. That is worth knowing before you try, because if it goes wrong you have no published appeal criteria to work from.
What you get when it is approved is a virtual Visa prepaid debit card, and only that — see the next section on what arrives and what does not. The card currency is USD.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the strongest part of the card, so it is worth reading the whole table before deciding.

| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Free ($0) |
| Monthly fee | $0 (no monthly fee if you regularly load or use the card) |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Inactivity fee | $1 after 30 days with no loads |
| Top-up fee | 1% on the first $200 loaded per calendar month (max $2 USDC/month), 0% beyond $200 |
| Bridge cardholder agreement wording | “up to 2%” for funding from the Airtm wallet |
| Foreign exchange (FX) fee on international transactions | 0% |
| Per-purchase fee | None |
| Card deletion fee | 1% of balance |
| Cashback at point of sale | None |
| ATM withdrawals | Not available |
| ATM balance inquiry | Not available |
| Daily spending limit | $2,000 USD |
| Per-transaction limit | $2,000 USD |
| Loading limits | Follow the withdrawal limits of your Airtm account; no separate monthly limit stated |
| Card currency | USD only; no multi-currency balances on the card |
There is a single tier — no higher-spend or premium version with different terms.
Now let me walk three everyday payments through that table, because the fee structure only tells you much once you see it applied.
A $20 coffee in a local currency. You are spending from a USD balance, so the app sells stablecoins and loads fiat US dollars onto the card in real time when the purchase starts. On the payment itself: no per-purchase fee, 0% foreign exchange fee. So the coffee costs $20 plus whatever the conversion between your stablecoin and the dollar costs you at that moment. The one hidden variable is the top-up fee — the 1% applies to the first $200 you load in a calendar month, capped at $2 in USDC, and 0% beyond $200. If your month tops up more than $200, everything past that is free to load.
A $40 online subscription paid monthly. Same shape: no per-purchase fee, 0% FX, converted from stablecoin at the point of sale. At $40 a month you would hit the $200 free-loading threshold in the fifth month, and after that the top-up fee stops applying altogether.
A $300 purchase. The per-transaction limit is $2,000 and the daily limit is $2,000, so $300 is well within both. On fees: the top-up that funds it draws the 1% on the portion of your monthly $200 that is still unused, and nothing beyond $200. This is the case where the cost score of 9 shows — a $300 month costs you at most $2 in top-up fees, plus the conversion spread.
Two cautions on cost. First, the Bridge cardholder agreement says “up to 2%” for funding from the Airtm wallet while the top-up page says 1% capped at $2 USDC. The lower, capped figure is the one I would plan around, but the contract language is broader, so read your own agreement. Second, network fees for a crypto conversion are included in Airtm’s spread or P2P rates — they are not billed separately, but they are not zero either.
How to top it up
The card itself is not topped up directly from your bank. It is topped up from your Airtm balance, in USDC. When you start a purchase, stablecoins are sold from the Platform Provider account and fiat US dollars are loaded onto the card in real time.
So the funding chain runs: you fund the Airtm wallet, and the wallet feeds the card. The wallet can be funded through 500+ payment methods: bank transfers, crypto deposits, mobile wallets, the P2P network, and debit or credit cards via MoonPay.
On the fee, the top-up is 1% on the first $200 per calendar month, capped at $2 USDC, and free beyond $200. The Bridge agreement’s “up to 2%” wording applies here too. No minimum top-up amount is stated anywhere.
A few things to know before your first top-up:
- US users can only load the card via payouts — you set the card as your default payout method. That is a different route from the one most people assume.
- The networks are not disclosed on the public pages. When you deposit crypto to the wallet, check which network Airtm expects before you send; a transfer on an unsupported network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
- Only USDC is named as the balance asset the card draws on.
And a feature that catches people out — there is no normal “withdraw to card” button. To move money back from the card to your Airtm balance, you delete the card. The remaining balance, minus a 1% deletion fee, is transferred to your Airtm account. On card closure, the remaining balance goes to the Platform Provider wallet as stablecoins. Lead Bank charges no fee for the closure itself. And refunds from merchants do not go back to the card — they are credited to the Platform Provider wallet as stablecoins.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is where this card is weakest, and the everyday-use score of 5 reflects that.
First, what you are holding. There is no physical card — this is virtual only, and there is no delivery, because there is nothing to deliver. So when people ask about tap-to-pay at a terminal or handing something to a cashier who expects plastic, that is not this card. What you use instead is Apple Pay or Google Pay, both supported. That covers most contactless spending, but not the situations where a physical card is genuinely required.
Second, no cash. ATM withdrawals are not available at all, and there is no ATM balance inquiry. If a country or a cash-heavy lifestyle runs on physical notes, this does not touch it.
Third, no cashback. None at the point of sale, which is one of the ordinary rewards people expect from a debit card.
Fourth, what the card is blocked from. The blocked merchant categories are gambling, firearms, drugs, adult content and services, and financial services businesses. A card in this category often also trips merchant-side declines: a virtual card issued through one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another, and some merchants refuse prepaid or foreign-issued card numbers outright. If a decline happens, a pre-authorisation hold may sit on your funds for up to 7 business days.
Where it does work well is the software around it. The app scores 4.8 out of 5 on the US iOS App Store from about 5,000 ratings, and 4.5 out of 5 on Google Play from about 82,400 reviews, and there is a web dashboard alongside the iOS and Android apps. Those are strong ratings for a crypto-facing app, and they are the most reassuring numbers on this card.
What can go wrong
The complaints are the single most important thing to weigh here, and I want to put them plainly rather than soften them.
On Trustpilot, Airtm has a TrustScore of 3 out of 5 from roughly 7,000 reviews as of October 2026. Three themes repeat across Trustpilot, the App Store and Google Play throughout 2025 and 2026:
- Accounts suspended or limited without a clear explanation, with funds held — reported by users, persistently.
- Slow, unresponsive or generic customer support — reported by users, persistently.
- P2P marketplace fraud, where cashiers scam users and Airtm does not reimburse — reported by users, persistently.
These are user reports, and I am presenting them as such. But three independent review sites converging on the same three complaints is a pattern, not noise. On a card where the whole point is that your money sits with a provider until you spend it, “funds held for weeks” is not a minor inconvenience — it is the risk.
The second category of risk is structural. This is a custodial setup: your funds are held by Lead Bank. Card funds are not FDIC insured. 2FA is available on the Airtm account, and the card can be deleted or frozen from the dashboard, but custody means you are trusting the provider. Holding funds with a custodian carries real counterparty and hack risk — the history of custodial platforms includes Mt. Gox, Coincheck and the Ronin Network, all of them large losses. No major publicised hacks or shutdowns of Airtm itself came up in my reading.
Third, your payment protections are thinner than on an ordinary bank card. There is no right to stop a payment on a card transaction. Disputes must be handled directly with the merchant first. You can report an error within 60 days, with investigation within 10 business days (up to 45 days standard, 90 days for new or foreign-initiated transactions). Your liability for unauthorised transactions is capped at $50 if you report within 2 business days, but up to $500 if you report later. That two-day window is the whole difference between $50 and $500, and it is shorter than most people assume.
On the company side, the facts are solid. Platform Provider: Airtm Inc., a Delaware corporation, registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business (#31000329787639) and operating since 2015. Issuing bank: Lead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered bank and FDIC member. Programme Manager: Bridge Ventures LLC, Delaware. Card network: Visa. The licence named on the site is the FinCEN MSB registration. Support is reachable at [email protected] and 833-237-8104, with website chat as well; the site is available in English, Spanish and Portuguese, and hours are not explicitly stated.
On reliability history: the USD Virtual Card officially launched on 2025-05-27, initially in the US and Argentina. A scheduled maintenance window was announced for 2026-06-04, 6:00–9:00 AM UTC. IsDown has tracked around 36 Airtm incidents since July 2021, with the last tracked outage on 2025-10-02 (“Transactions error”, about 9 hours).
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up in my comparison, and I would put it to you that none of them is clearly better — they trade different things.
| Airtm | Cardex | TakeCard | OkiCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.3 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 5.5 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 |
| Card | Virtual Visa prepaid | Debit card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical | Virtual card; physical card (Bolivia only); Visa | Virtual card; page also mentions a physical one |
| Cost | Issuance $0, monthly $0 | Not stated | Virtual USD 5; physical USD 20 issuance + USD 20 shipping (another article says USD 10 — conflicting) | Issuance $0, monthly $0, starting price $15 for virtual — pages disagree |
| Fees | Top-up 1% to $200 then 0%; FX 0% | Real-time conversion, no percentage stated | 1% per purchase | Load fee 3%; USD transaction fee 0% |
| Rewards | No cashback | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Notes | Residents of 15+ countries; US and Argentina at launch | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; app listing is Naira-focused | Physical card “only for Bolivian users for now” | “150+ countries” (some pages say 200+); no geo-blocking based on passport |
Two things stand out in that comparison. First, OkiCard is the only one of the four with a load fee stated at 3% — double Airtm’s opening 1% — but it advertises 0% on USD transactions and a USD/EUR-pegged card currency. Second, TakeCard charges a flat 1% per purchase, which is a worse deal than Airtm if you spend regularly, but its physical card option (Bolivia) is something Airtm simply does not have anywhere.
A caveat on all three: much of what is published about them is thinner than what Airtm publishes about itself. Cardex does not state a fee percentage or its costs. TakeCard’s own help centre contradicts itself on the physical card price, and its country list is not confirmed. OkiCard’s pricing page and its FAQ disagree on whether there is an issuance fee. Where I say “not stated,” that means the company’s public pages do not say — it is not a claim that the fee does not exist.
If you want a physical card, a card that names several networks, or a country reach that is wider than 15+ countries, look at OkiCard and Cardex. If you want the lowest cost on a USD balance and you are in the US or Latin America, Airtm remains the cheapest of the four on the numbers it publishes.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to three kinds of person, and only those.
Someone in the US or Latin America who already holds dollars or stablecoins and wants to spend them cheaply. The cost structure is the best in this comparison: 0% issuance, 0% monthly, 0% FX, and a top-up fee that disappears entirely past $200 a month. If your spending is mostly online or contactless and you are comfortable holding a US dollar balance, this is a low-cost way to do it.
Someone who cannot get an ordinary bank card where they live. If your country makes a standard debit card hard to obtain, a virtual Visa that you can load from a stablecoin balance is genuinely useful, and the 0% FX fee means spending abroad does not quietly eat the value.
Someone who wants a secondary card, not their only one. Given the Trustpilot pattern of funds being held and accounts being limited, I would keep this away from money I cannot afford to have frozen. A spending balance you can replace is a very different proposition from a savings balance.
And who I would not recommend it to: anyone who needs cash, anyone who needs a plastic card in the post, anyone who wants cashback, and anyone who wants to be able to reverse a payment or withdraw from the card without deleting it. The 2-business-day reporting window that separates a $50 liability cap from a $500 one is also, in my view, too sharp to rely on if this is your primary card.
If you are still unsure whether this card reaches your country, that is the one question to ask Airtm before you commit money. Everything else on this page you can read.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Airtm card?
The Airtm card is a virtual Visa prepaid debit card that spends US dollars drawn from your Airtm balance. It is virtual only, so there is no physical card and no delivery, and its currency is USD. When you make a purchase, stablecoins are sold from the Platform Provider account and fiat dollars are loaded onto the card in real time.
How does the Airtm card work?
You fund your Airtm wallet — by bank transfer, crypto deposit, mobile wallet, the P2P network, or a debit or credit card via MoonPay — and the card then spends from that balance. At the moment you pay, stablecoins are converted to dollars and loaded onto the card. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, since the card is virtual. Unspent money comes back to your Airtm balance, but only if you delete the card.
Is Airtm a bank?
No. Airtm Inc. is a Delaware corporation registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business since 2015, and it is the platform provider. The actual bank is Lead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered FDIC member, which holds the card programme. Bridge Ventures LLC is the programme manager. So your funds sit with the issuing bank, not with a bank account in your own name.
Who owns Airtm?
Airtm Inc. is the owning company, a Delaware corporation, and it has operated since 2015. It is registered with FinCEN as an MSB (#31000329787639). The licence the company names on its site is that FinCEN registration. It is not a listed bank, and card funds are not FDIC insured.
Which countries is the Airtm card available in?
The card is available with verified residence in 15+ countries, by residence rather than citizenship. It launched in the United States and Argentina; Bolivia, Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador and the Dominican Republic are coming soon, and Guatemala, Chile, Angola, Brazil and Peru are planned. It is not available in Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Russia, the Donetsk, Luhansk and Crimea regions, or certain US states including New York.
Can I use the Airtm card in my country?
You can use it anywhere Visa is accepted online or contactless, through Apple Pay or Google Pay, and the FX fee on international transactions is 0%. But there are blocked merchant categories — gambling, firearms, drugs, adult content and services, and financial services businesses — and no ATM withdrawals at all. Some merchants decline virtual or foreign-issued card numbers, so a decline is possible for reasons unrelated to your balance.
Does the Airtm card require KYC?
Yes. It requires “Special Features KYC”, a tier specific to premium features such as this card, separate from the basic account verification. You supply an official ID showing your name, address, date of birth and government ID number, and you must be 18 or over. If you have already completed it for a US Virtual Account, it is not repeated.
How do I activate the Airtm card?
You complete Special Features KYC, go to the card page in the app, follow the instructions there, and the card is approved. Activation takes a few minutes to 2 business days. Airtm does not publish any reasons for rejection, so if it is declined there are no stated criteria to appeal against.
How much does the Airtm card cost?
Issuance is $0, the monthly fee is $0 provided you regularly load or use the card, and the annual fee is $0. Top-up is 1% on the first $200 per calendar month, capped at $2 USDC, and free beyond $200; the Bridge agreement says “up to 2%”. There is no per-purchase fee, the FX fee is 0%, and a $1 inactivity fee applies after 30 days with no loads.
How do I add the Airtm card to Apple Wallet?
Both Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, so you add the virtual card to your wallet from the Airtm app and pay contactless with your phone. Because the card is virtual only, this is the normal way to use it in person — there is no plastic card to insert or hand over. Note that merchant refunds do not return to the card; they are credited to the Platform Provider wallet as stablecoins.
Virtual cards for online use – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
