A virtual Visa for cross-border spenders, but a platform run on partnerships rather than banking rails

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Onboard card is a virtual Visa you load with stablecoins or local currency and spend anywhere the network takes it. It is pitched at “professionals who spend across borders,” and in practice it suits people who move money across currencies, work paid in stablecoins, or simply cannot open an ordinary bank card. It does not suit people who want a physical card, an ATM, or a bank behind the product. My score: 6.5 out of 10.

Onboard works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.5 out of 10 — a useful tool, built on someone else’s licence

The Onboard card gets the job done for cross-border spenders who want to pay from a crypto balance without touching an exchange. It is not a bank, it has no physical card, and its reliability record is thin. For people paying abroad for work, and anyone who wants their first card free, that combination is worth taking. For everyone else, there are better-rounded options.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Verification is closed in a long list of countries (including the United States); the rest of the world is open. In Turkey, Israel, India and others, only the Classic card is available.
Cost 6 / 10 First Flex card free, then $2 each. USD payments free; other currencies $0.30 + 1.5%. Funding 1.25%.
Top-up options 8 / 10 USDT and USDC on a chosen network, with Tron and Ethereum named, plus bank transfers in NGN, IDR, KES. An article on BTC and SOL exists.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 A platform, not a bank: partners Gopay Financial Services (FINTRAC) and Onboard Digital (FinCEN). Issuing bank not named. Trustpilot 2.6 out of 5 from four reviews.
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa only; Apple Pay and Google Pay work. No ATM, no physical card.

The card’s own audience note — “professionals paying abroad, free first card” — is accurate. That is who it works for.

Will they give you the card?

Not everywhere. Onboard publishes an explicit list of countries where verification — and therefore any Onboard feature including cards — is not available. That list includes Afghanistan, Algeria, Belarus, Burundi, the Central African Republic, China, Comoros, Congo (DR), Congo (Republic), Cuba, Gambia, Iran, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Maldives, Myanmar, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Syria, Tajikistan, Togo, Tokelau, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, the United States, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Wallis and Futuna, Yemen, and Zimbabwe.

That last one surprises people. US residents cannot verify. If you are American and reading this hoping to sign up, the answer is no.

There is a second tier. In Cyprus, India, Israel, Montenegro, Nepal, North Macedonia, Palestine, Turkey, and Vietnam, you can get the Classic card but not the Flex card — which means you lose the free first card and the cheaper fee schedule. Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan, and the UAE appear on neither list, so they are open on both tiers.

What the card does not state is a specific age requirement or a list of accepted documents by country on the pages I read. The help centre has an article on identity verification I did not read, so treat the document list as unknown rather than as permission-free.

How to get it

Three steps, as the app presents them: download, verify, create. Onboard describes verification as “verify your account in minutes — free and instant.”

The verification trigger matters more than the marketing phrase. KYC is prompted when you fund, withdraw, trade, or create a card — not at signup itself. So you can install the app and browse before being asked for papers.

When it does prompt, you need:

Accepted documents depend on the country you pick at signup. Onboard says verification “usually finishes within seconds,” with some cases going to manual review and taking longer. It does not publish the KYC tiers, so I cannot tell you which level of verification unlocks which limit.

Not stated: rejection reasons. There is an article titled “Why was my account restricted?” that I did not read, so I will not guess why an application fails.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline is good: your first Flex card is free. Each card after that costs $2 to create. No monthly or annual fee is published. The Classic card is a separate product with its own fee schedule.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Onboard payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The costs that bite are in the conversion and the currency you spend in. Here is the full table as published:

Fee or limit Flex card Classic card
First card Free —
Subsequent cards $2 creation fee each Own fee schedule (not detailed)
USD payments Free —
Non-USD / cross-border USD payments $0.30 + 1.5% $0.50 + 2.5%
Decline charges None $0.32 international / $0.02 domestic
Funding fee 1.25% 1.5%
Daily spend limit $5,000 —
Monthly spend limit $20,000 —

Not stated: ATM fees (the card is virtual only, and there is no ATM article). The crypto conversion rate itself is also not published — the site refers to “fees for certain actions like funding, currency conversion” without giving amounts. The higher limits are available on request via support; the per-KYC-level split is not stated.

Two everyday payments to make it concrete:

Paying $80 for a software subscription in USD. Free on Flex. You feel nothing.

Paying €60 (about $65 at the time) for a hotel in Europe. Flex: $0.30 + 1.5% of $65 ≈ $1.28. Plus whatever the crypto conversion costs at the moment you load — a rate the site does not publish. The Classic card on the same payment: $0.50 + 2.5% ≈ $2.13.

The difference between Flex and Classic is roughly a dollar per mid-value transaction. If you make several cross-border payments a month, that adds up; if you make one a month, the free first Flex card is the reason to stay.

How to top up

Onboard says “fund from local currency or stablecoins.” The specifics depend on the route.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Onboard starts with a transfer to the right network
Method Network or detail Fee Speed
USDT / USDC Chosen network — Tron and Ethereum named 1.25% (Flex) About 5 minutes
Bank transfer NGN, IDR, KES — —
Internal Move From Cash balance, Trading Wallet, or another card — Instant

A few things worth knowing before you hit send:

The “not credited 1:1” point catches people. You send $100 of USDT and roughly $98.75 lands on the card after the 1.25% funding fee, before any network cost. That is the price of convenience.

Two of these networks deserve a warning. On Tron, USDT is fine but USDC is not — Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. And blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on the wrong network, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Double-check the network before you confirm.

Paying with it every day

The good news: Apple Pay and Google Pay both work. You add the virtual card to your phone’s wallet and tap in shops. That covers most of the physical in-person experience a plastic card would give you.

The bad news is what is missing. No physical card. No ATM. Card currency is USD, so every non-USD payment carries the fee. No cashback is mentioned, though a “Refer & earn” programme exists.

Blocked automatically, by policy: money transfer services, cryptocurrency platforms, securities brokers, dating services, massage parlors, telemarketing, government-licensed gambling, and financial services companies. Prohibited outright: unlicensed controlled substances, weapons, gambling, counterfeit goods, Ponzi schemes, and pirated media.

That list has a practical edge to it. If you are in crypto, the “cryptocurrency platforms” block means you cannot pay exchange fees directly from this card — you withdraw to an exchange first, then pay.

When a merchant refunds you, it returns to the same card and “can take up to 30 days to process after the merchant initiates it.” Past 30 days you contact support with the transaction ID, merchant name, and proof of payment. A refund arriving after the card is terminated goes to your Cash Balance.

Not stated: app ratings in the App Store or Google Play. I found only company news when I searched. Treat the mobile experience as unrated.

What can go wrong

The first thing to understand is what Onboard is. It is “a technology platform, not a bank.” The services come through licensed partners: Gopay Financial Services Inc. d/b/a Onboard Pay (Canada, FINTRAC MSB C100000565) and Onboard Digital (FinCEN MSB 31000293152346), a subsidiary of Nestcoin Holding Limited (BVI). The issuing bank that actually stands behind the Visa BIN is not named anywhere on the pages I read. So when you hold this card, your counterparty is a licensed partner and an unnamed issuer, not a deposit-taking bank you can name.

User complaints. On the official side: none found. On the user side, the Trustpilot profile for onboard.xyz (read 2026-10-20) shows a TrustScore of 2.6 from four reviews — all one-star, profile unclaimed. The themes:

Four reviews is a very small sample, and I want to be honest about that — 2.6 from four is not a reliable signal of the typical experience. But every review being one star, and the specific complaints about referral rewards going unpaid, is worth a warning. If you are joining for the referral programme, do not treat promised rewards as banked.

Security. The app offers passkeys (recommended) for login and withdrawal authorisation, a 6-digit passcode, Face ID/Touch ID, and phone OTP for sensitive actions. You can freeze the card in the app (Cards > swipe to the card > more > Freeze), with the caveat that pending transactions may still settle and subscriptions are not cancelled. Custody arrangements and any insurance are not stated, consistent with the “not a bank” framing.

Country risk. The card is unavailable in the long list above. If your country appears on it, none of this applies to you — you cannot onboard at all.

Licence risk. This is a platform dependent on partners’ licences remaining in good standing. Programme closures in this category have happened before. The pattern is always the same: a notice period, then loads stop, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — a single unconfirmed source, but the shape of it is what to watch for.

Tax. Every time you spend crypto, that is generally a taxable disposal measured in your local currency at fair market value on the transaction date. I am not giving tax advice here — speak to a professional — but the operational point is that each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate taxable event, and keeping records matters.

What to take instead

Three alternatives, all with real gaps of their own. Here is how they compare:

Score Card type Fees Funding Caveat
Onboard 6.5 Virtual Visa, USD USD free; other +$0.30/1.5% USDT/USDC, bank transfer NGN/IDR/KES No physical card, no ATM
Cardex 5.6 Debit card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual + physical Real-time conversion; no % stated USDT, USDC, BTC App Store listing is Naira-focused
TakeCard 5.5 Virtual card immediate; physical for Bolivia only; Visa; USD 1:1 1% per purchase; USD 1:1 Takenos balance; USDC/USDT via Polygon, BNB, Tron, Ethereum (unverified) Physical $20 issuance + $20 shipping (Bolivia)
OkiCard 6.0 Virtual card; Visa/Mastercard unspecified; USD/EUR pegged Load 3%; USD transaction 0%; FX not stated USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron, Solana; USDC “soon” Pages disagree on issuance fee ($0 vs $15)

Cardex converts at the moment of payment with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one; no fee percentage is stated on the site. It offers 200+ countries with no exclusions published, and the App Store listing is Naira-focused.

TakeCard is a prepaid Visa, virtual immediately and physical for Bolivian users only. USD payments are 1:1 with no currency adjustment; other currencies use the official Visa rate of the day. The commission is 1% per purchase. The funding routes came from starting data I could not confirm on a page I read.

OkiCard is the closest competitor: virtual card, no geo-blocking based on passport (though you must confirm you are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction), 150–200+ countries depending on the page. Its load fee is 3%, higher than Onboard’s 1.25%, and the pages disagree with each other on whether issuance is free or $15.

Against these, Onboard’s strengths are the free first card and the low funding fee. Its weakness is the missing physical card, which Cardex and TakeCard (for Bolivia) both offer.

Who I would recommend it to

Take it if you are a professional paying across borders, you hold USDT or USDC, you want your first card free, and you are content with Apple Pay or Google Pay instead of plastic. You live somewhere outside the excluded-country list and outside the Classic-only tier, or you are fine with Classic’s higher fees.

Skip it if you need a physical card in your wallet, you need an ATM, you are in the United States or any of the excluded countries, or you are joining mainly for the referral rewards — the Trustpilot record on those is not encouraging.

Think twice if you are nervous about relying on an unnamed issuing bank behind a “technology platform, not a bank” wrapper. That is not a dealbreaker for most people, but it is a real dependency, and it is the single fact that most shapes the reliability score.

Frequently asked questions

What is Onboard card?

Onboard is a technology platform that issues a virtual Visa card you load with stablecoins or local currency and spend globally. It is not a bank; the services run through licensed partners, Gopay Financial Services and Onboard Digital. The card currency is USD, and the first Flex card is free.

Is Onboard a bank?

No. Onboard describes itself as “a technology platform, not a bank.” Its partners are licensed money services businesses — Gopay Financial Services under FINTRAC and Onboard Digital under FinCEN. The bank that actually issues the Visa behind the scenes is not named on the pages I read.

Does Onboard require KYC?

Yes. Verification is prompted when you fund, withdraw, trade, or create a card — not at install. You need a phone number, address, a passport or national ID or driver’s licence, and a live selfie. It usually finishes in seconds, though some cases go to manual review.

Is Onboard available in the United States?

No. The United States appears on Onboard’s explicit list of countries where verification, and therefore any Onboard feature including cards, is not available. The list runs to dozens of countries and also includes the UK-adjacent Serbia, Ukraine, Russia, China, and Iran.

Is the Onboard card free?

The first Flex card is free. Each card after that costs $2 to create, and no monthly or annual fee is published. USD payments are free; non-USD or cross-border USD payments cost $0.30 plus 1.5%. The Classic card has its own, higher fee schedule.

What are the fees for the Onboard virtual card?

On Flex: USD payments free; non-USD and cross-border USD $0.30 + 1.5%; funding 1.25%. On Classic: non-USD and cross-border $0.50 + 2.5%; decline charges $0.32 international or $0.02 domestic; funding 1.5%. Limits are $5,000 daily and $20,000 monthly, with higher available on request via support.

How do I top up the Onboard card?

You can send USDT or USDC on a chosen network — Tron and Ethereum are named — usually arriving in 5 minutes, or use a bank transfer in NGN, IDR, or KES, or move funds internally from your Cash balance or Trading Wallet. Per-transaction limits run $1 to $5,000.

Why are my stablecoins credited at less than 1:1?

Because the funding fee is taken before credit. On Flex you receive about 1.0125 USDT per $1 sent, so a $100 deposit lands roughly $98.75. Some networks add a base fee on top — $1.25 on Tron, $0.10 on Ethereum. The conversion rate itself is not published by the site.

Can I add Onboard to Apple Wallet?

Yes. The card is compatible with Apple Pay and Google Pay for in-store payments. Adding the virtual card to your phone wallet lets you tap in shops without needing a physical card. Note that Apple Pay tokenises the card number, so the real number is not shared.

Is Onboard card safe?

The app offers passkeys, a passcode, Face ID/Touch ID, and phone OTP for sensitive actions, plus in-app freeze. But Onboard is a platform, not a bank, and the issuing bank behind the card is not named. Custody arrangements and any insurance are not stated. Treat it as a tool for spending, not as a place to park savings.

Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team