The Kredete card, read closely: a 6.7 out of 10 for anyone who needs a plain USD Visa
There is a particular kind of person this card is built for, and it is worth naming at the start. You are somewhere an ordinary bank card is awkward to get, or your bank simply will not open an account that works abroad. You want a Visa that spends in dollars. You may already hold stablecoins and would rather not go through an exchange desk each time. Kredete is a small fintech — a Nigerian startup, by third-party accounts — putting a USD Visa virtual and physical card in front of exactly that person, and adding cashback and an interest rate on the balance as incentives.
On the evidence I could actually check, the card is well built and badly documented. It is a USD Visa. It works in Apple Pay and Google Pay. You can freeze it from the app in a second. Its fee structure, as far as anyone has published, is remarkably clean: 0% FX markup. And then, for almost every number that would let you decide whether it is cheap for you — the issuance fee, the monthly fee, the ATM fee, the spending limits, the top-up methods, the identity checks — the official pages say nothing at all.
That gap is the story. I scored it 6.7 out of 10, and the score is not a verdict on the product; it is mostly a verdict on how much of the product I could confirm. Details below are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | The app advertises global accounts in 60+ countries and a card usable in 170+ countries, but eligibility rules are not published. Unofficial reporting points to a launch in selected African markets and 50 African countries, with the UAE, Saudi Arabia and Oman planned. |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | 0% FX markup is a genuine advantage. Against that, the issuance fee, monthly fee and ATM fee are all unstated. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | The card is officially described as spending from the Kredete account balance, and the card page does not mention crypto at all. USDC settlement comes from unofficial sources. |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | The seller is Kredete, Inc.; the issuer is not named on the official page. No complaints surfaced, but the App Store rating is 3.97 from 98 ratings — a thin sample. |
| Everyday use | 10 / 10 | Virtual card in about 10 seconds, a physical card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access, and instant freezing from the app. |
| Total | 6.7 / 10 | A card that is easy to use and hard to price. |
Two things I want to be straight about before the sections below. First, I did not apply for this card, so everything here comes from what the company publishes and from what third parties have written, not from my own transactions. Second, a large share of what a review like this normally takes for granted — the fee table, the KYC rules — simply is not on the public pages. When I write “not stated” below, I mean the card’s own public material does not say it, not that it does not exist.

Who will they give you the card
The honest answer is: I cannot tell you from the official pages, and that is itself the finding.
The card’s public page does not state eligibility requirements at all. The App Store listing for the app — “Kredete Send Spend Save Credit” — advertises “global accounts in 60+ countries”, which is a marketing line rather than a list of countries you can apply to from. Third-party reporting fills in part of the picture, and I want to flag it clearly as unofficial: AppsAfrica reported in April 2026 that “users in 50 African countries” can spend USD-backed stablecoins, that the product launched “in selected African markets”, and that expansion to the UAE, Saudi Arabia and Oman is planned. An earlier report from Disrupt Africa, dated 4 June 2025, put the reach at “more than 40 African countries”. Neither is the company stating a policy.
So the picture that emerges is: a card aimed at African users who want a USD Visa, with Gulf markets next in line. That matches the card’s own positioning — a stablecoin-backed card with a USD Visa at its centre — and it explains the emphasis on cashback for spend and an APY on the balance.
Two gaps you should hold onto. The first is that citizenship versus residence is never distinguished. That distinction matters more than it sounds: screening and issuer risk policy often follow nationality and country of birth, not just where you live, so a resident of one country with citizenship of another may be treated differently from a local. The second is that there are no published tiers of who qualifies — no stated income requirement, no stated balance requirement, no stated country list. If you are outside the markets where it has launched, the honest answer is that you will not know until you try.
How to get it
The card itself is a USD Visa, and it comes in two forms: a virtual card that the app issues in about 10 seconds, and a physical card. That is the strongest part of the offer, because it means you can be spending within a minute of being approved and you are not waiting on an envelope for the first transaction.
The physical card is delivered to 70+ countries. Delivery time and delivery cost are not stated — which, again, is the kind of detail that decides whether a card is usable for you this week or next month.
Identity verification is where I have the least to tell you. The card’s public pages do not state what KYC is required: no indication of which documents, no indication of whether there are different verification levels, no statement either way about whether KYC is required at all. I want to be precise about the limits of my own knowledge here rather than fill the gap with a guess about what a regulated fintech in this market would normally do. If you have been blocked by banks before, the KYC question is probably the one that matters most to you — and it is exactly the question the company has not answered in public.
Activating the virtual card is implied to be part of the app flow. Beyond that, there is no published activation procedure to describe.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the section I read twice, and the section where the card looks best and worst at the same time.

The good news is specific and real: 0% FX markup. That means spending in naira, cedi, rand or euros on a USD card does not carry the currency conversion spread that so many cards hide inside their rate. In the countries this card is aimed at, that can be the single most valuable feature on the page. The card page states 0% FX markup across 170+ countries.
The bad news is that almost nothing else is priced. The App Store release notes for version 4.4.0, dated 7 October 2026, say that rates and fees are now grouped by currency — USD, EUR, GBP and NGN — and that each transfer method shows its own fee. That is a promise of transparency inside the app, not transparency on the web. No crypto conversion fee is stated anywhere.
| Fee or limit | What the card publishes |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| FX markup | 0% |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
| ATM fee and ATM allowance | ATM access with the physical card; fee and allowance not stated |
| Daily spending limit | Not stated |
| Monthly spending limit | Not stated |
| Cashback | Up to 6% |
There are three named plans — Basic, Flex and Premium. The October release notes say you can “Compare Basic, Flex, and Premium side by side”, which is an in-app comparison feature. What each plan gives, and what each costs, is not stated.
Now the part I promised you, because a fee table on its own is useless. Three everyday payments, and which fees apply to each:
A coffee in a local currency, paid with the physical card. The FX markup is 0%, so this is the scenario the card is designed around and the one where it should look best. What else touches the amount is not stated — there is no published conversion fee, no published network surcharge figure.
An online subscription paid with the virtual card. Same 0% FX logic if the merchant bills in dollars. Worth knowing, though, is that online payments can trigger an identity check under 3-D Secure — Visa’s version is called Visa Secure — where the issuer either approves silently or challenges you with a one-time code or biometric. That is standard card behaviour, not a Kredete fee, and it is the one routine online-payment cost that is not a percentage of your bill.
A withdrawal at an ATM. The card works at ATMs. The fee, the allowance, and any per-withdrawal limit are not stated, so I cannot tell you what a cash withdrawal effectively costs you.
The bottom line on cost: the headline number is excellent and the footnotes are missing. If your spending is mostly in dollars, or if avoiding the FX spread is your main problem, the card could be genuinely good value. If you draw cash often, or you are comparing cards on an all-in monthly cost, you cannot do that arithmetic today.
How to top it up
The official answer is short: the card is paid from the Kredete account balance. That is what the card page says, and — this is worth noticing — it does not mention crypto on that page at all.
Here is where the unofficial reporting and the official page diverge, and the gap is the most important thing in this section. A Launch Africa piece from July 2025 describes the card as linking to a user’s digital wallet, with near-instant settlement in USDC and real-time FX conversion at the moment of purchase. That is consistent with the “settlement in USDC” claim in press coverage and with the stablecoin framing throughout the product’s story. But none of it appears on the card’s own public pages. If you are planning around “I hold USDC, I spend USDC”, you are planning around something the company has not documented for you.
The top-up methods themselves are not stated, and neither is withdrawal. So two practical questions go unanswered: which networks and coins you can actually send in, and whether you can get money back out to your own wallet. The second one matters more than people expect when you are weighing a card as a way to hold value.
If you do send a transfer, the general rule of this category applies and it is unforgiving: blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. On Ethereum-based transfers, for example, the fee is paid in ETH, so a wallet holding the token but no ETH cannot send at all. Check the network in the app before you transfer anything, not afterwards.
Paying with it every day
This is where the card scores highest, and the score is 10 out of 10, because everything you touch day to day is confirmed.
Apple Pay and Google Pay both work. If you are adding the virtual card to a mobile wallet, the number is replaced by a device-specific token held in the phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code — so adding the card to your phone is a reasonable thing to do, and does not expose the raw card number.
Freezing is instant. Both the virtual and physical cards can be frozen from the app’s top bar. That single feature matters more than it sounds: it is the difference between a lost wallet and a lost account. Typical safeguards in this category are two-factor authentication in the app, instant freeze, spending limits and 3-D Secure confirmation — of these, the freeze is confirmed, and the app also confirms Face ID or passcode confirmation on crypto sends and swaps, plus what it calls “privacy tools”.
Cashback up to 6%. The payout currency and the conditions are not stated. Read the small print in-app before you count it in a budget.
Up to 5% APY on your balance, also listed on the card page. That figure is unusually high for a card balance, and I would treat it as something to verify against the terms rather than as income you can plan around.
The app. iOS only, as far as what I read: “Kredete Send Spend Save Credit”, free, version 4.4.0 dated 7 October 2026, requiring iOS 16.2 or later. Its rating is 3.97 from 98 ratings — too few ratings to read much into, but low enough that I would look at recent reviews before committing. The Google Play listing was not read, so I cannot tell you what the Android version does or whether it exists in the same form.
Disputes. Not stated. If a charge goes wrong, no published process tells you what happens next.
What can go wrong
Start with the facts about the company, because that is where a card’s risk usually lives.
Who is behind it. The App Store seller is Kredete, Inc. The official page does not name the issuer — the bank or e-money institution that actually holds the card programme. That is not a small omission. A card network routes the payment and sets the rules; the issuer holds the programme; the brand in front of you is often just a manager and a marketing face. When you cannot see the issuer, you cannot see which regulator stands behind your balance.
The company’s history, unofficial. Launch Africa, July 2025, describes Kredete as a Nigerian fintech startup founded in 2023 by Adeola Adedewe, built with Visa, Stellar and Rain, with a US$2.25 million seed in September 2024. That reporting also does not name the issuer. Its launch was reported on 4 June 2025, and on 20 April 2026 the company announced a partnership at the Visa Africa Fintech Accelerator Cohort 5 Demo Day at GITEX Africa in Marrakech, citing 50 African countries and over 150 million merchants, with Gulf plans.
Complaints. I found none — no official incidents, and no independent user reviews or complaints in searches on 21 and 22 October 2026, and no Trustpilot page. Read that carefully: an absence of complaints for a young product in a small market is weak evidence, not strong evidence.
Custody. Not stated. If the card links to a wallet, who holds the keys is the single most consequential unanswered question in this review. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust it completely. With a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, and in exchange you carry sole responsibility for key loss, for phishing, and for malware that swaps a copied address. The general risk to keep in mind: custodial platforms have a real record of failure — Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. Neither the category history nor this card’s own documentation tells you which model you are in.
Programmes can be shut down. This is not hypothetical for crypto cards. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. The usual closure pattern is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw what is left. So: keep your balance smaller than you would keep in a bank account.
Stablecoins are not stable, despite the name. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are dollar-pegged and together account for about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation by the BIS’s July 2025 reckoning. USDC can be redeemed 1:1 for USD and is fully backed by cash and cash equivalents with monthly reserve attestations. But USDC lost its peg temporarily in March 2023 during the US banking crisis, and TerraUSD collapsed outright in May 2022. If a card’s value rests on a stablecoin balance, that is a risk you are taking on top of the issuer risk.
Payments can be declined for reasons that have nothing to do with you. Merchant category codes exist to classify businesses, and many issuers block categories such as gambling by policy rather than by law, with the list varying by issuer — Kredete’s blocked categories are not stated. Address verification compares numbers in your billing address against issuer records; it is mainly available in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. And because the issuer’s BIN and country are visible to merchants, a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Also note that a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.
Support. Not stated. No published support channel, no published response times.
Regulation, briefly, because it is not all one licence. A card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a crypto card often rests on two licences. In the EU, an electronic money institution can issue e-money and payment cards but cannot lend; EMIs must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, and those funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an EMI, and providers already operating under national law had a transitional window running to 1 July 2026 or until authorisation. ESMA keeps a public interim register of authorised providers and non-compliant entities — if Kredete operates anywhere in the EU, that register is the place to look. In the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while ordinary users spending are not.
What to take instead
If the Kredete appeal is a USD Visa for someone the banking system finds awkward, these are the cards I would put side by side with it, along with what each one leaves unanswered.
Whop Cards — 5.2 / 10. A Visa that works anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores. It is far more transparent about who it is for: 31 US states for consumers (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming) and 41 states for businesses, with a published unsupported list including Russia, Belarus, China (Mainland), Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Against that, it has the same documentation weakness on money: the page says “No extra fees” without listing issuance or monthly amounts, no conversion or FX fee is stated, and the basis for eligibility — citizenship or residence — is not stated. It spends from a Whop balance, with pending balance usable as soon as a payment arrives, backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet whose coins and networks are not stated. Cashback is 5% at select merchants, currently Uber.
Stella — 6.5 / 10. Closest in spirit to Kredete and the more transparent of the two on one point that matters: you deposit crypto into the account and it automatically tops up the card, from an in-app custodial wallet. Virtual and physical, on VISA, working at what the site calls “over 40 million VISA merchants globally”. Its terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates. What it does not say: countries eligible, fees — which it defers to the User Agreement and the app — and there is no cashback on the card page; the Earn product is a separate yield.
UniFi Card — 4.7 / 10. A prepaid debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, USD, Apple Pay supported, with ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) and SPEI (CLABE) funding and payouts to a USDC wallet. Its problem is geography clarity: not confirmed from official pages, though the App Store lists send-money routes to the Philippines (PHP), Mexico (MXN), the eurozone (EUR) and recent release notes mention Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK (GBP). Fees are “not stated” beyond a “fees may apply” line, and the 3% rewards figure is claimed for balances, not clearly for card spend.
| Card | Score | Where it is clear | Where it is not |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kredete | 6.7 / 10 | 0% FX markup, 170+ countries, virtual card in about 10 seconds, cash freeze | Issuance, monthly and ATM fees, limits, KYC, top-up methods, issuer |
| Stella | 6.5 / 10 | Crypto deposit tops the card automatically; custodial wallet in-app | Countries, fees, cashback |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | A published US state list for consumers and businesses; “no extra fees” | Amounts behind that promise; eligibility basis; coins and networks |
| UniFi Card | 4.7 / 10 | Named issuer (Lead Bank); named funding rails | Eligibility; fees; whether rewards apply to card spend |
The honest summary of this comparison: on paper, all four are equally undocumented about fees. What separates them is how much each tells you about who can actually get one. Kredete tells you the least about that, and the most about daily usability.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Kredete if you are in one of the African markets where it has launched, or the Gulf markets it says are next, and your problem is specifically that you cannot get an ordinary USD Visa that works abroad. In that case the 0% FX markup across 170+ countries, the virtual card in about 10 seconds, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the one-tap freeze make it look like a well-made tool for an unglamorous problem. I would also recommend it to anyone who wants a spending card and is comfortable treating the balance as spendable money rather than savings, given the 0% FX markup is a real, structural advantage.
I would think twice if your main worry is cost. You cannot build a monthly budget from the public information, because the issuance fee, the monthly fee and the ATM fee are all unstated, and the ATM case is exactly where that matters. Think twice if you plan to hold meaningful balances, because custody is not stated, the issuer is not named, and programmes in this category do get wound down — FTX in November 2022, WaveCrest in Europe in 2018. And think twice if you need cashback as income: the up to 6% and the up to 5% APY both lack stated conditions.
I would not recommend it if you are outside the launched markets and cannot confirm your own eligibility before committing money; if you need to know precisely what verification you will face, since KYC requirements are not stated; or if you are an Android user hoping for parity with the iOS app, which is where my information runs out.
Two things I would do before applying, if I were you. Read the fees table inside the app — the October release notes say it groups rates and fees by currency and shows each transfer method’s fee, which means the information likely exists, just not on the web. And check ESMA’s interim register of crypto-asset service providers if you are anywhere in the EU, since that register exists precisely so people can check.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Kredete card?
Kredete is a USD Visa, offered as a virtual card issued in about 10 seconds in the app and as a physical card delivered to 70+ countries. Third-party reporting describes it as a stablecoin-backed card, with settlement in USDC and links to a digital wallet. The official card page does not mention crypto, instead describing the card as paid from your Kredete account balance. Cashback of up to 6% and up to 5% APY on the balance are advertised.
How does the Kredete card work?
You spend from your Kredete account balance, and the balance is what the card draws on. The app issues a virtual card almost instantly and can issue a physical one. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and both cards can be frozen instantly from the app’s top bar. The app is called Kredete Send Spend Save Credit, free on iOS, version 4.4.0 dated 7 October 2026, requiring iOS 16.2 or later.
Is Kredete a bank?
The public pages do not say, and the issuer is not named on the official card page. The App Store seller is Kredete, Inc., and unofficial reporting describes it as a Nigerian fintech startup founded in 2023 by Adeola Adedewe, built with Visa, Stellar and Rain. With a card network, an unnamed issuing institution and a brand in front, you cannot tell from public material which of the three roles Kredete fills.
Who owns Kredete?
The registered seller name is Kredete, Inc. Unofficial reporting from Launch Africa, July 2025, describes it as a Nigerian fintech startup founded in 2023 by Adeola Adedewe, with a US$2.25 million seed round in September 2024. The same reporting does not name the card issuer. Ownership beyond the company name is not stated on official pages.
Does Kredete require KYC?
The public pages do not state it. Neither the card page nor the App Store listing describes what identity verification is required, which documents count, or whether different verification levels exist. KYC rules generally require regulated businesses to verify customers as part of anti-money-laundering law, and where due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to decline the relationship — but which of those steps applies to your application is something you would have to ask the company directly.
What does the Kredete card cost?
The one published number is 0% FX markup, stated as applying across 170+ countries. Issuance fees, the monthly fee, the ATM fee and any crypto conversion fee are not stated. There are three plans — Basic, Flex and Premium — whose contents and prices are not published either, though the October 2026 app release notes say you can compare them side by side inside the app.
How do I top up the Kredete card?
Officially, the card is paid from your Kredete account balance, and the top-up methods are not stated. Unofficial reporting says the card links to a digital wallet with near-instant settlement in USDC and real-time conversion at the point of purchase. Before sending anything, confirm the network in the app: transfers are irreversible, and a deposit on a network the provider does not support can be lost with no guarantee of recovery.
Can I use the Kredete card in my country?
The card page states 0% FX markup in 170+ countries, which speaks to where the card works rather than who can hold it. Eligibility is not stated officially. Unofficial reporting says users in 50 African countries can spend USD-backed stablecoins, that it launched in selected African markets, and that the UAE, Saudi Arabia and Oman are planned. An earlier report put African reach at more than 40 countries.
Is the Kredete card safe?
There are real safeguards: instant freezing of both cards from the app, Face ID or passcode on crypto sends and swaps, tokenised mobile wallets and 3-D Secure online confirmation. What is not published is who holds the crypto, whether funds are safeguarded, and who the issuer is. I found no complaints or independent reviews in searches on 21 and 22 October 2026, but for a young product that is weak reassurance, not strong.
Is the Kredete card worth it?
For someone who cannot easily get a USD Visa that works abroad, plausibly yes: 0% FX markup, a virtual card in seconds, mobile wallets, and a one-tap freeze. For everyone else, the decision is blocked by missing numbers — issuance, monthly and ATM fees, spending limits, top-up methods, KYC and custody are all unstated. Read the fee table inside the app before you commit, and keep balances you could afford to withdraw quickly.
Money-app cards – cryptocardselect
Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team
