A close look at the Ripio Visa, the prepaid card that pays from a crypto balance

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Ripio card is a Visa prepaid that pulls directly from a Ripio wallet balance in crypto or Argentine pesos. It is built for two very specific markets: the footer of Ripio’s own page says outright that the product is “available for Argentina and Brasil”. If you live somewhere else, this card simply is not on the table for you today, and the review below is written so you understand both why it scores where it does and what to look at instead.

Ripio works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

The Ripio card lands at 5.5 out of 10 in our scoring. That number is not a flat judgement; it reflects very uneven strengths and weaknesses, and the right way to read it is to look at where the card does well and where it falls short.

The everyday-use side of the card is genuinely good. It comes in both virtual and physical form, it works at any Visa merchant, you can add it to Apple Pay and Google Wallet, the physical card is delivered to your home at no cost, and you can withdraw cash at ATMs. The 2% cashback on crypto-funded payments and the launch-period 4% are competitive numbers.

What pulls the score down is on the access and trust side. The card is only available to residents of Argentina and Brazil, with no KYC detail, no named issuer, no disclosed licence, and no fee schedule beyond the headline “no maintenance cost”. Conversion and FX fees are not disclosed on the card page. The Trustpilot score for the wider Ripio company is 2.4 out of 5 across 1,848 reviews, and user reports speak of funds not being credited and of support that does not respond.

The short version: if you are an Argentine or Brazilian user who is comfortable holding funds in the Ripio ecosystem and you want a simple Visa to spend a crypto or peso balance, the Ripio card does the basics well. If you need a transparent fee schedule, a clearly identified issuer, or a card you can hold outside Latam, you should look elsewhere.

Score table

Criterion Mark Why it lands here
Who can get it 2 / 10 Card is limited to Argentina and Brazil; no KYC, tier or eligibility detail is published.
Cost 7 / 10 No maintenance fee on virtual or physical card, but conversion and FX fees are not disclosed.
Top-up options 7 / 10 Wallet balance in crypto or ARS, any coin on Ripio including BTC, ETH and USDT, converted at purchase; networks and limits not stated.
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Visa network and Pomelo processing are named; the issuer and its licences are not. The wider company scores 2.4/5 on Trustpilot, with reports of uncredited funds and unresponsive support.
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, free home delivery, Apple Pay and Google Wallet, ATM withdrawals.
Total 5.5 / 10 Strong everyday features, but limited availability, opacity around the issuer, and weak external trust signals hold the score back.

Who will they give you the card

This is the first thing to settle, because it decides whether the rest of the review matters to you at all.

Ripio’s own footer says the product is “available for Argentina and Brasil”. The card page does not list additional eligibility criteria, does not name the card-issuing institution, and does not describe the verification steps you would go through. There is no statement on minimum age, residence requirements beyond those two countries, citizenship rules, or what tier of account you need before you can order. Public pages simply point you to sign up or log in and accept the terms and conditions to order a card.

Because the card is a Visa prepaid tied to a Ripio wallet, the assumption is that you need an account with Ripio first, and that the card programme follows the wallet’s verification. The card page does not confirm this in writing, and the help centre has a Ripio Card section that was empty when read for this review. Treat the two-country availability as the hard line, and everything else as something you will only learn at sign-up.

In practical terms, if you are reading this from outside Argentina or Brazil, there is no path the card page offers you. The card is not sold in euros, pounds or dollars to a global audience; it is built around a peso balance and a Brazilian user base, and the launch news was Argentina and Brazil specifically. You can read on to understand the mechanics, but you would be looking at a card you cannot currently order from where you sit.

How to get it

Ripio keeps the order flow short. You sign up or log in, accept the terms and conditions, and order the card. The product is described as an international prepaid Visa, available in virtual and physical form. The virtual card works online and for QR payments; the physical card works at any Visa merchant; both deduct the amount from your wallet balance at the moment of the transaction.

The physical card is sent to your home free of charge, and you do not have to wait for it before you can start spending. The virtual card can be activated while you wait for the physical one to arrive. Delivery time and replacement cost are not stated on the card page, so if either of those matters to you, the only place to find out is in the app once you have an account.

The card page does not describe a Know Your Customer step, the documents you would be asked for, or how long verification takes. The wider Ripio platform follows the standard identity-verification pattern that any regulated crypto business has to apply, but the card-specific page keeps that out of sight. The single tier, the no-maintenance-fee structure and the simple order flow are consistent with a card that aims to be the easiest thing in the Ripio app, rather than a product with a structured application process.

If you are weighing Ripio against a more paperwork-heavy card, this is the trade-off: less to fill in up front, less disclosed on paper.

Fees and what a Ripio payment really costs

Ripio makes a strong opening claim: virtual and physical Visa card, no maintenance cost. That is the headline fee message and it is the reason the cost score sits at 7 out of 10 despite everything else being thin.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Ripio payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

What is not on the page is the rest of the cost story. The crypto conversion fee, the foreign-exchange fee, ATM fees, ATM limits, daily and monthly spending limits, and the card’s underlying currency are all not stated on the card page. Cash withdrawals are available at ATMs, supermarkets and service stations, but the fee and the limit are not given. There is a single tier, no premium or business variant, and the card page does not describe any promotion or discount structure beyond the cashback.

The practical effect is that you know what you do not pay (a monthly fee), but you do not know what you do pay when you spend in a currency that is not your wallet’s currency, when you convert a non-stablecoin into the balance, or when you take cash out at an ATM. Those numbers only become visible at the moment of a transaction, which is not how most people prefer to learn the cost of a payment.

To give the picture some shape, here is what is and is not stated:

Fee or limit What Ripio says
Card issuance Not stated as a fee; physical card delivered free.
Monthly maintenance “No maintenance cost” for virtual and physical Visa.
Crypto conversion fee Not stated.
FX fee (spending in a non-wallet currency) Not stated.
ATM fee Not stated; cash withdrawals are supported.
ATM limit Not stated.
Daily spending limit Not stated.
Monthly spending limit Not stated.
Card currency Not stated.
Spending currency Local currency or dollars; funding in crypto or ARS.

What does that look like in everyday use? Take three common cases and walk through them honestly.

You buy a coffee in Buenos Aires with a balance that is already in Argentine pesos. There is no monthly fee, the card is a Visa so the merchant accepts it, and you are paying in the currency your wallet is denominated in. The cost you actually see at the till is the price of the coffee. Whether there is a small conversion spread inside the peso balance is something the card page does not spell out.

You pay for an online subscription in dollars, drawing on a USDT balance in your Ripio wallet. The card converts the USDT to dollars at the moment of purchase, so there is no FX in the strict sense, but the conversion rate includes a margin that Ripio does not publish. Cashback at 2% on crypto-funded payments offsets a small part of that. The net cost depends on the spread, which is not on the page.

You take cash out at an ATM in Brazil while your balance is in crypto. The cash comes from selling some of your balance at the in-app rate, the ATM operator may add its own surcharge, and Ripio may charge an ATM fee that the card page does not state. The 0.5% cashback on peso-funded payments does not apply here because the funding source is crypto, and the cash itself is dispensed in local currency. You would only see the total cost on the receipt and in the app after the transaction.

In each case, the absence of published fees means you cannot compare the Ripio card against another card on cost before you start using it. The card is cheap on the line items that are visible, and unpriced on the ones that are not.

Top up: how to fund the card

The card is a prepaid, so it does not pull from a bank account at the moment of payment. It pulls from a Ripio wallet balance, and that balance has to exist before you can spend.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Ripio starts with a transfer to the right network

The card page says the balance has to be in crypto or in Argentine pesos, and that any crypto available on Ripio can be used, including BTC, ETH and USDT. The card does not store crypto: when you pay, the chosen crypto is converted at the moment of purchase. You set the payment currency in the Ripio Card section of the app, and the conversion happens automatically at the network’s exchange rate plus whatever margin Ripio takes.

Funding a Ripio wallet itself, as distinct from funding the card, follows the wider Ripio flow. A launch article from February 2023 described Argentina-side top-ups by bank transfer, through Mercado Pago, or in cash at Rapipago Online and Pago Fácil. The card page does not list current top-up methods or supported networks for crypto deposits. That is a real gap: if you are sending USDT from another wallet, you need to know which network to use, and the card page does not tell you.

What this means in practice is that funding the card is a two-step process in your head. First, you fund the Ripio wallet using whatever method your country supports. Second, you choose in the Ripio Card section which currency you want the card to draw on, and the conversion engine takes care of the rest at the till. Because the card is a prepaid, it cannot overdraw; if the wallet balance is empty, the transaction declines.

Withdrawal from a Ripio wallet to an external account is not described on the card page, so if you ever want to move balance back out, that is something to confirm in the app rather than assume.

Paying with the card every day

The day-to-day experience is the strongest part of this card. It works as both a virtual and a physical Visa, the virtual card can be used online and at QR-payment points from the moment you activate it, and the physical card is accepted at any Visa merchant. You can add the card to Apple Pay and Google Wallet, so tap-to-pay on Android and iPhone is available without the physical card being in your hand.

The card is also set up for cash withdrawals at ATMs, and the wider experience of “where can I use this” is simply “anywhere Visa is taken”. The card page does not state any blocked merchant categories, so for the everyday case you do not have to think about which shops will and will not work. Crypto-funded payments earn 2% cashback in BTC, ETH or USDT (the FAQ wording; the Cashback section lists BTC, ETH or USD), and peso-funded payments earn 0.5%. New card users get 4% on crypto and 1% on ARS for 30 days from sign-up, which is a meaningful welcome bonus if your usual pattern is to spend crypto.

The app itself is not described on the card page, and app-store ratings were not obtained for this review, so the experience of managing the card day to day is the part that only your own use will tell you. Dispute handling is also not described on the card page, which is worth keeping in mind if a transaction goes wrong and you need to know who handles the chargeback: Visa’s chargeback route exists, but the card page does not walk you through how to file one.

In short, the card is built to disappear into a normal Visa experience. You tap, you pay, the cashback shows up. The cost of that convenience is the cost story in the previous section, which is not visible until you transact.

What can go wrong

This is the section where the gap between the card page and the company behind it becomes most visible.

The card page does not name the issuing institution, and it does not describe any licence the issuer holds. What it does name is the network (Visa) and the processing partner: the launch article says Pomelo provides the processing technology, and Pomelo is a known Latin American card processor. The card is therefore a Visa prepaid issued under Pomelo’s processing stack, but the entity that actually carries the issuing licence is not stated on the card page. That is a meaningful gap, because if something goes wrong with your funds, the institution responsible is the issuer, and Ripio’s page does not tell you which entity that is.

The wider Ripio corporate footprint, as it appears in page footers, includes entities like BitPagos, Inc. and Moonbird S.R.L., but the card-specific page does not map the card to any of these. The launch article also noted Visa (the network) as the card’s partner at launch, alongside Pomelo.

The single most useful external signal is the Trustpilot score for ripio.com, which is 2.4 out of 5 across 1,848 reviews, of which 45 were posted in the last 12 months. The themes that come up in user reports are funds not being credited (August 2026), support being unreachable (August 2026 and June 2021), and fee disputes (September 2021). These are company-wide reports, not card-specific, so they do not tell you that the card is broken; they tell you what kind of experience other Ripio users have had when something went wrong and they tried to get help.

Security features on the card itself are not stated on the card page. Standard Visa protections apply, but specific features like in-app card freeze, biometric approval, or 3-D Secure settings are not described. The help centre has a Support section in the app and on desktop, and there is a help.ripio.com address, but the help centre’s Ripio Card section was empty when read for this review, and support hours and languages are not stated. If you are someone who likes to know what the help line looks like before you need it, this card does not make that easy.

The news around the card is short and worth knowing. Brazil got a launch in 2022, with a prepaid Visa and a launch promotion of 5% cashback in BTC, capped at R$250 a month until 31 October 2022. Argentina’s launch was announced on 8 February 2023, with a 3% USDC cashback promotion running to 31 March 2023, capped at ARS 10,000 a month. None of those original terms are still in force, but they tell you the kind of promotional shape the card has used, and they line up with the 4%/1% welcome bonus the card now offers.

What this section adds up to is a pattern: the card is well-built for spending, but the company around it has public trust signals that are weaker than you would want, and the card page does very little to give you confidence that the right people are accountable if something goes wrong. That is the single biggest reason the reliability and complaints score sits at 4 out of 10.

What to take instead

Ripio is not the only crypto-linked card in the region. The alternatives below show the same kind of gap between what is published and what is not. They are not endorsements; they are a way to keep your comparison honest.

MSX is one alternative, scoring 6.4 out of 10. The official page does not state eligibility, fees, or how the card is funded, so this is a card you would have to investigate yourself. The score reflects a product that sits in the middle on the dimensions that could be verified, and for which many basic facts are not public.

Bybit Card scores 6.0 out of 10 and is a more developed product in some ways. It is available in a longer list of countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Peru, Kazakhstan, Georgia and an Asia-Pacific region, with both virtual and physical cards in most of them. The cards page warns explicitly that “this product is not meant for European Economic Area customers”, and Bybit’s wider fiat service has a restricted list of countries for deposits and withdrawals. The card itself has no separate annual fee in the regions we looked at, but it does charge an FX fee of 2% on top of the network rate in the main Asia-Pacific and Latin American regions, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil and 1% in Peru, and the cashback structure is tiered and changed in October 2026 so that only crypto-funded spending earns points or cashback. The headline rates are higher than Ripio’s 2% — the top tier is 10% — but the FX cost and the restricted-country list are part of the trade-off.

MEXC scores 5.6 out of 10 and is the most restricted of the three on the physical side. The card is virtual only, and the issuance fee is shown as 20 USD on the page, although a discounted price is also visible and the language is not entirely clear. Funding is by USDT transfer to a Fiat account and then onto the card, but networks are not stated. Cashback is by M-Score tier, from 4% up to 10% depending on your tier, paid out by the 15th of the following month. If you specifically want a virtual-only card and you are already inside MEXC’s ecosystem, it is a real option; if you want a physical card or a card with clear fees, it is harder to recommend.

The honest reading is that no card in this comparison is dramatically more transparent than Ripio on every dimension. Bybit discloses the most, including country restrictions, FX fees and tiered cashback; Ripio is the simplest to use but discloses the least. The right card for you depends on which trade-off you can live with.

Who I would recommend this card to

The Ripio card is a good fit if you are in Argentina or Brazil, you already have a Ripio wallet, you are happy to be paid in BTC, ETH or USDT cashback on the crypto side, and you want a prepaid Visa that is free to hold and that you can add to Apple Pay or Google Wallet. The everyday mechanics are sound: virtual and physical card, any Visa merchant, ATM withdrawals, no monthly fee, a meaningful 4% welcome bonus for 30 days, and a 2% crypto cashback rate that holds afterwards.

It is a poor fit if you need a clear, published fee schedule before you start spending. It is a poor fit if you are not in Argentina or Brazil. It is a poor fit if you need to see the issuing institution, the licence, and the dispute process written down before you sign up. And it is a poor fit if the only way you would feel comfortable is if the wider company had a strong external trust profile, because on that measure the Trustpilot score is low and the most common user complaints are about support and about funds that did not arrive.

If you are an Argentine or Brazilian user who is already inside the Ripio ecosystem and you treat the card as a spending complement to a wallet you are willing to keep funds in, the card earns its place. If you are choosing a card as your primary way of holding and spending, you would want one of the alternatives above, or a more transparent card altogether.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Ripio card?

The Ripio card is an international prepaid Visa, issued in virtual and physical form, that spends directly from a Ripio wallet balance in crypto or Argentine pesos. The card page describes it as a Visa that works online, at QR payments and at any Visa merchant, with the amount deducted from the wallet at the moment of the transaction.

Is Ripio a bank?

Ripio is not described as a bank on the card page. The card is a Visa prepaid, and the card page names Visa as the network and Pomelo as the processing partner from the launch coverage; the licensed issuing institution is not named. The page footer refers to Ripio entities including BitPagos, Inc. and Moonbird S.R.L., but the card is not mapped to a specific issuer on the public page.

Who owns Ripio?

The card page does not name an owner. The page footers list Ripio entities including BitPagos, Inc. and Moonbird S.R.L. as part of the wider corporate structure, and the wider Ripio brand is a long-running Latin American crypto platform. Ownership detail beyond that is not given on the card page.

Is the Ripio card available in my country?

The card page says the product is “available for Argentina and Brasil”. No other countries are listed on the public card page, and there is no sign-up path for users outside those two markets. If you are not in Argentina or Brazil, the card is not currently available to you through Ripio’s own ordering flow.

How do I get the Ripio card?

You sign up or log in to Ripio, accept the terms and conditions, and order the card. The physical card is delivered to your home free of charge, and the virtual card can be activated while you wait. KYC documents, the issuing institution, and verification timelines are not described on the card page.

Does the Ripio card require KYC?

The card page says only that you need to sign up or log in and accept the terms to order the card. It does not describe a KYC step, the documents you would be asked for, or how long verification takes. The wider Ripio platform applies identity verification as a regulated crypto business, but the card-specific page keeps that step out of the published description.

How do I top up the Ripio card?

You fund your Ripio wallet, then choose the payment currency in the Ripio Card section. The wallet can hold crypto (any coin available on Ripio, including BTC, ETH and USDT) or Argentine pesos, and the card converts the chosen crypto at the moment of purchase. The card page does not list the networks supported for crypto deposits or the wallet top-up methods currently in use; the Argentina launch coverage in February 2023 described bank transfer, Mercado Pago, and cash top-ups at Rapipago Online and Pago Fácil.

How do I add the Ripio card to Apple Pay or Google Wallet?

The card can be added to Apple Pay and Google Wallet. The card page does not give step-by-step instructions, so the practical route is to add the card through the wallet app on your phone, using the card details from the Ripio app. The card’s token is held on the device, and the wallet is treated like a normal Visa tap payment by the merchant.

Is the Ripio card free?

The card page says the virtual and physical Visa have no maintenance cost. The physical card is delivered free. Other fees, including the crypto conversion fee, the FX fee, ATM fees and ATM limits, are not stated on the card page, so the only confirmed “free” element is the monthly maintenance and home delivery.

Is the Ripio card safe?

The card is a Visa prepaid, so the network protections of Visa apply, and the card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Wallet, which tokenise the card number. The card page does not describe additional security features, dispute handling, or 3-D Secure settings, and the wider Ripio company has a 2.4-out-of-5 Trustpilot score with user reports of uncredited funds and unresponsive support. Treat the card as a Visa you can spend, not as a card whose safety net is fully described on the public page.

Content created by the «cryptocardselect» team